Removed negative feedback from FS?

3 Mar
Etsy feature in the Storque:
This seller is on one of my lists of earring resellers- she resells sterling stud earrings.
I looked at her store 3 days ago and it had 99% feedback, 7 negatives. Today she has 2 negatives. I can see that one was probably removed through Kiss & Makeup, the one she left a positive for on the 24th -bhardy
The only way the other 4 would have been removed through Kiss & Makeup is if the buyer agreed, and they both left each other a positive. This has not happened for the other four negatives:
http://backupurl.com/jtm5k5 is the cache of her feedback.
You can see that the buyer who left the 2 negatives has NO feedback, so his feeback was simply removed by Etsy.
Another buyer left 2 negatives on┬áDec.20th. Verabel left 2 negatives in return. You can see the 2 negs left by Verabel in the ‘left for others’ files, yet the feedback she received is not there, it had been left on the same day.
I’ve tried unsuccessfully to have unfair feedback removed by Etsy, and this was their reply:
- Feedback is permanent.
– Etsy does not judge the outcome of feedback, or the experience of its author.
– Etsy does not judge the fairness of feedback, or if the recipient deserves it.
– Etsy does not evaluate, measure or investigate the truthfulness of statements made in feedback.
– Etsy does not revoke the feedback privilege from members unless it violates one of Etsy’s feedback policies, which are very few and for extreme cases (please see the DO’s and DON’ts Policies Feedback section).

It really disgusts me to see the way that Etsy will apply their rules so arbitrarily to different people. The 2 negatives left by the other person, which I can’t find a cached page of, were blank, from Verabel’s feedback she clearly had taken too long to ship the order. The complaint from the guy on the 24th was totally valid- he placed an order on the 6th, it didn’t ship till the 20th, and was still not received by the 24th. Bullshit. I’ve always suspected that Etsy admin applied the rules as they liked, for people they ‘like’ answers are different than to others, but I’ve never┬áseen it firsthand like this before.

17 Responses to “Removed negative feedback from FS?”

  1. JK March 3, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Etsy absolutely has two sets of rules (possibly more), the application of which all depends on who’s going to be punished by/rewarded by the outcome.

  2. em March 3, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    sort of off topic, but does a seller with thousands of sales really need to be featured? Jeez… spread the love (and free advertising).

  3. EtsyVigilante March 3, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    I’m thoroughly disgusted. I’ve seen them feature seller with plenty of negative feedback before in Etsy Finds and other features but this is a new low for Etsy.

  4. Christine March 3, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    When someone left me a retalitory negative feedback I had Etsy remove it and it wasn’t hard. I paid for an item that was never received. I left a negative for the seller saying simply that. They in turn left me a ridiculous negative about what a horrible buyer I was. I was livid and sent Etsy a simple message telling them to remove it. They suggested I try kiss and make up and I replied that I want nothing to do with a seller like this and once again simply told them to remove the feedback left for me. I wonder if it’s the way you request they remove bad feedback. I didn’t leave them a choice and there was no question the feedback left for me was from a childish seller.

    However that was the only time my dealings with Etsy were satisfactory and I have sinced closed up all accounts, selling and buying.

  5. EtsyVigilante March 3, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    Another new(?) reseller? She says she’s happy to be back but only thing in shop is Fauxtiques. forresterz at http://www.etsy.com/shop/forresterz?ref=pr_shop_more

    Lets get rid of this one quickly.

  6. sickofetsy March 3, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Love how forresterz has her materials tagged. “Kitchen” is my favorite material to work with.

  7. Life During Wartime March 3, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    forresterz lists all the reseller products in Handmade categories. She does metal working, basketweaving and sews pillow covers? Freakin’ resellers.

  8. Lucy March 3, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    One of the featured shops that sold candy had a negative, there was even a forum thread about it. When I checked on the featured shop later the negative was gone and of course the thread was closed. I just assumed that a kiss and made up was done, but now I wonder. I should have looked more closely.

  9. Whaaa March 3, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    what a bunch of crap! and I echo the question.. why do they need to feature a seller with tons of sales?

  10. WangFu March 4, 2011 at 5:37 am #

    That is the biggest load of crap, but not surprising. Feedback is NOT permanent. Etsy has removing shilling feedback from many sellers, including NeatThings among others.

    I had a buyer make purchase solely to leave neg feedback. Etsy removed my feedback to them but left the neg and then the seller closed their acct. Etsy still wouldn’t remove it.

  11. K March 4, 2011 at 6:13 am #

    Did you witness Glamour gate? They featured one of the resellers

    http://www.glamour.com/weddings/blogs/save-the-date/2011/02/6-wedding-dresses-from-etsy3-a.html

    Best part? Etsy clearly doesn’t give a f*ck https://www.facebook.com/Etsy/posts/10150108444909727

  12. thisetsychick March 4, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    Here’s the kicker on http://www.etsy.com/shop/verabel?ref=pr_shop

    SHE’S A TAG STUFFING MANIAC! Why in the hell does Etsy reward this type of behavior? She’s one of the worst tag stuffers I’ve ever seen. Absolutely insane. WTF is wrong with Etsy?

  13. Fake March 6, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    Verabel’s lockets are listed as handmade, but each listing description states that the lockets are ‘authentic vintage brass.’ She’s sold 100s of these lockets. How many vintage brass lockets can one have?

  14. Nicole March 7, 2011 at 1:37 am #

    She’s a reseller. Just because it’s only one item makes no difference. She’s sold a ton of the sterling horse stud earrings.

  15. Christa March 14, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    This seller is blatantly reselling, and tag abusing, and not only do the MORONS continue to allow her to sell on there, but they reward her shameful selling with a feature? People like this is why people are leaving etsy to go elsewhere. Come on. It’s ruining etsy for all of us who love REAL artists, and ruining it FOR the real artists who work hard on making their items!! Etsy is getting fucking (pardon my french lol) ridiculous!!

  16. EtsyVigilante March 15, 2011 at 5:02 am #

    I see that BlessedinMaine has had her negative feedback removed as well http://www.etsy.com/people/blessedinmaine/feedback?ref=pr_feedback

  17. Taylor Rose February 12, 2013 at 10:11 am #

    I can’t tell you how many items I have seen on Etsy that I’ve seen in other places. NOT handmade, not vintage. It really disgusts me to see the way that Etsy will apply their rules so arbitrarily to different people.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers

