Editorial: The Black Apple

3 Mar

Many many shops that get uber popular on Etsy choose to bag the fees and open up their own website. I’ve always wondered why the most successful handmade shop on Etsy (21,300 sales) has not decided to do this. She could completely make it on her own. Which leads me to wonder, do you think that Etsy and The Black Apple have a sweet deal?
Maybe some sort of partnership since she definitely brings a big wave of buyers and justification to the site. I wonder if for the ability to “house” her that she gets a discount from Etsy or some other sort of perk.

What do you think? If you had that many sales would you stay with Etsy & it’s quirks?

36 Responses to “Editorial: The Black Apple”

  1. Redd March 3, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

    Etsy has clearly been good to her. Why would she leave if she has a good thing going?

  2. Laura March 3, 2009 at 5:34 pm #

    I think loyalty keeps her with Etsy. They help each other she brings traffic and they provide a service. I do not think she gets some special deal and outside of loyalty the ease of etsy compared to her own site makes it worth it to her.

  3. bria March 3, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    i sincerely doubt they have a discount thing going on, and i think it’s in poor taste to suggest that.

    also, are you using people’s photos without their permission?

  4. etsycallout March 3, 2009 at 5:59 pm #

    If you are that sensitive I recommend not coming back here. It is just a question.

    Are you worried about the rights of resellers that I’m using their photos from the listings they posted on a public site? Or a banner ad? Go police elsewhere.

  5. Blythe March 4, 2009 at 3:23 am #

    Jealous much?

  6. Debbie March 4, 2009 at 6:10 am #

    She is so successful, she probabaly doesn’t have time to build her own website. It takes a lot of time to put things both places and track inventory.

    I can’t imagine Etsy cutting her a deal, but I guess we will never know.

  7. elizabeth March 4, 2009 at 6:51 am #

    I just don’t think a stand alone website is all it’s cracked up to be. With etsy, she still gets the huge amount of new traffic that comes in daily, while with your own website, you’ve really got to advertise and draw in customers somehow. I just can’t see that leaving etsy for her own site would be that advantageous, and no, I don’t think she gets any discounts on fees or a special deal with etsy. Maybe she just doesn’t want to have to deal with all of the additional work a website would bring and would rather spend her extra time painting and creating.

  8. bria March 4, 2009 at 7:36 am #

    asking a question is not policing.

  9. Lindsey March 4, 2009 at 8:07 am #

    Websites include fees, too, especially ecommerce sites.

    And do you know for sure that she doesn’t have a website? She wouldn’t be required to call a separate website “The Black Apple” or anything similar to that. It could be a completely separate business altogether.

  10. Arty March 4, 2009 at 10:54 am #

    She probably does what some of the other shops like TillyBloom does-they have a product feed through Polyvore that links their products straight over to their Etsy shop. Etsy says they don’t allow it but I guess for certain shops they do…hmmm.

  11. Stephanie March 4, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    Doubt they have a deal in place, but if she did leave – Etsy would lose quite a bit of business. Black Apple does bring ’em in.

  12. PussDaddy March 4, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

    Sure, she has a sweet deal just about like I have a sweet deal with admin. Isn’t that what everyone says? I am a paid admin forum plant? Or I must be related to an admin or something. No fucking wonder you people post this stuff under another name, I wouldn’t want anyone to know I am a jealous, envious, blathering idiot either. You bitches are so eaten up with jealousy you can see straight.

    PussDaddy

  13. koko March 4, 2009 at 4:23 pm #

    wow puss that was …eh whatever
    you know some sites DO give top sellers “deals” ..I have seen and heard it. Just happens. Not sure if Etsy would do that with her. I know one top seller under her that definatly doesnt get a deal from etsy in any way…so she probably doesnt.
    BUT I can totally see why people may think she does….because it is a common occurance in other venues

  14. PussDaddy March 4, 2009 at 4:29 pm #

    It is easy to see how miserable, incompetent, and self-loathing the success of others makes some people feel.

    PussDaddy

  15. PussDaddy March 4, 2009 at 4:30 pm #

    It is easy to see how miserable, incompetent, and self-loathing the success of others makes some of you feel.

    PussDaddy

  16. Stephanie March 4, 2009 at 5:24 pm #

    Wow Puss, that was special. It was a comment. Not an attack. Just a comment. Wow.

  17. PussDaddy March 4, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    So was mine.

    PussDaddy

  18. wut March 4, 2009 at 7:20 pm #

    Well I guess it was only a matter of time before the rabid brown nosers showed up, which is another aspect of why the site is so unattractive. Why would I want to support a site where people feel justified acting nasty because somebody asked a question?

    As for the original issue, she probably budgets her time on art instead of web design. Etsy gives out unlimited bandwidth, and a stable address that can’t be stolen by domain squatters.

  19. etsycallout March 4, 2009 at 7:23 pm #

    How is it miserable to ask why she doesn’t have her own site? I said nothing hurtful about her at all. So how is that self-loathing? Talk about wanting drama when there isn’t any Puss.

  20. Stephanie March 4, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    I was thinking the same thing Wut. It takes a lot of time, money and effort to get a site up and running. I do have a site and it’s a lot of work (and I have a software background!). On the flip side, I do sell more on my website then on etsy. Black Apple has a following and would do well anywhere.

    Geez, that puss is annoying. She is all over ALL the forums on etsy and now here. Doesn’t she have a life?

  21. forum rubbernecker March 5, 2009 at 12:13 am #

    Geez, that puss is annoying. She is all over ALL the forums on etsy and now here. Doesn’t she have a life?
    ________
    We need Puss-away.

    And puss? for the record, I will state that I adore Emily and wish her nothing but continued success. You see, it’s a matter of how someone gets their success that matters to me and Emily has always been on the up and up in addition to being a super nice person. Some others? Not so much.

  22. Just A Jewelry Designer March 5, 2009 at 3:43 am #

    Saying that Black apple has a sweet deal with etsy admin in ridiculous. She would be successful anywhere and you should be ashamed of posting this, get over yourselves

  23. ooh-rah March 5, 2009 at 5:05 am #

    Oh, the drama…. I have been waiting for the cat in the hat to show up and start – it never fails…

    In regards to the OP, I guess that seems to be a logical question. It doesn’t matter to me one way or the other. She is doing well, good for her. I also have a website where I sell and do much better than on Etsy, but it means spending a lot of time updating, advertising, etc., and if my particular type of work would sell on Etsy, I would probably nix the website and only list there.

    Just my two cents.

  24. etsycallout March 5, 2009 at 12:37 pm #

    I agree. Puss is like that brash relative that is a constant pain in the side that you wish would just keep their opinion to themselves once in awhile. She has been blocked from commenting because of her high and mighty stance that she takes whenever it’s convenient for her to tell others not to bitch about others even though that is her favorite pastime. Kettle meet black Puss.

  25. Oooh-Rah March 5, 2009 at 8:27 pm #

    Yay, another puss-free comment zone!

  26. Bootsy March 5, 2009 at 11:30 pm #

    I loved Puss describing NeatThings on her blog because it sounds exactly how I feel about her-

    “Personally, I just find her condescending, and obnoxious, and hateful, and I wouldn’t buy from her if she was the last seller left on Etsy. Post after post of condescending bullshit and unprovoked jibes taken at everyone, with never a kind word to say to anyone.”

    Too funny.

  27. knottybabywear March 15, 2009 at 11:25 pm #

    The Black Apple is what led me to etsy. I found her through a blog- followed the links to etsy and joined that very night to sell my crap. Now with more than 8 thousand sales in 2 1/2 years- and many months of 400-500.00 etsy bills- I WISH etsy would cut deals. But I doubt they do. I saw they had planned to do a rewards program for referrals at one time- now if that were the case- I could see Emily getting some kick backs- since she clearly brought me there- and I have done well- Im sure there are MANY MANY others who have found etsy on the count of Emily and the black apple too. I think Etsy Owes Emily- I sure do!

  28. Trite March 18, 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    *yawn* Next topic.

  29. eclipse March 21, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

    I don’t think they cut her any special deal and Etsy have kind of screwed her a few times, like when Rokali announced her (gross) income on the Martha Stewart show. She was *not pleased* about that and I don’t blame her.

    But it is a mutually advantageous relationship. Etsy uses Emily as their poster child to lure new sellers, promising they will all make it as big as her. In reality, very few will become that successful because very few are as talented, but she is their little crown jewel and they love to show her off. In return for this exploitation, she gets some free publicity.

    Her stuff always sells quickly so she never has to renew to get back at the top of search, so really I don’t think her fees on Etsy are much more than it would cost to have her own website. Plus if she left, she would have to buy more ads to replace the free Etsy promotion.

  30. Lucy April 7, 2009 at 7:19 am #

    etsycallout I’m sorry but this was not just a question. Your question is implying a very serious accusation that you have no real grounds to make.
    I think you provide a very good service but this post was indeed in poor taste.

  31. Brandy Von Doeren April 15, 2009 at 1:22 pm #

    I have read/listened to many articles and interviews that Emily has done and she has never meantioned anything to that affect. I would think that Etsy would promote sellers to incentives when stores become success stories. As someone that has run her own website and currently has a store on Etsy. There are a lot of adventages staying with Etsy, but none of those are beyond the apparent.

  32. oh joy! May 11, 2009 at 5:37 pm #

    it is far easier to let etsy bring the traffic to you rather than set out on your own. theblack apple is very talented, yet the deck is stacked FOR all of those who make 1000’s of reproductions and get to list them under original art. in the “real” art world they couldnt even get into a juried art market with reproductions…

  33. PussDaddy August 6, 2009 at 2:52 am #

    I just wanted to apologize for hatin’ on your blog. I saw this BlackApple stuff and people hatin’ on her because she is successful and I thought this was just going to be another one of those blogs where people just rake other sellers over the coals and rip their items and talent to shreds out of envy and jealousy and stuff. I jumped the gun and I was wrong and I can admit when I am wrong. I actually think you do a pretty good job here. So I just wanted to say I was sorry.

    PussDaddy

  34. artist November 14, 2009 at 7:07 pm #

    Many artists keep our sites as well as sell on other sites. It’s just the nature of being an artist means that it’s generally hard to make a living from one venue. Any visibility or traffic from other sites is helpful. You can’t make your own site work without gathering fans from elsewhere. There are many other well known artists selling on etsy as well.

  35. artist November 14, 2009 at 7:10 pm #

    oh joy, I wish you wouldn’t assume that any artists are actually making 1000s of reproductions of any one image. The people you are talking about generally have to make an original first and end up selling that as well. They’re also lucky if they sell 50 of one particular image. Don’t assume because it’s possible that any one artist’s fame will means that 1000 people like the same image or that the artist doesn’t make limited editions or discontinue prints from time to time.

  36. Patrick Mickey Factz Hobkins December 31, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    True true on that. Can’t but help remind me of my boy Mickey Factz who’s lyrics don’t dissappoint yo!

Leave a Reply

