Mistagger- Yellowfield7

27 Mar

“I’m glad you’re here!! I am amazed that this shop is constantly on the front page with her mistagged Items, I have flagged the items, but nothing happens.

She has several hats tagged (I copied and pasted)

“clothing, cape, corset, costume, dress, girl, handmade, hoodie, vintage”
“clothing, cape, costume, corset, dress, girl, handmade, hoodie, vintage, wedding gown”

Hats are not supposed to be tagged as clothing but as accessories first, not to mention the other ingenious ways she has tagged. The wedding gown sent me over the edge!!”

http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=6610313

http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=21155166
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=21155640
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=21154678

7 Responses to “Mistagger- Yellowfield7”

  1. elizabeth March 27, 2009 at 6:47 pm #

    I dunno, maybe some bride might want to wear that with her wedding gown? Seriously, I don’t think etsy really cares that much about mistagging and you probably *are* wasting your time flagging. All they do is send out a generic email that doesn’t tell the seller what they are doing wrong, and they don’t follow up to see if it’s been corrected, as far as I know. I only flag if the main category is wrong, and even then I doubt etsy does much about it.

  2. forum rubbernecker March 27, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    ADMIN is always picking her for the FP, so I guess her fellow sellers are turned off by the mistagging.

  3. jennnnna March 27, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    “I dunno, maybe some bride might want to wear that with her wedding gown?”

    It doesn’t matter if a bride wants to wear that with her wedding gown – that’s not the purpose of tagging! You’re supposed to tag the item with words that describe what it IS. Not what it can be worn with. This is why the tags on etsy suck ass and why buyers are SO SO SO SOOOOO frustrated. If a bride wants to wear a white hat with her gown, she should look for things tagged ‘white, hat’. You don’t tag a hat with “wedding gown”. Christ. If that were ok, then I could tag glue with “wedding gown” because a bride might rip her hem and need some glue to make last minute repairs. And maybe I should tag my crocheted bikinis with “wedding gown” because there might be some casual people out there that want to get married in a white bikini on the beach like Pamela Anderson did. I’m sure that brides looking for wedding gowns will be happy to see hats, bikinis and glue in the results.

  4. elizabeth March 28, 2009 at 7:07 am #

    jennnnna, I was making the statement about the bride wanting to wear that with her wedding gown with my tongue firmly planted in my cheek-joking, you know?

  5. Angela April 2, 2009 at 3:12 pm #

    her policies are great too
    “Payment
    I accept money orders & Paypal. If you change your mind, please let me know right away. I will still be charged a fee by Etsy for cancelled transactions, which I would ask you to pay.”

    um no… if you cancel with Etsy, you get your transaction fee refunded. nice try.

  6. Behida Dolic October 12, 2009 at 9:17 am #

    what a group of angry people!

  7. Behida Dolic October 12, 2009 at 9:21 am #

    so sad!

Leave a Reply

