Immature Admin Picks & SteamSociety

29 Sep

I received this email from a reader:

I’m calling out the AdmEtsy----Your-place-to-buy-ain who picked the Front Page on Sunday, 9/27 at 9:00pm.

Attached you’ll see a jpg screengrab, showing how they’ve nicely highlighted “Dork” and “Wanker”

While I’m no prude and I don’t care what people do in their own shops, the Front Page? Apparently Admin doesn’t know that Dork is a slang for Penis, and Wanker means “one who masterbates.”

Somehow that doesn’t seem like Front Page material that will help with Etsy’s branding and their sellers’ reputations.

Your thoughts- funny or unprofessional??

****************************************************

Beware of seller SteamSociety. The feedback seems like a broken record. Relists the items but doesn’t send the items even after a month. Yikes.


33 Responses to “Immature Admin Picks & SteamSociety”

  1. Life During Wartime September 29, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    A lot of Yanks don’t know what ‘wanker’ means. I didn’t know the first time I heard it from a friend in Australia; it took like 2 seconds to get it from context. This collection is from a Treasury? Then ‘dork’ provides the context or at least a clue that it probably means something naughty. You can say dork or wanker on teevee, but not Richard head or j.o.

  2. Steamedpunk September 29, 2009 at 9:24 am #

    I looked up “dork” a few years ago, and was suprised to find that it is the term used for a whale’s penis.
    “Wanker” can often be heard being used by audience members of many live King Crimson recordings from the 1973-75 period. Cries of “Fripp is a wanker!” can be heard between songs, referring to how many in the music press regarded Fripp’s guitar work. They were wrong though.
    Etsy admin are so cute! Some of them started high school this year.
    Who cares?

  3. MadeByM**** September 29, 2009 at 10:06 am #

    Yeah, someone’s sweet old grandma will look to shop on Etsy and see that and not even want to step foot in “here”. Boy, I’m embarrassed right now for having my stuff here.

  4. Dagnabbit September 29, 2009 at 10:17 am #

    Sophomoric. Talking HS, not college.

  5. PussDaddy September 29, 2009 at 10:21 am #

    Ok, maybe I am the only one who sees a little bit of hipocracy in this, considering most will defend a lot of the stuff that is said in ETC. or just the forum in general to their dying breathe, and much of that pales in comparison to dork and wanker, dontcha think?

    PussDaddy

  6. Max September 29, 2009 at 10:32 am #

    From the Etsy TOU:

    # Mature content is defined as: sexual activity or content, profane language or graphic violence.

    # The first thumbnail image should be kept appropriate for general audiences; additional images in the listing may show the item in its entirety.

    Way to follow your own TOU on the Front Page, you Dorks!

  7. CMOM September 29, 2009 at 11:05 am #

    I am a “Yank” and Dork to me means “nerd” and wanker to me is just one of those funny words Brits use to make fun of someone or “Taking The Piss” (I may have that one wrong…). I remember seeing this treasury when it was on the front page and I really don’t know why someone would want a plate with the word “Dork” written on it. Whatever.

  8. forum rubbernecker September 29, 2009 at 11:26 am #

    Classy, Etsy, really classy.

  9. forum rubbernecker September 29, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    SteamSociety “just got back to town” and had a “horrendous case” of the stomach flu, yet they listed every day during the alleged time?

    Excuse FAIL.

  10. imwithya September 29, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    Hey, at least that front page is more sophisticated than the Storque feature about shit, piss and puke… which was linked on the front page yesterday. I could just see the admin giggling as she put it together.

  11. Life During Wartime September 29, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

    Not HS, more like 5th grade. That was when I went thru my stoopid stage of singing LULU HAD A STEAMBOAT or 16 EYEBALLS with my friends when any adult could hear us.

    How do people react when they’ve been invited for dinner at a new friend’s home, and see the china has potty language handpainted on it? I would wonder about what’s in the food.

  12. Lindsey September 29, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    at least they finally picked something colorful….
    was hoping for visual color though.

  13. imwithya September 29, 2009 at 12:20 pm #

    I actually like the plates with “bad words” on them. I think most of my friends (even my mother) would be amused if I served appetizers on them.

  14. Max September 29, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    I don’t have a problem with the listings.

    I just think they are not Front Page material. Marketing 101.

  15. meh September 29, 2009 at 2:37 pm #

    i dunno…dork is one thing ’cause it’s more commonly used when describing someone nerdy.

    but wanker…i’m american, but i’m fully aware of what that means. i don’t particularly take offense to it, but as someone who has sold “mature” items, i took the time to follow the tou by censoring my first pic.

    i just wonder if an item that said “jerk off” would make it to the fp.

    i do love those plate though. 🙂

  16. Max September 29, 2009 at 2:38 pm #

    BTW, SteamSociety was on the FP 5 times in the last several months, per craftcult. Another fave gone bad.

  17. Gern Blanston September 29, 2009 at 3:39 pm #

    Frankly, this does not bother me.

  18. Laura September 29, 2009 at 4:07 pm #

    Ehhh… not too bad. It’s subtle. I didn’t know what wanker meant. Of course, it’s 8pm and I’m laying in bed watching tv in my pj’s. I’m not up on a lot.

  19. crazy cat lady September 29, 2009 at 7:04 pm #

    I’m more insulted by the fucking cowl. Really, again? Sigh.

    But to be a critic…honestly, the “wanker, dork, beast” and print in this FP doesn’t really fit with the rest of the theme, imo. The rest of the stuff is softer, more colours used as a whole, or made of fibers…I don’t know. They seem either poorly made or stark compared to the others. Seems like they were chosen FOR the shock factor and not because it actually FIT the treasury.

    I’ll have to check out the poop dorque article.

  20. Nobody Understands My Pain Either September 29, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

    This doesn’t bother me. What I do find interesting is that things that are called out on this blog, even if it’s just in the comments, are starting to show up on admin picked FPs. This: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=30715190 was just on the front page. Plus, the subject of one of the previous call outs showed up on the FP twice in the same day, when all of the madness was going on.

    It would appear that admin is thumbing their noses in the direction of this blog and in the direction of the concerns we have expressed.

  21. Life During Wartime September 29, 2009 at 8:36 pm #

    I thought the repeat choices of items for Etsy-selected FPs was due to these items being in gift guides or other features already? (The bodhi leaf party light shop has an item in the Wedding Decor GG.) I mean, we can’t expect the staff of the biggest handmade venue on the web to have the creativity and taste to actually browse the categories several times a day to make FP collections on the fly!

    It would be very funny if Etsy was featuring reseller shops because this blog calls out resellers. Doesn’t change the Etsy TOU, but would be quite a statement about the maturity and professionalism of the staff.

    I almost hope you’re right.

  22. Amy September 30, 2009 at 1:56 am #

    I’m from the UK and whilst I have no problem with dork I really do with Wanker. This is a really offensive word here in the UK! I am embarassed they think that is appropriate for the FP. As one of my fellow UK sellers said ‘Were they on the vino when they chose that for the FP?!’ Thankfully at 9pm EST most UK based people would be asleep – but prob not Aussies.

  23. Kiara September 30, 2009 at 8:05 am #

    SteemSociety is on the front page right now. Very interesting.

  24. a thousand cupcakes September 30, 2009 at 10:13 am #

    people keep complaining that the front page is boring!

    😛

  25. oh joy! September 30, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    i’ll take dork and wanker any day over faux vintage & repetitive FP repeats. who cares what they stand for? the colors were great and the items were much fresher than some…

  26. Life During Wartime September 30, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    Pretty much any of the Treasury FPs are nicer to look at than the ones admin curates. But some community curators seem to be toadying it up to the admins, and choose too many of the same items.

    I don’t think a plate that said JERKOFF would have made it onto the FP. If it ever did, I would laugh.

  27. JK September 30, 2009 at 4:27 pm #

    Isn’t there an admin with ‘dork’ in their username? Could be meant as a (weak) inside joke. Still not appropriate either way.

  28. Dagnabbit September 30, 2009 at 6:06 pm #

    Things that appeal to Etsy staff appeal to people with NO MONEY AND NO CLASS. What does this mean????

  29. Christine October 4, 2009 at 5:27 am #

    Notice that steampunk society “fake feedback” is gone? Oh, and their shop is empty?

  30. Seriously? October 4, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    Y’all are seriously upset about the word “dork”????? Wow.

  31. Geeeeeeze October 7, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

    Such petty nonsence to laugh and complain about.
    Wanker-Dork? You’re kidding me….

    Why do you waste so much of your time on others listings?
    Oh, Maybe because you aren’t making any money off your Etsy site. Wow, why don’t you stay on ETC instead and maybe you can come up with a concept of string lights with your own spin on it, because i’m sure it will be soooooo much better.

    I would think this is coming from a 13 year old. You should know better.

    It doesnt matter how many other listings you will be posting here on your lil blog. Etsy has made and will continue making more money then you.

    You may not allow this posting directed towards you because you probably don’t want the truth to be told, but then again you just may do it, so that you will try to prove you’re right with those who know who you are and laugh with you. Sad you’re so sad. Isn’t this the chicken way out in doing things? Under a false name to hide behind? LMAO I augh more at you then what you post. I’m sure i’m not the only one. yuck yuck yuck

  32. sean October 14, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    I see nothing innapropriate about it. Dork may have meant(and still does) a penis, but the most commonly used and recognized application is a mild insult. Generally for someone who would be considered a nerd if they were smart enough.

  33. virtutethecat November 12, 2009 at 9:07 pm #

    Just came upon this blog recently, and saw this entry. I purchased a pair of barrettes from SteamSociety back in April this year and it took forever to receive my item. I also got charged extra for shipping. I convo’d her several times, and she got back to me, apologizing since she was in a theater production or something like that and had been out of town. I got my package soon after, but the shipping charge was drastically lower than what had been quoted. The quality of the items was not that great either. The steampunk charms had been hot-glued onto the badly antiqued (she had used gray paint?) hair clips. I left a positive as it was one of my first purchases on etsy and was wary of leaving negatives….but now I see that her etsy site is gone. I was never going to buy from her again.

Leave a Reply

