Reader Email- BellasBeautyandmore

8 Oct


Hi there,

Found a shop today selling gourmet doggie treats and cakes using pictures that are not hers. She swiped the heart cookie picture from another Etsy seller and when the seller contacted her she claimed to not be able to take good pictures and had the right to use them. When I went to check out the shop I quickly realized none of the pictures were hers. I haven’t been able to track down where they were all taken from, but the I found the first photo in this listing 4 pages into a quick Google search.

Check it out:
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=vl_other_1&listing_id=31811203

Swiped from here:
http://cakecentral.com/cake-photo-1258065.html

If you notice, her the second photo has a watermark on it, but the quality is so terrible I can’t tell what it says.

I’d love to see this seller get a good public flogging since she seems to think it’s okay to use other’s photos to sell her wares. Actually, I highly doubt she intends to copy and make any of this stuff. Probably someone who would be content to grab your money and run with it.

Happy calling out!

60 Responses to “Reader Email- BellasBeautyandmore”

  1. meh October 8, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    how awful for the actual sellers. that sucks!

  2. Gern Blanston October 8, 2009 at 10:00 am #

    Holy shit….

  3. Brett October 8, 2009 at 10:11 am #

    I think she’s got more then a few screws loose, read her profile, which BTW says nothing about cooking doggie treats.

  4. Kristen October 8, 2009 at 10:14 am #

    and she claims to be a photographer since 1999

  5. QN October 8, 2009 at 10:16 am #

    Yeah, add me to the confused pile over the statement that she “can’t take good pictures so Imma steal yours” vs the profile that says, “I am a photographer, and have been photographing for a living since 1999.”

  6. meh October 8, 2009 at 10:20 am #

    haha i musta missed all that.

    even more awful!

  7. Life During Wartime October 8, 2009 at 10:20 am #

    Huh? Whatever is she thinking?

  8. The Tattler October 8, 2009 at 10:32 am #

    is this fake?

  9. CMOM October 8, 2009 at 10:45 am #

    Maybe this lady decided to put up a phony shop with stolen pictures to see how long it would take to get “called out”. LOL! Also, how would one flag this? Is there anything in the rules about hijacking other seller photos or photos on the web?

  10. Sarah October 8, 2009 at 11:10 am #

    ^^^ EXACTLY what I was just thinking, CMOM. But it sounds a bit egocentric.

  11. Steamedpunk October 8, 2009 at 11:16 am #

    You know, if you’re going to steal photos, why not steal QUALITY photos. What a crap picture.
    Who cares?

  12. 3 Dogs & a Chick October 8, 2009 at 11:17 am #

    This joker also stole my Valentine treat picture that I sold back in Feb. I’ve contacted her and has numerous conversations with her….all to no avail. She does not care one bit that what she is doing is illegal. I personally think she’s a scammer.

    -Nicole
    3 Dogs & a Chick

  13. Sarah October 8, 2009 at 11:28 am #

    @3dogs, I assume you’ve already reported her to abuse@etsy.com and/or flagged@etsy.com with proof of your pics?

    Weird… Something’s not right with this one (ref: Bella’s).

  14. Life During Wartime October 8, 2009 at 11:36 am #

    She does not accept any type of electronic payment, only checks and money orders. How is that going to work for selling items intended for gifts on a specific day, or holidays? Her shop has no policies, and I couldn’t find any reference to her ‘other’ form of accepted payment — says ‘see description’ but descriptions don’t say. It looks like a shop owned by someone who has never sold anything online.

    This kind of seller is why Etsy needs to change its procedure for opening a shop. She may mean well, but she is clueless.

  15. a thousand cupcakes October 8, 2009 at 11:45 am #

    I am so so glad this wound up on your blog.

    I remember the thread about this shop from last week (?) and I just can’t see how no one from etsy has made her remove these pictures yet.

    She sounds like a real nut, too..

    (p.s. Hi Nicole! We were talking thru convos after your thread).

  16. a thousand cupcakes October 8, 2009 at 11:46 am #

    the funny thing is, the pictures she stole look terrific on the ORIGINAL sellers site, but they look blurry and awful on the photo thief’s site.

  17. Seriously? October 8, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    I’m glad you posted this and I’m a bit surprised at the “meh” attitude. This shop screams scammer.

  18. Bedazzled Condom October 8, 2009 at 1:13 pm #

    Clueless is right. Her doggie treats have the PUS seal of approval.

    “All my pup-treats are Josephine, and Jack approved. (My pus).”

    *vomit*

  19. Max October 8, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

    And people wonder why Etsy has such a bad amateur reputation.

  20. 3 Dogs & a Chick October 8, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    Hey cupcakes! 🙂

    Yes, I’ve reported her and they have a lengthly list of things I need to do to prove her wrong. Included in the list is a veiled threat that if I am found wrong in a court (as in SHE takes Etsy to court and she wins), then Etsy will charge me all their court costs. They even quote a recent case where the “seller” had to pay $100,000 in court costs or some nonsense. In my opinion, they don’t want to do the dirty work of kicking somebody off so they make it a painful process of proving yourself. I haven’t taken the time to do anything other than report her at this point. Frankly, I’m too busy at the moment.

    Oh, they also told me I was forbidden from talking about it. Oopsie. 🙂

  21. 3 Dogs & a Chick October 8, 2009 at 1:44 pm #

    Oh yeah…the PUS comment. Gag.

    Not to mention she says she’s a photographer and she STEALS other people’s pictures and does it in a way that she doesn’t even get them the correct size! All blurry and crapola.

  22. Angel October 8, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    Now why on earth would they tell you that you were forbidden to talk about it? That’s just nonsense and utter scare tactics.

    “We realize this sounds stupid and request, nay, DEMAND that you never talk about it with someone who will agree that it sounds like total bullshit and simply like we don’t want to do our jobs.

    PS. Hahaha. Sellers suck. Whatugonnadoboutit?

    Love, Etsy.”

  23. Seriously? October 8, 2009 at 4:50 pm #

    The shop was flagged last week and links to the sites she took pictures from were provided. Good job laying down on this one, Etsy. It’s obvious to anyone that comes across the shop it’s not legitimate.

  24. a thousand cupcakes October 8, 2009 at 5:01 pm #

    3 Dogs and a Chick, what you have written here about the response from etsy makes me very upset.

    It is clear as day that this girl has taken your images, and youeven have convos from her ‘thanking you for said images’ !!

    absolutely ridiculous.

  25. crazy cat lady October 8, 2009 at 6:42 pm #

    I don’t understand what etsy’s problem is IRT stealing pics. Ebay has a very simple form with it – I had people steal my pics many times on Ebay, I didn’t even have to contact the sellers, just write to ebay with proof that my auction was up first and the other seller’s auction number – within at least 2 days the other auction was GONE. Even with text (yes, I had people stealing that too), same thing.

    If someone SAYS “I’m going to use this without your permission” and you have proof why wouldn’t Etsy do anything? Just to be an asshole for asshole’s sake?

  26. Life During Wartime October 8, 2009 at 7:46 pm #

    What is it with Etsy being the advocate for rule breakers?

    They give shills, resellers and clueless picture swipers every benefit of the doubt, and then try to make a seller who had her pics copied feel like she has to protect the reputation of the copy cat by hushing it up? WTF?

  27. millie October 8, 2009 at 10:25 pm #

    Oh, Etsy… It’s a joke, and if I venture into ‘search’, I feel like I’m on ebay.
    Etsy, hire some people to clear this shit out! Buck up and show some respect, like a big handmade site should. If your rules are causing you such problems, maybe you should modify them.

  28. Kirsi October 8, 2009 at 11:39 pm #

    WOAH! I would seriously consider contacting the police, if I got a mail like that from Etsy. It’s way out of line to use past cases (did they even show any proof about it?) to scare people from protecting their rights. Stating legal facts about responsibility is OK, but this goes way beyond that. If you sent them copies of the convos, they could also be sued for not removing the infringing photos from the other sellers shop. I also understand if you can’t be bothered, since I can’t see this hurting your business (your shops are worlds apart in quality).

    About the photographer part – maybe she’s using camera obscura…

  29. noxPinion October 9, 2009 at 4:23 am #

    This woman is a few cards short of a deck. She requested a *rat cage* on Alchemy, and when I convo’d her to ask if maybe Craigslist was more appropriate (esp. as she “only wanted to pay $15) she said that she’d seen wire rat cages for sale on etsy before. Uh….yeah. Sure.

  30. CMOM October 9, 2009 at 5:32 am #

    3 dogs – I would take that email from the Etsy admin and go straight to the top with it (Etsy CEO). That email is completely inappropriate from a “business” stand-point. I have learned that when I receive bad service from anywhere to take it to the top. I’ve had to do it twice before (not with Etsy, but at my bank when a teller was rude to me and to my child’s doctor’s office most senior physician when I had several well-check-ups that kept me waiting for 2+ hours). Find out who the head honcho is and send them a letter.

  31. Max October 9, 2009 at 5:36 am #

    Here are the dog bone cookies:
    http://www.sunflowerbaking.com/resources/dogbone.html

    Loser.

  32. Keeping It Real October 9, 2009 at 6:13 am #

    Gawd, it sounds like Etsy is just flat out lazy…………they let resellers keep their stuff in their shop, even when they admit they are reselling in their blog…….they won’t address stealing, copyright infrigement, it’s all about their cronies, etc………….they have gotten too big for their britches and it’s all about the $$$ from fees/sales now! Very, very sad……

  33. Bedazzled Condom October 9, 2009 at 6:43 am #

    “3 dogs – I would take that email from the Etsy admin and go straight to the top with it (Etsy CEO).”

    I was pondering Maria’s level of understanding recently. I once believed it was possible that she doesn’t fully understand the incompetence and indifference that run rampant through Etsy admin.

    Because if she understood just how mentally deficient the children in charge are, she would step in and do something, right?

    Now I am convinced that Maria knows everything, Maria approves everything and Maria is just as big a dumbfuck as the rest of them.

    Now I imagine her wearing a Vonlady necklace, as she sits in the warm ‘hand-made by 8 year old children in a 3rd world country’ glow of her Bodhi lights.

    Fuck you, Maria. FUCK YOU!

  34. Laura October 9, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=fp_gg_1&listing_id=26648818

    How you this in the gift guides? It’s like admin comes here and reads this stuff

  35. Life During Wartime October 9, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

    Are stardust’s items vintage? I know nothing about this kind of collecting.

  36. Angel October 9, 2009 at 11:31 pm #

    None of those purses look vintage. Even an unused 20 year old bag will show creasing in certain areas, patina on metal, dustbags will colour, etc.

    Collectors who sell their bags, especially ones in exceptional condition, provide things like close-up shots of the interior designer tags and serial numbers. They are really meticulous about it and even an amateur collector knows what to talk about in a listing/ad to cover all the FAQs. I see a serious lack of the basics in the listings.

    There are just too many red flags here for me to even consider purchasing something like this. It looks too much like one of the knockoffs that are sold on ioffer.com, king of the $100 LV.

  37. Jenn October 10, 2009 at 4:12 am #

    Ugh, this makes me ill.
    Etsy has no fucking integrity whatsoever; they’re no better than these resellers and frauds.
    They all need to collectively grow the hell up.
    If Maria has the experience and leadership skills that they said she does, then why hasn’t she made the place professional (to say the least?)

    I may need to figure out another way to do a handmade christmas – I don’t want etsy to get any money from me purchasing anything.

  38. Life During Wartime October 10, 2009 at 9:45 am #

    Thanks, Angel! It seems like selling designer accessories is very much like selling other collectibles. If the seller lists as if the name of the maker is the only selling point for their item — without any of the photos or other info to back that up — a potential buyer (and the venue it is listed on) should be wary.

    I can’t help laughing, though, at the hipster Etsy fashionistas putting fake designer bags in the GG. Makes them look like nothing more than wannabes.

  39. crazy cat lady October 10, 2009 at 12:28 pm #

    The bags in those Coach listings are the bags the outlet shops are using right now. The pill case she has is available at the outlet shops. As far as the wristlet and the bag, I don’t know. I don’t think they made wristlets 20 years ago, but the bag could be vintage. There are ebay boards with really knowledgeable (and rabid, lol) people about this stuff.

    3 Dogs – go to the Consumerist with that email and story! They would love this, really. They’ve done a few things on etsy.

  40. forum rubbernecker October 10, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    Not one of those is vintage. The lipstick case has a lozenge lining, which Coach started using less than 20 years ago, and those 2 black Coach bags were made in 2000 and 2004, the code on the creed has the year of manufacture in the first three characters, like R9P would mean bag was made in 1999. Grrrrr. They need someone on staff who knows something about designer stuff. There’s so much counterfeit crap.

  41. arrr October 10, 2009 at 6:15 pm #

    read her profile
    http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=8193871&ref=API_juln_CraftCult

  42. arrr October 10, 2009 at 6:18 pm #

    oh sorry is Shop Policies

  43. Lindsey October 10, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    arr, not exactly sure what you were referring to, but it’s interesting that they refer to themselves as in the policies
    seems like in case shop is closed for reselling and we need to open another quick…or we have many shops and they are all the same junk…etc.

  44. Lindsey October 10, 2009 at 7:25 pm #

    oops, last post should read like this:

    arr, not exactly sure what you were referring to, but it’s interesting that they refer to themselves as (sweet shine dress) in the policies
    seems like (insert name here) in case shop is closed for reselling and we need to open another quick…or we have many shops and they are all the same junk…etc.

  45. Angel October 10, 2009 at 9:06 pm #

    I second the recommendation to look to the Ebay forums for designer experts. When I first started collecting, they were invaluable and I learned a great deal about things to look for (and managed to save me a few times from spending way too much for what turned out to be knockoffs).

    Does Etsy really need to be in the designer handbag business? Is that the target market? Because I’d definitely recommend removing the stupid fucking doodles before announcing to the vintage Hermes collectors that you are open for business. And perhaps losing the stupid fucking admin handles and replace them with their actual names. Like professionals.

    Seriously. How long were the people at Etsy working on those doodles and what real work did they not do because of them?

  46. arrr October 10, 2009 at 11:12 pm #

    ETSY can Wholesale ?http://www.etsy.com/shop_policy.php?user_id=8193871

    Additional Policies and FAQs
    **If you have any problem with the product you received, please email us BEFORE leaving a feedback. We will try our best to solve the problem with you.

    ** Wholesale Inquiries:
    If you are interested in carrying items in your store please contact me via Etsy conversation.

    Be happy with !!

  47. working on leaving October 11, 2009 at 6:34 am #

    As far as Maria. I am convinced at this point that Maria was ready to retire but didn’t want to touch her retirement funds yet, so she found a job where she didn’t really have to do anything. She’s just coasting til one of three things happen:

    1) Etsy gets bought and she gets a huge pay off.
    2) Her retirement fund hits her max and she officially retires.
    3) Etsy completely bombs and folds.

    She doesn’t care because this is just a placeholder for her.

    The alternative to that is that she was moments away from being fired and this was the only ship that would have her.

  48. forum rubbernecker October 13, 2009 at 10:31 pm #

    I second the recommendation to look to the Ebay forums for designer experts. When I first started collecting, they were invaluable and I learned a great deal about things to look for (and managed to save me a few times from spending way too much for what turned out to be knockoffs).
    ________

    Hell yeah! Love those ladies. Dem ma peeps!

  49. Bedazzled Condom October 14, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    There is also a ton of helpful designer info (albeit most specific to bags) on this board:

    http://forum.purseblog.com/

  50. crazy cat lady October 14, 2009 at 9:57 am #

    oh bedazzled, I did NOT need to see that blog! I’m a recovering handbag addict; shopping “from my closet” for the past few years until just 2 weeks ago when I saw Courtney Cox carrying (what I found to be) a Cole Haan bag on TV. Now I’m starting to want more designer bags again!

    I just might have to bookmark that baby 🙂

  51. Seriously? October 14, 2009 at 5:07 pm #

    She’s got more listings in her shop now. I found this right away on a quick search:

    http://www.wrapables.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=C59786&prodlist=cj

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=32454583

    I’m sure she’s planning on re-selling these. Etsy needs to get off their ass and do something about this. But, of course they won’t. Sigh

  52. Sarah October 21, 2009 at 7:55 am #

    Sent an email to admin. Pretty lame response.

    Canned reply summary: You need to be the offended party to report copyright violation. If you do, here are the DOs & DON’Ts and all sorts of other material about Etsy and copyright. And a link to a Storque article written in baby language. *puke*

    Maybe they missed the part where I pointed out “money order and checks only” and two sales that–strangely–haven’t posted?

    If the seller is posting random photos, we’re not seeing a real product. And combine that with her payment options, and we’ve got a serious problem.

    Ugh… sent a clarifying email. Trying to stay optimistic about admin, but why do its members need to twist an arm and a leg to protect THEIR market?!

  53. Sara @ Our Best Bites February 15, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    This crazy woman has stolen my pictures as well. Looks like my cupcakes which still have MY watermark on them are one of her best sellers! lol She was nothing but horrible and rude to me when I attempted to contact her. Here is her listing:

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=40560064

    And here is my original blog post with my watermarked photos:

    http://www.ourbestbites.com/2009/05/cupcakes.html

    The other photos on that listing are stolen from two other food bloggers, Baking Bites:

    http://bakingbites.com/2009/05/rainbow-cupcakes/

    and 17 and Baking

    http://17andbaking.com/2009/07/16/rainbow-pride-party-cake/

  54. sick of Bella February 16, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    wow…..and then she has the balls to list those items in her featured product section. So, what has Etsy said? Oh, let me guess…..nothing.
    I feel bad for you and 3 dogs and a chick and all the others. This woman just drives me up the wall.
    And I am sick of Etsy doing NOTHING about this shit. If we ran our businesses this way we wouldn’t be in business for long. Etsy should also be ashamed, but they laugh all the way to the bank.

  55. JajieBo February 19, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    Seriously, I really want Bella and her awful shop to just go away already! Stolen photos, questionable sales… ugh. Does anyone really believed that she shipped a whole cake overseas? I don’t think so, Bella.

  56. JajieBo February 19, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    Sara, have you contacted admin about her stealing your pictures?

  57. Copyright violations March 6, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    You can report her (or anyone else who does this on their own site) to her domain registrar (ie, networksolutions, godaddy, etc). Be sure to use the DMCA form. You can find the .pdf of the DMCA by doing a web search.

    People who steal other people’s photos suck.

  58. Cora March 6, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    I have reported this woman to Etsy and PayPal due to her fraudulent claims. Oh she has a big announcement on the front of her store.

    She has a new website: http://www.bellabooandcharlietoo.com/index.html

  59. ohmeohmy March 6, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    Wow,

    She sounds a lot like that other fake seller shop, the CEO woman named Gwen something whose shop was called out.

    Remember, a person commented that she bought something and never received it from this “Gwen” woman.

    And all her listings were photos stolen from somewhere else?

    This shop: https://etsycallout.wordpress.com/2010/03/02/e-books-super-shilling/

Leave a Reply

