Reseller Call Out- FunkeyMonkeyCompany

21 Oct
From the inbox:
Some days it’s all I can do to keep my fingers off the keyboard and out of

threads. I don’t cruise the forums every day, but when I do inevitably

I want to … say something not so good.

example.

Here is what I would respond: To promote my shop I actually make all my

own items, instead of reselling kiln-baked make up like you that you

purchased.

oh

wait.. maybe you are supplying all these places, you- a “part time”

make up seller. . I mean they didn’t even bother to change the names.

jeesh.

16 Responses to “Reseller Call Out- FunkeyMonkeyCompany”

  1. pussdaddyblogs October 21, 2009 at 10:21 am #

    That’s sad.

  2. Gern Blanston October 21, 2009 at 1:03 pm #

    I’ve flagged many makeup sellers for the same reason. I won’t even buy make-up off etsy anymore.

  3. shameonyou October 21, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

    bummer, I was considering buying from them
    this is disheartening, remember mineralmagic? Yeah she was all defensive about not being a reseller and how they always accused her of being associated with Coconut bay?

    Anywho a friend forwarded me a link to a youtube video where she was holding a giveaway contest, guess who was sponsoring? Coconut bay o_0

    Resellers infiltrating Etsy are pathetic.

  4. Gern Blanston October 21, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    If the pictures are pixelated, there is a good chance the seller is using the wholesaler’s pics and the color names will be the same.

  5. Gibbs October 21, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

    If I had balls I would point out that she forgot to put “Sericite Mica” in the ingredients for the “Organic Kiln Baked Mineral Mosaic Face Powder” All the other ingredients are the exact same and in the same order as the Samee Cosmetics website.

    I dunno. I might grow some.

  6. MadeByM**** October 22, 2009 at 7:49 am #

    shameonyou says:
    Resellers infiltrating Etsy are pathetic.

    It makes it worse when some of them claim they made it when they didn’t and get all up in arms over it. That ticks me off!

  7. Laura October 22, 2009 at 9:32 am #

    Ugh!!! That’s why I won’t buy makeup from Etsy. I’d love to try some, but no way! And she freakin posts a thread about how to be successful. I want to post a link to that samee site SO badly!

  8. whittamore October 22, 2009 at 10:09 am #

    a link was posted and no one even noticed.

  9. Sarah October 22, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    Disgusting. But I have no confidence in admin to remove them.

  10. pussdaddyblogs October 22, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    The only good thing to say about the thread is that there were a lot of cute legit shops on it.

  11. Gern Blanston October 22, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    Someone really should convo the seller.

  12. Gibbs October 22, 2009 at 3:00 pm #

    I just tried to help your post get noticed, whittamore.

  13. Maria October 22, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    As a mineral makeup (MMU) crafter, Etsy shop owner (beautybysaria.etsy.com) and overall supporter of handcrafting artisans, I feel I just have to throw my two cents out there..
    First, unfortunately this reselling issue is not jus in the MMU, it is rampant in other areas as well. Just this past summer I was horrified to recieve what I thought was handmade silk skirt from an Etsy shop only to have a ‘made in India’ tag sewn into it.
    Not only was I ticked off to be ripped off, but I also felt I had let down my fellow Etsians for purchasing this skirt. I had gone back and forth between 2 items- liking them both, only having money for one…knowing I could have helped support someone who actually makes their own stuff, but instead was ‘taken’ by a reseller…well, it sucks.

    Knowing how it feels to be taken advantage of like that, I cannot imagine doing that to my customers. I see so many MMU sellers who are doing nothing more than purchasing mica colorants from a wholesaler, putting it in a jar and calling it eye shadow. Let me just set the record straight- this is NOT eye shadow.
    They may try to call it ‘pure pigment’ or ‘super intense’ but using straight mica colorants as purchased from a wholesaler does not perform as a shadow, liner, blush, etc, should. As for trying to pass off straight iron oxides…good luck getting those off your skin…they STAIN when applied straight to your skin. Bottom line what they are selling is NOT a cosmetic, it is a colorant.
    If you are serious about finding real MMU on Etsy, it can be done! Obviously I make my own products, or I wouldn’t be posting this! In addition to the 60+ shades of shadow I have created on my own, I also carry dozens of blush, foundation and skin care products as well.
    One thing that I do that some may confuse with reselling is that I will take a colorant from the manufacturer and purposely try to NOT change it. Why would I do this? Because sometimes the straight mica is just a gorgeous color! While I do not change the color, I do change the feel and performance- I take a colorant and make it a cosmetic. It took a long time, but I finally created a unique base that will keep the color true, but will give it the adherance, long wearing, slip and glide you expect in a mineral shadow.
    But honestly, I didn’t come here to just promote my shop…well, a little to promote it…but to also promote another shop I know makes her own products…Pink Quartz Minerals.

    The owner of PQM and I have gotten to be friends over the past few years nad we know there is plenty of clients out there for both of us so why not be supportive of each other instead of competitive. Point is both Doree and I know the truth does eventually come out…so we just keep our heads up, keep doing the right thing, and good things do come!

    Sorry for the rambling…I do tend to do that! I thank you for bringing issues like this out to the open so customers can know what and who they are dealing with! While PQM and I are not the only ones out there making our own, the list is no where as long as people think it is!

    Thanks again!
    Maria
    Owner/Creator, beauty by Saria

  14. Blythe October 23, 2009 at 2:52 am #

    As an avid buyer of MMU – my fav on etsy who is NOT a reseller is Mixologymakeup – she has lovely things 🙂

  15. Linda Pare October 25, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    I just felt I needed to comment on this one. This one I know about and can speak truthfully. I know the owner of Funkey Monkey and she definitely makes her own makeup. She has many wholesale accounts and private clients she sells to. She will talk your ear off about these products of hers. 🙂 She only uses excellent natural products and bakes them. This entrepreneur is involved in many ventures and I often wonder when she sleeps. She is a wonderful person that we can all learn from.
    I would never put my reputation on the line recommending a shady dealer. I know Myra and I know she makes this makeup. Of course other sellers would like to call her a reseller. If her wholesale accounts sell her items, that does not make her the reseller.
    Linda

  16. Angel October 26, 2009 at 3:54 pm #

    I’ve been looking into FMC on my own, and I have to say that I’m not convinced she’s a reseller. It appears to me that she does a significant amount of wholesale work, but she is the supplier of the original products.

    Of course, I could be wrong, but there is enough interviews out there with her talking about her products that leads me to believe that if she was simply a vendor, it would have been noted at some point previously.

Leave a Reply

