Earrings!!!

23 Oct

Seriously, I could buy them wholesale in Chinatown.
I don’t know which is more offensive, the fact that they are reselling, or that some of these sellers have them horribly overpriced.
Untitled-4
LittleCharm http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33002149
LittleCharm http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=vl_other_1&listing_id=33002410
mymiyel http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33016932&ref=cat3_gallery_8
VeraVinn http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33100916&ref=cat3_gallery_19
sharmadesigns http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=28403799&ref=cat3_gallery_2
restlesstraveller http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33077948&ref=cat3_gallery_11

Flagged a whole bunch of times. Still there.

17 Responses to “Earrings!!!”

  1. imwithya October 23, 2009 at 10:21 am #

    Did the op send a website link where you can buy these wholesale when they flagged? I don’t think Etsy would take them down without it… hell they won’t take stuff down when I send them five links. Plus all the sellers have to do is say they added their own earwires to make them hand altered and etsy legal.

  2. Life During Wartime October 23, 2009 at 10:22 am #

    This is a tough flag to stick because the seller can claim they purchased the dangle elements and attached them by hand to the earring finding, which is ‘handmade’ by Etsy’s standards.

  3. etsydnbf October 23, 2009 at 10:29 am #

    What they said.

  4. hmmmm2 October 23, 2009 at 10:37 am #

    My hairdresser sells the red ones with the same wire for $5.

    I doubt any of them are handmade.

  5. imwithya October 23, 2009 at 11:04 am #

    I doubt they’re handmade too but with stuff like this you really have to PROVE to Etsy that they aren’t (with links) and then hope that one day they will take down the item/s… half the time they never do. It’s annoying.

  6. pussdaddyblogs October 23, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    I never knew these were resold. I thought they bought the wood things and put them on ear wires.

  7. MadeByM**** October 23, 2009 at 12:35 pm #

    With the amout of sales in this shop, they won’t ever be taken down…..it’s a money-maker for Etsy!

  8. Gern Blanston October 23, 2009 at 1:53 pm #

    You know those tribal earrings with the horn stick through them? I see those all the time on etsy, same pictures as the wholesales sometimes even.

  9. dagnabbit October 23, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    Shit. Tag ’em supplies, and conform to the TOUs. “Etsy standards” is an ironic term.

  10. Nobody Understands My Pain Either October 24, 2009 at 12:05 am #

    I’m not convinced that these wouldn’t fit Etsy’s definition of handmade. I know I’ve seen the rose earrings before, but I’ve also seen the components sold separately.

  11. michelle October 24, 2009 at 4:23 am #

    I think thats really pathetic that all you have to do is add a wire to something to consider it handmade! I think if that meets etsy standards then maybe those standards need to be redefined.

    It’s a shame that sellers like that get to get away with selling that stuff and its ok.

  12. elizabeth October 24, 2009 at 7:53 am #

    Technically these are okay to sell as long as you are putting your own earwire on. I’ve seen the components for sale on etsy and have thought about making these myself. Maybe I will since they seem to sell! I need to make some money, here, folks!

  13. bindingtwine October 24, 2009 at 7:02 pm #

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/search/ref=sr_nr_p_n_material_browse_6?rh=n%3A3367581%2Cn%3A%213880591%2Cp_4%3ANvie+Designs%2Cp_n_material_browse%3A319881011%2Cp_n_material_browse%3A319960011&bbn=3880591&ie=UTF8&qid=1256438972&rnid=319881011

    You can buy them on Amazon too!
    I know they are also sold as a supply, but given how easily obtainable they are as an earring, I kinda doubt they’re adding an earwire.

    I wish I could find wholesale links online, but I can’t. I do know that if I go visit the bead shops in the Fashion District, I can stop by one of the many costume jewelry stores and buy a truckload of these “handmade” earrings. For about a $1 a pair.

  14. Life During Wartime October 25, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    I found this shop
    http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5323538
    in a forum thread
    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6326675
    where she says she’s never seen a reseller shop on Etsy?!?

    Isn’t she a reseller herself?

    Another one hard to prove because she can claim she puts these base metal dangles on their base metal chains, and just happens to sell them for the same price as other resellers on the web.

  15. Diana November 9, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

    While I do agree that the items listed here are hardly “handmade” my shop is mainly earrings and yes, sometimes all I do is buy a charm and put a hook on it. Sometimes I create out of different beads and chain and create my own styles, sometimes I don’t. It’s a real thin line! I feel good about what I do because I LOOK for specific charms and items that I feel are good and will sell. I do not resell cheap earrings that I could buy anywhere though. I just hope people aren’t looking at my items and thinking that they aren’t handmade.

  16. turner November 12, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    I’ve seen those on the streets of NYC

  17. Massage Cushion November 17, 2010 at 1:48 am #

    some jewelry stores offer a good deal of bargain for their new jewelry styles .“

Leave a Reply

