Add to my DO NOT BUY list: Noble Studios Ltd.

29 Oct

Greetings all!
I just wanted to say that I think this site is somewhat counter productive.

First of all you have NO IDEA if these people really are re-selling or not.

Second of all, if they are then your responsibility is to flag it for etsy and let them take care of it. I know….sometimes they don’t do anything about it but WHO CARES THEN?!?!?!?

Wouldn’t your time be better spent promoting your own shops and creating your new hand made designs rather than worrying so much about what others are doing? Like your mother probably told you (or should have) “You have enough to worry about just taking care of your business…don’t worry about what others are doing. ”

There are ALWAYS going to be peope who break the rules WHEREVER you go so if you are going to get upset about that, you will be upset all the time.

Besides the fact….like I said before…you have no way to prove that they really are re-sellers.

No disrespect intended…..You guys have too much time on your hands.

Sincerely,
Violette Noble

Noble Studios Ltd.

http://www.noblestudiosltd.etsy.com

***********************************************************************************************************
Take a look at past posts and we have always provided links to the manufacturers. And we do get shops closed. Sure we can’t take care of it all but does that mean we shouldn’t try? If we took your stance there would be alot more schlept on Etsy then there already is. I would love if law enforcement subscribed to your theory and decided to just give up the effort since there will ALWAYS be crime and dammit, they don’t want to be upset about it all the time.

And btw, not sure if your marketing technique of talking trash from your high and mighty stance and then leaving your etsy shop link is quite the promotion you would strive for. Too much time on our hands? Obviously you sat and read here.

Now sod off.

41 Responses to “Add to my DO NOT BUY list: Noble Studios Ltd.”

  1. JK October 29, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    I’ve always been amused by the ‘Oh, you should never concern yourself about what other people are doing!!11!’ crowd. If someone else’s bad behaviour has a negative effect on me or my source of income, you can damn well bet I’ll be paying attention!

  2. Max October 29, 2009 at 1:48 pm #

    I don’t have a shop, so No, I shouldn’t be spending my time promoting.

    I’m a buyer on Etsy. I totally appreciate this blog, because it helps maintain the Etsy mission statement, even though Admins are too preoccupied with Twittering and Storquing to do it themselves.

    We buyers hate searching for things and finding mass-produced crap. I had pretty much given up on Etsy, but this blog actually got me back into it. Etsy should thank them.

  3. MadeByM**** October 29, 2009 at 1:53 pm #

    ECO, great response! And you’re exactly right……….if we had that attitude about criminals, we’d be over-run by them and eventually, we would become victims! I swear, those that believe in the “worry about yourself” philosphy are either so naive that they’d fall for anything, or, they are saying it so they redirect attention from themselves so they don’t get caught at being a reseller!

  4. Life During Wartime October 29, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

    Noble Studios Ltd. sells handmade items categorized as ‘vintage’ in her shop. Like this: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=20334297 Instead of busting chops here, she needs to fix her listing categories.

  5. Max October 29, 2009 at 2:23 pm #

    lmao. One of the dreaded vintage mis-taggers telling everyone to stfu. Tell that to buyers looking for actual vintage items, ignoble.

  6. Liz October 29, 2009 at 2:55 pm #

    It figures that the writer of that email is a rule breaker herself.

    When people break the rules on etsy, it impacts EVERYONE. Especially sellers. This seller has not one ounce of business sense if she can’t see that.

  7. forum rubbernecker October 29, 2009 at 4:07 pm #

    OMG

    That is all.

  8. JK October 29, 2009 at 4:20 pm #

    Nice catch, LDW! No wonder she wants everyone looking the other way.

  9. dagnabbit October 29, 2009 at 4:32 pm #

    I don’t know about what anybody ELSE’s mother taught them, but my mother taught me that other people’s ethics affect the people around them, which is why she wouldn’t have wanted me to hang around with liars or vandals.
    Ii do remember her saying this: “One bad apple spoils the whole barrel”.
    So, if you are devoid of ethics it makes everyone around you look as thought they condone it.

    Whistle blowers are the ones who hold the ethically-challenged honest. Consider yourself BUSTED and take some responsibility for it. And, grow up.

  10. YadaYada October 29, 2009 at 5:32 pm #

    Every night before I go to bed I say God Bless the good people on the Etsy Call Out Blog. Well, ok maybe not EVERY night. Some nights I pray that Johnny Depp will answer my letters…but for sure MOST of the nights I am grateful to you folks for the admirable work you do for the rest of us: who are often just lazy, but occassionally are pompous assholes like the seller who sent that email.

  11. Becky Christian October 29, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    Just curious….do you guys ACTUALLY have a

    “do not buy from list”

    and if so where can I see it?

    THANKS!

  12. Life During Wartime October 29, 2009 at 7:59 pm #

    It looks like Noble Studio did the right thing and fixed her tags. Good for her!

  13. Suspicious October 29, 2009 at 8:57 pm #

    This is too funny.

    Fixed her tags because her ass got called out on them? Yeah, good for her. Bah.

  14. Angel October 29, 2009 at 9:44 pm #

    I absolutely LOVE people who use the words “no disrespect” or “no offense” right before/after they’ve insulted someone.

    “You’re a fucking douchebag, no offense.”

    You can see why I adore it.

    Anywho.

    Dear Violette Noble.

    Not all of us are sellers on Etsy. I’m not. I’m a buyer. I spend a lot of money on Etsy and other various “crafty” websites. Far too much, actually. And I like to ensure that every single purchase I make goes to support the people who crafted the items, not the people who googled asian wholesalers. And clearly you haven’t grasped the whole concept here because links to the wholesalers is pretty much standard.

    Etsy administration has a proven track record of not doing anything unless loads of people band together. So consider ECO the “band”. A group of individuals, sellers and buyers alike, who hold Etsy shops accountable even if Etsy admin won’t. We disagree, we make mistakes, but we are all here for the exact same reason. To make things better one little step at a time.

    The people who “care then”? That’s me. Because I don’t want to waste my money. I’d like to spend it on people like yourself.

    Well, not exactly like you. I’m talking about people who don’t passive-aggressively insult potential customers.

    No offense.

  15. Windy's designs October 29, 2009 at 9:59 pm #

    My mom used to tell me to turn the other cheek. My dad always told me when I run out of cheeks to kick the shit out of them. Worked every time.

    You can only ignore this stuff for so long before it infiltrates into your category or your search.

    I’m waiting for the day that the vigilant flaggers get tired of being ignored and go to the other side. I’m almost there myself.

  16. Amy October 30, 2009 at 4:41 am #

    I find this post from Noble Studios highly amusing. I won’t go in to details but this is a person who likes to stick their nose in where it doesn’t belong – so to then come here and say ‘who cares?’ is just too much!! lol.

  17. a thousand cupcakes October 30, 2009 at 6:05 am #

    I LOVE that buyers follow this blog.

    🙂

  18. YadaYada October 30, 2009 at 6:23 am #

    OMG- here is the pot calling the kettle black for sure!
    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=5917153
    NOBLESTUDIOSLTD:
    Sellers…please consider when you are composing your response to topics…particularly when it’s an emotional topic……to remember who might be reading your response.

    I have been surprised at a lot of the responses that are obviously off-handed or rude that in my opionion do NOTHING to further a sellers reputation.

    For example:
    1) comments made when someone is upset and therefore saying more than they should.

    2) comments made when the topic is emotional and therfore saying things in an un-kind or judgemental way.

    3) “bickering” between users about a certain post or topic.

    Please don’t misunderstand me….I am ALL FOR having a forum in which we can be completely honest and discuss things that might at times but upsetting or emotional but this can be done without rude or negative emotional responses. It might just require a few minutes away from the computer to think about the most appropriate response.

    Since I have started reading these forums I noticed a particular seller who several times made rude remarks about another sellers comments and who obviously did not take the time to state her case without being judgemental. I was so surprised as I had admired this seller for a long time loving her beautiful and whimsical creations. She has been on my favorites list and now unfortunately all I can think of when i look at her items for sale are her rude comments.

    If our goal is to sell our wares on etsy we should all remember that we are also selling ourselves and off handed or rude remarks might cost us a sale.

    I am going to try very hard to think BEFORE I post…..”Would I be embarrassed if a potential buyer just read what I posted?”

    Just a thought….

    Faithfully yours,
    Violette

    And this:
    NobleStudiosLtd says:
    I appreciate what everyone had to say..

    This may have been “done to death” but what I’ve read so far is a version of:

    “Gee…can’t we just all get along?!??!”

    Of course there’s nothing wrong with that BUT MY POINT was:

    We are all running a business and we would do well to keep ourselves professional in case a potential customer is listening.

    I’ve “gone off” on people before in forums but I am going to try very hard to think before I speak. My business is at stake!

    Oh and I do try and give people the benefit of the doubt…the first time I heard one of my fav sellers say something really rude I was so surprised…her items are lovely.

    Since then every post I have read from her is at the very least snippy.

    Every time I look at her wares I think of that rude attitude.

    Yes people have every “right” to say whatever they want…I was just hoping we as sellers could remember that someone who is our next sale might be listening…

    Faithfully yours,
    Violette

    Maybe someone shoudl take their own advice before shooting off an email.

    Failthfully yours,
    yada

  19. Life During Wartime October 30, 2009 at 9:59 am #

    Suspicious, even if some read her attitude in forum posts and blog comments as hypocritical, it does show intelligence and maturity to learn from your mistakes. Especially when your mistakes are pointed out in a public arena. Fixing her category tags is doing the right thing by the other sellers, as well as the buyers, in the Etsy community.

    There have been shop owners who refused to make changes to their listings after being called out. Even after having multiple comments made to them here about the specifics of what they needed to change and why.

  20. Max October 30, 2009 at 11:20 am #

    More proof that this blog gets results!

  21. FP Madness October 30, 2009 at 1:08 pm #

    Have you seen the latest technique for getting your item on the FP?

    Stick a random item in your listing, and include it in your tags…

    Proof this works? Check out the organic baby quilts tagged “pinecones” and put in a “using the search term pinecone” themed FP by Etsy. http://craftcult.com/vault_list.php?list=6434&userid=5032903&fm=&esn=&m=10&d=&st=1&pagenum=1&ls=0

    What if loads of sellers start doing this?? As a seller I’d love to have the nerve to try, but as a buyer it would make shopping impossible. Grr.

  22. smells rats October 30, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    I’m a little confused, did you seriously add Violette to your do not buy list because she contradicted you? Someone dared to have a different opinion then you and you could not let them get away with that??
    And in your defense of committing such a heinous offense you have compared yourself to the police? Are you the ETSY police?

    Doesn’t Etsy already have a policing system, as Ms. Nobel pointed out? Or do you all work for Etsy as well??

    Wouldn’t it be better to have called yourselves by what you really are, which is the Etsy Vigilante? And as is typical with vigilante style policing, you have gone beyond the neutrality the police would have when enforcing the law and let the issue become personal. Which is why Vigilantism is illegal!

    Your feelings go hurt so you decided to go on the attack and you call Violette High and mighty? It seems that this description would better fit those of you who are pointing fingers at a woman who’s only crime is having the guts to point out what a bunch of mean spirited people you are here~
    If you were truly performing a service to the Etsy community, you might be running this blog as a type of Better Business Bureau, where people could go to report scams and bad service.

    But what you are actually doing is using this platform to go around picking on people (see the side bar with the links to ugly items on etsy for heavens sakes!) and oh yeah, you catch a few bad guys in the process to justify your meanness.
    I smell a rat!

  23. Amy October 30, 2009 at 2:00 pm #

    Smells Rats – you say ‘If you were truly performing a service to the Etsy community, you might be running this blog as a type of Better Business Bureau, where people could go to report scams and bad service’.
    Err that’s exactly what happens on this blog!

    And talking of vigilantes – that’s exactly what Noble Studios is (see my post no.16)

  24. Becky Christian October 30, 2009 at 2:55 pm #

    Amy Says:
    October 30, 2009 at 4:41 am

    I find this post from Noble Studios highly amusing. I won’t go in to details but this is a person who likes to stick their nose in where it doesn’t belong – so to then come here and say ‘who cares?’ is just too much!! lol.

    since when do you guys not “want to go into detail?”

    Hey Becky…um….er, Violette, this post has your same IP address. What say you about that?? -eco

  25. Sez Who? October 30, 2009 at 2:58 pm #

    smells rat, are you sure you aren’t just smelling yourself? lol

  26. Violette Noble October 30, 2009 at 3:13 pm #

    Greetings again,
    I would like to sincerely apologize for my off-handed remarks. I had no idea my quick post would garner such a reaction and I do regret not spending more time choosing my words more carefully.

    A friend of mine was hurt by this site “calling her out” for something she did not do so I think I just reacted poorly and forgot to choose my words as carefully as I usually do.

    I don’t think what this site is doing is necessarily wrong but I do think the way you are doing it is. A lot of the things that are said are mean spirited and just downright cruel and a lot of the people that post here seem to enjoy being as cruel as they can be. I guess that’s why most don’t use their real names.

    I do respect your right to handle this site in whatever way you choose. I just thought I would be able to voice my opinion on this forum without fear of retribution.

    As far as my tags go, yes when I read this yesterday I went in and fixed my one tag (out of 75 listings) that was incorrect. It was an old listing and one I put under vintage before I realized that the item needed to be vintage on it’s own. I thought since every part of my jewelry was vintage or antique it would be ok to post it in vintage. Etsy emailed me asking me to correct my tags…I did but I guess I missed one. Thank you for bringing that to my attention.

    As far as including my etsy name in my post…I just do that out of habit…it certainly was not my intention to promote myself.

    I also want to thank “life during war times” for their post acknowledging my attempts to try and fix my mistake.

    I will try and heed my own advice more in the future and again, I apologize for my choice of words that obviously hurt a lot of feelings.

    Faithfully yours,
    Violette Noble

  27. Amy October 30, 2009 at 3:31 pm #

    Well if you insist Beck Christian!

    could this be described as a vigilante act?! http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=5930268&page=9

    and no, i am not the seller she is refering to! But I know that was not the only seller she sent a convo to because she sent one to me too. I was in the gift guide and i was refunding shipping as clearly stated in my announcement. She inquired pretending to be a potential buyer. i explained I would refund, to which she replied that this was ‘too big a hassle’.

    I politely sent a message back mentoning that I had seen her post in the forums and questioned whether she was really interested! To which she got all high and mighty trying to stress she really was a buyer (umm ok – I caught her out but she still couldn’t admit it) and began patronising me!

    You know what’s counter productive Noble? Hassling sellers who were lucky enough to be in the gift guide just because you were miffed you weren’t picked. (it’s not like i’m one of these sellers who is always in the gift guides or on the FP! It’s the one and only gift guide I have ever been in!)

  28. Violette Noble October 30, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

    Oh and thank you RAT for sticking up for me! That was very sweet!

  29. JK October 30, 2009 at 3:33 pm #

    Oh, of course — not using ‘real names’ is all about being cruel, and has nothing to do with the kinds of attitudes Etsy has displayed in the past toward those they find too vocal in their criticism. Nothing at all! No, it’s just because we all like to hurt the feelings of people who blatantly resell, lie about helping children in India, rip off buyers or make a mockery of Etsy policy — you know, good, decent people like that. We’re all just horrible like that.

  30. Thud October 30, 2009 at 4:02 pm #

    Wait.
    No, wait!
    So, Violette’s advice is to mind your own business, given while SHE gives completely unsolicited advice about someone ELSE’s business?
    LMAO
    I lurve irony.

  31. What She Said October 30, 2009 at 5:19 pm #

    SMELLS-
    Vigilantism is a bastardization of justice. It is arrogant. It doesn’t wait for outcomes.
    Instead, a vigilante acts on the triumvirate impulse of fear, righteousness and adrenaline. He decides his way is best for everyone.

    If you would take the time to really READ this site, I don’t think you could accuse it of vigilantism.

    Thank goodness that what it is is VIGILANT.

  32. Lindsey October 30, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

    I think Violette is showing maturity here (though I disagree with her original post).

    I checked one of her listings before the callout on her and it was right (handmade category first and then tagged vintage because it was composed of vintage items). So not all of her stuff was wrong.

    I’m a fan of this blog because I think it helps get results in removing violators of Etsy policy. We are not policing, but rather protecting the interests of our businesses. Clearing out the crap and helping to improve searches.

    I am not a fan of the name calling and rudeness–by eco lovers and haters alike. I wish we could be more mature here.

  33. Life During Wartime October 30, 2009 at 6:15 pm #

    Whoa, FP Madness! A seller included a pinecone in her photo, for decoration, and then tagged the listing (for a baby blanket) ‘pinecone’? And an admin, probably CWI (curating while intoxicated), included the baby blanket in a FP collection based on a search by Etsy for items tagged ‘pinecone’?

    This deserves a blog post of its own, ECO. Because if this worked for one shop, more sellers will be doing this. I read the listing description twice, and there is nothing about a free pinecone included with purchase of the blanket.

    This is in a way hilarious. In a ‘this is your brain on drugs’ kinda way.

    I’d flag it, but I am not sure how…and it was already sanctioned by the Etsy staff.

  34. Angel October 30, 2009 at 7:02 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=27937457

    The seller has thrown a watermark over an image that was actually drawn by the creator of Homestar Runner.

    *sighs*

    I want scrabble tile vendors to all go away. Well, that isn’t fair. Just the majority of them. I’m sure there are some very nice artists who put their own work on them, and I’m definitely not knocking those particular ones.

  35. melinda October 30, 2009 at 11:11 pm #

    The standard you walk past, is the standard you set.

  36. janicejoplin2 October 31, 2009 at 8:39 pm #

    Melinda, I like that quote. It is very applicable here! I have been lurking here (ECO) and have just started posting. I have avoided buying from 2 shops because of this blog. Keep up the good work! An informed seller and buyer.

  37. Bedazzled Condom November 2, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    “A friend of mine was hurt by this site “calling her out” for something she did not do so I think I just reacted poorly and forgot to choose my words as carefully as I usually do.”

    Is Funkyshique STILL Bitching and moaning? I thought she was going to seek help.

    “Hey Becky…um….er, Violette, this post has your same IP address. What say you about that?? -eco”

    rolfmao! As predictable as winter rains.

  38. marcy November 7, 2009 at 1:07 pm #

    sellers should care because the inclusion of items that violate etsy’s tou cheapen the site as a whole, and make it more difficult for buyers to find your shop!

    isn’t it obvious?!?

  39. Nancy November 24, 2009 at 6:27 pm #

    I agree, this site needs to go…so much negativity in this world.

  40. marcelly December 20, 2009 at 6:02 pm #

    this is like saying “why should i care about starving people in the third world, there is enough in my cupboard so screw them!”

    this mode of thinking seems to apply to integrity these days too.

    it is so sad that a desire to make effective changes for the sake of the whole is so uncool.

    look after the self only, fuck everyone else. that’s the way to go!

  41. marcelly December 20, 2009 at 6:05 pm #

    Nancy, yes, so much negativity.
    it is better to wear a blindfold than accept unsavory truths isnt it?

    this is possibly why 90% of rapists are never caught. why kids who are abused stay silent. lets not rock the old boat, eh?

Leave a Reply

