Add SHILLING to regs123 profile

2 Nov

Regs123 http://www.etsy.com/shop/regs123
got a couple negatives the other day, so she IMMEDIATELY gets four
GLOWING positives from the following people:

http://www.etsy.com/shop/WhimsicalChildhood
http://www.etsy.com/shop/AutumnShowers

Hm… the name format seems…very…familiar. The artwork looks very…hm…similar.

Feedback and the mistakes.

http://www.etsy.com/view_transaction.php?transaction_id=21036179
Regs123 sold on Nov 2 to AutumnShowers. Both buyer and seller left feedback on Nov 2.
Regs123, the SELLER, left the BUYER feedback of “Lovely Painting!”

http://www.etsy.com/view_transaction.php?transaction_id=21036618
WhimsicalChildhood sold on Nov 2 to Regs123. Both buyer and seller left feedback on Nov 2.
WhimsicalChildhood, the SELLER, left the BUYER feedback of “Adorable!”

http://www.etsy.com/view_transaction.php?transaction_id=21035933
Regs123 sold this on Nov 1 to WhimsicalChildhood. Both buyer and seller left feedback on Nov 1.
Regs123, the SELLER, left the BUYER feedback of “gorgeous in person. Thanks”

http://www.etsy.com/view_transaction.php?transaction_id=21035932
Regs123 sold this on Nov 1 to WhimsicalChildhood. Both buyer and seller left feedback on Nov 1.
Regs123, the SELLER, left the BUYER feedback of “gorgeous in person. Thanks”

WE HAVE HAD MANY POSTS ON REGS123 BEFORE….I THINK THIS ONE GRADUATES HER FOR THE D-BAG OF THE YEAR. SHEESH.

60 Responses to “Add SHILLING to regs123 profile”

  1. Jenn November 2, 2009 at 11:13 am #

    I love this blog.
    I wouldn’t have known about sellers like this one (with all of her identities) if you weren’t here.

    No point reporting it to admin – they’ll just take off the feedback, but won’t do a thing to the seller(s).
    Jerks.

  2. Bedazzled Condom November 2, 2009 at 11:31 am #

    This is going to be hot gossip at her next Relief Society meeting.

  3. Karen November 2, 2009 at 11:33 am #

    Bedazzled… huh?

  4. Bedazzled Condom November 2, 2009 at 11:43 am #

    She’s LDS aka Latter Day Saint aka Mormon.

    LDS women go to Relief Society meetings. LDS men go to Priesthood meetings.

    I wonder if she has a Temple Recommend? I’m sure her Bishop (the actual judge and jury of her Temple worthiness) would never approve of such behavior.

  5. sb November 2, 2009 at 11:58 am #

    I think I was the first to flag the repulsive regs123, and I am so glad people are getting to hear more and more about what a flake this person is.

  6. Gern Blanston November 2, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    Has anyone asked her WTF?

  7. 7DeadlySins November 2, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    Awww, c-mon now. Maybe she delivered her “inspired by” (in her case – copycat) artwork to these buyers locally! *snort*!

    Whose work did she rip-off with the doxie/bunny paintings? They’re really cute, but I would want to get them from the actual artist.

  8. Gern Blanston November 2, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    The profiles all sound pretty similar as well….degree, little girl, fine art, watercolor.

  9. Karen November 2, 2009 at 12:36 pm #

    doxies are from
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/poordogfarm

  10. Life During Wartime November 2, 2009 at 1:07 pm #

    Why is this shop still open? How much proof do the admins need?

    Not closing a shop for breaking site rules is bad, but allowing someone to get away with copying — and selling — another artist’s work is a different level of fail.

  11. corrabelle November 2, 2009 at 1:13 pm #

    She ripped them off poordogfarm. His work is awesome.
    I love her own little screw up in the feedback. “great painting”…to her “buyer”.

    She totally screwed me over last week, selling some of my work. I found a good lawyer;)

  12. Steamedpunk November 2, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    I figured out how regs123 can make everything alright, just by changing their shop name. They should change it to “Hopeless loser fuckup” and then at least something would be honest.
    Who cares?

  13. JK November 2, 2009 at 3:38 pm #

    Looks like poordogfarm found out; they have a little warning about her in their shop announcement. Their pieces are adorable! Too bad Etsy seems more concerned with protecting copiers than legitimate artists.

  14. Poppie November 2, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

    Yes, regs123 is copying. And seems to own at least two Etsy shops where she/he/they copy other artists’ works. regs deserves to be called out. And to be closed down.

    But how do you feel about the fact that someone made purchases from a shop with the sole intention of leaving negative feedback? Any comments?

  15. Poordogfarm November 2, 2009 at 5:07 pm #

    She is a fraud!! She has appoligized to me for copying my work, but it still makes me angry that she thinks this is OK. Really?!? I work hard late at night on my paintings… I have another job and a family… and a farm….
    The negative feedback is from me and was leverage for her to remove her (MY) paintings. My intention was to remove MY paintings… she deserves more than just negative feedback. I hope she realizes her mistakes….

  16. Bedazzled Condom November 2, 2009 at 5:54 pm #

    “But how do you feel about the fact that someone made purchases from a shop with the sole intention of leaving negative feedback? Any comments?”

    If you steal from me all bets are off.

    Poordog, how did she apologize? I understand completely if you don’t wish to share more but I do have to wonder if she showed any remorse at all.

  17. Poordogfarm November 2, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    I don’t mind sharing!!! Here is one of the convos we had! Maybe the next person can use it when she rips them off as well!!

    by regs123 profile shop contact

    Sorry again. Hope you had alittle bit of fun on Halloween.
    1 November 2009 12:10am EDT

    by sgeorgieff profile shop

    Thank you for the email. I also have a BA in Fine Arts and work very hard=
    to provide for my family. But you need to understand that you are copying my idea and I own the original ink drawings!!
    When someone copies my work it is just wrong!!=
    I am copying your email and forwarding it to etsy and the copyright offi=
    ces. At this point I will take you on your word, but will be watching you=
    r sites very closely!!
    31 October 2009 11:48pm EDT

    by regs123 profile shop contact

    My sister had purchased prints from your shop. I thought they were cute and re-painted them to put in my shop. I have to let you know that they were not prints of your paintings that I was selling in my shop. I have a BA in fine arts from BYU Hawaii so I am a painter. Just sometimes not very creative. It was not right for me to paint your work. You are a talented artist far better than myself and I really am sorry. It will not happen again. I give you my word.

    31 October 2009 11:35pm EDT

    by sgeorgieff profile shop

    I have removed your paintings!! Do you agree not to post any paintings or prints from my site??

    by regs123 profile shop contact

    I hope this hasn’t ruined your halloween 😦
    31 October 2009 7:35pm EDT

    by regs123 profile shop contact

    I will not copy your art. And I have removed your painting.
    31 October 2009 6:38pm EDT

    by sgeorgieff profile shop

    i WILL REMOVE MY NEGATIVE FEEDBACK IF YOU REMOVE ALL MY PAINTINGS FROM YOUR SITE AND SUBMIT IN WRITING THAT YOU WILL NOT COPY MY ART!

    i HAVE CONTACTED ETSY AND PAYPAL TO REPORT YOU!!

  18. corrabelle November 2, 2009 at 6:46 pm #

    Sounds familiar….
    this is what I got in response to my angry convo…

    “I am so so sorry. My friend had a print of this painting and I loved it and painted it to sell in my etsy shop. I will remove it immediately 😦 I had no idea it was an etsy seller.

    I have an art degree from Hawaii and I am actually an artist. I painted this painting from your print. I can mail you the actual painting if you’d like so you can see it is not a print. I do not sell any prints in my art shop. “

  19. corrabelle November 2, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

    oh, and poordog, I have screen shots of your work being sold in her store, if you should need them.

  20. Bedazzled Condom November 2, 2009 at 7:07 pm #

    Wow! What nerve. Thanks for sharing, you two.

    I’m even more appalled now.

    My guess is that she is a convert to the LDS Church and the missionaries and her professors at BYUH didn’t *quite* cover all the bases.

  21. Sabrina November 2, 2009 at 7:11 pm #

    poordog- i do NOT think you should remove the negative feedbacks. Other buyers need to know that she copies art. Just because it isn’t yours doesn’t mean that people don’t need to know that they are not getting original work. “just not very creative”..PRICELESS

  22. Bedazzled Condom November 2, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    “I can mail you the actual painting if you’d like so you can see it is not a print.”

    “I do not sell any prints in my art shop.”

    “I have to let you know that they were not prints of your paintings that I was selling in my shop.”

    Odd that she seems to draw her moral line at mechanical reproduction, isn’t it?

    It’s okay to steal as long as you only reproduce someone else’s work by hand.

    SCUMBUCKET THIEF, is what you are, Regs/Dregs. SCUMBUCKET THIEF!

  23. janicejoplin2 November 2, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    Here’s what I see. She reproduces it and paints over the print. I’ve done this with my own prints. I don’t sell them as originals, but just to add texture and extra punch (hand embellish).

    Hers are exactly like poordog’s and corrabelle’s..just too close. I consider myself a decent artist and they are either traced or reproduced. Thief is right!

    Hope you had a little bit of fun on your Halloween? Give me an effin break!

  24. Poordogfarm November 2, 2009 at 8:23 pm #

    Thanks for all the support!! It is great when a group or artist come together to fight a copying thief!! Who needs the Etsy support team when we artist are the ones really fighting the battles!!
    Thank you all keep fighting for artist’s rights!!

  25. Andrea November 2, 2009 at 9:16 pm #

    It is also quite possible that her E.H. Shepard-inspired works are copyright infringement, as his work is still protected by copyright. All of her Pooh works are copies of the original illustrations in the books.

    She’s also been called out on this before:

    http://youthoughtwewouldntnotice.com/blog3/?p=3859&cpage=1#comment-36947

  26. Andrea November 2, 2009 at 9:19 pm #

    p.s. If you’d like to report her to the E.H. Shepard estate:

    From another site: “In all cases, your first contact is the E.H. Shepard estate’s literary agent at Curtis Brown Ltd: more information, including contact details, can be found on their website, at
    http://www.curtisbrown.co.uk/.”

  27. corrabelle November 2, 2009 at 10:09 pm #

    I know she prints them, because the print that she was selling of mine still had my signature in it! (it was hidden in the painting…and she hadn’t caught it.)
    I spoke with one of the buyers who was fooled into buying one of her “originals” of my work, and she said it looked like a watercolor paper ran through an inkjet, and maybe she might have dabbed at the printer ink with a bit of water.

    Classy.

  28. Michelle November 2, 2009 at 10:22 pm #

    I love how her “buyer” has almost the same exact profile as she does.

    That’s even LAZIER.

  29. imwithya November 2, 2009 at 11:22 pm #

    How many shops does this woman have? If she is reported TWICE for stealing other Etsy artist’s work and Etsy does nothing about it then I’m going to scream. Not to mention that the rest of the “original” works from those three shops are most likely stolen from others. I feel like doing some google image detective work now.

  30. sb November 3, 2009 at 1:21 am #

    Oh wow!

    I googled how I might search for images using images – I’ve just found this site called tineye(dot)com – you paste in the page or image url and it brings up where else the image is online.

    So I tried Whimsical Childhood’s ‘Original ”Baby With Dog”’ and hey presto! It’s a poster for biscuits – ha!

    That is seriously useful.

  31. sb November 3, 2009 at 1:32 am #

    Okay – it’s not the entire internet, just their own database, but I’ve found other matches for her – there’s a ‘compare the pictures’ thing and you can toggle them to see how close they are.

  32. Karen November 3, 2009 at 4:32 am #

    I have three shops on Etsy, all disclosed of course, like a good girl.

    Photography (done ok), drawings (have had next to no sales)and destash for some supplies. With this ‘world class service’ that consists of nothing more than turning a blind eye, I’m thinking my drawings and possibly the photos will just have to come down. Soon.

    Has anyone had any experience with Facebook Biz pages?

  33. janicejoplin2 November 3, 2009 at 4:53 am #

    She’s not even a good thief! She is a dumb and lazy one with no conscience. Do what you have to do. Call her bluff! Tell her to send you the painting I would love to see her ” Inspired by you” original. If you want us to start a letter campaign on your behalf just say the word. There IS power in numbers. Etsy allowing this to continue is beyond words. There is just too much proof! On top of it all she has the nerve to put her face on an avatar! She needs to be tarred and feathered and ran out of town!

  34. janicejoplin2 November 3, 2009 at 4:58 am #

    Karen. You are absolutely correct. We are all at risk! She has enough art on line to copy to last the rest of her lifetime. Where did she get her art degree? Kinko’s?

    No I have not had any experience with Facebook..sorry

  35. a thousand cupcakes November 3, 2009 at 6:28 am #

    When she was earning her art degree, did she just hand in copies of other students’ work??

    What kind of horse’s rear thinks this is an OK thing to do?

    Lower than low, and dumber than dumb.

  36. CMOM November 3, 2009 at 6:44 am #

    I want to find out how she is shipping so fast to her buyers for them to leave feedback the SAME DAY! WOW! Teleport maybe? Anyone know where I can get one? I’ll see if anyone on Etsy is making and selling them. My sales would really take off if I could get my item to the buyer the same day that they buy it. Maybe the Etsy admin could spend time writing an article about since they have so little else to do…

  37. blablover5 November 3, 2009 at 8:22 am #

    Woah, she’s finally gone.

    It only took, what, 5 months or so and numerous claims that she stole from other artists.

    Etsy certainly moves at its own special Brooklyn pace.

  38. corrabelle November 3, 2009 at 9:29 am #

    ha, wow! Actually gone…

    I wonder how long it will be before she’s back. I’ll be keeping my eye out now….

  39. sb November 3, 2009 at 10:35 am #

    I am SOOOO happy about this!

    corrabelle, I’ll be keeping my eye out for further shizzle too.

  40. Bedazzled Condom November 3, 2009 at 10:58 am #

    She’ll be back in a week. Fuck you, Etsy. You knew about this MONTHS ago. WTF took so FUCKING LONG?

    Sorry, done now.

    “Where did she get her art degree? Kinko’s?”

    BYU Hawaii, basically the same thing. They don’t graduate a lot of potentially great or thought provoking artists (if you’ve seen much “Mormon art” you will know what I mean) but they do graduate a lot of honest, decent, hardworking people and I know for a fact she was not taught to steal in her BYUH art classes. They may have copied artwork as a learning exercise but there is no way she learned how to steal in school.

    “On top of it all she has the nerve to put her face on an avatar!”

    I doubt that is her. People who steal other people’s artwork steal other people’s faces too.

  41. Bedazzled Condom November 3, 2009 at 11:02 am #

    From the BYUH Honor Code:

    “We believe in being HONEST, TRUE, chaste, benevolent, VIRTUOUS, and in doing good to all men . . . If there is anything virtuous, lovely, or of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things. (Thirteenth Article of Faith)

    As a matter of personal commitment, students, faculty, and staff of Brigham Young University, Brigham Young University-Hawaii, Brigham Young University-Idaho, and LDS Business College seek to demonstrate in daily living on and off campus those moral virtues encompassed in the gospel of Jesus Christ, and will

    BE HONEST
    Observe Dress and Grooming Standards
    Obey the law and all campus policies
    Participate regularly in Church services
    Live a chaste and virtuous life
    Use clean language
    RESPECT OTHERS
    Abstain from alcoholic beverages, tobacco, tea, coffee, and substance abuse
    Encourage others in their commitment to comply with the Honor Code”

  42. Bedazzled Condom November 3, 2009 at 11:07 am #

    And this:

    “Academic Honesty
    BYU students should seek to be TOTALLY HONEST in their dealings with others. They should COMPLETE THEIR OWN WORK and be evaluated based upon that work. They should AVOID ACADEMIC DISHONESTY AND MISCONDUCT in all its forms, including PLAGIARISM, fabrication or falsification,
    CHEATING, and other academic misconduct. Students are responsible not only to adhere to the Honor Code requirement to be HONEST, but also to assist other students in fulfilling their commitment to be honest. (complete version of the Academic Honesty Policy available at www.
    byu.edu/honorcode)”

  43. corrabelle November 3, 2009 at 11:27 am #

    Who knows if she really has a degree in anything. She may have randomly picked BYUH out of a hat.

  44. CMOM November 3, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    Maybe she thinks that she doesn’t have to live by the schools honor code anymore because she has graduated.

  45. MadeByM**** November 3, 2009 at 12:25 pm #

    At least that shop is gone for now…………

  46. Bedazzled Condom November 3, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    “Who knows if she really has a degree in anything.”

    I do.

    “Maybe she thinks that she doesn’t have to live by the schools honor code anymore because she has graduated.”

    Since she calls herself a member of the LDS Church, the spirit and gist (if not the actual logistics) of the BYUH Honor Code is LIFELONG.

    The first quote above is from the Articles of Faith of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. They were written by Joseph Smith. There are 13 of them. The 13th reads, in its entirety:

    “We believe in being honest, true, chaste, benevolent, virtuous, and in doing good to all men; indeed, we may say that we follow the admonition of Paul—We believe all things, we hope all things, we have endured many things, and hope to be able to endure all things. If there is anything virtuous, lovely, or of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things.”

    It says nothing about stealing being acceptable if you need the money or stealing being acceptable if can you do so manually. Besides, the Church has an amazing welfare system of its own and a member in good standing will always have adequate food, shelter and other necessities without having to turn to DISHONESTY or THEFT. (Do you hear me, Dregs?)

    In case anyone is interested in the rest of the Articles (I personally find this to be a fascinating religion) they can be found here:

    http://www.lds.org/library/display/0,4945,106-1-2-1,FF.html

  47. Poordogfarm November 3, 2009 at 12:49 pm #

    She is gone for now… but I am sure she will be back along with others who do the same bull crap

    We the sellers at Etsy are the eyes… Let’s keep a look out for each other. I thank everyone who alerted me to her..

  48. Bedazzled Condom November 3, 2009 at 12:50 pm #

    Number 12 is also applicable.

    “We believe in being subject to kings, presidents, rulers, and magistrates, in OBEYING, HONORING AND SUSTAINING THE LAW.”

  49. janicejoplin2 November 3, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

    My God that school wouldn’t even let me look through their windows! ha

    We’ll be looking for her. She’ll just pick off the artists one by one.

    BUH bye…Can’t fool us, honey. You might be able to fool Etsy Adm. oh, but not us! See ya next time!

  50. Bedazzled Condom November 3, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

    lol Janice. Me neither.

    I could maybe drive by the campus really, really fast.

  51. HOLY COW!!! November 3, 2009 at 2:29 pm #

    wow-that is really impressive–does Admin read this blog, or did so many people flag this in a single day that the shop was closed? This is EXACTLY why that person who wrote the recent comment about this blog being vigilante was so wrong. You guys rock. Score one for the good guys-way to go.

  52. 7DeadlySins November 3, 2009 at 4:32 pm #

    This is a great website that does a wonderful service for the Etsy community. I’m tempted to call out Etsy Call Out in the Forum just so more people can know about this site.

  53. Karen November 3, 2009 at 4:49 pm #

    She got shut down for the shilling, not the copying.

    Etsy got a detailed email about the fake feedbacks, and I’m pretty sure that’s what did her in.

  54. Gern Blanston November 3, 2009 at 6:48 pm #

    I know of at least 2 other sellers who shilled and just had the feedback removed and they remain open. WTF?

    Regardless, hooray!

  55. Laura November 4, 2009 at 12:31 pm #

    janicejoplin2 Says:
    November 3, 2009 at 4:58 am
    Karen. You are absolutely correct. We are all at risk! She has enough art on line to copy to last the rest of her lifetime. Where did she get her art degree? Kinko’s?

    No I have not had any experience with Facebook..sorry

    LOL! Omg, best freakin line…Kinko’s. I love it.

  56. janicejoplin2 November 4, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    Well thank you Laura! I couldn’t decide between the University of Kinko’s, Staples State or the Ivy League school The Prestigious Academy of the Office Depote. U of K just made more sense to me. They supply “white out” in the plastic bins for free.

    Plus their motto is, ” Prints so unbelievable they will even fool the Etsy Administration !”

  57. janicejoplin2 November 4, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

    I know shilling is a terrible infraction, but to me copying so blatantly is much more offensive. She gets kicked off for shilling? She’s been copying for how long? Jesus Help Us All!

  58. Abe November 5, 2009 at 12:34 am #

    While I think copyright infringement is awful and should be nipped in the bud, fraud risks the FBI getting involved and copyright infringement generally only ever becomes a lawsuit.

  59. janicejoplin2 November 5, 2009 at 4:08 pm #

    Abe. You are right! I was thinking with my heart and not my head!

  60. Randy December 8, 2009 at 6:15 am #

    Thanks for taking this. Good blog post on your site. I was checking your post and I have bookmark your blog already.

Leave a Reply

