Lazy Seller- annabert

4 Nov


Seriously, putting a crap faux poloroid frame on the picture isn’t going to make people realize that you just “borrowed” another shops photos.

annabert will buy items and then sell them in her shop but will use ALL 5 of your photos in her listing. No shame, she’ll keep your face, tattoo in it, etc.

*****Bought from VonlenskaVintage http://www.etsy.com/view_transaction.php?transaction_id=18110837
annabert’s listing- http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=30325843

*****Bought from AandOgarcia http://www.etsy.com/view_transaction.php?transaction_id=18432480
annabert’s listing- http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=30378596

*****Bought from stephaniebracciano http://www.etsy.com/view_transaction.php?transaction_id=11496621
annabert’s listing- http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=22808223

I’m sure if you check her feedback from sellers http://www.etsy.com/feedback_public.php?user_id=6199908&feedback_type=from_sellers
you could find a butt load more. LAZY!

22 Responses to “Lazy Seller- annabert”

  1. Life During Wartime November 4, 2009 at 11:09 am #

    2 observations:

    1) Selling vintage is reselling. I don’t do clothing, but most of the inventory I have purchased in the last 10 years has been from other dealers, mostly in bricks and mortar but some online. That way I am buying only items I want at a price I want to pay.

    2) This seller is in France, and it looks like she buys American and British vintage clothing. I am guessing her intended customer is in continental Europe. Before the internet, antiques dealers from all over the US used to visit co-ops where I had booths on buying trips, moving goods from where they were easily found to places they were scarce. Annabert is doing the same thing.

    I can’t speak for how the shops she purchased from feel about her copying photos. If I sold clothing on Etsy, I’d try to set up a working arrangement with her where she purchases multiple items from me and I’d let her use my photos, no problem. She could also use my descriptions if she wasn’t fluent in written Egnlish. (I can only write poor French with a dictionary and a verb wheel.) A sale is a sale is a sale, and I have no problem working with other sellers.

    If she was doing this with handmade items, then I’d say go ahead and blast her. I didn’t check out every item in her shop, so am assuming she only sells vintage.

  2. imwithya November 4, 2009 at 11:40 am #

    Yup, she can resell any commercial supplies or vintage items she buys on Etsy BUT she can’t use other seller’s photos or descriptions without their permission. Maybe she has it? (probably not)

  3. I heart cake November 4, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    My biggest question is how much did she originally pay for those items in order to resell them for such low prices?

  4. Life During Wartime November 4, 2009 at 12:25 pm #

    I’m guessing she paid more for them than her resale asking price. She says in her announcement that she’s a collector, not a dealer. I think she is just thinning out her personal collection? Looks like she’s fast approaching the stage of becoming a dealer. Unless you are taking over an established business, from a family member etc, collecting and selling off excess is how you get sucked in LOL

    Pricing is something you start to care about only when you begin buying things to sell. It takes years to learn how to buy well.

  5. Laura November 4, 2009 at 12:28 pm #

    Wait, please tell me how this is vintage from her store: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=30379858

    Unknow label? It shows an effing unlabel on the shirt! More like, it’s not vintage so I’m going to avoid telling you the label. Puhleeeze….

  6. Laura November 4, 2009 at 12:29 pm #

    Yea, she can resell all she wants. The picture stealing…not so smart!

  7. Angel November 4, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

    It actually looks like she is buying and then selling off pieces of her wardrobe (or else I suspect we would be seeing more than xs-s sizing). Using the photos from the original seller? That’s bad juju.

  8. dagnabbit November 4, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

    Usig other people’s photos AND pasting in their descriptions or most of them……unethical. I wonder how the people who took the photos and wrote the copy feel about that? It may be technically not against Etsy TOU, but it’s called PLAGIARISM everywhere else.

  9. MadeByM**** November 5, 2009 at 6:12 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=32892842

    Stuff that is NOT a crafting supply, handmade nor vintage making it to the front page again! WTH!

  10. Life During Wartime November 5, 2009 at 10:33 am #

    If you can’t sell finished chains as a supply, I don’t see how you can get away with selling unaltered, made in a factory, gardening supplies. Apparently you can though. I see some featured pretty much every week. Not sure that flagging these does any good, but that looks like the only option.

  11. Life During Wartime November 5, 2009 at 11:04 am #

    I took another look at the pot cleaning brushes, and the description — reading it again — suggests they are handmade. Is there a source you’ve found where you can buy the exact same ones?

  12. MadeByM**** November 5, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

    Here’s their website:

    http://www.futureprimitive.co.uk/

    Here’s another site selling it:

    http://www.grdnbklyn.com/shop/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=17

    Guess it doesn’t really prove they are a reseller, but……..my gut instinct tells me different……..

  13. Bedazzled Condom November 5, 2009 at 1:07 pm #

    http://www.gardendesignworcestershire.co.uk/mailorder2.html

  14. Bedazzled Condom November 5, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    http://www.henandhammock.co.uk/products/product_detail.asp?111,11,0,0,0

  15. Bedazzled Condom November 5, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

    Duh I should have done an image search first. Here’s where she got the photo.

    http://www.thecountrygardener.co.uk/index.php?page=shop&shop_cat_id=20137&highlight=pot%20brush#14202

  16. kitten November 5, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    Do you think the pot brush seller is the maker of these brushes and they are selling wholesale on those sites?

    This is from their Profile:
    All eco garden tools are made from sustainably sourced oak.

  17. kitten November 5, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

    The pot brush seller is in the UK.

  18. Bedazzled Condom November 5, 2009 at 5:21 pm #

    I think that if the seller were actually making the brushes, they would say so directly as in “we make all our eco garden tools from sustainably sourced oak..”

    Wouldn’t you be proud to explain why your handmade brushes are better than the ones from China and why?

    Vague descriptions are a trick we’ve seen numerous times before. Neither admit nor deny and hope that the idiot admins overlook you.

    So I could be wrong but my hunch is no, she isn’t making the brushes.

  19. Toaster November 5, 2009 at 7:42 pm #

    I checked out their website and on their About Me page they say that the gardening tools are ‘hand-made in the UK.’

    http://www.futureprimitive.co.uk/shop/page/5?shop_param=

    However, although the shop owners say that their pottery and soap is crafted personally by them, they don’t say if it’s them hand-crafting their tools or if someone else is.

  20. MadeByM**** November 6, 2009 at 7:15 am #

    Good job, Bedazzled! Your detective work is way better than mine! (besides, I can only do so much here at my day job…LOL).

    Yeah, I think their “wording” says it all, too.

    Thanks for checking it out!

  21. janicejoplin2 November 6, 2009 at 6:17 pm #

    Bedazzled Where were you when I needed my x husband checked on? Good job!

  22. katie November 17, 2009 at 3:43 pm #

    😦 i just did a search in google for my store and found this…stinks she’s using my pictures and descriptions (but she is reselling the shirt she bought from me for the exact same price she paid for it) it just kinda pisses me off about the photos and copy, cause i devote so much time to making sure the lighting is right for pictures, that the modeling shows the clothing well, and that the descriptions are well written. spending so much time crafting my shop and stocking it full, is why i feel justified making the small profit here on etsy that i do…i work at it for so long…. BOO annabert 😦

Leave a Reply

