Magic Oil and Cow Boots…

13 Nov

The answer to everyone’s problems…you simply burn this magic oil and you loose weight…hmmm, does it smell like something rotting so you don’t want to eat?! Thanks PsychicTee!
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=34165727
****************************************************************************************************************************
From a reader comment-

In the gift guides:

http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=31181480

http://www1.shopping.com/xPO-Minnetonka-Women-s-Minnetonka-Calf-Hi-Fringe-boots-Suede

The boots are less expensive on the shopping.com site, and NOT vintage!

42 Responses to “Magic Oil and Cow Boots…”

  1. GernBlanston November 13, 2009 at 11:41 am #

    Another suspect shop:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/madisonavemallcom

  2. Lu November 13, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    I saw those boots on the FP a while ago…definitely not vintage. Someone was bitching about it in the forum and everyone jumped at her throat, saying they are “vintage style”….NOT

    About the oils….speechless!

  3. Laura November 13, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    GernBlanston Says:
    November 13, 2009 at 11:41 am
    Another suspect shop:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/madisonavemallcom

    Yea, totally suspect! And what’s with the phone number in her announcement?

  4. kraken November 13, 2009 at 12:12 pm #

    Those boots are in the gift guides?!

  5. Poppie November 13, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    Psychic readings for sale on Etsy? Is that OK? Don’t they belong at a state fair?

  6. Laura November 13, 2009 at 1:20 pm #

    Yea, I saw the boots in the GG this morning. I can’t remember which one though…

  7. janicejoplin2 November 13, 2009 at 2:44 pm #

    These boots are made for walkin and that’s just what they’ll do One of these days these boots will be sold to some ol’ fool.

    Keep WALKIN BOOTS!

  8. janicejoplin2 November 13, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    I called my psychic and she told me Not to buy this oil! The only thin thing about me will be my wallet!

  9. janicejoplin2 November 13, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    http://www.madisonavemall.com/products/product.asp?SKU=116BL%2DBL&cid=2

    Gern Good eye..and Laura!

    Well went to the shop on Etsy that sold the furs…HMM

    They even have the nerve on their shop to go to their .com page. Check it out.

  10. janicejoplin2 November 13, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

    I guess if they cut the models’ faces off, we weren’t supposed to notice! ha

  11. janicejoplin2 November 13, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

    Also in their shop

  12. janicejoplin2 November 13, 2009 at 3:08 pm #

    Well poop clicked too soon.

    In their shop (Gern/Laura) they have a Handmade bunny that was made by “Team of Bolivian Indian Women” Can you say sweat shop?

  13. Life During Wartime November 13, 2009 at 3:23 pm #

    madisonavemall sez “fur is green”. WTF? Etsy, the place to buy and resell everything faux vintage and pseudo green.

    I am totally waiting for Miss Cleo to open an Etsy shop since everything handmade on Etsy seems to include handmade fraud. Does anyone know when the psychics showed up on Etsy and if there was any argument against it from the community? WTF do these sellers have to do with handmade, vintage or supplies? I have no issue with shops selling handmade or vintage tarot cards, handmade bags or boxes for your personal tarot, handmade runes or any other personal divination tools. But buying an online reading is BS IMO.

  14. janicejoplin2 November 13, 2009 at 3:29 pm #

    Yeah and wartime..Madison Ave. Mall (furs)

    About Us:

    ” MadisonAvemall.com was created by a group of men and women who have been over the last 2 and 3 decades the primary suppliers to New York and the worlds most famous fine retailers” (Their words not mine!)

  15. meh November 13, 2009 at 3:30 pm #

    i’m sick of hearing about how fur is green.

    it’s not…ugh.

    and isn’t it illegal (or something) to make health claims about your products?

  16. GernBlanston November 13, 2009 at 4:44 pm #

    Yes, it is illegal to make those types of claims. The FDA might be interested in that.

    Psychic readings are unforuntately allowed if some sort of efile or paper product is provided.

  17. GernBlanston November 13, 2009 at 6:21 pm #

    Aren’t these just gift baskets?

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/howadorable?section_id=6442369

  18. GernBlanston November 13, 2009 at 6:23 pm #

    The boot seller has a LOT of suspect vintage in her shop BTW.

  19. front page items- November 13, 2009 at 7:43 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/Supastarworld

    suspect shop? plus copyright photos of celebs

  20. Life During Wartime November 13, 2009 at 8:48 pm #

    I also thought most of the footwear in the boot shop looked more recent than 1989. (When did they start having stretch gore panels in shoes, as opposed to stretchy bits in the strap, or stretchy cross straps which I remember from the 80s?) There are a few bags that might be vintage, but everything else in the shop is questionable for me — but I am not an expert on vintage clothing and accessories.

  21. Amused November 13, 2009 at 8:54 pm #

    and in Supastarworld’s profile she now has an ‘Impire’

  22. Angel November 13, 2009 at 9:44 pm #

    Did anyone notice the materials listed for the boots?

    Magic.

    Fucking cupcakes are going to kill me. I’m going to pop a vein in my forehead while reading some childlike fairytale about the origins of a vase instead of the fucking dimensions and that is it. That is how I will go out.

    I hate people.

    *stomps off mumbling about magic shit*

  23. Abe November 14, 2009 at 12:45 am #

    Minnetonka has been making those boots since at least the 1980s. I don’t know how old that pair is, but it wouldn’t surprise me if they were 20 years old.

  24. Laura November 14, 2009 at 2:30 am #

    They are not 20 yrs old. Shopping.com is selling them….NEW.

  25. Laura November 14, 2009 at 2:34 am #

    Hey there ABE, they are also on zappos and shoe mart. WTF are they STILL there?

    Are they gone from the GGs now? I think it was winter fashion they were in.

    The whole shop makes me a little ill….

  26. Lu November 14, 2009 at 9:19 am #

    I see the referrals to cupcakes many times….can anyone explain?

  27. GernBlanston November 14, 2009 at 10:03 am #

    Think of cupcakes as the etsy Kool-Aid.

  28. Angel November 14, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    Cupcakes are the general term for Etsy sellers/buyers who buy into the whole “Etsy image”, the devoted and rabid fans who believe that the company is always right and react with sunshine and rainbows whenever the company is up against the smallest amount of criticism.

    They are like 8th grade cheerleaders.

  29. Lu November 14, 2009 at 4:14 pm #

    ahhh thanks Angel, I appreciated.

  30. Laura November 14, 2009 at 4:25 pm #

    The boots are in the steampunk GG.

    Magic? I think I just threw up a little…

  31. Laura November 14, 2009 at 4:29 pm #

    Sigh… please look at the thread Ms. Magic Boot gal started a while ago: http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=5984585

  32. Life During Wartime November 14, 2009 at 7:51 pm #

    wow, thanks for the link to that old thread, Laura! If you have a bricks and mortar shop, why do you need to put your magic reseller inventory on Etsy? I mean, she says she has the customers coming in her store looking for her stuff so why not just leave Etsy out of it?

  33. itsybitsy November 14, 2009 at 8:11 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/johncandy

    wow
    how is this ok to do? use a celebritys name as your store name? its kind of hard for john candy to sell anything, he’s been dead for several years.
    wtf?

  34. Life During Wartime November 14, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

    I don’t think it bothers Etsy because a dead person can’t sue.

    Candy’s heirs may feel differently, though.

    What a sleeze.

    I’m beginning to see why this seller is promoted by Etsy. This business ethic is what they can relate to.

  35. Laura November 15, 2009 at 3:00 am #

    The boot seller is totally promoted by Etsy. On the FP a bunch of times because of admin curated pages.

    And I flagged and emailed them about these boots a while ago…with that link. They don’t care.

    I just called out a teeny little bit in the thread. Her whole post is soooo…. I don’t know….what the word is, arrogant?

  36. Laura November 15, 2009 at 3:04 am #

    The fact is I need to stop caring about how Etsy promotes these types of sellers. It’s so obivious that Etsy doesn’t really care because they are hynotized by the “oooooo….preeeety pictures.” So, I need to stop caring too, and just work on my items. It really does make me heistate as a shopper though. And I love to shop!

    I usually never stray far from favs now, because I’m leery. I’m suspicious in a way that I have never been before. And that makes me a little sad…

  37. a thousand cupcakes November 15, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

    Angel Says:
    November 14, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Cupcakes are the general term for Etsy sellers/buyers who buy into the whole “Etsy image”, the devoted and rabid fans who believe that the company is always right and react with sunshine and rainbows whenever the company is up against the smallest amount of criticism.

    __________________________

    Wow I had no idea the word ‘cupcake’ was used. has nothin to do w/ the name I post under! Maybe I’ll change my name to ‘a thousand eclairs’ or something.

  38. Abe November 15, 2009 at 3:21 pm #

    Wow–bite my head off for saying that this style of boot has been made by this company for 20 years and maybe these are vintage? I never said they only made them 20 years ago.

    Just because those other websites still sell these boots new doesn’t mean this pair is new.

    They’ve been making this style for decades, perhaps this is one of the 20 year old pairs and not one of the new pairs. I can’t tell from the photos if they are new or the older ones.

  39. imwithya November 15, 2009 at 3:25 pm #

    Oh nice thread! Glad someone bumped it. What an asshole that boot seller is…. obviously they didn’t agree with the 20 year vintage rule so they decided to break it. That thread from January is proof of their intentions.

  40. imwithya November 15, 2009 at 3:28 pm #

    Abe- I didn’t see anyone “biting your head off”. I think the anger is directed at the seller and Etsy admin.

  41. Angel November 15, 2009 at 9:05 pm #

    a thousand eclairs sounds delightfully yummy!

  42. Laura November 17, 2009 at 4:35 pm #

    I’m going to sprinkle my items with pixie dust. While I eat cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

