Reseller Call Out- JL67

20 Nov


I bought my grandmother this exact necklace from Coldwater Creek two or three Christmases ago. Damn reseller…

http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=34925188


http://westcounty.nearbynow.com/store/coldwatercreek-9782/product-381808-Pearl_snowman_necklace-Des_Peres-MO-63131.html?&.resultspage=%2Fstore%2Fcoldwatercreek%3F&ptotal=372&clinkid=sr_prodimg14

20 Responses to “Reseller Call Out- JL67”

  1. Christine November 20, 2009 at 3:12 pm #

    Sent to me in my Etsy Finds e-mail. Thanks Etsy for not doing your homework yet again and featuring a reseller.

  2. imwithya November 20, 2009 at 3:26 pm #

    A mass produced charm on a chain is an “etsy find”? Looks like you can FIND them all over the place…

    http://images.google.com/images?hl=en&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&um=1&sa=1&q=freshwater+pearl+snowman+&aq=f&oq=&aqi=&start=0

  3. imwithya November 20, 2009 at 3:31 pm #

    Basically that seller’s photo fits the Etsy feature criteria- monochromatic grey/brown hues, depth of field, wood (have they included that in the tags? haha at least it’s not faux bois)

  4. Max November 20, 2009 at 4:42 pm #

    Ooooh, that one sucks. I bought that for my ex as a present from my son from Coldwater Creek the Christmas before last.

    That’s a clear reseller.

  5. Laura November 20, 2009 at 5:43 pm #

    Sigh…

  6. BitchenStitchen2 November 20, 2009 at 7:23 pm #

    And now it’s sold…..

  7. cmom November 20, 2009 at 8:04 pm #

    Oh, it’s re-listed. She’s probably got a whole box full of them.

  8. Life During Wartime November 20, 2009 at 9:53 pm #

    I took a quick look at her sold items, and she’s sold three snowmen so far. Plus many of those fang charm necklaces that the admins love.

  9. Amused November 21, 2009 at 1:50 am #

    Sigh!!!!!!!

  10. HappySnapperPenguins November 21, 2009 at 6:03 am #

    It was in an email this morning along with 7 scarves. Etsy is just so original!

  11. Max November 21, 2009 at 7:08 am #

    My wife’s a Coldwater Creek fan. She said those were unloaded in the Clearance section of their website last year. She probably picked up a lot of them.

  12. Life During Wartime November 21, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    If Coldwater Creek was selling the necklace at a clearance price, the company that made the pendants probably sold any leftover snowmen for much less.

    The markup on mass produced costume jewelry is huge. I found the hinged fang pendants for 50 cents on the web, and I am sure there are much better prices available if you want to buy more than 10.

    It’s not actually reselling, but it’s very close.

    I don’t think there is anything wrong with buying commercial and/or overstock components for handmade jewelry. But, c’mon…can’t you change it up a bit? And why does admin love items that are nearly identical to mass produced stuff?

  13. WindyR November 21, 2009 at 2:18 pm #

    My daughter received earrings with the same charms two years ago for Christmas that were purchased from a catalog. I know that according to etsy’s TOU that putting a charm on a chain or earring hooks is OK, but if that is the case it should be clearly indicated that a commercially produced charm was put on a chain or earhooks in the item description. I might not have an issue purchasing something like this if I liked it well enough but if I thought I was purchasing something handmade and found out that it was mass produced I would be really unhappy. I think that 32 dollars for this item would be much too inexpensive if it were handmade and would make me suspicious, but knowing that it is commercially produced, I might think twice about paying that much. Bottom line – it makes it really hard for the folks making all their components from hand to compete with this sort of item. I thought etsy was trying to be different than ebay by showcasing handmade items…but I guess that isn’t really the case.

  14. Max November 22, 2009 at 5:51 am #

    The whole “put a charm on a chain = handmade” on Etsy is a complete joke.

    Calling that process Handmade undermines the entire handmade movement and illegitimizes Etsy as a handmade venue.

  15. Michele November 22, 2009 at 9:45 pm #

    It was featured in The Storque.
    http://www.etsy.com//storque/spotlight/etsy-finds-thoughtful-gifts-under-50-6177/

    I don’t buy anything from Etsy that I could obviously find at the local mall.

  16. JajieBo November 27, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

    Max, I totally agree. It makes me so angry that Etsy allows such unimaginative BS to be sold. Too many sellers get away with sticking a mass-produced charm on a mass-produced chain.
    It’s NOT handmade! At least stick some other crap on the chain, too, dumbasses.

  17. notvintage November 27, 2009 at 6:50 pm #

    I agree that sticking a bbought pendant on a chain is very lame handmade. People who do it get really defensive when they are not given the “respect” they deserve. I figure they get about what that kind of “work” is worth, not a hellofa lot.

    Check out the shop selling live bulbs and tree seeds as vintage:
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33016875

Leave a Reply

