Reseller Call Out- SilviStore

22 Nov

From the inbox:

I have flagged/reported this shop to Etsy for a few days now and haven’t seen anything done about it! The seller is selling mass produced products and claims to be handmade:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/SilviStore

Here are a few links to some sellers over at TaoBao that are selling the same items:

http://item.taobao.com/auction/item_detail-db1-9742878855bb6df39128a16f9cc36512.htm

http://item.taobao.com/auction/item_detail-db1-5594cc4ed0a0c8c06b10d119ea5a4a6c.htm

http://item.taobao.com/auction/item_detail-db1-b169563986f3a310c0b1701b26d08baa.htm

http://item.taobao.com/auction/item_detail-0db2-ec7c7b08115e69b8ff5df5337afe0f9e.htm

http://item.taobao.com/auction/item_detail-0db2-291265fb5b1576efc9fc8394c3863e7c.htm

http://item.taobao.com/auction/item_detail-db1-6199c451427abbb7ed925f52c6884b1a.htm

There are at least two shops on Taobao that sell the very same brand items:
<a href="http://maomaobag.mall.taobao.com/ http://shop33047493.taobao.com/”&gt;http://maomaobag.mall.taobao.com/
http://shop33047493.taobao.com/

The first shop states themselves as the manufacturer of this line of items and their company name is 聊城市猫猫包袋有限公司, and here is a company profile page:
http://liaocheng.pujia.com/shanghu-spjopkwokjoe

They currently have more than 40 employees and two offices at two different provinces in China. And this seller on Etsy is located in Canada. Reseller or not, this shop http://www.etsy.com/shop/SilviStore clearly violates Etsy Do’s and Don’ts rules!!

With more and more of these fraud sellers appearing on Etsy, I really would like to see something done to prove that Etsy cares for its image and does not encourage this type of fraud!

19 Responses to “Reseller Call Out- SilviStore”

  1. Gila November 22, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

    I especially love this “family business” yarn. Original price – $5, by the way.

    It’s so easy to get rich on Etsy… just not as an actual crafter.

  2. Life During Wartime November 22, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    She cuts the bag pieces in Canada, and her family makes them somewhere ??? and then most of them get shipped to China for sale? WTF?

    Don’t items like this have sewn in labels that state ‘Made In China’ or Thailand or whatever? Is that why reseller shops seem to get such a small percentage of feedback compared to the many items they sell, because the buyers don’t want to say the shop deceived them about what they were selling? Afraid of reseller retaliation against their handmade shops? If so, that really blows.

  3. JoJo November 22, 2009 at 3:35 pm #

    Thank you for making this public! When I saw this seller selling a $7-$8 bag at $79 on Etsy, I just can’t see myself going back to my sewing room and sew like nothing bothers me…. I thought it would comfort me if I flag this seller…. well~ being ignored by Etsy just makes it so much worse.

  4. imwithya November 22, 2009 at 5:34 pm #

    “I, Silvi, cut
    My mom sews them together.
    My friend takes the pictures
    I list for on Etsy and I ship.
    …everything while the kids are in school… 😉
    This is the team!”
    __________________________

    Ugh… what a LIAR!! Shut her down Etsy!

    It seems like they are just trying a little too hard to create descriptions in that cutsie, not-too-professional so they don’t seem like a reseller. Oh and all the bags are “cruelty free” because they aren’t leather but under what conditions did the humans who made them have to work?

  5. kitten November 22, 2009 at 6:21 pm #

    Where can you get this bag for $7 – 8 dollars?

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=34779183

  6. GernBlanston November 22, 2009 at 6:50 pm #

    Did you look at the links posted?

  7. kitten November 22, 2009 at 6:54 pm #

    Yes, but I can’t read Chinese… or am I missing an English link?

  8. Angel November 22, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

    The price is listed on the page as 28.00 (when in doubt, look for numerical characters), but since we’re looking at a Chinese website, we’re likely looking at the price in yuan.

    A quick jaunt to xe.com/ucc is showing the current rate of exchange as 28.00 CNY = 4.10035 USD

    🙂

  9. Gila November 23, 2009 at 1:00 am #

    Don’t know if you read my mail…. But here is one seller that is bugging me… Chinse of course…. and proving another weakness of Etsy:

    etsy.com/shop/supersockmonkeys

    A) They have been kicked off the site before – and just signed up under a different name.

    B) This is a Chinese company: (sockdoll.net) Yes, handmade, but sure as hell not by one person… they are all over the wholesale sites and offer special deals on 500 sock dolls or more.

    What annoys me is that people can just come back under a different name, and even flagging them doesn’t seem to work. It took me months to get their first shop closed, and is probably taking me months to get their new shop closed again.

    In the meantime, they are selling like crazy – which is no wonder with those prices. But who can compete with a Chinese sweat shop?

  10. JoJo November 23, 2009 at 3:18 am #

    Hey, Gila, I did a quick search and found this link:
    http://cn.tradekey.com/profile_view/uid/2683192.htm
    It turns out that http://sockdoll.net has 11-15 employees, the number is somewhat small, I guess this one will be tricky..

    Same thing goes to this seller http://idea2lifestyle.etsy.com (on FP and GG a lot) has been flagged by other Etsians over and over again (and so many links and info have been sent to Etsy as well), and they are still a happy Etsy shop…

    According to their profile, they claim that there are only 10 people working as a team, however, according to their very own blog written in Chinese, they proudly state that they have several designers working as a team and over a hundred workers to do the preparation, cutting and sewing. Not to mention that they are currently hiring more designers and factory workers.
    http://blog.sina.com.cn/s/blog_5daf9be80100dw9c.html

    I guess that is still considered a collective shop by Etsy when they claim that there are only 10 people working together.

  11. janicejoplin2 November 23, 2009 at 5:18 pm #

    Gila..The only people that can compete with these shops are other mass sellers…We don’t stand a chance. You know with the “Unique” family business. They are as much family as the Mafia.

    OMG…should I be looking over my shoulder !

  12. Gila November 24, 2009 at 9:08 am #

    Hey Jojo,

    Actually it isn’t all that tricky – 10 people in China is not a collective. It’s not, not even by Etsy’s TOU. And I did get them banned before – let’s hope I’ll succeed again.

    What really annoys me is that anyone banned from the site can come back under a different name. Why not ban the credit card altogether? They probably exhaust their cc’s within 2-3 shops, right?

    As for the TOU – I prefer the Dawanda approach. The second you actually hire a real employee, even if it’s part-time, or outsource product-relevant tasks… you don’t qualify. You can pay someone for other things, like packaging or even listing – but the product needs to be made by you.

    A collective means artists collaborating on a piece or sharing a shop front – with no salary being paid in between. I might eventually do sth like that with my SIL – but no-one gets any set salary there. We just like working together.

    Bah. Hate resellers.

  13. notvintage November 24, 2009 at 8:25 pm #

    “My sister, Debora, is a fashion designer. She designs bags and clothes for BIG European, American and Asian names. So she designs these bags.
    I, Silvi, cut
    My mom sews them together.
    My friend takes the pictures
    I list for on Etsy and I ship.
    …everything while the kids are in school… 😉
    This is the team!”

    BULLSHIT

  14. JoJo November 25, 2009 at 6:07 pm #

    Dear all, I would like to report that the shop has been closed by Etsy!! I got an email from Lauren (one of Etsy support team members) to update me. I guess they do listen, just not as quick as we would hope, based on the ticket number, the report they reviewed today is what I sent on 22nd! Anyway, thank you all for flagging with me!

  15. notvintage November 26, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

    I double Gar-an-tee that Etsy reads this blog. Flagging don’t get it. Thanks, EtsyCallOut, you get the credit.

  16. Tim November 30, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    They’re baaaaack! The shop has their Chinese bags up again.

  17. JoJo December 1, 2009 at 9:16 am #

    OMG~ she really is back, WTF is Etsy doing?! I don’t get it

  18. BOHNET,DAVID December 18, 2009 at 12:05 pm #

    I’m interested in starting an e-store and such. Thank you for your site! It is now in my bookmarks

  19. silvistore January 18, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Hi everybody,

    I’m NOT CHINESE, but French first of all. I leave in Canada, I make the bag in Canada and I ship from Canada.
    Etsy asked me to prove it and I did with all the certifications.

    True, we (my sister is REALLY a designer) have copied the model and I have made the mistake to use the same pictures from MaoMao.
    I apologize for it.

    I wish you all the best!
    Silvy

Leave a Reply

