This Isn’t Priceline Honey…

30 Nov


coreflood
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=28890284&ref=cat1_list_10

“DO NOT MAKE ANY PURCHASES WITHOUT CONTACTING ME FIRST!!!
Read directions carefully. I want this to be a fun new way to purchase on my etsy page!

Sale!

I have decided to go about this in a new way.
If an item says $1.00 that means it is part of the sale.

This sale is called “Name your price”

So….contact me on etsy and tell me what you think the dress is worth.
If I agree, I will change the price and you purchase the item.

Offers will be considered based on 3 criteria:
1. Degree of dufficulty in creating it
2. How cute it is 🙂
3. If you want to purchase more than one item.”

64 Responses to “This Isn’t Priceline Honey…”

  1. imwithya November 30, 2009 at 9:36 pm #

    Yeah. Good luck with your “new way”. Someone is going to buy it thinking it’s one dollar.

  2. Life During Wartime November 30, 2009 at 9:41 pm #

    I think the seller may have a problem figuring out how to price her clothing. Could she be arithmetically challenged? She has no measurements in her listings.

    Even if she’s read the TOU, I’m not sure she’s able to understand them.

  3. HappySnapperPenguins December 1, 2009 at 5:47 am #

    Guess she has never heard of Ebay. I would name a price of $1 because I really don’t think it is worth more than that!

  4. jenn December 1, 2009 at 6:02 am #

    I am soooo tempted to buy something for $1 just to teach the seller a lesson about selling online.
    Etsy doesn’t care, of course.

  5. MadeByM**** December 1, 2009 at 6:31 am #

    Just like Penguins said, this is what you do in an A-U-C-T-I-O-N! Etsy is NOT an auction site! I wonder how long it will take them to slap her wrist?

  6. CMOM December 1, 2009 at 7:00 am #

    OMG, that is a “hot mess”.

  7. CMOM December 1, 2009 at 7:04 am #

    LOL – read the feedback – “too big in bust but fixable”, “sleeves too long…” and this person gave her positive feedback.

    Maybe we’ll see this seller on Project Runway someday?? LOL!

  8. Caroline December 1, 2009 at 7:45 am #

    This too “dufficult” to understand. People are going to get soo mad when they think they’ve bought that for a $1. Etsy is getting just ridiculous.

  9. JoJo December 1, 2009 at 9:18 am #

    nice try to remind us how similar Etsy and Ebay can be

  10. JajieBo December 1, 2009 at 9:19 am #

    Wow. Just… wow.

  11. Bedazzled Condom December 1, 2009 at 9:51 am #

    I am willing to offer thirty five cents.

    Thirty cents for the lovely, lumpy “a thrift store barfed in my lap” outfit PLUS five cents for the chutzpah.

  12. forum rubbernecker December 1, 2009 at 9:57 am #

    I flagged this shop a while ago.

  13. Life During Wartime December 1, 2009 at 10:18 am #

    Even if the garment doesn’t fit you, she doesn’t accept returns because her items are OOAK? Many of her sales left no feedback. I wonder why?

    It’s scary to think that this person is studying an investigative science in college. (Where she gets the titles for her pieces.) That involves some math.

  14. PISSED OFF December 1, 2009 at 10:24 am #

    Shop FILLED with items you can find on the internet, I reported 2. PLUS thee quote spoons are on the FP@!!!!!

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/beehivekitchenware

  15. imwithya December 1, 2009 at 10:58 am #

    Awww I have that spoon shop in my faves 😦
    PISSED OFF do you have any links to where you can get their items elsewhere?

  16. imwithya December 1, 2009 at 11:13 am #

    Beehive kitchenware doesn’t have a profile in their Etsy shop but I found their website and they seem ok. It looks like they sell to a lot of retailers so a lot of their items are in different online shops.

    http://www.beehivekitchenware.com/index.html

  17. Angel December 1, 2009 at 11:19 am #

    Beehive Kitchenware appears to be completely legit from what I can tell.

    http://www.beehivekitchenware.com/index.html

    They’ve been doing it for a while and they sell wholesale to a lot of popular upscale stores.

  18. tsktsk December 1, 2009 at 11:42 am #

    beehive just happens to be successful. Just because you can find one’s wares elsewhere doesn’t make them a reseller. You should try a bit of research pissed off.

  19. Bedazzled Condom December 1, 2009 at 12:12 pm #

    I love the Beehive shop too. Beautiful things.

  20. whimsiclefuckery December 1, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

    I’d buy that for $1 for the fabric scraps, but I’m not sure those fabric scraps are worth $1.

  21. janicejoplin2 December 1, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    Jenn I double dare you to order for $1 Honestly!

  22. no longer p'o'd December 1, 2009 at 1:57 pm #

    Ok, I apologize & jumped the gun. That’s all my fault. You really can buy spoons like that on wedding favor sites; that’s what got my attention. And, while they are not a reseller, it’s still a very successful company; with a lot of retailers. I don’t begrudge them success, but wonder if all their merchandise is handmade anymore (in the supposed etsy sense of the word) or manufactured? If etsy – and we all know the answer to this or we wouldn’t be on the call out site – really, truly intends to have this site be handmade, then I think having a seller on par with the success on this one deviates from that. And that’s on etsy; not this company.

  23. Angel December 1, 2009 at 2:17 pm #

    There was a very recent discussion in another thread regarding sellers who seem to have outgrown Etsy.

    https://etsycallout.wordpress.com/2009/11/19/1-2-3-4-5/#comments

    Upon further research re: Beehive, I was not able to discern if their wares were still made by them, just that they are cast from the original handmade molds.

    I’m not going to lie, I love Beehive. But I just can’t see myself spending that much money on spoons.

  24. crazy cat lady December 1, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    I really, really, really want to buy all the dollar items in her shop and then raise a stink when she won’t sell them to me for that price. Just to teach her a lesson.

  25. crazy cat lady December 1, 2009 at 2:38 pm #

    oh, I love the stuff from Beehive. Or rather, stuff similar to Beehive that I’ve seen in B&M stores. Thanks to etsy, I now hate birds and owls 😦

  26. Life During Wartime December 1, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    I have questions about Beehive being appropriate for Etsy.

    If all their items are still handmade by just the two of them, why didn’t they put more info about their lovely wares and their craft in their shop profile? The shop has been open for years. Didn’t they have the time? Or is Etsy just an inexpensive way to get potential customers to seek out their real web store or one of their retail locations? They don’t even list any policies — that is odd for a real business like theirs. I visited their website, and there really is no clear statement that every singe piece is handmade by only them. I mean, they have merchandise in retail, sell online, and sell wholesale. That’s a lot of items. Since I know very little about their craft, I can’t judge how difficult it would be to create each piece once the molds have been designed and produced.

    I think it’s okay to ask if a small business like this belongs on Etsy. It’s not like calling out a reseller. No one is saying their items are made in an offshore sweatshop. I doubt that Etsy would care if they had a small staff of employees making their stuff, handling orders and shipping, etc. And that’s a problem.

  27. imwithya December 1, 2009 at 4:02 pm #

    Since Etsy allows artists to sell prints of their work created by outside print houses they probably don’t care if Beehive made the mold and someone else is casting the spoons.

    Honestly I’d rather Etsy admin focus on getting rid of BLATANT resellers and making sure its users follow the basic rules of the site before they start deciding which sellers may have outgrown Etsy or which items aren’t “handmade enough”.

  28. GernBlanston December 1, 2009 at 5:30 pm #

    reseller?

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/barrostyle1

  29. GernBlanston December 1, 2009 at 7:05 pm #

    Another reseller and a whack job at that.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/BellasBeautyandmore

  30. louise (art+ghosts) December 1, 2009 at 7:35 pm #

    innovative lady;)

  31. elizabeth December 1, 2009 at 7:47 pm #

    Well, at least this girl actually makes her stuff! Refreshing, isn’t it? Personally, I really don’t care if she doesn’t get the whole ‘this isn’t ebay thing’, like I said, at least she makes her stuff.

  32. Nobody Understands My Pain Either December 1, 2009 at 10:39 pm #

    Wasn’t BellasBeautyandMore on here before? For being a reseller and stealing other dog bakery pictures?

  33. janicejoplin2 December 1, 2009 at 11:24 pm #

    https://etsycallout.wordpress.com/2009/10/08/reader-email-bellasbeautyandmore/

    Yep…you are right Nobody!!!!!!!

  34. janicejoplin2 December 1, 2009 at 11:26 pm #

    Bella is quite the busy lady. From candy apples to wedding veils..Nice fuzzy picture on the wedding veils BTW…This woman needs help!

  35. GernBlanston December 2, 2009 at 5:13 am #

    All of her pictures are fuzzy because she copied them from other places.

  36. Say what? December 2, 2009 at 5:54 am #

    Heh. Her profile says she’s a photographer. So, yeah, the not being able to take pictures thing…

    “I am a photographer, and have been photographing for a living since 1999”.

    Crazy, party of one.

  37. CMOM December 2, 2009 at 6:04 am #

    I see that she has expanded her talents to rip-off gift baskets. She’s all about “here’s what I can make”, not “here’s what I made”. It’s a waste of time reporting her to etsy. I would try to find out where she snagged those gift basket pictures and report her to that company. I bet they have a copyright on them.

  38. CMOM December 2, 2009 at 6:10 am #

    And nice shilling!! Either that or she made that wedding gown in less than a day… what a joke.

  39. MadeByM**** December 2, 2009 at 6:17 am #

    One of these days, someone is going to get po’d enough and sue Etsy for false advertising once they realize the crap they bought off of there is commercially mass produced!

  40. Amy December 2, 2009 at 7:16 am #

    I can’t believe they haven’t got rid of that BellasBeauty shop – it really is a load of crap.

  41. Kathy December 2, 2009 at 9:21 am #

    If ETSY does not care why do you bitches care. All you do is complain on here about other sellers, yet YOU bitches remain on ETSY. It shows how stupid you really are. Your NOT selling on ETSY, you just stay there to BITCH cause you have no life!! Outside of ETSY.

  42. janicejoplin2 December 2, 2009 at 9:24 am #

    You know what pisses me off. We all know that Etsy comes over here to check out what is being called out. Everyone on COE does there work for them. We literally hand it to them on a platter. Pictures, links etc.

    So why the hell does it take them so long to just delete the whole shop with one button? Give me a break. I mistagged (by accident) one piece and it took them about one day to send me specific details and what I should do to correct them..

    and to do so IMMEDIATELY or else! No ifs ands or buts!

    And then you get this crap that stays on forever! errrrrrrgh

  43. GernBlanston December 2, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    Kathy, don’t you have a tooth to brush?

  44. Bedazzled Condom December 2, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    “If ETSY does not care why do you bitches care. All you do is complain on here about other sellers, yet YOU bitches remain on ETSY. It shows how stupid you really are. Your NOT selling on ETSY, you just stay there to BITCH cause you have no life!! Outside of ETSY.”

    Hi ya, Bella!

  45. Nobody Understands My Pain Either December 2, 2009 at 11:12 am #

    Dear Kathy,

    I do sell on Etsy. When I have the time to devote to my shop, I think that I do pretty well there. It’s hard for me to spend as much time as I’d like on Etsy, due to the fact that I own a few other businesses which usually require a bit more attention. I think that negates your claim of at least one of us not having a life. My life is quite full. One of the things that you learn as a business owner, is that the people you associate with can reflect either negatively or poorly on your business. If you tout yourself as a handmade artist, yet you sell on a venue which is quickly becoming notorious for selling mass produced merchandise masquerading as handmade, that will reflect poorly on your business. People will start to wonder whether or not what you make is handmade. Doubt will creep in and your business, and Etsy’s business, will eventually suffer.

    If you care about your business and the venue that you’ve chosen to sell in, you might want that venue to stay true to it’s advertised mission – for ethical and for business reasons.

    If you’re just a person who picks up things at the dollar store and marks it as handmade (because that’s what you’re supposed to do to sell things on Etsy – just say you made it with love and you’re good to go), then none of this probably matters to you.

    In addtion, if you’re going to call people stupid, you should probably not follow it with the sentence “YOUR not selling on Etsy…”

    It’s actually YOU’RE….you’re not selling on Etsy. “Your” implies ownership and I’m pretty sure that none of us own a “not selling on Etsy.”

    And finally….name calling? Seriously? Are you 12?

  46. imwithya December 2, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    Kathy- I CARE *because* I sell on Etsy.

    I love how people always pop in here with the the same argument- who cares/you don’t sell anything/you must have no life if you post here.

    You couldn’t be more wrong.

  47. JajieBo December 2, 2009 at 12:07 pm #

    I’mwithya said it perfectly. We’re here because we work our asses off creating handmade items, balancing our Etsy shops with busy lives, only to watch Etsy admins sit back on their apathetic behinds while cheaters and fakers run Etsy to hell.
    If you’re an honest seller, Kathy, then please tell me what reason you have to complain? Wouldn’t you feel upset if your hard work was compromised time and time again by people out to make a quick buck?

  48. MadeByM**** December 2, 2009 at 12:59 pm #

    Kathy must not have a life because SHE is coming over here to read what we have to say……………

  49. Say what? December 2, 2009 at 1:41 pm #

    Aw Kathy… “Know question is to dum”.. except yours.

  50. Life During Wartime December 2, 2009 at 3:37 pm #

    Kathy, comments here may seem like time wasting bitching, but there is some merit to our complaints.

    Did you read this article?
    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/11/26/garden/26gift.html?_r=2

    It says Etsy is a place where you can find holiday gifts that LOOK like they’re old or handmade. That’s the trend Etsy is pushing when they include resellers and misrepresented items in site promotions. And when they allow resellers of factory massproduced handmade items to open shops.

    We’re not just complaining about nothing. Etsy is about promoting a certain style, regardless of who makes the items or the authenticity of the vintage. Right now, the LOOK is what matters.

  51. kitten December 2, 2009 at 6:35 pm #

    GernBlanston Says:

    Kathy, don’t you have a tooth to brush?
    ______________________

    OMG, LOL

  52. Say what? December 3, 2009 at 10:53 am #

    Shop is empty now; wonder if etsy contacted her or someone called her out on it.

  53. GernBlanston December 3, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    For fuck’s sake…all she had to do was put a fucking fixed price on it.

  54. Kathy December 3, 2009 at 9:08 pm #

    Remember you bitches what comes around, goes around! You are very rude and angry people who hang out in this thread.

    If you were really selling you would be busy mailing out your items, but instead you are surfing Etsy to continually persecute others.I know you are “White Trash” smoking your cigarette and sitting behind a computer drinking your case of beer a day. Believe me if you were confronted face to face by the people you seek out to harass, you would not be so bold to open your big mouths. Behind a computer it is always easy.

  55. Smartass December 4, 2009 at 7:16 am #

    HEY, KATHY!

    You want an answer to your questions? Well READ THIS! It seems as if you missed “Nobody Understands My Pain Either”‘s well-articulated post, so I will copy/paste it for you, so that you can read it without you having take all that time and effort to scroll up to find it.

    Nobody Understands My Pain Either Says:
    December 2, 2009 at 11:12 am
    Dear Kathy,

    I do sell on Etsy. When I have the time to devote to my shop, I think that I do pretty well there. It’s hard for me to spend as much time as I’d like on Etsy, due to the fact that I own a few other businesses which usually require a bit more attention. I think that negates your claim of at least one of us not having a life. My life is quite full. One of the things that you learn as a business owner, is that the people you associate with can reflect either negatively or poorly on your business. If you tout yourself as a handmade artist, yet you sell on a venue which is quickly becoming notorious for selling mass produced merchandise masquerading as handmade, that will reflect poorly on your business. People will start to wonder whether or not what you make is handmade. Doubt will creep in and your business, and Etsy’s business, will eventually suffer.

    If you care about your business and the venue that you’ve chosen to sell in, you might want that venue to stay true to it’s advertised mission – for ethical and for business reasons.

    If you’re just a person who picks up things at the dollar store and marks it as handmade (because that’s what you’re supposed to do to sell things on Etsy – just say you made it with love and you’re good to go), then none of this probably matters to you.

    In addtion, if you’re going to call people stupid, you should probably not follow it with the sentence “YOUR not selling on Etsy…”

    It’s actually YOU’RE….you’re not selling on Etsy

    Also, read this post too.

    JajieBo Says:
    December 2, 2009 at 12:07 pm
    We’re here because we work our asses off creating handmade items, balancing our Etsy shops with busy lives, only to watch Etsy admins sit back on their apathetic behinds while cheaters and fakers run Etsy to hell.
    If you’re an honest seller, Kathy, then please tell me what reason you have to complain? Wouldn’t you feel upset if your hard work was compromised time and time again by people out to make a quick buck?

    KATHY, if you don’t acknowledge these intelligent and insightful posts that so sincerely answer your questions without displaying the immaturity and name-calling that you display, then you are exactly the name that you have called these sellers. You know, the one that starts with a “B”.

  56. Say what? December 4, 2009 at 8:43 am #

    Oh Kathy. Your latest post made me laugh. I have never been called White Trash before!! You must have a crystal ball & can see me through the computer screen. /eyeroll

  57. JajieBo December 4, 2009 at 9:44 am #

    Believe me, Kathy, if I had the time and money to devote to drinking a case of beer a day, I’d be ALL about that.

  58. GernBlanston December 4, 2009 at 11:43 am #

    ROFLMAO JajieBo

    Some of us are talented multitaskers, Kathy. My sales on and off etsy are fine and dandy, TYVM.

    I think we touched a nerve with you Kathy…does reselling/shilling/violating the TOU hit too close to home?

  59. Angel December 4, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    I don’t have the time to drink a case of beer a day, what with my busy schedule of screaming out on my front lawn at my no-good no-account husband in full view of our neighbours and the COPS camera crew.

  60. Kathy December 4, 2009 at 12:55 pm #

    LOOK YOU BITCHES HERE IS ANOTHER ONE YOU CAN CALL OUT ON SEEING YOU LOVE IT SOOOOOOOO MUCH!

    HER SHOP NAME: Twenty and Two Roses

    SHE IS A RESELLER FROM E-BAY! SELLING ON ETSY.

    GO CALL HER OUT TOO!

  61. Angel December 4, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

    Provide a proper shop link please. And if you have proof she’s reselling, with links, that helps. It lets all of us who come to the blog flag the items accordingly with proof, ensuring that we have covered all our bases.

    It’s not about the love of calling out, it’s fact that we are obliged to do it because Etsy tells us to since they don’t have staff to police the site. But then they tell us *not* to do it where people can see it (read: the forums). Etsy is the abusive member in this relationship.

    Don’t be bitchy because you were called out, especially since the rules regarding these issues are pretty fucking easy to find and read (and, you know, you agreed to follow them). Smarten up, follow the rules, and join in the never ending job of “doing Etsy’s job for them”. Well, this particular slice of their job anyway. We have to do their marketing and advertising for them as well, but that is a different story completely.

  62. imwithya December 4, 2009 at 2:23 pm #

    Oh I see. Is this your shop by any chance Kathy? I think Gern is right… a nerve has been touched.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TwentyandtwoRoses

  63. Say what? December 5, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    She’s got new items again. I thought after all the flags she got, that she’d stop. Everything’s a dollar!!

Leave a Reply

