FiveKidsCreations

7 Dec

An entire shop of Disney ornaments — not copyright violation (check this picture for the Disney mark: http://ny-image3.etsy.com//il_fullxfull.101288331.jpg ), just blatant, blatant reselling: http://www.etsy.com/shop/FiveKidsCreations

Found her at the bottom of this page in a post: http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6370040&page=8

FiveKidsCreations
FiveKidsCreations says:
I’ve been selling on eBay for a few years, and like many, the latest round of new restrictions seriously turned me off. I came to Etsy hoping to eventually move a good share of my traffic away from eBay.

Well … I’ve had 21 sales in about 2 months, so I can’t gripe too much, but in the same time frame I’ve sold literally hundreds on eBay. A few of my ornaments sell for barely enough to cover the fees, but on the other hand, I recently sold one for $68 that cost me about a buck to make.

A lot of it is just good luck I’m sure, but I have managed to keep stellar feedback by writing to EVERY buyer as soon as they pay, shipping the next business day (which can be a real headache), and going the extra mile with packaging. I’m not crazy about the feedback policy, and the fact that we can no longer offer insurance as an extra charge. But as long as that’s where the buyers are, I’ll probably keep selling there.

26 Responses to “FiveKidsCreations”

  1. RocksInMySocks December 7, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    Hello Captain Obvious! Does this ballsy bitch really think people buy the fact that she’s making these? The Disney company would probably like to hire her since she does a much better job than their own artists. Love the closeup of the Disney mark.

    Etsy, get your thumbs out of your ass and close this shop!!!

  2. JK December 7, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

    tips@disneyantipiracy.com — Etsy may not care, but Disney is well-known for giving a damn.

  3. Life During Wartime December 7, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

    If the ornaments are 20+ years old, they can be sold as vintage. I know zilch about this kind of collectible, so I can’t date them from the photos.

    There are bunches of newer than vintage Longaberger, Boyds and Hallmark items listed on Etsy, some in Vintage and some in various handmade categories, even a few in Supplies.

    If they’re old enough, they need to be moved to the Vintage category. Otherwise, gone from Etsy, I didn’t read all the posts, but it looks like no one in that thread gave Five a gentle hint to get her items the f*** out of handmade.

    Maybe she’ll make it into a Gift Guide.

  4. Christine December 7, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    I have 2 boxes of Disney ornaments just like these and I can assure you they are not vintage. Purchased the last one 2 years ago, the oldest one is no more than 8 years old. I too am amazed that she actually thinks we believe that she made these herself. Give me a break! I’m so fed up with Etsy.

  5. Caroline December 7, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    This is disgusting. Yuh, a handmade seller who works in “durable, shatter-proof PVC plastic.” Uh-huh. Maybe we could all request that she do a “durable, shatter-proof PVC plastic” tutorial for all of us to learn from. Uh-huh. Would love to see her process. s i g h …..

  6. MeToo December 7, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

    Actually the Tinkerbell set ( http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33494413 ) is PVC cake toppers that she screwed ornament hooks in. I think that is okay by Etsy Do’s & Don’t’s because it’s “altered”. I think that’s stupid and it’s still breaking copyright, but techincally it’s Etsy legal. Here’s a link to the non-altered fairies:

    http://www.treasurekingdom.com/D/008DSCTF.html

    I’m not sure about the other pieces, but I would think it’s probably the same story with them too. Why this is considered handmade, I have no idea…

  7. MadeByM**** December 7, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    Oh, but she probably attached the hangers to the happy meal toys, and then it’s considered Etsy handmade legal!

    Sickening……..

  8. Thud December 7, 2009 at 3:01 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=35888445&ref=fp_feat_8

    front page, reseller, chosen by etsy admin

  9. Life During Wartime December 7, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    ^^^ Exactly what I was thinking. On Ebay she says nothing about them being made by her. But I am sure she is safe by Etsy’s ‘standard’ of handmade. Etsy is a flea market.

  10. Life During Wartime December 7, 2009 at 3:14 pm #

    These are the folks that make the grizzly bear bean bag

    http://www.chicsindesign.com/about_us/index.html

    Since they claim to ‘design’ their products, I don’t think the current Etsy standard requires them to handmake them. I call it a reseller shop, but Etsy calls it trendy.

  11. Lu December 7, 2009 at 3:31 pm #

    Since they claim to ‘design’ their products, I don’t think the current Etsy standard requires them to handmake them. I call it a reseller shop, but Etsy calls it trendy.

    LOL

  12. say what@ December 7, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

    This really annoys me. Saying she handmade those ornaments? Just slap a vintage label on it etsy won’t care. Well, they don’t care anyway. Nevermind.

  13. GernBlanston December 7, 2009 at 3:43 pm #

    I *think* a lot of the Disney Princess ones come from the Dollar Tree. I seem to recall buying a similar one as a stocking stuffer last year. However, they are just the figurines and do not have the eye hook attached.

  14. elizabeth December 7, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

    Funny how she has a copyright watermark on her pictures. Actually, these do fall into the hand assembled since she puts the hooks on herself. I’ve got some necklaces in my shop that are just plastic toys that I put screws into the tops of.

  15. JK December 7, 2009 at 4:30 pm #

    So here’s what I’m wondering — Etsy now considers a chain to be a legit supply only if the seller puts the clasp on by themselves. Why is a chain with a clasp added still only a supply while a made-in-China Dollar Tree figurine with a screw added is considered a ‘handmade’ ornament? By Etsy standards (and I use that work loosely), isn’t that former supply now a handmade necklace?

  16. Life During Wartime December 7, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    JK — I think you’re right. There shouldn’t be ANY chains in supplies, because a chain with a handmade clasp is handmade jewelry. Much more what I call handmade than these ornaments or charms on a commercial chain.

    But I still think it’s odd that commercial chains aren’t supplies because most of the base metal ones aren’t made to be worn without a pendant or charms.

  17. JK December 7, 2009 at 8:12 pm #

    Agreed — I find it very odd that chains specifically were singled out when most aren’t really wear-alone material. Why they bothered with that when there are so many more pressing issues, we may never know.

  18. janicejoplin2 December 7, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    Well one day Disney is going to get fed up with Etsy for allowing this shit. I think Disney lawyers would trump Etsy’s no matter what the fine print reads. One day it will happen. You don’t mess with the house of mouse.

    STEP AWAY FROM THE MOUSE!

    Also for a college professor she is ignorant.

  19. CMOM December 8, 2009 at 5:17 am #

    I worry about the sanity of anyone over the age of 12 who likes and collects Disney crap.

  20. Cyndle December 8, 2009 at 5:28 am #

    Also, how un-classy to gripe about the venue in your shop text–also, revealing how much she spends and makes? I mean, we all know that every seller profits (or should profit) from their sales–that doesn’t mean I want to know by how much! Tack-Y!

  21. JajieBo December 8, 2009 at 8:37 am #

    Totally lame. And I bet she thinks she’s “creative”.

  22. Life During Wartime December 8, 2009 at 10:54 am #

    There’s nothing I could find in her Ebay listings that suggests she makes the ornaments sold at auction with figures from a dollar store. Wouldn’t Disney shut her down on Ebay if they thought she was doing that? They probably don’t care what you do for a craft project for your personal use, but reselling one price point as another? I dunno.

    Unless she is selling different stuff on Ebay (reselling ornaments licensed by Disney that were made as ornaments), bidders on her auctions might think they are getting a collectible Disney ornament when they are getting a fabricated one. I looked at some Disney listings on the web, and superficially the dollar store ones and the licensed ones look like almost the same figure. But the Disney ones have extra features likes lights or play music. None of her listings really get down and say plainly what she is selling: what came from the store (with dates and packaging) and what her alterations, if any, were.

    She hasn’t got any grounds to blame people for speculating about her two businesses, since she chose to share TMI on the Etsy forums.

  23. Laura December 8, 2009 at 11:31 am #

    She’s claiming to make those things? LOL? What, by sticking a hook in them?

  24. Life During Wartime December 8, 2009 at 1:37 pm #

    Sticking the wire in them is altered, right? Because she made a hole in the top? So that is Etsy legal. No different than hanging two beads from a pair of ear wires. I don’t think she can be flagged for making them.

    Actually making this at home is kinda smart. You can have a Disney character ornament for a very small cost by turning a PVC figurine into a hanging decoration. Lots of stuff on Etsy in my opinion is cool if you make it for yourself, but less than thrilling when sold in an Etsy shop. But not against any rules on Etsy.

  25. WickedClean December 8, 2009 at 4:46 pm #

    What I can’t believe is that she admitted to selling something that cost her less than a dollar to make for 68 bones. And noone even commented on her post. I expected her to get flamed.

    I was that buyer, I’d be pissed.

    But I also have anough Etsy-smarts not to be tricked into buying the crap some sellers offer as “handmade” or “vintage”

  26. Angel December 8, 2009 at 5:59 pm #

    “FiveKidsCreations says:
    Another obvious advantage to eBay is that you’re not limited as to what you can sell. In my case, about a quarter of my stock is neither my own work nor vintage, so listing it here isn’t an option.”

    I actually laughed out loud.

Leave a Reply

