From the Inbox:

19 Dec

For about 2 1/2 years I have been fuming over this particular seller, who has shops everywhere!!!. I have flagged her numerous times on Etsy and i even sent an email to Artfire admins last week about her being there under false pretenses.
The name is Janine King Designs, and from my Google research, I have found listings for shops on Etsy, eBay, Artfire, Bonanzle, Mintd, and Ecrater, and that’s only on the first 5 pages.

The number of her sales is what got me nosing around originally, cause the type of item she puts out is not a 10 minute deal, and how anyone can make and sell 362 pieces in just the first 16 days of December on Etsy, (and still have close to 100 items in shop) is an impossible feat! She makes purses, wristlets, iPod pouches, laptop covers, and the like, so you know it it not an easy item to make…certainly not in the numbers she has been selling.

On Bonanzle she has 4,977 feedback…and she has only been there since September 7th of this year.

She has over 12,324 feedback on eBay, but I guess she started there back in 1999 or so.

The site where I found the employee info is start.cortera.com/

here is the link http://start.cortera.com/company/research/k3q3nus4s/janine-king-designs/

Every time I think about this woman and her devious ways I just about scream, and I’d love to be able to get her the hell off Etsy, and Artfire as well…someone should be able to find a way to show her up for what she is…a fabricator and conniving toad!

Of course, she has now put her shops on vacation mode for the holidays, so you can’t see her inventory, but you sure can see her sales.

Hope someone can come up with a way to blast her out of the water. Would love to know someone in Ithica, NY who could check out her little “cottage industry”.

Anyway, just had to vent, so hope you will see fit to post this on the blog.

Thanks for listening (reading)

95 Responses to “From the Inbox:”

  1. Kirsi December 20, 2009 at 1:37 am #

    I’m confused – is the list at the end supposed to be Janine King design’s shops?

  2. Amused December 20, 2009 at 3:45 am #

    Ashlee Bonaparte1 back with a vengeance

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6382307

    and the negatives pile up

  3. GernBlantaclaus December 20, 2009 at 7:09 am #

    beadworkpaula is gone.

  4. Kirsi December 20, 2009 at 7:36 am #

    “Ashlee Bonaparte1 back with a vengeance”

    What the… She puts items for sale just to give negs to buyers, and etsy won’t even remove them? There’s actually one buyer, who got the neg. BEFORE she even asked the first time about her oreder?! And some people are spewing ‘calling out’ on the OP.

  5. so what? December 20, 2009 at 8:24 am #

    You can have employees on etsy. They changed the term of use.

    Some people who have been selling for years can create a lot of product or have a large back stock of product or have streamlined their process.

    I think it’s bullshit to post something like this since, again, it’s fine to have employees on etsy. One of the QYDJ sellers says right in their interview that they have employees.

    I think you need to be more thoughtful before you post stuff like this. This is not a clear case of any rule breaking. Just because someone sells a lot doesn’t mean they aren’t doing ot themselves. Perhaps they sell what they make themselves on etsy and have employees make product for their other stores.

    This isn’t fair. Especially if you didn’t contact them for clarification.

  6. JK December 20, 2009 at 8:30 am #

    Hoooooly crap! Why on earth is someone like AshleeBonaparte1 still allowed to be on Etsy at all? I wonder how many buyers she’s turned away with her insta-neg habit. And what’s with all the hotroddesings feedback? Smacks of shilling, which make her continued presence even more questionable.

  7. crotchetyoldwoman December 20, 2009 at 8:33 am #

    Can’t get behind you on this one. From all appearances, JanineKing is following Etsy’s rules. From the product I received from her, this is NOT a mass produced product.

    The only problem I had was becoming part of her spam email list. That stopped once I followed the link to ‘opt out’.

  8. JajieBo December 20, 2009 at 9:07 am #

    And the ashleebonaparte1 trainwreck saga continues… what a nightmare she is.

  9. elizabeth December 20, 2009 at 9:10 am #

    There is nothing wrong with janineking’s shop, she has been on etsy for a long time, has been flagged numerous times and been investigated by etsy.
    She is allowed to have employees and has always followed etsy’s rules. This sounds more like envy because she is so successful.
    Now, this other one, the ashlee person that gives all her customers negatives, that’s got me scratching my head. wtf?

  10. Caroline December 20, 2009 at 9:11 am #

    Janine King Designs has been around forever. She started nearly 12 years ago at the very very beginning of buying handmade goods online. That far back the only place you could do that was ebay.

    I just read the NYtimes article about the Quitting Your Day Job etsy sellers. Palomasnest is now making 6 figures and has had to hire 3 employees to keep up with demand. Are we going to rag on her, too? I am thrilled for her success and I hope she has to eventually hire 5-10 employees just like Janine King has had to do.

    I would imagine Janine King’s success is due to lots and losts of hard work, extreme smarts, internet marketing savvy, a quality, useful product in trendy fabrics and getting in at the very beginning.

    Most of the call outs here are legit and I applaud this site as a fellow etsy seller.

    But I really think the original poster here could have spent all that energy she used researching and reporting Janine King into constructively building up her OWN business.

    (And, no, I do not have anything to do with Janine King and have never even purchased any of her bags. I’ve just watched and admired (envied?) her success for years. )

  11. Jealous December 20, 2009 at 9:44 am #

    I think Janine King has done a wonderful job with her shop, 12,000 sales in 10 years? I don’t find that suspicious at all. She’s a great seller (from what I see, I’ve never purchased from her).

    I didn’t see were those 5 other shops even linked back to her, where did those come from?

    More power to Janine King Designs, keep doing your thing, hopefully I can be just as successful

  12. KR December 20, 2009 at 12:27 pm #

    Give her a call and quiz her yourself. If you look up the address on Google street view, it is obviously a residential area. Some people need to worry about their own businesses and stop worrying about the legitimacy of successful sellers who have been working at it since 1992!

    Janine king Designs 1151 pleasant st. utica, ny 13501 | 315-733-9863

  13. angryone December 20, 2009 at 12:29 pm #

    I’m sorry if you don’t agree with me, but no where did I see a list of her employees in Janine King’s profile. She writes it as though she and her hubby are the only ones making the items. I believe that Etsy’s rules say that employees must be listed.

    That’s what has me up in arms. I was very annoyed when I wrote the original post and perhaps went a bit overboard with my wording, but I still find it difficult to swallow.

    It’s great that someone can get that much inventory sold, and make that kind of money, but be honest about it, not sneaky and make it sound like you are the only person chained to a sewing machine.

  14. so what? December 20, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

    angryone, just stop.

    It doesn’t matter if they have employees. It’s possible their employees are support employees. She and her husband may be making everything and just have people to pack and ship. Their employees may only work on things they sell on eBay. There are so many possibilities.

    There are many Etsy sellers who have employees who don’t list them.

    For any number of reason you are completely out of line.

    Mind your own business. At this point you have put yourself in a position to be sued. Get a grip. If I were her I would sue the crap out of you for this bullshit.

    There is so much abuse on Etsy right now, this situation isn’t even close to being a problem.

  15. so what? December 20, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    And if you have been stalking this person for 2.5 years and working yourself into a frenzy about this I would suggest getting a therapist. You’ve clearly lost perspective and any common sense you might have once possessed.

    Whackjob.

  16. Life During Wartime December 20, 2009 at 1:29 pm #

    If Etsy allows small handmade businesses with a few employees to open a shop, then this person isn’t breaking any rules.

    On the other hand, if she has employees but doesn’t disclose them in her profile, what does reason does she have to sue someone for pointing this out?

    I don’t think the list of links to someone else’s shops at the end of the blog post are hers. What are those links about?

  17. KR December 20, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    Dear angryone,

    It was through the link YOU provided that stated clearly for anyone to see that she has listed her business with 5-10 employees. Anyone can Google this seller and see that she plainly and honestly lists that she has a number of employees.

    Just because someone has had to hire employees does not mean she does not take full ownership of her business and creations. She probably pours over her designs and gives it her blood, sweat and tears.

    I have not found her to be dishonest about her business at all. That is YOU reading into it.

    There are a number of super successful Esty sellers who have had to take on employees. And more power to them!

    Now let’s get back to the REAL dishonest, fake handmade sellers, resellers, fake vintage sellers and the system abusers. Janine King isn’t one of them….her business is just what we all aspire to be!

  18. anonymous December 20, 2009 at 3:01 pm #

    The only thing is, she does not disclose her employees and what they do, which is in the Dos and Dont’s.
    Yes sh e can have employees, most of the top sellers do have them. But most do not disclose them.

  19. a thousand sugar cookies December 20, 2009 at 3:21 pm #

    i used to live in ithaca and yes, her street is a residential street.

  20. a thousand sugar cookies December 20, 2009 at 3:22 pm #

    oh sorry she’s in utica

    whoops haha

  21. Bedazzled VONdom December 20, 2009 at 3:27 pm #

    “beadworkpaula is gone”

    I’m sure she’ll be back soon but YAY for now anyway!

    P.S. Etsy, WHAT THE HELL TOOK SO LONG?

  22. JajieBo December 20, 2009 at 3:57 pm #

    This brings to mind the “too big for etsy” discussion. I’m wondering how the sentiments lean on that topic: when a company clearly outgrows the label of “small handmade business”, does it mean they should leave Etsy? It’s an interesting thing to think about, especially in light of the NYT article that discloses Yokoo’s $140,000 in sales last year.

    It’s certainly not illegal for the too-big sellers to be there, but do they really belong in a venue like Etsy? Why not just open their own online shops to avoid the fees?

  23. notvintage December 20, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    I don’t get why they don’t have their own websites, either. Maybe they do….
    I would think that a person could get some serious aches and pains listing shit on etsy one piece at a time if that have that much stuff. Maybe that is what one of her employees does. Etsy does not make it easy to list large quantities of shtuff

  24. KR December 20, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    I think we NEED the big sellers there. It gives the smaller sellers role models to learn from.

    I would imagine that the big sellers like the community feel, it’s the place that gave them their start, and they have that Etsy support.

    I believe those that have a few employees DO disclose they have a couple of them (see the NYtimes article) and that is when everyone goes ballistic. I feel it is just from jealousy and putting energies in the wrong place.

    Put all your energy into making your OWN shop the best it can be instead of simmering in petty jealousies and cattiness.

  25. elizabeth December 20, 2009 at 5:33 pm #

    Totally agree with what KR says. Etsy’s original mission statement was to help people make a living making things, or something to that effect. There has never been anything in Etsy’s rules about getting ‘too big’ for Etsy, and never anything about if your business becomes successful enough to where you actually are making a living making things, then it’s time for you to leave Etsy to the ‘small’ sellers. Never.

  26. so what? December 20, 2009 at 6:24 pm #

    I am quite certain that some people don’t declare employees for fear of gaining stalkers like “angryone” or dealing with “too big for Etsy” comments and other similar bullshit from jealous people with nothing better to do with their time. If you are that angry about another seller and spend 2.5 years of energy on that, again, get a therapist.

    Seriously, some of you need to grow up. If your business isn’t successful, focus on changing that instead of undermining and talking trash about other sellers.

  27. Bedazzled VONdom December 20, 2009 at 8:02 pm #

    Anyone else wondering just how many of the posters on this thread are currently sharing the same IP number?

  28. Angel December 20, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    No kidding, Bedazzled.

  29. so what? December 20, 2009 at 8:45 pm #

    Some of you are really sick. Don’t you have anything better to do with your time?

  30. Henrietta December 20, 2009 at 11:10 pm #

    It is generally a good thing to do a little research before blasting.
    Re Bonanzle feedback:
    Bonanzle like many other smaller startups has a feedback IMPORT FACILITY. In my case I imported 880 eBay feedback earned over the previous 9 years slogging on eBay.

    I am sure your target did the same.

  31. Henrietta December 20, 2009 at 11:13 pm #

    I should have added that Bonanzle only allows a maximum number of imported feedback, and that many sellers delete it when they have reached a certain number on site.

  32. Amy December 21, 2009 at 4:13 am #

    I don’t think that angryone needs to be criticised so harshly. the fact of the matter is that sellers are meant to disclose all employees. this seller doesn’t. Not disclosing makes people a little suspicious. rightly or wrongly.

  33. KR December 21, 2009 at 6:37 am #

    Henrietta, thank you very much for the excellent info! I had never heard of Bonanzle before. The amazing stuff you learn here! Had no idea you could do something like that.

    Amy, after reading ‘angryone’s’ original post I just googled Janine King Designs and she *does* disclose pretty much everywhere that she has a number of employees. Just because it is not in her profile really means nothing.

    Plus what difference does it make if a small handmade business has employees? That is allowed under etsy rules. Janine King is just highly successful having worked at it for over a decade.

    I think people are sensitive to the criticism to the original poster because none of us would want to be on the other end of it if WE had worked our tails off forever and then be accused of doing something dishonest.

    “Bedazzled”, accusing posters of identical IP’s (or here it comes..calling them sock monkeys, or socks, or trolls or some other immature name) adds nothing to the discussion. Doing that is the only thing people can think of to add when things get a little too close to the truth.

  34. Bedazzled VONdom December 21, 2009 at 8:15 am #

    Yes, golly gee. I’m the wun who be askeered of the truf. *snark*

    KR, the fact that you got pissy and felt as though you have been accused of being a “sock” (when I never used such a word and am in disguise myself) tells me I was right.

    Carry on! I’m enjoying your performance(s) immensely.

  35. KR December 21, 2009 at 9:19 am #

    No, I’ve just been reading this site for a while and other sites that express opinions. Usually, if someone does not follow the party line she is immediately called a troll and other names- much of it cursing. Or if some posters agree with each other they are all thought to be the same person, as if no one could share the same opinion.

    Breaking away from the subject at hand, to name-call and cast suspicions, only lessens the level of discussion.

    I was expressing an opinion, not being pissy. I am an Etsy seller with a handmade shop and a vintage shop and I’ve been buying on Etsy since 2006. I have chosen to only use my initials here since some of the commenters on this site are a little scary. I am not sure how that makes me all the names, and curse words, you are about to call me.

    I won’t respond to this anymore, as I am more interested in being informed of Etsy resellers and fake vintage sellers. And btw, I appreciate all I’ve learned on this site, too. It’s been a wealth of information as far as what the rules of Etsy are, made me a more precise & careful tagger, and helped me to be sure my vintage goods are over 20 years old. And I truly appreciate it.

  36. Whattha? December 21, 2009 at 9:48 am #

    I’m confused, why this person’s email was published in the blog? Does EtsyCallout have something against Janine King? Because she sells a lot? I don’t understand what the problem is.
    I wonder if the person who wrote it is a handbag maker who is fuming over their lack of sales? If the writer has been waitching the seller for 2 years, obviously Etsy has investigated and found them to be on the up and up.

  37. Kirsi December 21, 2009 at 10:18 am #

    Disclosing all the people involved in an Etsy store, ON ETSY, is not just for the other sellers curiosity, but to be honest to the consumers. The TOU on Etsy doesn’t say ‘you have to disclose all the employees and their roles somewhere online or the local newspaper’, they say that you have to do it somewhere in your shop on Etsy. Which makes this a legitimate call-out, no matter what everybodys opinions on “too big for Etsy?” are.

  38. angryone December 21, 2009 at 10:37 am #

    Now you can all go and trash my shops, but I have to say that i did not expect the viper-like comments some of you have made. I have not been “stalking” this woman, just catching a glimpse of her occasionally when looking at the Time Machine 2, and each time I was amazed that she was still there.

    I still consider her to be less than honest about her employees, as the only place that has listed any number of employees is the link I put in my original post. And I also feel that she has had those said employees for longer than she has been on Etsy, since she obviously hit the ground running when she joined.

    I will not comment further on this subject, but I want to thank those who at least acknowledged that I could have a point about her lack of transparency and disregard of the TOUs.

  39. so what? December 21, 2009 at 11:02 am #

    As was pointed out before, her employees may not work on her Etsy stock. They may only work on stock for her other sites.

    If that is the case then no, she does not have to disclose her employees who do work for her other stores.

  40. so what? December 21, 2009 at 11:06 am #

    Additionally, the person in the OP said they have flagged her *numerous times over a 2 year period* (stalker) and has seen no changes. Therefore, one can surmise that Etsy has checked it out and found no violations.

    There are far more issues of outright site abuse on Etsy. This isn’t even a blip on the radar, especially since Etsy has investigated and found no problems.

  41. Amy December 21, 2009 at 11:19 am #

    exactly Kirsi.

    So what? – i think she does have to disclose her employees – no matter what they do.

  42. so what? December 21, 2009 at 11:24 am #

    No she does not.

    If her employees do not do work for the products she lists on Etsy, then no she does not have to disclose them.

    If her employees don’t do any work on the Etsy products, for example if they just do her shipping, then no, she doesn’t have to disclose them.

    If her employees only produce work for sale on eBay, then no there is no need to disclose in her Etsy store. They have nothing to do with products sold on Etsy.

    Etsy can’t control your business and can’t dictate disclosure except for items sold on their site.

    The disclosure is for employees producing work for sale on Etsy. Shipping employees aren’t part of the product making so there is no need to disclose them.

    If you have questions you should contact Etsy.

    This is the very worst type of call out since some of you have no idea what the rules about disclosure really are for and you have no idea what action or interaction Etsy has had with this seller since her stalker has been flagging for years.

  43. Bedazzled VONdom December 21, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    “I am not sure how that makes me all the names, and curse words, you are about to call me.”

    I haven’t called you a name yet. NOT A ONE. I don’t intend to do so either.

    Helpful hint of the day: if you feel a need to post under more than one user name in order to make it appear that your opinion is shared by others, it’s best to change your posting style and vernacular, not just your user name.

    Carry on!

  44. so what? December 21, 2009 at 11:33 am #

    This type of blog has been and can still be useful, but this type of post destroys credibility.

    Just an FYI for whoever started this blog.

  45. Amy December 21, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    so what? – Having read the dos and don’ts it says that ‘The Public Profile page for the account must fully disclose accurate information about each person, their role in the Etsy shop and the relationships between the members of the collective.’
    This includes collaboration, sharing a shop and shop management help.

    Seems pretty clear to me. I’m not the one with no idea about the rules.

  46. so what? December 21, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    Etsy can’t dictate disclosure for people who do work for you for other selling sites or you own site. If they are not involved in producing Etsy products then no disclosure is required. Disclosure only relates to what is sold on Etsy.

    If you read the QYDJ article about the shop I posted a link to above you will see that she simply lists the first names of the people who sew for her. In her shop profile she does the same. Clearly Etsy has no problem with how she does this.

    Store owners do not have to disclose their own names, why would you think that employees names need to be disclosed?

    Are you seriously saying that if someone’s husband or wife does their shipping that needs to be disclosed?

    The intent is to be clear for buyers who is producing the work. If someone is shipping for you then how is that relevant to a buyer? Well, it isn’t.

    There are so many huge violations on Etsy on any given day. If you have a need to be the Etsy Flagging Police, please use that time and energy to flag the real problems.

    Stalking someone for over 2 years and flagging them numerous times is ridiculous and scary. Clearly Etsy has dealt with the numerous flags or something would have changed. Since it hasn’t then it seems this seller is in compliance.

    Some of you are downright scary.

  47. Kirsi December 21, 2009 at 12:29 pm #

    “They may only work on stock for her other sites.”

    Yeah, right… Do you actually have some insider information, or are you just totally oblivious about how businesses are run? Even if their hands don’t touch the pieces sold on Etsy (how is it exactly they can separate them, btw?), they are part of the business, and influence how the business works.

  48. Amy December 21, 2009 at 12:59 pm #

    I’m just quoting the etsy dos and don’ts. if you have questions you should contact etsy.

  49. ohjoy December 21, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    janine king only recently disclosed her employees but she did hide it for years on etsy (it was non disclosed)- it’s not a secret at all in the small town where she lives that she employs a staff of seamstresses. hopefully they are paid well and compensated with good benefits.

    many sellers have employees helping them- big sellers and small. since its gone so long with being undisclosed, why should it be an issue now?

    how on earth can anyone expect to sell 100s of handmade items weekly or even daily without help? that is what seems incredulous to me.

    in order to have a handmade,profitable business- not living in your parents basement or your significant other paying all your bills- but a successful thriving business, you will need and want help.

    to deny yourself that reality is really denial about business and business planning and plans- make a business plan and you will see!

  50. JajieBo December 21, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

    I do like to see it disclosed when a seller is using a team to create the pieces when they design, as I (usually) prefer my money to go to smaller, more directly hands-on operations… not really the ones where people have others put together the peices they design. Etsy might not have any rules against allowing the larger businesses (I’m talking about the ones with many assembly-line type employees), but I’d rather support the more intimate made-by-only-one-person shops. But that is just me and my own humble opinion.

  51. JajieBo December 21, 2009 at 2:46 pm #

    And to say that anyone interested in Janine King’s shop could have easily found out that she had a team of people in her employ by googling her is a little silly; when I’m buying a product on etsy, I usually go by what their profile discloses. As a buyer, I really shouldn’t have to leave the site to find out such information. It should be right there on Etsy.

  52. Angel December 21, 2009 at 3:02 pm #

    It isn’t the points brought up in the comments, because some sentences are actually quite valid, it’s the irony and passive-aggressive bitchy housewife they are wrapped up in.

    Helpful comments? Letting the submitter know that one shop allows the import of eBay feedback. That’s constructive and informative. Key words here. Constructive. Informative.

    The mental state of the submitter is not the topic. The business of JKD as it relates to the Etsy TOU’s is.

    All Etsy retaliation aside, it isn’t fear of harassment or “stalking” behind the main reason that real names/shops aren’t used on this site (and others like it). It’s that there is business to be lost if someone connects the asshole comments with a shop. So spare me the bullshit.

  53. Kathy December 21, 2009 at 5:50 pm #

    “so what? – Having read the dos and don’ts it says that ‘The Public Profile page for the account must fully disclose accurate information about each person, their role in the Etsy shop and the relationships between the members of the collective.’
    This includes collaboration, sharing a shop and shop management help.

    Seems pretty clear to me. I’m not the one with no idea about the rules.”

    Amy, that is actually for shop collaboration and collectives. If you scroll down a bit in the Dos and Don’ts you will find a section titled “Production Assistance”. It does not appear that it is required to disclose production/shop assistants in your public profile as it is with collectives.

    Its pretty far down there under Shop and listings>Handmade by You.

  54. Kathy December 21, 2009 at 5:57 pm #

    Here is the pertinent part of the Production Assistance policy. It is acceptable for her to have assistance in the creative process for her Etsy products. If I was her, I know I would be having my employees doing the mundane tasks of cutting the patterns, ironing, and snipping of threads.

    “Production assistance for certain intermediary tasks in some crafts may be acceptable. The following policies govern use of production assistance in the creation of handmade items:

    * An assistant, under the direct supervision of the seller, may: assist with a portion of the creation process, list items in a shop, ship items, communicate with buyers, accounting or other record keeping.”

  55. so what? December 21, 2009 at 10:19 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/dosdonts.php

    Production assistance
    DOs and DON’Ts > Shops and listings > Handmade by you > Production assistance

    Production assistance for certain intermediary tasks in some crafts may be acceptable. The following policies govern use of production assistance in the creation of handmade items:

    * An assistant, under the direct supervision of the seller, may: assist with a portion of the creation process, list items in a shop, ship items, communicate with buyers, accounting or other record keeping.
    * A third-party vendor may be used for intermediary tasks in some crafts. Acceptable examples include, but are not limited to: printing the seller’s original artwork, metal casting from the seller’s original mold, or kiln firing the seller’s handcrafted ceramic work.
    * A third-party vendor may not fulfill your orders to your Etsy customers on your behalf (no drop-shipping).
    * An assistant or third-party vendor’s involvement may not comprise a majority share of a handmade item’s creation.

  56. kren December 22, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

    This woman is making some serious money for Etsy. Regardless of whether or not she is in the wrong, her shop will never be removed.

  57. so what? December 22, 2009 at 4:30 pm #

    She’s NOT doing anything wrong.

    Only collectives need to disclose other members.

    The Production Assistance section of the Do’s and Don’ts does not require disclosure of employees.

  58. so what? December 22, 2009 at 9:14 pm #

    I guess the torches and pitchforks have been put away?

    So unnecessary.

  59. ohjoy December 23, 2009 at 5:35 am #

    well if you read the new TOU or even the old TOU you will see it dictates that no one can make your items for you but they can and do all over etsy- one top seller was featured on their blog and it showed the workshop within the new retail space they had and it was full of people sewing the goods- not the seller- there are so many others that i personally know firsthand doing this as well. as long as you can get your items MADE and sell tons of them, etsy does not care- they want the $$$. so dont worry about it and get to getting your product made and sold no matter what.

  60. JajieBo December 23, 2009 at 6:26 am #

    * An assistant or third-party vendor’s involvement may not comprise a majority share of a handmade item’s creation.

    I know of a few shops where this is happening, but as ohjoy rightly said, “Etsy does not care- they want the $$$”.
    That line could apply to any of the rule-breaking money makers on Etsy. So sad, but true.

  61. Whattha? December 23, 2009 at 7:21 am #

    Bedazzled VONdom Says:
    December 21, 2009 at 11:25 am
    “I am not sure how that makes me all the names, and curse words, you are about to call me.”

    I haven’t called you a name yet. NOT A ONE. I don’t intend to do so either.

    Helpful hint of the day: if you feel a need to post under more than one user name in order to make it appear that your opinion is shared by others, it’s best to change your posting style and vernacular, not just your user name.

    Carry on!

    __________________________________

    One might say the same to you

  62. Angel December 23, 2009 at 11:19 am #

    Pitchforks? What conversation have you been a part of? The only elevated drama within this particular post has been both created and maintained by yourself. Most everyone else has been having a quite civilized conversation (and has been quite respectful of the seller in question actually).

    What is the phrase that a bajillion sellers have hopped on? Oh yes. Keep calm. Carry on.

  63. JajieBo December 24, 2009 at 6:59 am #

    lol, Angel. I remember when the first versions of that print popped up. I was like “wow! how cute.” Now, of course, stumbling across any KCCO listing is like visual Ipecac.

  64. KR December 24, 2009 at 5:00 pm #

    Angel, you neglected to mention the name of YOUR store.

  65. Angel December 24, 2009 at 9:47 pm #

    I’m a buyer. I don’t have a store. So I don’t have any issues with using my real name. Which I do.

  66. Angel December 24, 2009 at 9:51 pm #

    “Visual Ipecac” has been added to my lexicon! I love it 🙂

  67. Arty December 31, 2009 at 3:49 am #

    so what=Janine king designs

    You are to emotionally invested in this post to be anyone else but her. The other poster is probably her husband or family member.

    And yes people – if you “call out” a person from NY (especially upstate) they will argue with you until there is no more breath in them to argue. I’m from Rochester-I know.

    And that’s just what those handbags are -“designs” because she sure as hell didn’t actually make them.

  68. Whattha? December 31, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    Arty=bitter handbag seller

    You strike me as a jealous rival, who is not as successful as her

  69. Arty December 31, 2009 at 4:15 pm #

    I don’t sell anything-I’m a buyer of “REAL” handcrafted items for a local boutique from skilled artisans of all crafts-from textiles to pottery and jewelry, so when I come across items like these attempting to be passed off as “handmade”, excuse me-but I get a bit peeved.

    As a buyer-I would never purchase from this shop. Etsy may be fooled but I’m not.

  70. so what? December 31, 2009 at 6:36 pm #

    No, you goofball. I’m not the person being accused in the OP.

    I’m simply sick and fucking tired of people with too much time and not enough sense creating vigilante groups to sink other sellers who are doing nothing wrong.

    JK does not have to disclose production assistants. End of story.

    Seriously, some of you need help.

    Again, no, I’m not JK. Why is it so hard for you pea brains to understand that not everyone thinks in the same fucked up way you do? Not everyone one has endless hours to devote to slandering someone who is doing nothing wrong.

    Get therapists and leave other people alone. There are so many actual resellers on etsy you could use your time flagging them.

    Idiots.

  71. so what? December 31, 2009 at 6:50 pm #

    And if any of you had any integrity you would email her directly and deal with this one on one instead of spewing pure bullshit here.

    Does it make you feel superior to tear this person down when they are doing nothing wrong?

    It’s really disgusting to watch.

  72. Whattha? January 1, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    Well said So What

  73. kuma chan January 1, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    This whole thread disgusts me. What the hell?

    Why waste time accusing this seller of violating the TOU when there are dozens of sellers who are legitimate assholes in direct violation? Why not be a little more productive with your time and blast them?

    If I wasn’t so poor I’d actually buy a bag off her.
    I guess everyone has a problem with this seller because her stuff actually looks GOOD. Just because it looks professional doesn’t mean it’s not handmade!

    Please, get a fucking life.

  74. Angel January 1, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    How many times does it need to be said that there are only three or so people making an issue of this (including the ones who are “supporting” the seller) in this thread and that EVERYONE ELSE has been quite supportive of the seller and pointed out to the subby two weeks ago when the fucking email was posted that there isn’t that big of an issue here?

    For fucks sake, can you people not READ?

    You aren’t helping the seller by coming in here acting like assholes. If JKD has personal issues with the content of the comments within this website, she can address them. As it stands, I suspect she should have much better things to do with her time and isn’t concerned about a few people wondering if she’s outgrown Etsy or how many people she has on staff.

  75. ohmeohmy January 2, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    whoa, sowhat

    I think you’re getting too emotionally invested in this post, calling the OP a whackjob, questioning her sanity, telling everyone to go see a therapist and get a life–whew!

    You need to take a deep breath and re-read your comments!

  76. so what? January 2, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    Did you even read the OP?

    The OP admits to stalking the seller for over 2 years and flagging them over and over and over.

    That indicates mental health issues. If another seller bothers you that much, yes, you should get a therapist to figure out why you have such a compulsion and can’t get a proper perspective on the issue.

  77. Angel January 2, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Repeatedly flagging someone online and checking up to see where else the seller sells from is not fucking stalking, those are your words and not the submitters. She also admitted very early in the thread that she choose poor language.

    You are the only one in here overreacting. The fact that you mention that the submitter should get perspective is downright amusing.

    Move on.

  78. ohmeohmy January 3, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    So what,

    The OP obviously made a mistake, but to shred and rip into her on a personal level is hard to witness and stomach. I would feel this way about ANYONE getting castigated and gutted.

    You made some valid points. However, your super aggressive delivery to her and anyone who does not agree with you totally negates everything you say and crushes your credibility . Don’t you know that cruelty is never the way to go?

  79. Kandy January 4, 2010 at 6:02 am #

    It is soooo obvious that “SOWHAT IS jk designs” or relative. Your PROFANITY shows what type of person YOU really are. Anyone defending anyone else with such serious NASTY behavior, has got to be “she herself”! NASTY WITCH that she has ALWAYS been. JKD also has unethically (ON EBAY), posted Other sellers handbags on HER auctions, as comparison to HER bags, & how hers were CHEAPER/CHEAP is right! CHEAPLY made. This CHEAPO uses “car head Liner for lining” in her bags (CHEAP as could be/Not for handbags OR LapTop Carriers). When selling Diaper Bags was hot & heavy on EBay, and HERS WERE NOT selling well, she had the GALL to email all of those using Authentic Burberry fabric, (which she also was using), that SHE “janinekingdesigns” was going to be the “BURBERRY POLICE” & report EVERYONE that used it in making their bags to ebay & Burberry admin & they were VERO’d. Yet SHE continued to USE the Burberry fabric on HER bags w/NO repercussions. She’s a RAT & a NARC & although she claimed to be their “overseer”, all she was, was a RAT. RUTHLESS & NASTY & MEAN & DISGRACEFUL tactics is what she used. Somehow, it worked for her. Great. Just don’t sell your non handmade by YOU on a site that requires this. JKD clearly runs a FACTORY & probably uses ILLEGAL Aliens to sew for her. Her bags sold for $25 each way back when. That was when the quantity sales started. NO ONE, alone can even sew 1/20th – 1/50th of what she supposedly sells on all fo those websites… Oh, & do some research on her. SHE goes to ARTS & CRAFTS shows & FOOLS them as well. ANYONE with the TIME, can REPORT her to IRS, Her city (making sure she has a LICENSE (county, state & city) of UTICA, NEW YORK (NOT Ithaca); AND find out if her legal address is ZONED for BUSINESS purposes. “COTTAGE INDUSTRY MY ARSE”! It is a FARCE. Definitely a good business women (although one I would NEVER work under or for), her bags of any type could NOT solely be sewn personally by HER as she states. No way can 1 person make that many bags in the quantity she sells. ETSY is a site that only 1 person can use a “SHOP” & be the sole maker of the items that they sell”. NOT a factory/Although I have seen Etsy tolerating lots of nonsense on there anymore. I have always led an HONEST lifestyle & raised my children to do so as well. It is DISHONEST to MISREPRESENT yourself on a WEBSITE as is what is going on with this seller that the Original Poster has issues with. Original Poster is RIGHT on the Mark & should be commended for bringing this to everyone’s attention. I wish we could say something on ETSY. It is for true HANDMADE “By the Seller of the Etsy SHOP” ONLY. Unless recent changes have been made. I believe that “maria” has tolerated & influenced lots of unethical garb going on at Etsy. Hopefully Rob’s coming back to run it, will STOP all the NONSENSE & unethical goings on there, pushing their PERSONAL friends/family as well in their emails & FP. It truly makes the HONEST seller leave. Thanks for this site to allow people to say the TRUTH! Although there will always be the HORRID rebuttal FOUL MOUTHED posters that defend themselves under alias ID’s. REPORT JKD to PROPER Authorities. THEY WILL take her to a new level of TAXES where she belongs. Hopefully ETSY & the other sites that require “made by yourself only” VIOLATE & PERMANENTLY CLOSE these LIARS w/ shops down. ROB, if your reading this, GET these UNETHICAL Sellers OFF of your Site. Thank You!

  80. Angel January 4, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    I’m not really sure how one makes the leap of logic from using Burberry fabric to employing illegal immigrants.

    If you have a legitimate complaint, that is one thing. But keep the senseless accusations to a minimum.

    Facts and only the facts (especially if you are passionate about the topic) are the best way to ensure that your message doesn’t get lost or overlooked by anything else you may have (and did) say. It also keeps the trolls at bay.

  81. Whattha? January 4, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    Anyone else think Kandy is Bedazzled Vondom?

  82. Whattha? January 4, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    Also, paragraphs are a wonderful thing

  83. so what? January 4, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    I think Kandy is nuttier than the OP.

    Yikes Kandy…you need a team of therapists…and a restraining order….YIKES!!!!!!!

    And, yes, paragraphs are wonderful!

    I prefer to read psychotic rants full of hyperbole to be easier to read. That way it’s much easier and much more entertaining to pick out the logical fallacies and batshit craziness.

    LOL

    For those of you who think I’m the one being accused, well, I’m not and I urge you to email or send an Etsy conversation directly to her if you have questions about her business. That would be much better than ripping her apart on an online blog.

    You should also presume that with so many people who stalk and hate her (see Kandy above…that’s hate, folks) the number of flags Etsy has received must be massive and if there was a problem she would have been booted long ago.

  84. so what? January 4, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    Oh, I for got to swear in the last post…clearly that made Kandy come further unglued.

    Fuck, fuck, fuck, fuck, fuck.

    That should induce a stroke.

    LMFAO!!!!!!

  85. Angel January 4, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    It’s always hilarious, wishing someone harm.

  86. so what? January 4, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    That post by Kandy is either a very bad joke or my comment that some people reading this blog and stalking other sellers are mentally ill, unstable or in need of some type of therapy is clearly supported.

    Kandy’s post clearly illustrates the danger that some sellers face when people with mental health issues get on their trail.

    As I said, this blog can be helpful and has been helpful. In situations like this, the crazies start to come out of the woodwork. They can’t stalk the resellers based in other countries, so they turn their attention with a scary pinpoint focus on people whom they can find information about in US public records.

    If this doesn’t freak people out, well, you need to really think about what it would feel like to have someone do this to you.

    The level of detail shared by Kandy clearly indicates many hours of “research” that, if I were JKD, would scare the shit out of me. Kandy’s post is a clear example of stalking.

    So, if posts like that don’t bother you or frighten you, I suggest you are in complete denial about what other people can do to you if they decide you are “worthy” of their “attention.”

  87. ohmeohmy January 5, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    So what,

    So now Kandy is a stalker too? Paranoid much?

    And you’re hoping she has a stroke?

    You seem to be missing something very basic and elemental in what makes us human. That would be “compassion for others” or “a conscience”. Ask your doc about sociapathic personalities. Okay, to make it easier, ask about “looney tunes”.

    These forums really do highlight various mental and emotional issues that would otherwise not be seen in real life. If I were you, I would make a print out of your comments and hand them over to a doc for a quick read and symnopsis of your personality. It will be very enlightening for you I am sure!

    There is just no way to repair your credibility, so why keep posting?

  88. so what? January 5, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    What credibility? This is the comments section of a blog FFS. There is no credibility to be had or lost…except for the blog owner.

    I’ve addressed that particular issue above.

    I couldn’t care less what any of you think about me, especially if you think it’s OK to try to destroy someone’s business based on assumptions.

    I’m just hoping the people lurking and not posting will see just how damaging this type of thing is. And just how crazy some people are out there.

    The rest of you can bite me. Especially if you see nothing wrong with what the OP did and what a couple of others in this thread have said and done.

    Whatev……

  89. Bobbi Knar January 5, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    JKD is a great seller. I actually was referred to her camera bags by a friend who recently purchased. I had a convo string with her for quite a while because it was a custom order.

    She was professional and very nice.

    I think it’s bullship OP that you have went to such lengths to try to uncover this “sweat shop” theory that you have going on.

    Success =/= shady

  90. NotAtAllAngel January 5, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    Just testing something.

  91. Angel January 5, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    Dang. I was sort of hoping that the image to the right would be related somehow to IP and not the input name or email address used.

    It is not.

  92. Arty January 6, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    See-I told you, all-A New Yorker for sure☺

  93. Disappointed July 1, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    it was discovered today that JK was shilling a number of her own sales to greatly inflate feedback. She is also in violation for outsourcing all of her work.

  94. click here August 1, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m absolutely
    enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

Leave a Reply

