Editorial: Better Days For Etsy?

24 Dec

We do not want to sound Pollyanna but we really feel that things definitely have the potential to be looking up for Etsy in the new year.

Take the time to read the two replies so far that Rob has already addressed to the community. I think that is already the amount of times Maria talked to us in two years.

http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6384233
http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6384787

He’s said that he’s killing the gift guides and shady weekend deals crap, along with trying to minimize admin curated parts of the site…many of the causes of integrity issues and dissension lately in the Etsy community.

Obviously it isn’t going to all be perfect (we don’t think it ever will be) but at least someone is trying to fix the problems instead of focusing on revenue. So maybe it’s the holidays but we feel happy.

23 Responses to “Editorial: Better Days For Etsy?”

  1. suspicious crab December 24, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

    I agree. Things may be looking up. Let’s make Etsy a venue, and not a popularity contest, with admin showcasing their favs over and over again. Admin are there to work, not to make friends and show favoritism. No more admin-curated favorites.

    Happy Holidays to all!

  2. JajieBo December 24, 2009 at 1:28 pm #

    Definitely a start! : )
    For the past month, I’ve been trying to decide if I want to leave Etsy for good.
    Hopefully some real changes take place soon. I’m happy to see that Rob is at least addressing people who aren’t shoving gold bricks up his ass or sending him “birthday gifts”.

  3. JajieBo December 24, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    Wow, I just finished reading through the forums threads, and I hope I’m not being terribly naive by thinking that Rob sounds incredibly sincere and awesome. Happy holidays indeed, y’all!

  4. Life During Wartime December 24, 2009 at 3:21 pm #

    I haven’t seen any obvious resellers in the Etsy curated features since the announcement of Maria’s departure. Maybe because I’ve had less time to look, or maybe the situation has improved. I’m hopeful.

  5. nothanks December 24, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

    He may be sincere, but it doesn’t mean he’s the best for the job. I’m pretty fucking worried, personally. Taking away ANY means of promotion (even if it’s 50% populated with etsy faves) on a site that’s as big of a clusterfuck as etsy is is not the best idea.

    Eh. I’m underwhelmed at best, and really effing freaked out about it at worst.

  6. KR December 24, 2009 at 4:58 pm #

    Well, this afternoon I just saw the same seller and item on the FP as yesterday. At least use a different item! So, I don’t know if Rob’s changes have started going into affect yet.

    What exactly is “people” commerce? He explained it but I still don’t get it. I don’t want to sell personality- I want to sell top flight design and art.

    I’m glad there’s change in the air, just not sure how it will take effect. At least he seems like he’s listening to the sellers.

    Just an aside- why does everyone in admin look 12 years old?

  7. sb December 26, 2009 at 9:25 am #

    This makes me feel more hopeful than I have done for a long time. This sounds like really positive thinking to me. Why don’t we suspend cynicism for the time being?

    Okay, this could be the Boxing Day vino talking, but I WANT to feel hopeful.

    Happy New Year to all ♥

  8. underwhelmedformerseller December 26, 2009 at 10:55 am #

    I want to feel hopeful, but that desire alone is never going to be the basis for trust for me, having seen that sort of foundation crumble too many times in harmful ways (including on this site). Kudos to Rob if he’s sincerely trying to clean up Etsy’s pervasive integrity issues, but I’ve moved on.

  9. Laura December 26, 2009 at 5:34 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=vl_other_2&listing_id=37331268

    McDonald’s Happy Meal toys? I HAVE these! And my kids are 6 and 3, so yea…not vintage.

  10. notvintage December 26, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

    Hope springs eternal, but he who repeats the same thing over and over again expecting different results is an idiot. Wolf has been cried too many times. There’s some quotes for you. Sort of.

  11. Amy December 27, 2009 at 4:05 am #

    I actually think the gift guides are potentially a good thing. – If they ensured no sellers were doubled up in numerous guides then I think it wouldn’t be that bad.

  12. KR December 27, 2009 at 6:58 am #

    I agree Amy. I enjoy the gift guides and see no reason to get rid of them- beautiful items and gorgeous photography and one more way to cruise around etsy. They just need to give *everyone* a chance there, not the same old same old.

  13. notvintage December 27, 2009 at 2:28 pm #

    Guaranteed that there will be guides you need to buy into. Just hope they are FUCKING MONITORED.

  14. KR December 28, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    “notvintage”, what do you mean “need to buy into?” Why does anyone “need” them? Sorry, just not understanding what you are saying. I like going through a few of them sometimes, but I could take them or leave them. I’m sure no one really *needs* them to look around etsy.

  15. Gernando December 28, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    This is the 4th time this seller has opened shop. Shut down three times so far.

  16. Gernando December 28, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    Oops:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/vintagebagg

  17. Life During Wartime December 28, 2009 at 4:25 pm #

    vintagebagg already made a sale! Shows what shoppers are looking for on Etsy.

  18. Gernando December 29, 2009 at 5:57 am #

    Probably a shill.

  19. notvintage December 29, 2009 at 9:25 pm #

    I mean that I betcha that there will be GGs that you have to pay to be featured in, s’all.. and they won’t be monitored any differently than showcases, just more $$

  20. skeptical January 1, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    What drives me nuts about Rob is that he talks so much horseshit. It’s all just hipster rhetoric and I think he honestly believes in what he’s saying, but it doesn’t mean anything in Real World terms.

    However, Maria was the worst thing to happen to Etsy yet. The branding, corporatizing of handmade, and promotion of “deals” gave Etsy a terrible reputation amongst artists and those who are into buying handmade. I don’t know if Etsy can ever recover from it, but we’ll see. I stopped selling there and won’t go back unless it stops being a joke.

  21. Angel January 1, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    I refuse to get my hopes up about anything regarding Etsy until I see it put into practice.

    Like being able to search for items I want to buy. I just simply can’t understand how a company who should have the primary focus of directing traffic to various sellers has such an issue with it.

    As it stands? I won’t buy from someone who uses GC’s in their shop, or who does sale refunds. And that is because I don’t want THEM to lose money!

  22. WaitAndSee January 2, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    There were complaints about Rob when HE was in charge. Unless he’s changed these last two years, who can say if he’ll be good for Etsy this time around? I’ll just wait and see and hope that he WILL make good changes, but I’m not holding my breath.

  23. pussdaddy January 5, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    The gift guides could be a good thing, just like a lot of stuff on Etsy could be a good thing, if they simply did not create it then fuck it up with their own neglect and ignorance.

Leave a Reply

