Mofei

28 Dec

Hello,

I don’t know if this shop has already been investigated before, and I would feel very badly if it turned out that they were not a reseller, but..

http://www.etsy.com/shop/mofei

Some of the items are very detailed and I just cannot see how these items could NOT have been handmade in a sweat shop and sold at these unbelievably low prices.
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=37416301
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=37431123
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33567916

I don’t see how this shop could have avoided being flagged since last December..
And they have over 700 sales. They were also on the Front Page today (12/28) which is what led me to the shop.

Thanks for taking a look,
Sincerely,
an anonymous friend.

Edited to add:
Their item:
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=41890933
Wholesale:
http://lohas2008.com/en/products.asp?id=256

Their item:
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=40611844
Wholesale:
http://lohas2008.com/en/products.asp?id=257

Their item:
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=40044063
Wholesale:
http://lohas2008.com/en/products.asp?id=152

Their item:
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=39994950
Wholesale:
http://lohas2008.com/en/products.asp?id=171

Their item:
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=39975052
Wholesale:
http://lohas2008.com/en/products.asp?id=190

Their item:
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=39254275
Wholesale:
http://lohas2008.com/en/products.asp?id=186

Their item:
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=40570215
Wholesale:
http://lohas2008.com/en/products.asp?id=143

Their item:
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=40044409
Wholesale:
http://lohas2008.com/en/products.asp?id=170

47 Responses to “Mofei”

  1. Call Out Grrl December 28, 2009 at 12:04 pm #

    Look at their second listing! They’ve actually named a necklace “Ideafarmdesigns”!!!!! I’m sure the real IdeaFarmDesigns is THRILLED to be associated with this piece of trash!

  2. MeToo December 28, 2009 at 12:13 pm #

    Found the main site where the bracelets are coming from:

    http://lohas2008.com/en/index.asp

    Here’s the leather butterfly bracelet:

    http://lohas2008.com/en/products.asp?id=205

    There are no prices listed on the site, but I’m betting this Etsian is buying them whole sale and reselling them. Either that or they are selling them on two different sites at once. Either way it’s again Etsy’s rules. But, I’m thinking it’s choice number one.

  3. Life During Wartime December 28, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    They offer free shipping along with impossibly low prices.

    They sell both jewelry and scarves.

    Their feedback count is low compared to the number of sales.

    They have no profile page, but the policies page has a bit of boilerplate on it about the seller ‘collecting’ pendants and such for their jewelry — which they make into multiples of identical items? Uh huh.

    Etsy content should have a corporate buyer account (not disclosed as official) to buy from shops like this, and see if the items come in sealed cello bags complete with the Made In China gold foil sticker.

  4. Lu December 28, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    fishy for sure

  5. JK December 28, 2009 at 2:25 pm #

    Life During Wartime, that’s a good idea about Etsy corporate having a buyer account to check for this sort of thing.

  6. Thud December 28, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    The items have codes, low prices, location says shenzhen and they donèt know squat about tie dyeing LOL\ language issues aside!

  7. Life During Wartime December 28, 2009 at 3:54 pm #

    Some of the items have photos from catalogs, with reference numbers (not the same as the Etsy item title) and Chinese characters in the upper left. The third item link in the blog post is an example.

    I know this is ethnic profiling, but damn! Etsy staff need to look at every shop from China and Thailand that opens on the site, and get them closed if appropriate before they sell hundreds of items. I mean…how many of the people who bought from this seller, but didn’t leave FB, told their friends that Etsy is infested with dollar store stuff being passed off as handmade?

  8. imwithya December 28, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

    yeah… I just googled a code number that was on one of their photos and got this:

    http://74.125.155.132/search?q=cache:Y_ypCVuItkkJ:lohas2008.com/en/products.asp%3Fid%3D193+B/fg-c0028&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us&client=firefox-a

    _________________________

    It’s the the same photo that is in their listing:
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=37430870

  9. haditwithresellers December 28, 2009 at 5:49 pm #

    If looking at their shop wasn’t enough to make you believe they were resellers, just look at the sold items and they repeat, and repeat and repeat ad nauseum. And I wondered what those characters in the upper left of some of the shots were…a Chinese catalog name you suggested?

  10. Life During Wartime December 29, 2009 at 12:36 am #

    imwithya, that was awesome detective work! I think that is only one supplier for the etsy shop. I looked at everything that I could get to load on the Lohas site, but didn’t see all the items in their shop. Lohas says on their about us page that they make leather goods and are a family-owned business in China for almost 2 decades. I guess mofei is reselling stuff from a bunch of factories over there. That is why her item numbers in the titles are different than the ones shown in some of the pics — the company she works for assigns their own inventory numbers to the stuff they resell.

    I don’t think mofei has that much of a language problem. Their tags and titles are stuffed with Etsy trend words. They know how to work the system.

  11. Em December 29, 2009 at 9:10 am #

    This shop was on the FP today. Check out this recent feedback: http://www.etsy.com/feedback_public.php?user_id=7193319

  12. KR December 29, 2009 at 10:08 am #

    I can’t help it. When I see China, Shanghai, Thailand, et. al. in location I just keep on moving. I feel bad for the handmade artists who live there and are being disregarded because of where they live. Maybe that’s why some do not put down their location?

    Has Rokali said anything about the resellers or any crackdown?

  13. CMOM December 29, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    I’ve been to Thailand a couple of times and you can buy these fisherman’s pants for about a dollar (US). I made a pattern from a pair that I bought to make bathing suit cover-ups for myself and thought about making them for my Etsy shop but there is no way I could compete with the pricing in shops like this one. The other thing is that these items may be handmade but I doubt by the seller. My experience was that the pants are made out of lots of different quality cotton or rayon “blends” and that the workmanship is inconsistent.

  14. CMOM December 29, 2009 at 11:22 am #

    It’s great to see that a buyer left negative feedback once he/she realized that it wasn’t handmade!!!!

  15. JajieBo December 29, 2009 at 11:32 am #

    on that “ThaiModish” profile, it says “noplacesofar” as their location. That’s beyond annoying. If I’m shopping around on Etsy and I come across a shop that uses some vague crap as their location, I always move on. Bugs the heck out of me.

    KR, you’ve brought up a really good point, though. I’d hate to be an actual handmade artist selling out of one of the hotbed-reseller areas. I don’t think I’d hesitate to state my location if I were legit, though I could understand why some would want to.

  16. Gernando December 29, 2009 at 3:28 pm #

    CMOM, make some out of something like silk and charge a good amt. There is a market, I am sure.

  17. Not Really Surprised December 30, 2009 at 3:51 am #

    When the issue of these resellers is raised in the forum there are always some who say “ignore it” “move on” “it isn’t affecting you”

    They don’t realise it DOES affect everyone for the points raised here that unsuspecting buyers become wary of everyone on the site, especially those from the Far East and those who make similar items but are genuine makers.

    Etsy have got to sharpen up their act in deleting all bad sellers before the rotten apples damage the whole site.

  18. Gernando December 30, 2009 at 5:14 am #

    It cheapens the site.

    It leaves a bad taste in the mouths of buyers who discover their “handmade” item is from the racks at Target or an Asian sweatshop.

    Those people tell people and we all lose sales.

  19. Angel December 30, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    I’m not going to lie. As a buyer, I avoid all sorts of things because of the possibility of running into resellers. Having bought from a few unknowingly, it makes me even more paranoid for shopping for particular items.

    When I shop on Etsy, I have a few expectations. That if I’m not looking and handcrafted goods, I’m looking at vintage goods or antiques. When I see searches full of things that are sketchy, I find somewhere else to shop (if I want it that badly).

    A while ago I started taking a tally of the money I spent elsewhere after having been discouraged from buying something similar on Etsy due specifically to not being able to ensure that the item is not from a reseller (that includes refusing to purchase from someone who lists no location). I’m up to nearly $600 right now. And I’m only one woman.

  20. Life During Wartime December 30, 2009 at 2:33 pm #

    Why does Etsy allow a shop to open if the seller does not fill in all the information, like Location? Most sites require that you put something there. Like if you live in a small town, you have to at least add your state.

  21. Angel December 30, 2009 at 7:28 pm #

    Looking AT handcrafted goods. You’d think a gal could type better with a migraine. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

  22. Nobody Understands My Pain Either December 30, 2009 at 10:21 pm #

    Both of these are on the front page right now. I’m not 100% sure yet that they’re mass produced…but I’m pretty sure. I’m going to do some digging… http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=36817990&ref=fp_feat_5

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=32124806&ref=fp_feat_3

  23. Nobody Understands My Pain Either December 30, 2009 at 10:41 pm #

    Giftbywish has this interesting blog post: http://giftbywish.blogspot.com/2009/09/giftbywish-team.html

    http://www.giftbywish.com is registered to Kanjana Sutjaritjindanon. Kanjana Sutjaritjindanon is all over google search results as a Thailand exporter.

  24. janicejoplin2 December 31, 2009 at 3:29 am #

    Jeeze I got the heebie Jeebies just going into their web site. Ugh…I thought my computer was going to blow up from a virus…….

    You guys….how do I submit a suspicious shop here?

  25. janicejoplin2 December 31, 2009 at 3:30 am #

    Duh…I’ll just post it in a post..ha

  26. janicejoplin2 December 31, 2009 at 3:38 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=37190158&ref=fp_feat_9

    OK this was on the front page…a couple of days ago..Am I losing it..?

    The guy just joined Dec. 20th and it was posted I think Dec. 26th..and made front page (that pissed me off)

    Photos suck (yeah work on those photos everyone you’ll get on front page)

    defacing money…

    3 dollar bills for $40 and $10 shipping?

    So I guess if I can’t call out the shop I certainly am calling out Etsy for this shit being on FP….

  27. Yikes December 31, 2009 at 4:37 am #

    No offense intended, because I think all ECO readers are on the same team and I think you are awesome Janice, but there is a difference between a reseller appearing on the FP and someone appearing on the FP who is new, or who makes work that you don’t personally like.

  28. Gernando December 31, 2009 at 4:55 am #

    Well, that listing does violate the TOU.

  29. what the nut? December 31, 2009 at 7:35 am #

    color me crazy; but instead of defacing money & making it unusable, why not just create a print to look like a dollar bill instead of using an actual bill. Such a waste when so many could use the real thing. Oh but then it’s not ~artsy~. I am getting so cranky in my old age.

  30. Lu December 31, 2009 at 12:50 pm #

    Isn’t using a celebrity name a no-no?

  31. janicejoplin2 December 31, 2009 at 1:48 pm #

    LU Yea..I forgot to mention that…that was my first UH Oh moment..sorry..I’m sure that is a real biggie…

    Yikes..that was a nice way to put it! That is my first one I posted here and I just thought that it had a lot of red flags.

    defacing money, and trademark violation for being the major ones..

    The FP with the poor photos and crap was an Etsy what were you thinking call out. Posted on a thread and it was removed immediately…. after being there a matter of minutes..

    All GaGa items were removed from the FP and others stayed.

  32. Lu December 31, 2009 at 4:16 pm #

    Photos suck (yeah work on those photos everyone you’ll get on front page)
    —hilarious! If I hear that one more time in the forums I seriously considering not to go there anymore!

  33. ohjoy December 31, 2009 at 5:07 pm #

    i love this item on the front page right now:
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=37535614&ref=fp_feat_9

    it even states in the title from the 90s. Sorry, 90s is not vintage!

  34. 90sVintageNOT December 31, 2009 at 5:56 pm #

    Well that pair of 1990’s boots sold….surprise, surprise. I flagged it as well but guess someone beat the admins to the punch!…that is if there are any around on NewYear’sEve in NYC.

  35. janicejoplin2 December 31, 2009 at 6:21 pm #

    ohjoy..sigh Should we all just give up and go home now?

  36. Lu December 31, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    and it got sold too!! Yup I give up!

  37. notvintage December 31, 2009 at 8:26 pm #

    Those are Dollar Store prices. They’ll sell great to the pre-teens. Nice look for Etsy: “too cheap to be real”. No different than any other things made in sweatshops. I do not patronize shops that obviously are taking advantage of powerless peons.
    No way a person would make these things with their own hands and ask these prices. Seems like that seller would be smarter than that; but there are stoooopid people all over the world. Liars, too. Location, location, location.

  38. janicejoplin2 December 31, 2009 at 11:45 pm #

    I am equally pissed that boots are not vintage AND front page. Doesn’t anyone screen? Come on..I understand the really sneaky ones, but to blatantly state the 90’s………..ugh

  39. Life During Wartime January 1, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    I’m not sure how 90s stuff can be screened from today forward. To ask vintage sellers to specify an exact year for most items is unrealistic. And not really fair, either, since an exact year isn’t required to list an item from the 80s. Etsy could have frozen the cut-off date for vintage at 1989 if they were actually concerned about the issue. Too late now.

  40. Not Really Surprised January 1, 2010 at 4:57 am #

    Its all a mess but at least Admin could try to do something about the most obvious resellers and non-vintage

    Not promoting them on front page etc. would be a good start

  41. Thud January 1, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    For the first time I gave up shopping~ I was looking for Christmas ornaments and it was really tough to tell what was handmade, because people don’t say and so much junk comes up. I realized that what i will shop for on Etsy anymore is VERY limited.
    Not to mntion that people are quick to jump on us real handmade folks for reselling at the slightest pretense!

  42. Nobody Understands My Pain Either January 1, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    I-am-cotton is one of the wholesalers that provides Giftbywish’s clothing

    http://www.cotton-gallery.com/

    It states “every piece of our clothes is handle with most care from our factory in Chiangmi to your hands all over the world. For wholesale price listing and any further inquiries, please feel free to contact us anytime at i-am-cotton@hotmail.com. For retail customers, please visit our dealer at GiftbyWish.com.”

  43. Angel January 1, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Completely OT, but I’d like to wish you all a fantastic new year!

  44. Brenda January 1, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    I HATE ETSY! WILL NEVER SHOP THERE! JUST JUNK AFTER JUNK!

  45. Brenda January 1, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    I WOULD RATHER SHOP AT “HOBBY LOBBY”!!

  46. Jo-Ann January 2, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    THANKS for showing me ALL these “Resellers” I’m going right away to purchase from them!!!

Leave a Reply

