quickits

14 Jan

If you want to get away with selling gift baskets on Etsy simply call them “Amenity baskets”. Filled with lint rolls, kleenex, hairgel etc. and listed in “weddings”. http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=vl_other_1&listing_id=33626148
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33599613

The rest of the items in the quickits shop ride the fine line train but bottom line is that they are tampons and pins put into a box, with a label slapped onto it. Even though I don’t agree, I think the label would keep the boxes legal but I don’t think anything about the above two items are TOU okay.

And yes, they have been on the front page.

31 Responses to “quickits”

  1. KR January 14, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    There’s no difference in these baskets (assembling ready made things and adding a label) to jewelry I’ve seen on etsy that is a ready-made pendant strung on a length of ribbon. Or come to think of it a jewel (or something) jump-ringed onto a hook. I guess it’s all legal, I guess it sells, but it sucks.

  2. Em January 14, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    I think these veer a little too much into the assembled gift basket territory. Yes, they’re packaged in pretty little boxes, but it’s not really a handmade craft. Your point does make sense though that a pendant on a chain takes about as much thought as one of these (probably even less). This is just pushing the envelope too much for me, next people could be setting up shop selling tampons and bobby pins as supplies.

    Ok, that wasn’t all serious, but just another example of how Etsy needs to stay firm on their rules.

  3. Life During Wartime January 14, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    Allowing it is one thing, having this stuff on the FP is another.

  4. Kirsi January 15, 2010 at 12:51 am #

    Aren’t giftbaskets forbidden, unless you made the *contents* yourself? Was it really on the FP???

  5. MadeByM**** January 15, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    Oh, but they tied and/or glued the ribbon on! That’s a craft! (geesh……….it takes more talent to make a peanut butter & jelly sandwich).

  6. MadeByM**** January 15, 2010 at 6:26 am #

    Hey, these are nice gifts to give, but it’s walking that thin line of what most of us here believe what Etsy is supposed to be and apparently is not anymore. : (

  7. Amy January 15, 2010 at 6:44 am #

    From Etsy’s Dos and Don’ts:

    Creatively re-packaging commercial items does not qualify them to be sold as handmade (for example: a gift basket consisting of non-handmade items).

    •Gift sets and kits that are a collection of non-handmade (“commercial”) items may not be sold in Etsy’s handmade categories.
    •To sell commercial items as a grouping, the items must be assembled as components to create a new product.

  8. WTFISAPDF January 15, 2010 at 7:11 am #

    Thanks for posting this. Here all this time I’ve been scrambling to find a box of Luden’s cough drops and there they were all this time on Etsy!

    I’m glad I can depend on Etsy for all my health, beauty, and mensing needs and all other things handmade and that I need for crafting.

  9. JonhCocktoasten January 15, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    These are nothing more than gift baskets and are not allowed.

  10. JonhCocktoasten January 15, 2010 at 8:09 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/hkclotheshopc?ref=pounce

  11. Amy January 15, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    I have just been catching up with the closed threads and just love all the calling out of the resellers – so many more threads than usual! Congrats to those who started them – I am guessing a few check out this blog!

  12. Bedazzled VONdom January 15, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    “There’s no difference in these baskets (assembling ready made things and adding a label) to jewelry I’ve seen on etsy that is a ready-made pendant strung on a length of ribbon.”

    It’s actually very different.

    If the jewelry were sold with the presumed intention of being disassembled after purchase so that each element could be used/consumed separately, it would be the same.

  13. JajieBo January 15, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    “Creatively re-packaging commercial items does not qualify them to be sold as handmade (for example: a gift basket consisting of non-handmade items).”

    I wouldn’t call those gift baskets “creatively packaged” at all. They look tacky and gross. I can’t believe something like that would make it to the FP.

    Oh, wait. I can believe it after all.

  14. thebadcat January 15, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    I’ve flagged so many gift baskets and Etsy rarely did a thing about it. But that isn’t news, is it?

  15. jeesh January 15, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    Come ON! You are forgetting the new rulez.. whether or not it’s against the TOUs, if any one of Etsy admin says it’s ok, then it’s OK!!

  16. jenjasmine January 15, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    65$ and no condoms?!?!

    Pshaw.

  17. dotted January 15, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    why does a male gift basket need pads and tampons?

  18. pussdaddy January 16, 2010 at 1:56 am #

    Oh looky there. A Walgreens in a box. I must have it as I can’t get that anywhere else. Except at one of the 50 Walgreens here in my city, one being about two blocks away in any direction from my house.

  19. JonhCocktoasten January 16, 2010 at 6:11 am #

    From the TOU:

    “Creatively re-packaging commercial items does not qualify them to be sold as handmade (for example: a gift basket consisting of non-handmade items).”

    _____________

    So that does now mean that diaper cakes, bouquets made from folded onesies, etc. are no longer allowed? My interpretation of that would be no….

  20. JonhCocktoasten January 16, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    Dotted, I know lots of men who “manstruate”, i.e. get moody monthly…

  21. WTFISAPDF January 16, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    I like the “welcome wedding” gift box. You know, the one that comes with the recalled Tylenol.

  22. dotted January 16, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    well, i guess that can carry the manpons in their murse 🙂

    things like this making me want to just say “eff etsy” and take my shop elsewhere

  23. MadeByM**** January 16, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    JonhCocktoasten Says:
    January 16, 2010 at 6:12 am
    Dotted, I know lots of men who “manstruate”, i.e. get moody monthly…

    ************************

    That is hilarious! Now I know what I can say to my husband when he’s “on the rag”…..

  24. thebadcat January 16, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    “Manstruate” Perfect. I’ll have to use that word the next time I go to a cocktail party 😉

  25. whimsiclefuckery January 16, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    Yeah, here’s the FP – it was a New Year’s emergency kit, probably full of condoms, alka-seltzer & aspirin or some such items.

    Taken down, since it’s past new years. Probably recycling the contents into the Valentines day box.

    http://tinyurl.com/ylymu4v

    Admin breaks more of their own rules with the FP & Storque – maybe instead of hiring more Support people they should hire a couple of Au Pairs.

  26. notvintage January 16, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    and they don’t want anyone to call them on their shitty lack of vetting the Storque. It would be too much work, and would take away from what the job might really be about: getting paid for putting in time.
    I say, get a hall monitor for these fools. AND DO IT SOON. And please, let the person be low on the indie index. These staff people need to be put in detention, given three strikes, and then replaced with someone who is willing to actually do the research the job requires.
    Will this happen? Not with Rokali– competence has never been part of the job description.

    It’s time to run the site like a business, not a popularity contest. EVery time I see this crap I think: “Jerkoffs”. Been thinking it for at least two years now….. the years before that I didn’t bother to look at anything on the site but my own things.

  27. Kirsi January 17, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    Is it even legal for private persons to sell medicine? I would guess no, but I don’t live in the US.

  28. fedup January 17, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    ARE YOU EFFING KIDDING ME!
    That whole shop is ridiculous, they didnt even try to at least “fake it” to be handmade. Someone just went to CVS, bought some $1 bin samples and put then in a box with raffia, then slapped a sticker on it and call is “Handmade”
    Etsy is getting lazy!…..at this point I am going to sell a box of tampons with a my company label on it that I printed at Kinkos…call it ” My Tampon Emergency Kit”…” just open and insert”

  29. pussdaddy January 19, 2010 at 2:28 am #

    This whole damn subject gave me cramps.

  30. Ya betcha January 20, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Even those sample boxes claiming to contain handmade have questionable stuff in them. I swear I received repackaged commercial chapstick in one of them.

  31. Steamedpunk January 20, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    With the “handmade” creativity and skills evident in these pieces of crap, who needs to worry about resellers? What junk.

Leave a Reply

