yourfairytalewedding

15 Jan

This seller http://www.etsy.com/shop/yourfairytalewedding was on the FP a little while back.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/28488923@N05/4253246460/
She makes reproductions of designer wedding dresses and uses their stock photos for her listings. The photo used on the FP a photo from the dress designer Hollywood Dreams in the UK: http://www.hollywooddreams.co.uk/index.html She has a lot of their images.

This post has a photo taken by Embracelife.com which she simply gives their URL and says “they are located in California”. Wonder if they know she’s using their photo?!?

She says in her Policies: “Please note: Not all images are my own photo’s. They are stock photo’s for reference of your finished wedding gown. Some are mine and some are not. If you see an image here that may seem questionable or is your own, then please email me and I will remove it immediately.
I am in no way trying to misrepresent myself or claim photographers works as my own. I am merely giving examples of gowns that I can create and will create upon purchasing from my shop.”

At least she discloses this, but the fact is she is violating copyright by using the photos at all and she knows it. And so should anyone with half a brain who looks at her listings. Yet she was chosen for a treasury by epicCpoke & silverfawncreations (come on, treasury makers, vet your selections!) and Etsy put her on the FP. For shame. There are shops with ORIGINAL wedding dress designs on Etsy — how about featuring them instead?

Wanted to add that linking treasuries you’ve been in in your shop announcement when they all expire after 2 days is just DUMB.
**Update- Since posting this afternoon half of the pictures have changed. lol.

31 Responses to “yourfairytalewedding”

  1. JK January 15, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    She adds a grocer’s apostrophe to ‘photos’ but not ‘gowns’ or ‘photographers’ — I have to admit that drives me nuts. Picture theft only adds to it.

  2. Voice January 15, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    Wow, she made a *lot* of changes to her shop since I last saw it. Most of the photo’s (sic) she was using are gone. She must have gotten wind that her shop was under scrutiny.

  3. Em January 15, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    JK – that’s one of my pet peeves. I thought everyone learned the difference between plural and possessive nouns in elementary school. It’s only a basic part of the English language…

  4. Elm January 15, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    This shop looks a smidge suspicious: http://www.etsy.com/shop/Arayanaya

  5. notvintage January 15, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    I agree. Check out the mark on the photos.
    and….
    “Brand : Arayanaya
    Style : Designer Ladies Tops Tunics Dresses
    Sleeve : sleeve Up to Wrist
    Fabric : Cotton
    Wash Care : Machine wash with mild detergents.
    Size Available : XS, S, M, L, XL, XXL, XXL, XXXL

    This is one of the beautiful designer Stylish Kurtas / Tops for Ladies from Arayanaya are made in extremely high quality Cotton fabric and the Designs has a unique look for the garment. It can be worn over jeans or a favorite pant/skirt and also it is versatile for any season and is comfy for any occasion.

    Delivery:
    Ships In :7 Days
    Transit time usually 3 to 5 days

    Kindly refer our standard Size chart as given below. We are also doing customization as per your size on free of cost.”

  6. notvintage January 15, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    those where everywhere in 1970, mass produced in sweatshops and seems like nothing really ever changes.
    A sucker born every second now.

  7. JK January 15, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    Amen, Em! What irks me even more than grocer’s apostrophe on its own is when the offenders do it with some plurals but not others — how can you only know it’s incorrect *some* times??

  8. JonhCocktoasten January 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    http://www.brownbook.net/business/37655758/arayanaya

  9. Lah January 15, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Actually, SOMEONE, I don’t know who, got a thread closed for calling the discussed shop out, two times, because it was on the FP one day and again in Finds the next week. By the afternoon the second thread was posted, I am happy to say that all of the pirate images were removed. So in that case, looks like admin did step in…:-)

  10. Lah January 15, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    oh, and check out the incredible reserved listing “sales”–four in two days in the beg. of Jan. for $500 bridal gowns– and the really awesome feedback about the one gown that “sold”. shilling much?

  11. suspicious crab January 16, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    Great post at Etsy. Asks the same questions we’ve all been asking, and very well:
    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6406716&page=1

  12. notvintage January 16, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    Lah Says:
    January 15, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    Actually, SOMEONE, I don’t know who, got a thread closed for calling the discussed shop out, two times, because it was on the FP one day and again in Finds the next week. By the afternoon the second thread was posted, I am happy to say that all of the pirate images were removed. So in that case, looks like admin did step in…:-)

    &&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&
    the problem is, Lah, was it just the photos that were bogus? If not, then it didn’t really solve the problem. I would imagine if a person actually made wedding gowns the only reason they wouldn’t have photographs of their own work in the listing might be because I’TS NOT THEIR OWN WORK? It does make one question the entire shop when it’s run this way.

  13. Angel January 16, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    notvintage,

    My guess is the biggest reason they don’t have photographs of their own work is because their own work is very very shitty.

    A good seamstress or designer should have a look book of past clients if they specialize in recreations.

  14. sickofetsy January 16, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    I love this quote from her profile: “I am always looking for new ways to release my creativeness.” I can’t believe she was featured on the FP and Storque. Hell, I can’t even believe she’s allowed on Etsy.

  15. Lah January 16, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    truth be told, the “someone” who called out looked at a lot of the real work, the lifted photos, and so on. notvintage, you are right–that call-out mentioned that they were not only NOT her photos, but the items were not dresses she made. Her real items that are presented come nowhere near the quality or complication of the items from other makers. Actually, the remark about “seeing stuff she wanted to photograph” and “seeing if she couldn’t make it herself” was a dead giveaway. It takes years of training to do couture gowns. It was a trainwreck in the making for unsuspecting brides.

    Finally, if you’re gonna try to seem like someone with the experience and polish to make those gowns, don’t link your Profile to a MySpace page that offers your goth poetry on self-mutilation, suicide, and violent sex. It kinda kills the wedding mood.

    True, she didn’t make the gowns in the photos, but for no matter what the reason they were removed, it happened and I am happy.

  16. Em January 16, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    “I am currently in school for cosmetology. I do photography in my spare time at http://www.redongrayphotography.com I am always looking for new ways to release my creativeness….My newest endevor is with the Graveyard Angels. I decided to try my hand at sewing and see if I couldn’t just make the things that I was looking to photograph”

    Then goes on to say, “I specialize in wedding gown reproduction and helping you with your own design”

    Wait. It’s okay if one is an amateur seamstress, but WHY is she trying to make wedding gowns? Shouldn’t you start out with some skirts or something where it’s not a huge deal if you suck? This is NOT someone I’d trust to make a gown like the ones pictured. I don’t think you should claim that you specialize in something unless you’ve been properly trained and actually have some experience.

  17. Em January 16, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    Forgot to add this – didn’t realize how fitting it is, especially upon reading her “poetry”

    “Jack of all trades, master of none”

    or however it goes.

  18. Voice January 17, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    I’ve been sewing for 25 years, have made everything from formal dresses to custom silk draperies, and I would be really leery of trying to do wedding dress reproductions. I probably *could* do it, though I would expect to do several before feeling comfortable with doing it for money, but no way would I claim any kind of expertise. Especially with the complexity of some of the designs she was claiming she could rip off.

  19. Em January 17, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    Anyone want to buy a reproduction of the Mona Lisa? I’ll sell it for $100. I’m pretty sure I could paint it; I took art in high school…

  20. MadeByM**** January 18, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    I’m guessing we will eventually see her on Judge Judy or a similar court TV show, getting sued!

  21. notvintage January 18, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

    Boy, I am sick of looking at those pink broads when I click on here! And I hate weddings, too. Take the money and run, girls, the money is better than all that stomach-churning Hollywood crap that lasts a few hours.
    34 years of successful marriage, I can barely remember my wedding day. It was ONE FUCKING DAY!
    I remember getting through all the shit that life throws at you. I vote that you take the money and open up an account with your name on it only, instead of blowing it that way. Geesh, ask anyone if it really mattered what color the bridesmaids wore, or if they had any bridesmaids to begin with!
    I’m actually looking forward to another seller of mass-produced garbage so I don’t have to see that wedding photo any more. Talk about self=absorbed (me and those broads!).

  22. Sandra January 19, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    Just so you know, I have tourettes syndrome but deep down I love everyone here. I still hade Ebay though. Time for my meds! 😉

  23. PussDaddy January 19, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    I didn’t need to know that, Sandra but thanks for sharing and I am sorry to hear it. You have to understand the history with me and this wacked out nutjob cat to understand. I didn’t ask to hear about her illness either or her excessive screwing but she for some reason felt I should hear it and informed me of it in a not so nice way on my blog when I never gave a fuck in the first damn place,

  24. PussDaddy January 19, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    LOL. Sorry about that I posted on the wrong post by mistake. I have several windows open and am also on Etsy and twitter right now and I meant to post this on the about.com post above this one. This is what happens when you are posting in too many places at once. But like I said I am sorry to hear it Sandra and I wish there was something I could do to make it better.

  25. notvintage January 19, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    More resellers, please. Is that not what this blog is about? The Drama!

  26. Lah January 27, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    just checked out the page again…back at it! more fab photos seller did not take, of fab dresses they did not make! How many times do they have to be stopped?

  27. Karen October 16, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    well I wish my daughter had read this blog before she ordered her dream wedding dress. it FINALLY came in 4 days before the wedding — IN BLACK!!! OMG! She immediately tried to contact Angela and got very rude treatment from her assistant. When Angela did respond she was nice at first, then also became very nasty. My daughter sent back the dress and has not received ONE CENT refund to date. Angela has since changed her “policies” on line and lies that we did not follow the policies and do not get a refund. And yes, the workmanship was shoddy. LET THE BUYER BEWARE of yourfairytalewedding or redonblack. It may be a nightmare like ours.

  28. Lauren December 23, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    Woah, thanks for the heads up. I run EpiccPoke and had no idea this was the case with the seller. Bummmmer….

  29. Shannon Bennett February 16, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    FYI…She changed her shop name and moved into a new spot on Etsy. She is just as nasty as ever…Glad I found this website! Thanks for helping me not make a huge mistake!

  30. Susan February 16, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    LOL, I just read Karen’s feedback from last year.

    Here’s the thing that pisses me off about Angela. In her nasty feedback to marisol she says “this buyer is expecting to get high end New York $$$$ iitems at handmade prices, but expects the high end result for the price she is paying for handmade.”

    This is what happens when amateurs pretend to be professionals. If the customer wants something, price it properly and then make it happen. You can never ask someone to take crap product because you don’t know what you’re doing. And if you didn’t price it properly for the work you needed to do, lesson learned, suck it up.

    I also HATE that she whines that handmade is cheaper. No, handmade should always be more expensive than factory produced, it’s simple economics. Again, amateur.

  31. Sunshine June 22, 2011 at 5:44 am #

    So much I could say about this scam artist, she is not a talented dressmaker she only has decent feedback on Etsy because on Etsy you can’t leave feedback after 4 months. She just waits until after 4 months then sends you a trainwreck of a dress, most of her feedback comes from buying. There are about 6 brides on weddingbee currently looking for refunds too see here- http://boards.weddingbee.com/topic/bad-experience-from-etsy-seller-your-fairytale-weddingangles-bridal

    I don’t understand why Etsy don’t ban her for using pictures of actual designer dresses, she is still getting away with it and now has several shops scamming people. AVOID AVOID AVOID, she is a scam artist.

Leave a Reply

