Happy 2000

22 Jan

A Happy 2000 stuffed pig in VINTAGE!!!
timelesssdesign
can it get anymore adorable than this guy? millennium spirit at its best. this wonderful vintage steiff boar stands about 7 inches long with his wonderful glaze and long snout ….. the pictures say it all, except for the fact that this guy needs some new digs, anyone have room?

http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=38956152

72 Responses to “Happy 2000”

  1. KR January 22, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Only 10 more years to go until officially etsy vintage! (:

  2. girl January 22, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Check out her other listings.

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=38514458

    LOL!!!!1!!!
    “Pre-Columbian”
    “Over 100 years old”

    I would like to know where this came from.

  3. Laura January 22, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    And these vintage sterling chinese earrings…yea right!
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=vl_other_2&listing_id=38477183

    And the pre-columbian piece…I swear I saw that in a store called the Museum Store or something.

    And what’s up with the $65 price tag for the “vintage” pig?

  4. Life During Wartime January 22, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    There was a craze for things Pre-Columbian during the mid-1980s. I doubt the mounted cermaic head is a genuine antiquity. The craftsmen of Mexico have been making reproductions in the style of past cultures for centuries. I would have thought selling antiquities is a market that Etsy would want to avoid since they can’t even enforce the vintage age rule. But I guess 20 cents is 20 cents.

    A lot of stuff in this store is questionable. The rabbit box looks like something sold at a museum shop. Her description says it looks like resin, but she has it tagged ‘carved ivory’!

    I don’t know anything about Swatches or purses. A true Swatch collector — or someone trying to interest them in her item — would have dated the piece. I’m pretty sure there’s a date on it somewhere.

    The cat supposedly from ‘west’ Germany is actually marked Bundesrepublik, which I believe is how reunited Germany after 1989 is still known.

    Some of these things look like they are probably old enough for vintage (assuming they are genuine), but many are not. The lack of dating information on newer collectibles and deceptive tagging give me that old CAVEAT EMPTOR feeling.

  5. Laura January 22, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    I don’t think that cat is vinatge at all, but I can’t make out the name on the tag.

    I know that rabbit box is not vintage! We actually have a couple things like that at home, and for the life of me I can’t remember the manufactor. It’s a popular collectible though sold at the repro galleries.

  6. yeahright January 22, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=38774257

    The tag on this one clearly says 1999. Look at the 3rd picture.

  7. Itstinks January 22, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Nothing in that shop looks vintage to me but then I’m no expert on vintage. However, having that 2000 pig marked vintage completely discredits the shop to me.

    Those rabbits look like something you see at the Dollar store or Hobby Lobby in the gardening section.

  8. JK January 22, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    That whole shop makes me sick. Vintage isn’t just a pretty word for ‘used stuff’.

  9. Life During Wartime January 22, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    The chicken wall pocket/vase looks like Royal Copley, and the inside looks like was heavily used as a planter. I’d say vintage. The design matches the Copley chicken and rooster planter set that I sold years ago.

    The cocktail shaker might be vintage, but bar accessory stores sell tons of vintage imitation pieces. Don’t know from just photos.

    The sterling silver pieces might be 20+ years old. Like the hand mirror. She doesn’t say how they are marked.

    The ‘cat’, or whatever it is, made from 45 rpm records isn’t vintage.
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=35279121
    The concepts of trashing vintage vinyl or putting wings on primitive style figures was not a 60s thing.

  10. uh-huh January 22, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    The fact this seller is putting ‘vintage’ on things with the year CLEARLY written on it indicates she knows she’s lying and that is a big red flag for the whole operation.

  11. whimsiclefuckery January 22, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    Re: the cat with the 45 rmp recording:
    “vintage, yes, she don’s some beautiful wings made from an old 45 record …. i’m guessing about 1960″

    Except: the record is Undercover Angel, dated 1977 (see 3rd pic). And nobody cut up their new records for crafts in the 70′s or 80′s. That’s a post-millenium concept.

  12. Life During Wartime January 22, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    Ha, whimsicle! You’re right. The 45 is vintage, but the item is new. There are a bunch of intact Undercover Angel 45s available for sale online from a buck to $5.00. Personally, I think that’s more than I’d pay for what it was ‘upcycled’ into.

    Trashing vintage can be like using $100 bills to wipe your hind parts then flushing them. I cracks me up when I see vintage items glued to each other as ‘upcycling’, especially when the seller boasts that all the items were in perfect condition. That’s right, hon — WERE.

  13. RocksInMySocks January 22, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    And this little pig went wee, wee, wee all the way to flagging land!

  14. Itstinks January 22, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    Etsy is ignoring flags. Nana’s used purses are all still there. They just don’t care.

  15. chris January 22, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    yet another effing garage sale. wtf etsy??!!

  16. JonhCocktoasten January 22, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    I love that song!

  17. theeyesseeit January 22, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    @whimsiclefuckery – I looked that song up, too. the 45 doesn’t even look like 1960′s 45′s! And the angel looks so modern. That shop owner is either an idiot or a liar.
    and this brush set:
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=vl_other_1&listing_id=34406666 No, it’s not sterling. It’s silver plate. duh!
    and this beaded bag — more likely 1990′s. Is that a polyester lining (completely unfaded) I see?
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?
    Mexico letter-numbers no earlier than 1980:
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=vl_other_1&listing_id=38179888ref=vl_other_1&listing_id=39094080
    Anyone remember when Germany was partitioned? Oh, after 1946 you say?
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=vl_other_1&listing_id=38181611

    one or two vintage there, but really wrong. I’m still going back to the $6.50 to ship the vintage 2000 boar!

  18. Dee January 22, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    Would you report this as fee avoidance, since the seller won’t combine shipping?

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/WhirlingRainbow?section_id=5883519

  19. Voice January 22, 2010 at 11:20 pm #

    Life During Wartime says:
    The cat supposedly from ‘west’ Germany is actually marked Bundesrepublik, which I believe is how reunited Germany after 1989 is still known.
    ********************

    True, but Bundesrepublik Deutschland is also what West Germany was known as before reunification. I grew up there, and have several vintage German stuffed toys, and I believe just by looking at the photos that could easily be vintage. The fur looks similar to older stuffed animals I have. But I am in no way a vintage toy expert. On the other hand, neither is she. Seems like real vintage dealers know a lot more about what they are selling and do much more detailed descriptions/photos, especially when collectibles are involved.

  20. Life During Wartime January 22, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    Thanks for the info, Voice! I don’t sell toys so I don’t know how to tell if a stuffed animal is old from a photo.

  21. Voice January 22, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    This snowman:
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=38774257

    is from a set issued in 1999 containing the snowman and two Hummel figurines:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Hummel-2035-2036-FROSTY-FRIENDS_W0QQitemZ150400850055QQcategoryZ13807QQcmdZViewItem

  22. Voice January 22, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    LDW, like I said, it could be old, but given that the Steiff snowman in her shop is from 1999 (the comment I posted with links is awaiting moderation) and she sold a Steiff snowman from 2001, I’m inclined to think it’s not.

  23. Amused January 23, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=30479814

    I’m still trying to figure out how this hot mess is valid and continues to be listed *headdesk*

  24. Laura January 23, 2010 at 2:39 am #

    Has anything that has been flagged on here been taken down in the past month?

  25. Amused January 23, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    If they refuse to remove the beer mug (or any items, including the dog tin) at least tell us why, although I can’t see how they follow the TOU’s in any way.

  26. krista January 23, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    she wants $92.00 for that “vintage” snowman and only$42.00 for that “100 year old” “pre-columbian” figurine!

    i have much more to say about the absurdity of her shop, but that was the first thing that jumped out at me.

  27. Smartass January 23, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    Wow, this really makes me sick. Why hasn’t etsy gotten on top of this? I wonder how many flags that “vintage” pig must’ve gotten by now?

  28. notvintage January 23, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    IMHO, the relevancy search clusterfuck was an attempt to change the subject re: resellers, tagging fiascos, and the whole flagging line-jerk.
    They have done this before and will do it again. Just get everybody off subject. This issue is at the very core of the site, the Staff are idiots and politicians, and they have no intention of doing shit about it.
    Just mute, close threads, and divert attention. That’s customer service in ETsy’s dictionary.
    Keep callin’ it out, twitter it, and humilate them any way you can until somebody does something about the fundamentals of the site, that’s all you can do.
    And I am glad you are doing it.

  29. Crazy Cat Lady January 23, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=vl_other_1&listing_id=30525389

    ugh

  30. uh-huh January 23, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    I don’t know how many times Ive flagged that damn beer stein (among other things).
    Etsy, WTF? Seriously?

  31. detroit January 23, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    I know for sure that the ‘vintage’ Iittala paperweight is of a very new series. I just got my mom one for christmas!

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=39090882

    Of course art glass collection is a world unto its own. And it’s hard to know what is vintage, what is newly produced (like this one), and what is a new reproduction.

    Clearly this seller does not know, and is just slapping ‘vintage’ on any old thing.

    If I’m not sure something is vintage (because I lack the expertise), then I certainly wouldn’t label it as such, and risk defrauding the customer.

  32. Life During Wartime January 23, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    notvintage, I think you are right about the ‘relevancy’ issue being used to change the subject.

    Even if Etsy is not going to suspend shops with a large percentage of violations while they correspond with the seller, they should be able to delete items dated 2000 and newer.

    I am thinking of socking up, and starting a promo thread: show me your vintage items from the new millennium. I could get the ball rolling with links to the piggy and the mug.

  33. notvintage January 23, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Go for it!!!!!!!!!

  34. Lisa January 23, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    But the beer stein isn’t even trying to pretend it’s vintage. It’s listed under “everything else”, which refers to handmade…which it’s clearly not !

  35. Life During Wartime January 23, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    I may do it. First I need to collect a group of 50-100 links to items in Etsy shops that are clearly dated post 1999. That way I can keep my thread bumped up to the top for as long as possible.

  36. Life During Wartime January 23, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    Lisa, if the stuff is listed under some handmade category, even better! Double the violation, double the fun.

    I am just super p.o.ed because Etsy was such a good idea when it started. And then I read this on Closed Threads
    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6405928
    The staff has time to netcop sockpuppets, but not to remove items which don’t fit any Etsy categories, nohow noway?

  37. theeye January 23, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    TWENTY ONE DOLLARS to ship earrings from the US to Canada????? I think not!

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=37667029

  38. Crazy Cat Lady January 23, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    holy cow theeye, she has “everywhere else” listed as the “united states” price…I hope someone from europe or australia buys earrings for her. I sell jewelry and yeah, it doesn’t cost much more to ship to canada – maybe 50c. My shipping to canada is $3.

  39. Kirsi January 23, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    Actually, the paperweight can be vintage: http://www.astiataivas.fi/tuotteet.html?id=21/579&ok (it says it’s from 1983, they also have another in the series dated 1983). The Iittala Niva glasses might be vintage too, they were in production from 1973-2002. Still doesn’t make that shop right, but I felt an urgent need to investigate the paperweight, ’cause I’ve never seen one like that before.

  40. resellersbegone January 23, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    theeye, It looks to me as though it is a typo…just sent her a convo, we’ll see if she responds.

  41. Kirsi January 23, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    Calling out doesn’t seem to work anymore either: http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6403808 – I didn’t read the whole thread, but I read at least half of it, and ALL the shops called out that far are still up and running! Including Paperally and the vintage sneaker seller…

  42. JonhCocktoasten January 24, 2010 at 5:32 am #

    I cannot fucking believe the sneaker seller is still open. *head desk*

  43. detroit January 24, 2010 at 7:13 am #

    Kirsi said:
    “Actually, the paperweight can be vintage: http://www.astiataivas.fi/tuotteet.html?id=21/579&ok (it says it’s from 1983, they also have another in the series dated 1983). The Iittala Niva glasses might be vintage too, they were in production from 1973-2002. Still doesn’t make that shop right, but I felt an urgent need to investigate the paperweight, ’cause I’ve never seen one like that before.”
    ____________________________________________________

    D’oh! I got one (new) for my Mom that looked very similar, so I ‘assumed’ it was from the same series.

    That’s what ass-uming does – makes an ass out of me! lol!

    So many things on Etsy are suspect, that it makes you start to doubt everything! Even unfairly.

    I do love Finnish design though.

  44. JajieBo January 24, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    Kirsi Says:
    Calling out doesn’t seem to work anymore either: http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6403808 – I didn’t read the whole thread, but I read at least half of it, and ALL the shops called out that far are still up and running! Including Paperally and the vintage sneaker seller…
    _________________________________________________________

    ARGH! I know they got flag-bombed during that incident, too. Unbelievable. Eat shit, Etsy “Admins”!

  45. Em January 24, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    Maybe they’re purposely not shutting down shops that are called out in forums? I don’t really believe in this (I called out a few myself in that thread), but if they did, it would probably influence more and more to call out, and then they’d have a real mess on their hands. Like if a dog jumps on you to get you to feed it; you’re more likely to scold the dog than give it what it wants (at least if you want it to stop the bad behavior). Just a thought.

    But I totally understand why everyone’s doing it, because the flagging system is shit. I flag just about everything someone brings up here and in the forums if I also believe that it doesn’t belong on Etsy, yet so many are allowed to stay. I can’t believe that sneaker seller is still there.

  46. notvintage January 24, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    This seller is either grossly confused or intentionally mistagging:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/kimkdep

    Many (or all) are not handmade, and are described to mislead.

  47. Life During Wartime January 24, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    I hate the whole ‘vintage chop shop’ school of handmade that is so popular on Etsy. There are suppliers for vintage style rhinestone settings you can buy, and a jeweler can build their own designs from those. Kimk is not the only chop shop crafter on Etsy.

    She doesn’t show the findings for the rings or earrings, or the backs of the settings, or the backs of finished pieces. I have no idea how the stuff is made.

    But I can’t say anything in the shop is worth a flag, except the intact vintage pieces that are in handmade categories. Many of the designs really look like someone asked the guests at a toddler tea party to help them put bits of vintage jewelry together to make super-bling, so I would be shocked to find out these are commercial products.

    I’ve pretty much had it with Etsy. I falsely hoped that Rob’s return might begin to sweep out Maria’s mess. There are no signs of this happening. The sneaker shop is still open, the mug is still there. Etc. Someone who was flagged years ago posted in the forums what goes down with Etsy and the flagged shop. The shop gets an email asking if they make their own stuff, and if the seller answers ‘yes’ the matter ends there.

    I think the moment of decision for me came this morning when I saw another one of those ‘natural history’ admin curated FPs. The trends are creeping back in. So, no Etsy shop for me this year, and not a lot of shopping, either. It’s way too complicated trying to sort out what each item actually is: handmade, vintage, or reseller stuff.

  48. JajieBo January 24, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    ^^ exactly. I haven’t reopened my shop yet either, and I’m not sure that I will.

  49. notvintage January 25, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    Question: Do teams have any responsibility to require their members to tag correctly? Esp when the offending shops advertise their team?
    Shouldn’t that be a basic qualification for joining / staying in a team? Should team leaders make an attempt to monitor their members?
    Not a rhetorical question; I really want to know.

  50. Life During Wartime January 25, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    notvintage, that’s a great question.

    I’d be really surprised if the leaders of even half of the teams could correctly identify tagging abuse.

    I don’t think most of the staff could do it, either.

  51. notvintage January 25, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    WEll, if the item is described as vintage, even giving the label and condition, you’d have to be a total fool to think it’s handmade.

    There’s a Wedding Team that is full of vintage stuff in the handmade category. I can’t believe that having them advertise as being a part of that team would not affect all the other members.

    If Etsy is planning to rely on teams more, they had better pay the hell attention.

  52. Life During Wartime January 25, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    I know I’ve seen Etsy shops that sell only vintage, but list their items in the various handmade categories. When they show up in the various Etsy staff curated features, I flag them. But nothing happens. The problem with vintage items listed with handmade is huge. Etsy doesn’t seem to care, and neither does the community of vintage sellers. So, I am not surprised that some of the teams don’t care, either. Seriously…what can the team leaders say, that listing vintage in the handmade categories and/or playing coy about what kind of item you are actually selling is against the rules? Is it still against the rules, at this point? How can there be a rule about how different types of items can be listed if the staff ignores most of the violations?

  53. notvintage January 25, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    Check out this flaming asshole:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/DressHipVintage

  54. notvintage January 25, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    Shit. If it’s against the posted rules, it’s against the rules whether Etsy Staff enforce it or not;
    I hate being associated with this garbage.
    If Etsy staff gave a shit, they would refine the tag section and limit the choices to one of the three. PEOPLE DO NOT READ, and when given too many choices they PICK WHAT THEY WANT.
    The world is full of assholes and idiots. You have to assume that when you write instructions.

  55. Em January 25, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    They need to make the tagging system much more obvious so that mistaggers can’t simply say they didn’t know they were doing it wrong. They should be forced to pick one of the three big categories, with descriptions right there in front of their faces, so they can’t just ignore the vintage/handmade/supplies tags and otherwise tag it as what it is.

  56. Life During Wartime January 25, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    DressHip shouldn’t be on Etsy. There are plenty of Ebay alternative sites out there for sellers like this. ‘Handmade’ trucker caps? Holy Crowbar! How much research would Etsy staff have to do before telling this d00d ‘thank you for thinking of us, but your line of merchandise is not appropriate for our site’?

  57. wacky January 25, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    I frankly don’t understand what is so hard about the tagging process. It’s really NOT rocket science people. You pick the item that it is, and then describe it. Good Lord, so many darn people think it’s so difficult! Why is that??? I really don’t think these resellers don’t know what they’re doing is against the rules. IOW, they KNOW they are wrong. They get away with it, which is why the problem is so darn out of control. But I personally don’t buy the fact that tagging your items is so confusing. I think it’s really people doing it intentionally and don’t give a rat’s behind that they are hurting everyone else and themselves eventually!

  58. Life During Wartime January 25, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    About tags and categories…well, I am skeptical. Etsy cannot reform human nature. After letting things go for so long they will need a thousand staffers to police the site. Resellers they can deal with, if they want to. Legitimate sellers with bad habits, I dunno.

  59. notvintage January 26, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    I have to tell you from decades of experience, that people do not read instructions, particularly if there is a drop down that makes you assume that you have a multitude of choices.
    Whoever designed that tag page had no experience with setting up instructions.
    It should have been fixed years ago. You don’t have to be stupid to be confused by conflicting instructions.

    Do a quick search under ‘handmade’ using the search terms ‘vintage ceramics’ or vintage whatever you want. The first three pages will be loaded with vintage stuff unintentionally listed as handmade.

  60. Laura January 26, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    What’s the deal with Etsy? Are they not removing items and stores like this on purpose? To prove a point that calling out (even on this blog) won’t work? It seriously is so childish. Let me run into Etsy into the ground and stand firm on not calling out? Is that the admin mind set? It’s more important to ignore items like this then to protect Etsy integrity?

    You know admin reads this bog, and they used to remove items fairly quickly that were posted here. Now, it’s a joke.

    That stupid NWT Ebay skirt a couple pages back is still here! I thought Rob was really going to make a difference. Instead we get placated with lovely posts, and no action at all.

  61. notvintage January 26, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    That’s the Etsy MO: childish, platitudes instead of straight talk, and patronizing.
    It’s part of their plan: suck in the dummies, at 20 cents a pop. Rake in the money; that’s what Maria taught them. However, they were on that road before she came in.

  62. Garagetsy.blogspot.com January 27, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    I am an avid follower of this blog and applaud you! I’m also part of a blog called Garagetsy, which was created to call out stuff (like this pig) that violates Etsy’s vintage policies. We welcome comments there, too, as well as suggestions, which are kept confidential.

  63. Life During Wartime January 28, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Garagetsy, I bookmarked your blog.

  64. Garagetsy.blogspot.com January 28, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    Much appreciated.

    We occasionally call out Vintage items in Handmade, but mostly hang out in the Vintage category.

    One example is the gooseneck lamp featured in a Storque article. It’s listed in Handmade. Part of a blog post of ours a couple of days ago.

    Suggestions of any vintage-related violations are always welcome.

  65. Life During Wartime January 28, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    garagetsy — you’ve got a hot one on the front page right now!

  66. UnaBee February 4, 2010 at 3:34 am #

    I…can’t…believe…this thing…is still there.
    Wtf.
    Wtf.
    This kind of thing is demoralizing for people who actually make shit or have a dictionary and know what vintage means.
    Sigh.

  67. Laura February 6, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    Did she just raise the price?

    This pig will stay, as will ALL of the reseller items. Etsy no longer even pretends to care.

  68. sb February 8, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    I keep going and checking this hellish swine faced pig, and he is always there.

    (Only flag something once, they tell us. So right-o, we do, because we try to play the game nicely.)

    I’ve been vaguely paranoid lately. Do you think they are starting to notice us when we flag, and they think we shouldn’t get to big for our boots, so they ignore us?

    Meh. I’ve been watching too much X Files on DVD. Conspiracy theories and all that.

    Even Bedazzled thought I was a sock puppet in that banner lady’s thread.

    (Does a sad face and feels very very small.)

  69. Laura February 11, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    LOL. I keep checking this pig too! It’s like a sumbol for me!

    No, I don’t think it’s just this blog. I think it’s calling out in general. I think they are proving a point.

  70. Laura February 11, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    um symbol

  71. ComradeBunny February 17, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    Things like this make me think Etsy should just let vintage go.

  72. Garagetsy.blogspot.com March 5, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    Ladies and gentlemen, the pig is GONE.

    All that’s left is to wonder…did Etsy remove it or did the seller read about HeyMichelle’s new “crackdown” and remove it herself?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

