rudraa

2 Feb

rudraaShop Name: http://www.Rudraa.etsy.com

ITEM #1
* Item in question: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=37206478

* Link to item being sold at another site: http://www.aveplaza.com/FTS-Desk-Beechwood-Finish-137-202-06/price/B0014GDT7A

* Wholesale site: http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/246072255/Wooden_Bed_desk_computer_desk_laptop.html

ITEM #2
* Item in question: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=vl_other_2&listing_id=37663717

* Link to the site of the company that designs and manufactures these: http://redmaloo.com/products.php

65 Responses to “rudraa”

  1. WG February 2, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    Thank you so much for posting this. I appriciate your blog and what you are doing here. I certainly hope that one day Etsy can fix this reseller issue.

    But for now, I am glad you do what you do. Keep up the good work!!

  2. Noel February 3, 2010 at 12:10 am #

    This shop looks pretty similar as well, though I have no idea if it’s handmade or not. The announcements are almost identical.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/MeJanak

  3. box o' cookies February 3, 2010 at 5:32 am #

    THIS is the kind of stuff I like to see on this site.

    Straight up resellers.

  4. JonhCocktoasten February 3, 2010 at 5:34 am #

    Brand new Armani suit – hurry, only 5 left.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/best010

  5. Kirsi February 3, 2010 at 5:49 am #

    Nice catch Noel, they must be the same seller (or same source, the policies sections aren’t as similar as the announcements). Quite funny that a husband & wife team calls themself “I”.

  6. WTFISAPDF February 3, 2010 at 7:02 am #

    This is what makes Etsy so appealing to me as a buyer. I can get an $8 laptop wooden bed desk for $50, just for the priviledge of being a member of the Etsy community.

    Sellers are in the forums screaming no views, no sales. Golly gee, I wonder why. The more the buying public gets ripped off by these resellers, the more word spreads, and the less anyone will shop at the “all things handmade” site.

    Etsy has had a major fail and it’s starting to impact the legitimate sellers.

  7. itstinks February 3, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    This stuff all looks like stuff that you would find at Ikea.

  8. MadeByM**** February 3, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    And the flagging system is a joke.

  9. Crazy Cat Lady February 3, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    Holy crap is he losing money on those laptop sleeves, unless there’s something in the exchange between Indian money (rupees?) and Euros and US Dollars that make it worth it. On the website those are 89 Euros which come out to $124, and he’s selling them for $32. So…he’s an idiot in more ways than one.

    I kind of want to email him and ask him if he has them in pink, lime, black, or in leather…the other colours/materials on the website and see what he says, lol.

  10. Crazy Cat Lady February 3, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    IMO this thread is proof that the flags and emails about sellers don’t go anywhere:

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6425271

  11. Crazy Cat Lady February 3, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    d’oh, that should read, REsellers!

  12. detroit February 3, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    Did people read the Rokali (returning Etsy CEO) interview over at etsybitch? I was surprised that resellers weren’t discussed much (at least in what was published on the site).

    As a mostly buyer, that’s my biggest concern. From a purely economical point of view, the argument could be made that the resellers actually lose Etsy more money than they make them. It’s hard to quantify, but for all the quick-buck reseller listing fees Etsy makes, they’re losing turned-off buyers, and doing irreparable damage to their reputation. Which will really hurt them long term.

    Are they really willing to sacrifice their reputation for handmade (their whole reason d’etre) for some 20 cent listing fees?

  13. MadeByM**** February 3, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    That seems to be the big question, detroit! The infestation of resellers is over-taking the site and they will be Etsy’s downfall if they don’t stop it now!!!

  14. Sherri February 3, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    I almost had an aneurysm when I saw that Armani suit—thanks JonhCocktoasten! 🙂

    I wish the Etsy system kept track of the flags I send in. It would be interesting to have my descent into madness documented. That 2000 Belmont Stakes mug is still on the site, y’know. And each flag I send in gets more belligerent. Why should I even bother anymore?

    If Etsy is so slow to shut down resellers because they like their 20¢ per sale, why don’t they just start a separate category for sellers to peddle their flea market shit?

  15. itstinks February 3, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    I agree Sherri. They can start marketing it as the Handmade, Vintage, Supplies, and Flea Market Shit site.
    Their tag line could be “We have everything that you can find at Walmart!”

    My flags aren’t very nice either anymore. They get more and more sarcastic with every one.
    Sigh.
    I can’t tell you how disappointed I am with etsy. I’ve never seen a company run so poorly.

  16. Smartass February 3, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    LOL, I just sent a convo about that minidesk that says,

    “Hi, I was wondering if you can make this in other colors, or perhaps customize this with a certain name or design! It would make a really nice gift for my sister, thanks!

    Oh, and is it possible for you to take a few more pictures with different angles (and lighting) of this item? The available pics are quite blurry and small, and I would really like to see a bit more detail before I purchase. :)”

    Let’s see how the seller responds. *evil laugh*

  17. notvintage February 3, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    I’ve owned two of those for 10 years. Not vintage yet, and I got them from a catalog.

  18. NRaygun February 3, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    I have a feeling drop shippers are going to be popping up like zits, the grease will flow over from Ebay…

    Hand listing items is the new handmade.

  19. Kirsi February 3, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Hand listing… sounds a bit dirty ;D

  20. Windy's designs February 3, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    Between the resellers and the schlock Regretsy finds like magnets glued to leaves and note cards with real coffee stained rings on them, it’s enough to make legitimate and talented sellers insane. Every time one of either of these things is brought out into the light it just makes Etsy look more and more like ghetto yard sale.

  21. MadeByM**** February 4, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    Yeah, I about choked this morning when I saw the coffee stained note cards and the leaf magnet! Or, the $125.00 cut out graph paper. WTH? At least the notecard maker could have added a cute saying like, “I hope your morning is going better than mine”. People are afraid of having a juried site, but this is the perfect example of why there should be something in place!!!

  22. JajieBo February 4, 2010 at 6:53 am #

    There is WAY too much cream in that coffee in the desk picture. ; )

  23. uh-huh February 4, 2010 at 7:10 am #

    *waits to see if Smartass got a response*

  24. JajieBo February 4, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    ^^ me, too! Do let us know.

  25. Smartass February 4, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    rudraa’s replies:

    “yes , i can make this in other colour & design but i cannot put name on it , let me know what design & colour u want
    i will send u more pictures tommorow ,

    Thanks
    Rudraa”

    and then

    “more pic





    (I had to save these onto my computer, and then onto my photobucket, because it wouldn’t let me link the pics straight from my convos. As you can see, the pics are still small and blurry. But at least the top of the desk is a different “wood” and there are, like, two more angles. I still say it’s straight out of a catalog or other website, though.)

  26. MadeByM**** February 4, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    My coffee is always that “color”……… : (

    Why is that desk still there Etsy??

  27. JonhCocktoasten February 4, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    Ok, I want etsy juried. I think its time. This is never going to get bettter any other way.

  28. Bedazzled VONdom February 4, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    One question, who would do the jurying?

    The same hipster dolts who are unable to discern obvious reselling now?

    Business as usual.

  29. MadeByM**** February 4, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    I know……..I know. If they can’t take keep the blatant resellers off the site, how can we expect them to discern between real arts/crafts and crap? I know “art” is in the eye of the beholder and what you think looks like a piece of graph paper with the squares cut out with an Exacto knife looks like a masterpiece to someone else.

    It’s becoming a lost cause…………..and it makes me sad. : (

  30. crapgawker February 4, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    I am all for a juried site. I’m not a bit worried.

    I make crocheted toilet paper covers with the doll in the center and blue plastic rose floral arrangements. Do you think they’ll like my plastic canvas cross stitch book marks though?

  31. Life During Wartime February 4, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    Making Etsy a juried site won’t help unless there is a major staff change or reorganization of responsibilities. So I think the staff reorg should be attempted first.

  32. Sherri February 4, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    It’s sad, every time I’m in the forums, I see several threads that RobWhite has shut down, and I think, “Oh, there’s that asshole in the hat again”.

    The saddest part is that he seems to be the only staff member who is competent enough to DO HIS FRICKIN’ JOB.

  33. Cat Power February 4, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    Sherri…I’m so glad that someone else thinks that RW looks like a fool in that hat. Indiana Jones, he AIN’T.

    I’ve about given up on fighting the good fight for Etsy. The cause is just too huge to fix at this point in time, IMHO. Flagging is a giant lesson in futility, and honestly is a waste of my time and energy.

    They don’t listen, read or use common sense in Brooklyn, and I’m sure it has to do with the lack of actual experience in dealing with the volume and subjects that are thrown at them daily.

    Had qualified people been hired originally, I don’t think we would be in the place we are today, but hindsight is always better, isn’t it?

  34. detroit February 4, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    I used to live in Brooklyn (a VERY different part from the Etsy hipsters). The Billyberg, Brooklyn hipsters used to make me laugh, and were insufferable a decade ago. I can’t even begin to imagine the armies of precious cowl wearers and navel gazers that have flocked there (like twee sparrows) in the years since I’ve been there.

    The coffee ring notecards and Xacto graph paper on regretsy are funny, but at least the ‘crafter’ frikken crafted them. And not some 22 year old in a sweatshop factory in Hunan province, or, perhaps in this case, Hyderabad…

  35. MadeByM**** February 5, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    Now this really ticks me off that this is on here! Where does this fall under handcrafted, vintage or supplies? And it’s not vintage because she’s more than 20 years old………give me a break, Etsy! FLAGGED!

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/spiritchills

  36. MadeByM**** February 5, 2010 at 6:31 am #

    I guess it’s time to let the following on Etsy now:

    Sex Therapists
    Lawyers
    Fianancial Advisors
    Tax Experts
    Psychiatrists
    Witch Doctors

  37. Sherri February 5, 2010 at 6:36 am #

    “PYSCHIC” Development.

    Good lord, Etsy attracts all of the stupid, doesn’t it?

    Etsy really needs to get rid of the “Everything else” category. You should have to pick either Vintage, Handmade, or Supplies. If it doesn’t fit in that category, it doesn’t belong on the site. The end.

  38. Sherri February 5, 2010 at 6:39 am #

    I have some snake oil to sell… is that OK too?

  39. itstinks February 5, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    That spiritchills shop is a HOOT!!
    And a sex therapist shop would be even funnier!
    I mean, at least that individual person would be doing something. They are at least using their skills. Not just selling junk they picked up in some outdoor market in India or bought from a wholesaler out of China.

    Against the TOU’s but then hey, etsy doesn’t seem to know or understand what those are anyway.

  40. MadeByM**** February 5, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    Here’s her “sample lesson” from her profile. I’m betting I could find all of this in a book or on-line and not have to pay her $40.00 per hour fee!

    SAMPLE LESSON:
    Dreams, astral travels and visions.

    Dreams, astral travels and visions. Dreams are in black and white and are NOT spiritual messages (NOT messages from your spirit guides). They do have meaning and can be interpreted. They are created in your subconscious mind and are memories, wishes, nightmares, etc.

    Astral travels and visions are in color and are spiritual messages. In astral travels, the soul leaves through the soft spot on the top of the head and is connected by the silken cord of life. Your spirit guides take you to what they would like for you to see and some stay with your body so that you are always protected. You can travel to any place in the present. It is real, your soul is really there. You can seemingly travel into the past, what you are seeing is the living record of that place and time. If you seemingly travel into the future, you are seeing a possible future, if all events and intentions take a straight track from the present time. You will see and feel some kind of travel involved to and from whatever your spirit guides are showing you. (you don’t always remember this) Your astral body can move in any position except the one your physical body is in.
    Visions are spiritual projections. They are in color and are usually in symbols, shapes and colors. The colors, and shapes all mean something and so do the symbols. Everything that you see, hear, feel, etc., is significant (even if it doesn’t make any sense to you and I can help you with the interpretation). Whatever you accept as the symbolic meaning for the symbols, shapes and colors is what will be presented in the future to you from your spirit guides. The messages become more defined with practice.
    You can have visions or astral travels in what appears to be sleep or awake. It actually is the state in-between consciousness and unconsciousness which is superconciousness (spiritual controlled, connection with your spirit guides). You can achieve this connection by clearing your mind of material thought.

  41. Sherri February 5, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    “…the soul leaves through the soft spot on the top of the head…”

    Sounds like someone got hit on the soft spot.

    Cat Power, I would LOVE to be in charge of hiring/firing at Etsy for one day. I would be ruthless. I’d probably make a great despot.

  42. crudeco February 5, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    Uh, this item can be purchased at Kmart, Target and Micheal’s hardly consider this handmade.

    Wondering if flagging works any more….but I gave it the ole etsy try and flagged any how.

  43. Em February 5, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    This shop is the one who has the “hello titty” shirt on Regretsy.. I took a look around and looks like most of their stuff is commercially produced.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/VixenFrankenstein

  44. MadeByM**** February 5, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    Hmmm, it was always my understanding that the “soft spot” closes up around 12-14 months old. I’m sure babies aren’t going on “astral travels” at that age! Give me a break……

  45. Sherri February 5, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    I’m not sure if it’s just me, but it seems like the volume of postings on sites like these is tapering off. Are people just giving up on Etsy ever running a decent site? Are legitimate sellers migrating to other services?

    If Rob seriously wants to salvage what’s left of his company, he should do a major house-cleaning of both listings AND staff.

    Or he could just rename it Shitsy Flea Market and Trinkets.

  46. Smartass February 5, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    “Or he could just rename it Shitsy Flea Market and Trinkets.”

    I second that! LOL!

  47. Life During Wartime February 5, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    Sherri, I’ve pretty much given up on Etsy as a buyer now. Gave up on the idea of opening a shop right when Maria showed up. Seeing so many misrepresented or misplaced items on the site is super annoying. And it really isn’t possible to place all the blame on the people who own Etsy or work for the site.

    There may be fewer posts on ECO and other blogs because the Etsy sellers who are doing the right thing are no longer content to vent on blogs. The number of topics in the forums every day about resellers, category abuse, tag issues has increased a lot over the past 60 – 90 days. People are taking their complaints right to Etsy.

    Even though I doubt it will happen, I’d love to see Etsy turn itself around.

  48. Em February 5, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    I think this woman has a soft spot on her head…

  49. JonhCocktoasten February 6, 2010 at 4:22 am #

    While this shop has a lot of vintage, there is a lot of non-vintage mixed in. Can’t remember if we discussed this one…

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/backintimejewelry

  50. Crazy Cat Lady February 6, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    I hate to hear people say they’ve given up shopping on etsy. There are many honest etsy shops (like mine). I understand it’s hard to wade through the crap – that’s why I shop from my favourites.

  51. Life During Wartime February 6, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    What is it with the glass fruit (backintime)? Listed as handmade housewares? The antiques malls in my area are infested with it. Etsy ‘vintage’ is becoming everything I wanted to avoid when I started selling online.

  52. Laura February 6, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    I’ve given up on Etsy ever dealing with this issue. The fact is, it is much, much worse now with Rob at the helm. I don’t even flag anymore. It’s a total joke.

  53. notvintage February 6, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=31431215

    She can’t be bothered to fix her used shoe listings because “she has a day job” and doesn’t have time to fool around with details like whether or not her stuff is actually what it is supposed to be.

    I wonder if her employer knows how much time she is actually giving to her “job”?

  54. notvintage February 6, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    Now that she finished verbally abusing me for trying to help her, she finally fixed the listing. No good deed goes unpunished.
    I hate Etsy: they want us to fail and there are too many people selling used clothes without bothering to figure out how.

    I still say that it is impossible for that many people to be that stupid, and still blame Etsy for fucking with us by not taking their business and ours seriously.

  55. Life During Wartime February 6, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    Yeah, I too think Etsy is mindfucking us. Flagging doesn’t work. There was another self call out post in the forums yesterday, and this was a shop I’d flagged aeons ago. The seller says she is being courteous or some such baloney by putting reworked vintage clothing (in most cases, the changes are not specified) in the vintage category. And I saw a reseller on the FP this morning, one that Garagetsy featured recently. There are like 3 threads in the Forums going about tagging and categories. People are po-ed and nothing is being said or done by Etsy in response, except business as usual.

  56. Dee February 6, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    The amount of resellers is staggering. Do you think this one is a reseller?

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/thediybride

  57. itstinks February 6, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    definitely a reseller, Dee.
    Here is a link to another site where you can get the same thing – even uses the same pictures:
    http://www.advantagebridal.com/swcrbojebybe.html

    And another:
    http://www.veilubridal.com/wedding-bouquet-jewelry.htm

  58. Cat Power February 6, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    The diybride is like a Mary Kay Rep. She and probably thousands of others sell “Authorized Elegance by Carbonneau Retailer”.

    So sad that there is no way to vet these creeps before they get settled in and stock their shops.

    Here’s the wholesale site… http://www.weddingfactorydirect.com/

  59. Life During Wartime February 7, 2010 at 1:06 am #

    thediybride is indeed a reseller! I found a bunch of the photos from her shop on the Wedding Factory Direct site. Damn, another one who calls herself out right in her shop. These resellers are shameless, and they have no fear of being flagged, exposed, and then given the boot by Etsy. She just opened at the end of last month and has (re)sold an item already. Really frosts my buns when I think of all those posts in the forums asking ‘how long does it take to make your first sale?’ Answer: if you’re a reseller, one week or less. Otherwise, who knows?

  60. sputnik February 7, 2010 at 2:14 am #

    I personally have given up. Etsy and their craptastic sellers have beaten me down. Too many ignored flags, too many ignored issues and all they seem to care about is closing forum posts that violate the tos.
    I’ll go back to google and search for what I want and need, no sense in overpaying for resold stuff and if I want to buy the old crap then I can do garage sales locally.
    My last (as in final) purchase from etsy is from a seller who took the money and ran. Her paypal account is empty so the complaint has done no good. Etsy abuse has ignored my emails about it so I am done.
    For those of you sticking around hoping things will change, good luck to you. For those of you with shops that really are selling handmade, even more luck to you guys.
    It was swell.

  61. RocksInMySocks February 7, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Em Says:
    February 5, 2010 at 11:41 am
    This shop is the one who has the “hello titty” shirt on Regretsy.. I took a look around and looks like most of their stuff is commercially produced.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/VixenFrankenstein
    _______________

    Em, this shop is nothing but a giant reseller clusterfuck! Did anyone see the suspenders? I’ve flagged but probably nothing will happen. The majority of these shirts are sold at Hot Topic.

  62. itstinks February 7, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    I agree with you sputnik. And as I’ve said before, I know longer market etsy in anyway. I just say the address to my online shop. I use to blather on about how you can buy anything handmade there but I don’t anymore.

    I have given up on them making significant changes. They would have to completely overhaul the site. Most employees need to be fired and/or retrained including management. Someone needs to be brought in to lead who knows what they are doing AND knows handmade.

    Flagging is clearly not working anymore – nana’s used purses are still there and more people are adding garage sale items everyday. It’s pretty funny the employees in the forums can quote the TOU’s to close threads but don’t have a clue about the TOU’s when it comes to resellers and flea market junk.

    Is there a handmade site to flock too?
    I’m at artfire but have an empty shop. The 1 item I had listed sold and I’ve never restocked. Their pages are all so busy with so many things jammed onto each page. I can never find what I’m looking for because of all the RSS feeds, notes from admin. etc. I just want to edit my stupid listing or put my shop in vacation mode and I can’t figure out how because every things a jumbled mess.
    Ack!

  63. JajieBo February 7, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    I can remember when I first discovered Etsy three years ago. I was so exited to have a place to be able to buy thigs made in small batches, by actual humans. The current state of Etsy does make me feel terribly let down, but there are still plenty of good, honest sellers there. I hope they stay, even though I know it gets harder and harder for people to maintain relations with a site that doesn’t seem to have any respect for it’s sellers. It’s sad.

  64. Noel February 7, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    Here’s another source for thediybride

    her listing:
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=39759846

    wholesale source:
    http://www.rhinestonejewelry.com/12205.html

  65. MadeByM**** February 8, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    I’m keeping my shop there for now, just not restocking. I have started my own webstore but I know that will take time to be found (probably just as much exposure as I have in Etsy). I will still shop there, but I just do my homework before I buy anything. I really hope Etsy realizes where they’re heading.

Leave a Reply

