Lazy “vintage”…ditbge

16 Feb


http://www.etsy.com/shop/ditbge

29 stinkin’ pages. Granted she does have some vintage items which you can tell are valid since she actually gives a year in the title but the rest is all not 20 years old and most seem brand new.

Just a few observations-
“Vintage” Goosebumps pin. http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=40737408 The Goosebumps series of books ran from 1992 to 1997.

Vintage Indian in the Cupboard with Key Promo Figure Toy http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=40737020 The film came out in 1995.

Huge Vintage Oogie Boogie The Nightmare before Christmas Pewter Keychain http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=31721741 Movie came out in 1993.

I included this because we’ve had another of these type of shops with the same non-vintage oreo container (is that a prerequisite?!) http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=40737584

Vintage Sanrio Spottie Dottie Pink Puppy Dog Wrist Bracelet Pouch http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=38014351 Sanrio’s Spottie Dottie is mostly from 1993-1998. In wonderful vintage condition!!

She did have a Cartoon Network “vintage” item when the network wasn’t established until 1992. Lots of the newer 101 Dalmatians items (not the ’61) version which came out in 1996. (50 year old socks just wouldn’t look like that! lol) Aladdin was 1992. Beauty and the Beast 1991. (Oh joy, if she holds on to them till next year they WILL be Etsy vintage legal. *hrmph*)

I’m sure there are others but I was starting to get too pissed off…esp. when I googled these items to find out their true dates and seeing her listing second from the top on the results. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

80 Responses to “Lazy “vintage”…ditbge”

  1. Life During Wartime February 16, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    I found this seller yesterday when I was browsing Etsy ‘vintage’ — good call out! It was the parade of resin figurines that caught my eye. And, yeah, the pop culture stuff is too new to be vintage on Etsy. Dunno if flagging this shop will accomplish anything. Last I checked the mug and the pig were still active from other shops called out earlier this year.

  2. Anonymous February 16, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    I’m glad this got featured! Happy I sent it in.
    This person laughed when this site was mentioned.
    I’m sure they won’t be laughing when they’re banned…

  3. abbyschapeaux February 16, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    I’m suspicious of ALL the vintage on Etsy. And I wish they would separate it all from the handmade items. There are probably too many people selling new stuff, less than 20 year old stuff, etc., etc., to even keep track of. Bah, I say!

  4. ditbge February 17, 2010 at 12:52 am #

    Whew..well I never had hoped to offend anyone this bad. No one has ever said anything to me about something that shouldn’t be listed until the other day about my Cartoon Network Necklace and the Indian in the Cupboard Toy. And soon after I deleted the items. I do admit some things might be a year or two off from being considered vintage but after seeing exact or similar things listed I thought it was acceptable to list them also. I have no clue what you mean about me laughing because I surely don’t want to get banned but I wish someone would have let me know it was such a big problem. If removed most of what I guess isn’t considered vintage even though similar things are listed and if other things I might have listed aren’t considered vintage then please let me know. I don’t understand why people just assume I’m trying to take advantage of etsy before ever messaging me and getting to know me. I’m a nice person and I don’t like to cause problems and I’m still fairly new to etsy anyways. Sorry guys.

  5. ditbge February 17, 2010 at 1:20 am #

    And the Spottie Dottie Bracelet does say 1990. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. Nobody Understands My Pain Either February 17, 2010 at 2:47 am #

    Ditbge –

    I admire that you came here and that you’re willing to clean up your listings so that they fall under Etsy’s definitions of vintage. A lot of sellers don’t do that, so it’s refreshing to see someone who actually cares.

    Regarding the dates on the Spottie Dottie Bracelet – it would appear that the dates are a lot like the published dates on books. The first date may say “1952” and then it will be followed by several other dates, which are indicators of other print runs. Usually the last date is the print date of the version you would be holding. So, although the bracelet says 1990, the 1994 date is probably the one which indicates when the bracelet was made. The 1990 date probably indicates the first run of the product. When dating items for vintage purposes, you should always go by the most recent date, not the earliest.

  7. Em February 17, 2010 at 3:52 am #

    Yes, many people are listing non-vintage things as vintage, but two wrongs definitely don’t make a right here. It’s what’s causing the mess in the vintage category.

    I applaud you, however, for staying respectable in your comments. Most people usually explode and then get their friends to ineffectively back them up.

  8. JonhCocktoasten February 17, 2010 at 4:06 am #

    Read the rules.

  9. WTFISAPDF February 17, 2010 at 4:58 am #

    Vintage sellers have a responibility to the buying public to be sure what they sell is indeed vintage. It’s not really that difficult to do with a lot of things- especially with the internet.

    I am so sick of seeing all the non-vintage crap. It’s one of the reasons Etsy is getting a reputation on the street as a flea market. It’s the reason so many of the legitimate sellers that have been around for a long time are leaving.

    Etsy has major problems with resellers, mistaggers, and non-vintage being passed as vintage. Don’t add to the problem.

  10. Elegant February 17, 2010 at 5:49 am #

    “No one has ever said anything to me about something that shouldnโ€™t be listed until the other day about my Cartoon Network Necklace and the Indian in the Cupboard Toy. ”

    The Terms Of Service (TOS) have been available since you joined. In fact, when you joined you agreed to abide by the TOS.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    “I do admit some things might be a year or two off from being considered vintage but after seeing exact or similar things listed I thought it was acceptable to list them also.”

    Just because someone else does it does not mean it is legal. Driving over the speed limit is illegal but some people do it anyway. Murder is illegal but some people do it anyway.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    “I wish someone would have let me know it was such a big problem. ”

    Um…you want others to be held accountable for your not knowing the TOS?

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    “If removed most of what I guess isnโ€™t considered vintage even though similar things are listed and if other things I might have listed arenโ€™t considered vintage then please let me know.”

    Again…accountability? Do your research BEFORE listing. If you have items that you do not consider vintage then don’t list them!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    “… and Iโ€™m still fairly new to etsy anyways. Sorry guys.”

    You joined Etsy in February 2008. Wow…February 17, 2008. Happy Anniversary. Regardless of when you actually sold your first item, you agreed to the TOS in February 2008.

  11. Garagetsy.blogspot.com February 17, 2010 at 6:02 am #

    “…but after seeing exact or similar things listed I thought it was acceptable to list them also.”

    And if they jumped off a cliff?

    Nice passive aggressive answer there, shopowner. As others have said, the terms are quite simple. Every time you get to the tags page while listing, there’s a phrase: “Vintage must be 20+ years old.” You have no excuse.

  12. Garagetsy.blogspot.com February 17, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    Oh, and I forgot:

    1) Nice detective work on this one.

    2) Happy Birthday ECO!

  13. notvintage February 17, 2010 at 6:51 am #

    Ditbge– I also commend you. The tagging instructions, like a lot of things on Etsy, are extremely confusing.

    To answer your question: One reason nobody messaged you is because of responses like the one I got today while trying to do someone a favor:

    “by mayco profile shop contact
    this was bought and cancelled by a buyer so its NOT RESELLING BECAUSE ITS RELISTED TO BE SOLD AGAIN!!!
    MY STUFF ARE NOT IMMITATION.
    ITS NOT MY INTENTION FOR MY ITEMS TO BE IN THE HANDMADE, STOP POLICING ME AS IM BEING VERY DILIGENT ON TAGS AND VINTAGES!!!
    PLEASE STOP JUDGING PEOPLE AS U DO NOT KNOW THEM EXACTLY, IAM A MOTHER OF 5 CHILDREN AND I MODEL MYSELF TO MY CHILDREN SO I WOUDNT DO THAT.
    STOP SENDING ME CONVOS I U ARE NOW INTRUDING VERY MUCH LIKELY!!!!”

    This is what you get sometimes when you try to help someone. Not that it is going to stop me– and I would have sent you a very kind message explaining the tagging here if I had seen your shop before this.

  14. Leoni775 February 17, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    Hard lesson here Ditbge. Thank you for doing the right thing!

  15. ditbge February 17, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    I was never ever trying to hold anyone else accountable or make excuses. I just wish someone would have told me exactly what I was doing wrong. I have read the TOS and yes it can be confusing but if I were breaking the rules someone could have just simply sent me a message and I would have immediately taken their advice. There’s no need to get all Britney spears with an umbrella up on my yellow submarine is there? I tried. I’m totally cool with correcting mistakes and taking advice. Ya just gotta let people know these things. One of the many reasons I joined etsy was because of the extremely nice people and the little tight knit community of buyers and sellers. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. ditbge February 17, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Any why is my little bear figurine considered non-vintage? I got him at an antique store over Christmas.

    Are those kind of things not considered vintage either? This is know totally confusing.

  17. Laura February 17, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    If you sell vintage then you should know what you are selling. Either by material, tag, etc. There are a lot of resources online and on Etsy.

    However, I’m glad you are making changes. And it’s cool you come here and admitted that!

  18. molls February 17, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    Ebay sellers are jumping ship.

  19. notvintage February 17, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    molls– so what else is new?

    You should check out that shop– and it’s “vintage handmade Gucci”

  20. Life During Wartime February 17, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    ditgbe, you cannot be sure an item is over 20 years old because you bought it in an ‘antique store’. Every bricks and mortar antiques and collectibles place I’ve sold in allows sellers to have gifts and ‘collectibles’ in their booth, shelf or case. Even one place I sold that had a rule of nothing newer than 1949 allowed sellers to have ‘victorian’ notecards, magnets and other little junque tagged for sale because they looked ‘old fashioned’.

    The SMC infomercial shows a success story dude who got his start putting SMC in ‘antiques malls’ — which he still does to resell their stuff. He is not alone! And another SMC success story has a shopping mall store where the sign says DOWN HOME CRAFTS. Reseller stuff is everywhere.

  21. Amy February 17, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    notvintage – mayco’s shop is a total mess! that def deserves a call out. nice ‘vintage’ louis Vuiton bag! http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=35816796
    tagged in the handmade category. jeez.

    Ditbge – if you are not 100% sure an item is vintage DO NOT list it. simple.

  22. Wendi Galczik February 17, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    To be strictly fair, the date I joined Etsy as a buyer is the one listed, as if my shop opened that day, which it didn’t, but about a year or so later, so you can’t assume that the seller knew the TOU’s from 2008…
    And i can tell you from sad experience, that as a newbie, both buyer and seller, I makde a bunch of rather embarassment -inducing mistakes myself.
    The seller had the stones to come to this site-cut her some slack…

  23. ditbge February 17, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    I originally had only planned on selling my handmade stuff and jewelry that my grandmother gave me. It was the other little stuff I thought people would enjoy but didn’t quite fit into those two categories that got me I guess. Ya can’t be 100% completely accurate on every single thing, and if you make a mistake no biggy.

  24. Nobody Understands My Pain Either February 17, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Ditbge – I agree that the TOU can be confusing. In addition, many people have various definitions for vintage – some people think some things are vintage simply because they look vintage. Even Etsy’s definition of vintage is a bit strange to me. I would personally never label something from 1990 as vintage, but those are Etsy’s rules so 1990 is fair game.

    As far as buying from an antique mall – do not trust what you buy from an antique mall as being an actual antique. Case in point: I saw a vintage lucite purse at an antique mall listed for $95.00. The problem was, the purse was clear plastic and was from Wal-mart – it cost less than $10.00 new. The only way to discover the age of something that’s not dated is to just do your homework. Again, I think it’s admirable that you’ve come here and explained yourself and that you seem to want to be a legitimate seller. Mistakes do happen – I made plenty when I started out and I would be shocked if others here hadn’t made a few along the way as well. The trick is to learn from them and move forward.

  25. Life During Wartime February 17, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    ditbge –You’re right, it’s no biggie to make a mistake. That’s how we learn. Don’t be shy about asking questions before you buy at antique stores. Go to estate auctions that have vintage and antique items, look at the items before the sale starts, and watch the bidding. Visit antiques stores to look at the merchandise and read the tags. Ask your grandmother about the true age of her jewelry.

    Selling vintage or antiques requires hands-on experience. You can find lots of good info online, but to buy items to sell in your shop you need to get ‘a feel’ for what is old and what isn’t. No dealer is perfect, and we all make mistakes. But with effort and practice, you will learn to spot good stuff and buy well.

    Some advice about listing items online, not just on Etsy: if the item or packaging shows a date, include it in your description. Sometimes the date can be read from a full size photo, sometimes not. Any facts you have about the piece (dimensions, maker’s marks) should be described. If you watch how experienced collectors and dealers examine a piece at an auction or at an antique store, you will learn what information buyers like that want to see in your online shop listing.

    It’s a fun business, and good luck!

  26. notvintage February 17, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    It would be impossible and ridiculous to callout every single seller on Etsy that is confused by the category tag.
    I sincerely recommend that people send messages to sellers who mean to sell vintage or seem confused before setting the dogs on them. It’s US against ETSY and resellers, not Us against Eachother, no?

    Until or unless somebody at Etsy stops saying that “it’s on our radar” and actually fix the contradictory drop-down menu in the tagging section of listings, it’s going to be like this. Imagine having English as a second language and trying to understand those instructions! Some professionalism for a so-called “international site”. Interasshole, more like it.

    I recommend we concentrate on the resellers or (like me) the ones who get shitty on me in defense of themselves (instead of ignoring it or saying thank you for the help). If they don’t get it after a heads-up, they deserve to get a little jolt.

  27. Kiss My Ass February 17, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    Poor bitches still at it again………………

  28. ditbge February 17, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    Now I don’t see any need for name calling ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  29. PussDaddy February 18, 2010 at 6:06 am #

    You can buy these in a store right now ditgbe.

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=38691345

  30. Crazy Cat Lady February 18, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    ditbge, I commend you for coming here and not getting defensive! We do all make mistakes; I’m glad you are going to fix yours. Unfortunately, like someone above said many people “on the outside” are seeing etsy as no different than ebay now, and are describing it as “junky” (and this I heard from someone who loved etsy a couple years ago). True vintage is lovely on etsy I think.

    And yay kliban cats! ๐Ÿ™‚

  31. JonhCocktoasten February 18, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    This seller still has tons of items that are questionable. She doesn’t have a clue how to date any of it.

  32. MadeByM**** February 18, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    Off the subject, but look at this crap!

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=6170469

    Flag it!

  33. Amy February 18, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    just spotted this shop in the latest Etsy Finds. They sell those fruit note things which makes me highly dubious of everything else. http://www.etsy.com/shop/coutureNsparkles

  34. JonhCocktoasten February 18, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    Amy, I’ve flagged those tights in that seller’s shop twice. No way those are handmade.

    She is a reseller for sure.

  35. notvintage February 18, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    The ceremony takes place, where else? STONEHENGE, DeLand, FL USA

    florida is for fruitcakes.

  36. notvintage February 18, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    Etsy Ignorant Finds at it again. When will vetting become a vocabulary term amongst the Etsy Staff? Rhetorical question: never. It’s not part of their culture, “which is take the twenty cents and run”. If that is what the company wants, the employees will just follow the same concept: Take the salary, and run. Do as little work or research as absolutely necessary to get by.

  37. ditbge February 18, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Please, if anything in the shop currently is still questionable then tell me how to go about making it right. I don’t bite I promise.

  38. ditbge February 18, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    I’ve yet to receive any other messages from anyone about problems. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’ll kepp on doing my research though..

  39. JonhCocktoasten February 18, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    ditbge, you have 300+ items in your shop. You don’t seem to know much about identifying vintage. It is not OUR responsiblity to go through each item in your shop.

    Many of your items look like stuff from the Dollar Store. The butterfly box is one example, many of the figurines also.

    You have charms tagged vintage that look way more recent. Those should probably be tagged supplies, then commercial.

    I don’t know much about vintage jewelry but I suspect some of that is questionable as well.

  40. ditbge February 18, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    I never said it was anyone’s responsibility to go through all of my items. But instead of continuing to say I don’t know how to identify vintage then atleast give me a few pointers on how to. A very nice person just messaged me giving me tons of advice. I thought we should all be helping each other out in the etsy community? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  41. Nobody Understands My Pain Either February 18, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Ditbge – if you are serious about your shop and wanting it to be legitimate, then I can give you my first impressions:

    None of the silver rings look vintage to me. I used to own a brick and mortar shop and ordered rings like that by the dozen, wholesale. You can get them from Gypsy Rose, Funky Buddha, gem and mineral shows and a host of other places. I think that they’re lovely and I have a few myself, but I would never buy them fro someone claiming that they are vintage, unless they provided information about their history.

    The Coldwater Creek earrings are suspect to me, as well. They’re on a retail display card and Coldwater Creek didn’t have a retail store until 1995. (http://www.encyclopedia.com/doc/1G2-2842500041.html) In addition, they simply don’t *look* vintage – to my eye, they’re late 80’s at BEST and without a legitimate date, I would personally not take the risk of listing them.

    You have some very pretty sterling silver flower and citrine earrings listed. You say that they need a cleaning, but are in good shape for their age. How do you know the age? Are they signed? Is there a sterling stamp? How do you know the stone is citrine and not glass? Why didn’t you clean them before listing? (This is in no way meant to be an attack – these are the questions I ask myself before creating a listing and if I can’t answer them, I don’t list the item. I also clean everything I list.)

    Your “vintage chunky amber scorpion necklace” may be vintage, but I’m pretty sure it’s not amber. If it were truly amber, with a well preserved scorpion inside of it, it would be worth hundreds, if not thousands, of dollars. In addition, it *looks* like resin from the photographs (too perfect). Resin pendants with various bugs and flowers in them are quite popular, but are not amber. Looking at the necklace again – I don’t think it’s vintage. The clasp doesn’t look right to me.

    The tiny charms all look like Hobby Lobby charms to me – I would wonder what made you decide they were vintage.

    The vintage butterfly hair clips are currently being sold at my local Wal-Greens.

    The cat toys are AWEOME, I love the retro buttons,and a lot of the eighties earrings definitely appear to be eighties.

    I would have kept going but it was a bit exhausting. To be completely honest – it looks like you went to an estate sale or picked up a couple of junk lots at a thrift store, flea market or antique mall, and you just pulled everything out, photographed and listed it as vintage. You’ve made sales, so it’s clear that people are buying, but I would not buy anything from you – even the things that I love – for the above reasons.

    I hope you don’t take any of this personally – those are just my impressions. I truly love vintage and I love jewelry, so I just hate to see things being misrepresented. Also, the person who shops at your store and winds up with fake amber/vintage, may never come back to Etsy again because of it, and that’s a loss for all of us.

  42. Nobody Understands My Pain Either February 18, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    …and by “cat toys are AWEOME,” I meant AWESOME.

    I really can spell. Oh! And I believe the name calling above was not directed at you Ditbge, it was directed towards the people who frequent and comment on this blog.

  43. Nobody Understands My Pain Either February 18, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    Ditbge –

    If I were you, I would remove anything from my shop that I couldn’t date. I would spend some time in antique stores and find the booths who have everything laid out well, dated and labeled. I would pick up a couple of books or go to the library and research costume jewelry. I would do google searches of my items, using descriptive terms and see if I can find the item in question anywhere on the web. I would familiarize myself with trends from each decade and materials used. I would clean my items before I listed them. I would see if anyone in the Etsy vintage community was willing to mentor me.

    I would re-tag all of those charms as supplies so you can keep the listing.

    Some of us do want to be helpful ๐Ÿ™‚

  44. ditbge February 18, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    The Citrine Flower earrings are screwback and marked Sterling so I just thought saying “in good shape for their age” would be alright. As for stone I’m a nature freak and I’ve had alot of experience with stones and minerals :p so I know how to spot a dud. I did clean them (and every other piece of jewelry I list) but I don’t use harmful tarnish cleaning chemicals to clean my sterling, I use toothpaste :p So I guess who ever bought them would probably want to clean them again if they preferred the chemical stuff.

    The Scorpion necklace is lucite it even says it in the title. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I don’t know what would be wrong with the clasp though.

    Like I said to the nice person who emailed me, 95% of the jewelry listed belonged to my grandmother who enjoyed hoarding alot :p She then broke her hip in 1992 and was unable to get out and about doing things like she had before. So thats why I know the pins, charms, earrings etc. are 100% before 1992 if not older because she also saved almost every little trinket and piece of jewelry that belonged to my mom when she was growing up. And my mom was born in 1958.

    As for the rings, those are from mine and my moms person collection. But some of them I really don’t know how else to date.

    But like I’ve said I’m willing to take any advice and in no way would I be offended by it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  45. ditbge February 18, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    lol I DO clean things…just so everyone knows. I don’t want to be labeled as dirty now too. :p

  46. JK February 18, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    ‘100% before 1992’ is still not the same as vintage, which is defined as a *minimum of 20 years old* on Etsy. There’s an entire internet out there to help you research and accurately date items. Still not sure? Don’t list it. It really is that simple.

  47. detroit February 18, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Hi Ditbge:

    Now you see why making ‘a few mistakes’ is indeed a very big deal. A big deal for you. It can really hurt your sales.

    For example – imagine I’m a potential customer, browsing your shop, and seeing several vintage items I’m considering buying. But then, I come across something that is clearly NOT vintage, even though it is listed as such. It would then cause me to doubt all the other items. Even if they are legit – how can I know for sure, when you don’t seem to know yourself?….I would probably just move on, and not take the risk.

    See what I’m saying? I hope my example makes sense. The vintage market is very complex, and full of rip offs. So shoppers are already a bit suspicious and wary. Don’t give them a reason to leave your shop, and miss out on all the good items you have for sale.

    Good job for trying to learn. We all make mistakes. It’s part of the learning process. Just put yourself in your customers’ shoes – and make sure you’re not cheating them. Because, if they’re buying something they think is 25 years old or so, because you’ve labeled it vintage (which has a very specific definition on Etsy), and the item turns out to be new – you’re actually defrauding them. And it is indeed a big deal.

    Good luck. Keep up the good work!

  48. Nobody Understands My Pain Either February 18, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    Ditbge –

    If the jewelry was your grandmother’s, I would mention that in your listings.

    If we’re being honest here – and I hope everyone is being honest – I would have a hard time believing that the rings are from a personal collection of only 2 people when they come in 12 different sizes.

    There is no history in your listings, no dating, and nothing to say that anything is vintage except the fact that you put the vintage label on everything. Not much has been researched and if you had histories for your items, I’m not sure why you didn’t include them.

    I’m all about helping people out, but your rings are throwing up a serious red flag – especially since you say they were yours and your mothers and they are available in 12 sizes, ranging from 4 – 9.5. They look exactly like the ring lots that I have ordered in the past, even including that horrible size 9.5 that was always so hard to sell.

  49. ditbge February 18, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    There’s 2 size 9.5, 2 size 9, 2 size 8.5, and 3 size 8 which are all my mothers sizes.

    Then there are 5 size 7.5, 2 size 7, 2 size 6.5, 2 size 6, 1 size 5.5, 4 size 5, and 1 size 4 which are all my sizes.

    I don’t get all my rings the same exact size. What if I wanted to wear one on a different finger? :p

  50. Nobody Understands My Pain Either February 18, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    Ditbge –

    I guess I was going off of my own experience with wearing and selling rings. Most people’s finger size doesn’t fluctuate quite as widely as yours and your mother’s seem to. Most people don”t have seven ring sizes for five fingers.

    My apologies.

  51. ditbge February 18, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    Sometimes you see a ring and you just gotta have it even if it doesn’t fit perfectly. :p

  52. Bedazzled VONdom February 18, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    Grandma lied.

  53. ditbge February 18, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    If she lied then that whole hip replacement thing must have been a dream?

  54. Life During Wartime February 18, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    Ditbge, you claim to have knowledge of gemstones and experience in identifying them, yet there is this listing in your shop
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=40868083

    You are selling ruby earrings for sixteen bucks?

  55. jcjohn February 19, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    The “mistakes” have earned the seller 238 sales.

  56. JK February 19, 2010 at 5:58 am #

    And why do the right thing when your ‘mistakes’ get sales? Far easier to just give lip service than to educate oneself or display integrity, after all.

  57. jenn February 19, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    Lion King came out in 1995 so that is listed against the TOU.

    Please review your shop and do the right thing by taking items that violate the TOU down.

  58. Bedazzled VONdom February 19, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Okay, if Grandma didn’t lie it means you lied because the vast majority of your stuff is not vintage by Etsy standards.

    I’m not fooled by the feigned ignorance act either.

    eBay was made for resellers like you. Why do you feel the need to shit all over Etsy?

  59. Smartass February 19, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    “ditbge Says:
    Please, if anything in the shop currently is still questionable then tell me how to go about making it right. ”

    Read the TOUs. Really read them. They state the rules quite clearly if you actually take the time to read them.
    Don’t skim over them, don’t take a little glance at them. Actually *read* them.

    Then remove all the items in your shop that violate the TOUs. Confused about what violates the TOUs? Read them again.

    Here is a link to the TOUs for your convenience:
    http://www.etsy.com/terms_of_use.php

    Have a nice day!

  60. Amy February 19, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    this 10th anniversary of the disney channel should be removed.
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=38483567
    Their 10th anniversary was 1993. Therefore this is not vintage. The fact that this was so easy to figure out makes me doubt everything in your shop. I can’t believe you didn’t even bother to check this. I am also struggling to believe the grandma story or your feigned ignorance.

  61. JonhCocktoasten February 19, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    I have to agree. I think this seller is lazy and a liar.

  62. MadeByM**** February 19, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=40916459

    Ocean jasper was discovered in 1995……..NOT VINTAGE!

    “Ocean Jasper
    Discovered in October of 1999, this new rock was found along the northwest coast of Madagascar after years of unsuccessful searching. The deposit formed similar to a rhyolite flow but has been totally silicified. The rhyolitic spheres or orbs come in an astonishing array of colors and color combinations. The background can be white, pink, green, red or yellow. Botryoidal formations, as well as white and deep green druzy, are also common. The deposit, being located at the edge of the ocean, can only be seen and collected from at low tide. This remote area has no roads so the material must be transported to civilization by boat.”

  63. MadeByM**** February 19, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    http://thegemshop.com/osc/mining_ocean_jasper.php

    The owner of this shop is one of the people that named the jasper!

  64. Life During Wartime February 19, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    ditbge seems to have retreated for the moment. I hope she is busy reading the TOU.

  65. whatever February 19, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    yeah, she probably retreated because you’re all bitches.
    She made mistakes, but you people keep harping on and on like you have nothing better to do with your lives.
    Yes etsy needs to be cleaned up, but seller’s like ditbge are not the main problem.

  66. ohmeohmy February 19, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    i could swear those rings look just like the ones Gilbert and Friesh (sp?) sell on ebay. I own some.

  67. Garagetsy.blogspot.com February 19, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Oh, snap! Hey, Whatever, I think we’ve all realized she didn’t “make mistakes” but rather that it’s all deliberate. People here took their time to give her valuable advice, yet after 3 days there are still pages and pages of stuff from the 1990s she has not taken down.

    This shop has well over 500 items. Nobody needs to cry for ditbge.

  68. ohmeohmy February 20, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    Gilbert and Frech don’t sell on ebay anymore but you can find their rings here: http://traderlou.com

    See how similar they are to her rings?? Like I said, I own about 5 rings from them which I bought in about 2005 on ebay. At the time, they had mostly earthy gems, not much of citrine and green amethyst, etc.

  69. Em February 21, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    Yeah I thought she was really willing to work with us and take the violations down, but I’m pretty sure her politeness was a big ass facade. If I saw one or two of those rings in her shop marked vintage, I may believe it, but there’s what, dozens? And all different sizes? And the ocean jasper thing was a good catch. I don’t feel bad for this seller at all anymore.

  70. Smartass February 21, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Funny how she just disappeared. They always tend to do that when their lies have been exposed.

  71. ohmeohmy February 21, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    Here’s the ring section of trader lou’s that sells gilbert and frech rings: http://traderlou.com/jewelry-rings.html

    There’s a cat’s eye that looks a lot like her’s tho’ not exactly the same.

  72. RocksInMySocks February 22, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    ditbge,
    It’s obvious you don’t have the knowledge required to operate a legitimate and authentic vintage shop. Do you honestly expect other vintage sellers to “fix” your mess for you? You’re doing nothing but contributing to the problems here on Etsy and you really have no business opening a vintage shop when you have no idea what the hell you’re selling.

    Go back to Ebay and take your junk with you if you can’t be bothered to educate yourself. Thanks!

  73. RocksInMySocks February 22, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    whatever,
    Stop defending people who violate the TOU and make it difficult for legitimate vintage sellers to make a living. In other words, shut the hell up. Thanks.

  74. Sara February 23, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    HER ITEM:
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=40920318

    ON EBAY:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200436486351

    Actually – heres her flipping EBAY ACCOUNT – check her BOUGHT feedback and find all the items that are in her shop:
    http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback2&userid=nathaliescloset2006&ftab=FeedbackAsBuyer

  75. Garagetsy.blogspot.com February 23, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    Brilliant work, Sara! Absolutely brilliant! Now we see the nature of the scam. Nothing wrong with buying stuff on ebay to resell, of course. But when the rings magically transform from “New” on ebay to “Vintage” on etsy, she’s BUSTED!!!!

    And all that crap about family jewels goes right out the window, as does all the good advice people took their valuable time to give her.

    Just checked that shop and it looks quite different from last week. More than 60 items have been removed and the 489 that remain all have more specific dates. But it’s funny that the link Sara gives us to her ebay feedback shows a whole lot of other new jewelry she got real cheap…flea market time maybe?

    Kudos to ECO for making a difference. Thank you!!!

  76. ohmeohmy February 23, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    good job, Sara! You’re a detective now!

    Maybe you should send about her rings to etsy callout with links. Admin does read etsycallout, but I am not sure how many actualy comments they read.

    So I would send this to etsycallout@hotmail.com with a link to each ring in her shop and an accompanying ring from the ebay seller. And a link to her ebay user ID.

    Wow, what a liar she is, coming into this forums and claiming these rings were her grandmas, mom’s and her’s. I knew they looked like gilbert and frech rings (probably the ebayer bought from their wholesale site)

  77. ohmeohmy February 23, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    good job, Sara! You’re a detective now!

    Maybe you should send about her rings to etsy callout with links. Admin does read etsycallout, but I am not sure how many actualy comments they read.

    So I would send this to etsycallout@hotmail.com with a link to each ring in her shop and an accompanying ring from the ebay seller. And a link to her ebay user ID.

    Wow, what a liar she is, coming into this forums and claiming these rings were her grandmas, mom’s and her’s. I knew they looked like gilbert and frech rings (probably the ebayer bought from their wholesale site)

  78. Concerned Etsy Seller & Buyer September 21, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    Ladies…

    And, I am assuming you are ladies commenting here, where is your professionalism? I’m appalled at your mob mentality here in trying to help this young shop owner with learning the robes of selling vintage. Don’t do it on an open forum on the internet. Contact her privately and tactfully point out your concerns and offer to help her ID some items to determine if they do qualify as vintage. If she doesn’t respond and/or still needs to correct items then fill out a CallOut report to Etsy for them to contact her. Don’t gang up on her and beat her down. You all should be ashamed of yourselves! I truly hope I’ve never purchased any of my many vintage pieces from this group of unprofessional shop owners.

    Concerned Etsy Seller & Buyer

  79. Garagetsy September 23, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Dear Concerned,
    I think your moniker is a misnomer. If you were really concerned, you wouldn’t have revived a 7 month old thread to bring this seller to our attention again. And the poor dear girl you’re crying for now has more than 1,000 sales.

Leave a Reply

