watch717

18 Feb

http://www.etsy.com/shop/watch717

Patek Philippe Annual Calendar 5056p

Style Annual Calendar Moonphase
Model # 5056p
Case Platinum
Movement Automatic
Dial Color Black
Crystal Scratch Resistant Sapphire
Buckle Tang Buckle
Functions Time, Annual Calendar, Moonphase, Power Res.
Case Width 37mm
Warranty Type 2 yr Time Imports Warranty.

Was intrigued by how this shop could offer warranties on “vintage” watches, so I googled “Time Imports Warranty” and wouldn’t you know I ended up at TimeImports.com

You can find all of the watches in watch717’s shop. Thanks to them leaving the oh-so-handy model number to these so called “vintage” items.

For example, that Patek Philippe Annual Calendar 5056p is here with all the same info & warranty-
http://www.timeimports.com/designer-watches/pc/Patek-Philippe-Mens-Annual-Calendar-Moonphase-5056P-410p1948.htm

You can find all the others just as easy peasy! Someone should tell TimeImports through their live chat that it’s not okay for them to have their items sold on Etsy!

BTW, what is up with the $70 shipping if they claim they are in the U.S.?!

24 Responses to “watch717”

  1. WTFISAPDF February 18, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Oh hell, for $21,000, I’ll take two.

    WTF. How does Rob K. keep from laughing when the word “handmade” rolls off his lips?

  2. Christine February 18, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    These would be great with the Armani suits. I’m sure Etsy can profide some nifty new shoes to complete the ensemble.

  3. Crazy Cat Lady February 18, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    And they’ve had 2 sales? Who is stupid enough to buy anything like that off etsy?

    Sheesh.

  4. Life During Wartime February 18, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    The sales were over a month ago, and no feedback was left. I am wondering if the sales were to real buyers?

    I’m sure the seller didn’t mind paying Etsy a bribe (their FVF for the ‘sales’) to allow the shop to stay open, and hopefully snag a real buyer or two.

    I am disgusted.

  5. JonhCocktoasten February 19, 2010 at 6:26 am #

    Fake LV bag

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=40998674

    There has been a huge influx of fake LV lately.

  6. MadeByM**** February 19, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    Etsy……..get off your lazy a$$e$ and get rid of the resellers and not really vintage items off your site! I’m embarrassed for you!

  7. Laura February 19, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    LOL! And they won’r remove this store. I have no faith at all.

  8. JonhCocktoasten February 19, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    Another hot mess:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/GiftFromJohn

  9. Life During Wartime February 19, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    About GiftFromJohn…it’s odd that someone specializing in Limited Edition Collectibles does not mention or show any dates in their listings. The photos of the the undersides of the collector plates cut off that information. I like the instruction to read his invisible Shop Announcement for details. WTF?

    Has Etsy actually done anything to clean up vintage violations since last year? Last I checked, the pig and the mug — and all the rest of the vintage-related call-outs — were still active. The sneaker shop (smileau) had removed all the items, but was still there. There seems to be no oversight of vintage on Etsy at all right now. A reseller’s dream.

  10. Green eyed monster February 19, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    Same old, same old. Favortism or clueless, which it it?

    Imagine Admin featuring the same shop in 3 of the last 5 voters.

    Then imagine having those entries hit the FP when admin promotes the voter. gimme some of that!

  11. detroit February 19, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    LOL. For shits and giggles I just searched ‘vuitton’ on Etsy. Good lord!!! So many results!

    I’m too lazy, but if anyone else is feeling very proactive, you can go to the US Trademark Office – look up some vuitton trademarks, figure out who their US trademark correspondent attorneys are, and send the Etsy pages to them. The lawyers loooove an opportunity to send threatening cease and desist letters. Why not! They get paid for it.

    Maybe some nasty letters from rabid attorneys from Vuitton or Gucci will knock some sense into Esty. Since, they can not only request the removal of the items, but damages.

    Seems Etsy doesn’t care about principles, but maybe a threat to their bottom line will get their attention.

  12. Smartass February 20, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    Just for shits and giggles,
    I wanna start a shop full of mass-produced crap, list them as handmade or vintage, stuff my tags, mark the prices up fourfold, and announce in my listings and announcement that I am emptying out my garage, and reselling some cool stuff I bought on my trip to china.
    I wonder if people will buy my crap? I also wonder how quickly my shop will be taken down. If I get some sales, yay!

    The way things are going on Etsy, I’ll make a ton of money and my shop will last forever!

  13. ComradeBunny February 20, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    I think Etsy needs to split and give vintage its own site. I hate the garage sale feel that comes with Etsy’s vintage shops. Don’t get me wrong, there are good shops, but there are way too many bad shops.

  14. Smartass February 20, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    Oops! I didn’t realize that detroit also said “for shits and giggles” in their post!
    Great minds think alike!

  15. JK February 20, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    Trust me, ComradeBunny — the real vintage sellers don’t want to be associated with that crap any more than you do.

  16. Angel February 20, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

    Etsy needs to set it up so the first tag in an item has to be either vintage, handmade, or supplies. I’m noticing that more and more of these reseller shops don’t have *any* of those tags in their items.

  17. ComradeBunny February 21, 2010 at 2:32 am #

    Angel, that is a great idea. Also, thanks JK, I thought it might be that way.

  18. notvintage February 21, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    Angel, we have been literally begging for clarity in the tag process, and all we get is “it’s in the pipeline” or “it’s on our radar”.

    Until the drop-down is limited to one of the three, and a sub-drop down for supplies (also limited to commercial or handmade), the site will be amateurish. They don’t want to do this because? It makes no sense at all, unless it is just piss-poor communication, work ethic, and complete lack of site leadership.

    The last three are the only possible reasons that the drop down hasn’t be limited. Fuck ’em, I’ll just figure it’s sellers vs. staff and send my little messages. One person at a time.

  19. Laura February 21, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    Has Etsy removed any stores or listings since Rob came back? I have seen nothing removed, and Etsy has turned into a great big joke.

  20. Life During Wartime February 21, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Laura, I’ve been wondering about this, too. The only one I know of is the Vedette store, I guess because they were an obvious offshore manufacturer.

    The pig and mug are still active.
    The chinese faux vintage sneaker shop, smileau, is open with no merchandise.

    The moda fabrics shop is still listing new packaged tablecloths. She has them in stock, and as some of the ones listed as Supplies sell, she relists them back into Vintage.

    There was faux vintage in today’s Etsy Finds (kitchen glassware less than 10 years old) and it sold. The description even said it was probably not old, but had a vintage look to it. Holy crowbar! Can’t these dolts read? I guess there isn’t a K-MART in Brooklyn?

    So I would have to say that it looks like nothing on Etsy has changed. If someone is watching other shops or items that admin has closed down or removed, please comment!

    Every time a reseller item or a newish thrift store ‘vintage’ item gets emailed as an Etsy find, it’s like sending an email invitation to sellers of merchandise (supposedly) not allowed on Etsy. Because these sellers can see from what in the Finds gets sold that Etsy buyers are looking for items that violate the Etsy TOU.

  21. detroit February 21, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    I noticed that too (a slowdown in the already slow process of closing shops that violate TOU). I’m only a very occasional buyer on Etsy. But have been visiting a lot lately, as I’m considering making a shop. But I’m SO, SO turned off by all the BS, that I’m having second thoughts. My shop would be ‘just for fun’. I’m not trying to make a living (then I’d really be in trouble!!). But I’m hesitant to send my less computer savvy friends and relatives to the site. And am not sure I want to be associated with it?!?!

    Yes, I’m just one puny person. Who’d only make Etsy a couple bucks. But I’m sure I’m far from the only one who looks around and says ‘Eew! No thanks.’

    Point being – from my limited exposure – seems Etsy is trending towards getting worse over the past few months?

    Anyone else think so too? Or has it always been this bad, and I’m new and naive?

  22. JajieBo February 21, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    In the past few weeks, two resellers that I’ve been flagging have dissapeared. I was extremely happy with that, however, things are definitely getting worse. If you go and look back at past call-outs on the ECO, you’ll find that all of the earliest shop have been closed, and more ad more are still open as you get to the most recent call-outs. I know it takes time to get through all the flags, but for a company that makes as much as Etst does, they could afford to hire more people to catch the resellers. Hell, even installing some sort of keyword filter to stop the most obvious commercial items would work, too.

    I’m convinced that Etsy keeps the resellers that make money, because the money that Etsy gets from resellers is just as green as the money they get from honest shops.

  23. notvintage February 21, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    I doubt that anything Etsy staff do has any meaning whatsoever. There is a DEARTH of thinking going on with the paid staff.
    It’s been bad for years. Just years. Nothing is going to change, because Etsy Corp has its stride: the $.20 listing is making a pile, and the overhead is low.
    The more shit listed on Etsy, the faster it grows because it advertises itself to those who want to sell their shit.
    Shit is not used here as a random noun; I have used it intentionally.
    There’s a lot more shit out there in the world than there is the good stuff. Etsy can’t make any money on the good stuff– the more shit, the more $ for Etsy. It’s about numbers, and the more shops the more profits. Never mind if nothing sells: the concept is much like a pyramid scheme.
    It’s gravy: less work = more profits because everyone will think they can sell their SHIT. Etsy has become a bottom feeder in and of itself, particularly when the economy etc etc makes chickenshit out of everyone.

    I sell vintage; if they want the good stuff, they can buy from me. I don’t want customers who like Shit because I am a quality snob. I don’t tell ANYONE that I list here; it’s too embarrassing. Etsy gets as little $$ from me as I can possibly manage. You have to get respect to get respect– If I can sell it offsite or anywhere else, I will do that happily just to keep Etsy’s slimy paws off my $.

    Just wish Etsy wouldn’t speak with forked tongue.

  24. BalloonGirl February 22, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    I flagged this watch shop up one side and down the other a couple of weeks ago when I ran across it. Sad.

Leave a Reply

