dileisha

20 Feb

http://www.etsy.com/shop/dileisha

INTRODOCING SOME EUROPEAN STYLE GENUINE LEATHER MEN AND WOMEN JEWLELRY AT MY OTHER SHOP ON THIS VALENTINE.

Is it hilarious or downright pathetic when a jewelry seller can’t spell it correctly in their shop announcement?

1. LOWEST PRICE GAURANTEED
2. ALL NECKLACES AND EAR RINGS AT ESPECIAL PRICING.
___________________________________________
Got this email about the shop as well:

No proof, but a lot of red flags. sizes like 7.25, which I see all the time on Ebay from the importers, this bracelet: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=40609359 which is manufactured, prices just too low to be handmade by the artist themselves, nothing in the profile or descriptions indicating they are a silversmith or have any part in the making of any of this jewelry. Most handmakers of this type of jewelry would say something to the effect that this ring is a size whatever but if you need a different size just let me know and allow time to make it. Nothing like that in her shop.

She also says in some listings to ‘convoy’ her for wholesale information. She also has a second shop listed in her announcement that is also suspect.

I’ve been making jewelry for a long time, and this shop just doesn’t feel handmade. I wish I had more experience with import sites to be able to provide links to identical items, but if I did, I think it would just push me over the edge to join them based on the number of sales this gal has.

Anyone want to put the detective hat on?

22 Responses to “dileisha”

  1. UnaBee February 20, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    I just want to say that I am so effing fed up with this kind of shit and for the first time I am seriously thinking about leaving etsy to sell my wares elsewhere. The only way the amount of flea-market junk, re-selling, and pseudo-vintage crap can be explained is by sheer greed and/or laziness on the part of etsy admins. I’m disgusted. I hope they are happy with the garage sale wasteland their site is turning into.

  2. ohmeohmy February 20, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    I bought these type of earrings about 10 years ago from a friend from Indonesia. I believe they are handmade in Bali. Not by seller.

  3. WTFISAPDF February 20, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    I was only a buyer, and the key word is WAS, but I refuse to shop Etsy anymore A garage sale wasteland sums it up concisely.

    Reseller crap, non-vintage crap, and Designed by Lucinda’s writing crap make Etsy an absolute joke. The mistagging makes it impossible to search for anything and that makes shopping too frustrating for too many.

    I noticed a lot of the truly handmade sellers have left or are leaving. I know a lot of people who refuse to shop there anymore.

    Etsy has earned the reputation it deserves.

  4. detroit February 20, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    Sigh….it’s so futile.

    But in her ‘other’ store she links to – Dileisha8 – most of the leather bracelets have serial numbers on the pictures. And this one still has the ‘Made in India’ tag visible. lol:

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=vl_other_2&listing_id=39350021

    I’d say tsk, tsk for being so sloppy. But, it’s not like Etsy is gonna do anything about it. So why should they waste time taking new photographs, or cutting off tags?

  5. detroit February 20, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    Well, I’d flag them. But, she could be from Charlotte, India, right? Isn’t that right next to Mumbai? And since the cost of living is lower there, I’m sure she can spend hours hand carving bangles, and only charge $5.50 for three.

    And if I complain, I’m just jealous of her sales. Should mind my own business. And need to work on my own shop, and on taking better pictures. Right?

  6. Life During Wartime February 20, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Another seller who would seem to have an amazing range of jewelry making skills — silversmith, woodworker, leather worker — but says nothing about any of their crafts. I don’t mind the broken English (my parents learned English as a second language in school), but say something about your stuff if you make it.

    Good catch with the tag, Detroit!

    Another shop that demonstrates how eager the Etsy community is to embrace resellers…which means bypassing handmade shops when they purchase. So disgusted.

  7. JK February 20, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    Reseller crap from India — I’m reminded of everyone’s favourite Nut.

  8. me February 20, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    no, not charlotte india.. her listings say they ship from the us.

  9. Nowhere Fast February 20, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    I’ve also noticed the listings have snuck “Twilight” into the tags and descriptions. You know, just in case people are searching for “Twilight” items.

  10. boo February 21, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    If a supposed jeweler on etsy cannot custom fit at least one of their pieces for me (I have huge wrists and fingers), that is extremely suspect to me. I used to sell on Etsy and shop there too. Now I only buy from one seller on Etsy, and that’s because I am addicted to her soap and can’t get it elsewhere.

  11. PussDaddy February 21, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    I’m so sick of the twatlighters, I mean twilighters. Twilight this, twilight that. They have to squeeze twilight, or Bella, or Edward in there somewhere if at all possible.

  12. MadeByM**** February 21, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    Thanks, Etsy…………see all the ex-shoppers that post here? You’ve lost potential customers for me and the rest of the “real” handcrafted and vintage sellers!

  13. jenjasmine February 21, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Looks like she was a supply seller at first. She probably saw all the other scammers selling pre-made jewelry and though “what the heck”.
    When in Rome…

  14. WTFISAPDF February 21, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    Sorry Made by M. It’s become too time consuming to search and weed out all of the reseller and non-vintage crap. When Etsy first started, it was easy to shop with confidence, knowing what you were getting was truly handmade. Now it’s a gamble.

    I know a lot of buyers have frustrated and won’t shop Etsy at all anymore.

    Almost not funny though, is one friend who refuses to shop there becasue she bought something from a new seller as a gift for her husband. The seller went into the forums and announced her sale and thanked my friend- by name. Her user name was her husband’s real name. She was mortified because her husband was led there by Google Alerts and saw her purchase. She closed her account right away.

    Sometimes the forums, with the complaining and whining about lack of sales and the snarkiness, keeps buyers away too. I think a lot of sellers think that’s BS, but I’ve heard plenty of people say they won’t shop Etsy because of the begging mentality or the fear of being called out if something goes wrong with a transaction.

  15. notvintage February 21, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    I stay away from buying anything from anyone who hasn’t been around for awhile. Period.

  16. notvintage February 21, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    YOu have GOT to see this shop and report it:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/etsyties
    check the name and the merchandise.
    Off to report to etsyabuse, the more the merrier

  17. WTFISAPDF February 21, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    Oh, have you had too many totties today 😉 You seriously think anyone over at Etsydise is going to care??

  18. MadeByM**** February 22, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    Yep, the forums have pretty much become a joke, too.

  19. MadeByM**** February 22, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    Reported the tie seller…………what a joke! Gawd!

  20. notvintage February 22, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    I’d be embarrassed to tell anyone I worked for Etsy– but then again, most of the friends of Staff are probably still in high school so they are proud to say they have any sort of a job.
    Let me amend: a place to go where they get a paycheck, not necessarily where they Work!

  21. Crazy Cat Lady February 23, 2010 at 7:23 am #

    I’m embarrassed to tell people I sell on etsy…I say I have a “shop on the internet” where I sell my jewelry.

    And, since I’ve already been outed anyway, my shop is http://www.etsy.com/shop/sleepingcatbeads I know many people say they won’t shop on etsy anymore because of the resellers but I assure you – I don’t resell, lol. And I’m happy to re-size anything. Sorry for the plug but it makes me really sad to hear people won’t shop on etsy anymore because of the bad apples. I understand it, it just makes me sad for us honest people 😦

Leave a Reply

