SunnyBeachJewelry

18 Mar

This seller http://www.etsy.com/shop/sunnybeachjewelry sells on ebay and ioffer and claims she makes her bangles herself. But if you go to ioffer and clicked on “about seller” you will find these comments about being defrauded by a Chinese wholesaler.

I have contacted my partner in China and he would help us to get our money back.

I need from all buyers the complete address and proof of payment (receipt from Western Union or receipt of bank-wire) per email.

So my partner can go to the policestation in Hong Kong and get permission for the bank-account from Wholesalemarket97 to get details from this person.
Feb-13-2005
Currently offlinekostolanys1 (0)

Currently offline
bonovi (0)
Last Login: more than 3 weeks ago
View Rating View Rating View Profile View Profile

hi littel max. you, me and other guys are obviously involved in a fraud by wholesalemarket97. please send mail to c/.(URL Removed by iOffer) for further correspondance. we have to act togehter. Jan-22-2005
Currently offlinebonovi (0)

So I am thinking she is not making these leather bracelets but buying them wholesale:

Here’s the “about” page. Read the comments: http://www.ioffer.com/user_profiles/show_old/little_max

13 Responses to “SunnyBeachJewelry”

  1. Sandra_AndNotTheCrazyRantingOne March 18, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    That was fast. The shop is gone

  2. Life During Wartime March 18, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    Yay! I would love to see the reseller mess cleaned up. Hope it lasts.

  3. Sarah March 18, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    God, me too. Just this evening I went to check out the favorites list of someone who’d hearted one of my necklaces (I hope that doesn’t make me a creepy stalker, I promise I’m not typing this while lurking outside anyone’s window), only to find that she’d hearted a similar style from a reseller, at a fifth of my price. (I’m not basing this on speculation, I checked a couple of their necklaces against Alibaba and found the matches, which I went ahead and e-mailed to HeyMichelle) This is the second time I’ve come across a situation like this, and I’m sure that it’s not making my shop look very good to those potential customers.

  4. Lexie March 19, 2010 at 2:30 am #

    To me this looks like it could be a Nigerian scam. It looks like they are working tirelessly to get money refunded but the bank/police/someone else would need a small amount of money given to them in order that they can get the information required. Of course it is “guaranteed” that the whole amount of the sale plus the postage plus the extra small amount required plus a percentage on top of that for all the inconvenience will be returned to the buyer.

    It might be totally genuine but I am always wary about things like this.

    The seller should have all the buyer’s names anyway so why does she need them again?

  5. WTFISAPDF March 19, 2010 at 4:38 am #

    Sadly, no matter what Etsy does at this point, I think it’s too late. The reputation is already too widely circulated in the general population that Etsy is a mini Ebay and too many buyers have been ripped off by resellers to return.

    Even if all the resellers are gone, there’s still too much junk passed off as vintage that will never get removed. Etsy will never get that under control.

    I am (was) a buyer only and in three years I made over 500 purchases. I can’t bring myself to shop there anymore. It’s cluttered with junk and I’m better off going to a local flea market.

    I know a lot of others who will no longer shop there. And a lot of the true artists are leaving. It’s very sad they let it go on for so long.

  6. kitten March 19, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    WTFISAPDF Says:

    Even if all the resellers are gone, there’s still too much junk passed off as vintage that will never get removed. Etsy will never get that under control.

    I am (was) a buyer only and in three years I made over 500 purchases. I can’t bring myself to shop there anymore. It’s cluttered with junk and I’m better off going to a local flea market.

    ________________________

    Come on, that’s a tad dramatic. Is the “junk” that is passed off as vintage not 20 years old or just things you think shouldn’t be sold because they don’t appeal to you?

    I buy vintage on Etsy several times a week. It’s very easy to find it you know what you’re looking for… I put in my search words and usually always find something to buy.

    It’s fun to go to estate sales, antique malls, thift shops, but for shopping at night in your pj’s, you can’t beat Etsy for vintage. I also like ebay too and have bought 4 vintage items this week to sell on Etsy.

  7. JK March 19, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    Kitten, I sell vintage on Etsy and there *is* a ton of junk cluttering the Vintage category. While you’re right that it’s easy to find things if you know what you’re looking for, plenty of buyers have no idea what they’re doing and are relying on the honesty and knowledge of the sellers — and some sellers have neither.

    Some people seem to think ‘vintage’ is just a cute word for ‘used’, while others are aware that picking vintage-looking modern mass-made goods will get the attention of admin. Target rainboots from last year making the FP recently is just the latest glaring example.

  8. WTFISAPDF March 19, 2010 at 7:57 am #

    kitten Says:
    March 19, 2010 at 6:58 am
    Come on, that’s a tad dramatic. Is the “junk” that is passed off as vintage not 20 years old or just things you think shouldn’t be sold because they don’t appeal to you?

    ———————
    A bit dramatic? Have you seen some of the stuff being passed off as vintage? As JK pointed out- there were rainboots on the front page the other day that were sold at Target last year. They were tagged vintage.

    There are loads of boots and shoes tagged vintage that are brands that didn’t exist 20 years ago. Check out this shop:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/vampcouture

    Steve Madden didn’t introduce his shoe line until 1990 and from then until mid 1990s, his shoes were chunky heeled, 70s style.

    The Madden shoes in this shop are both from early 2000s Victoria’s Secret catalog.

    Here’s a so-called Steve Madden vintage jacket.

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=31809161&ref=sr_list_24&&ga_search_query=madden&ga_search_type=vintage&ga_page=&includes%5B%5D=tags&includes%5B%5D=title

    Steve Madden didn’t start a clothing line until he hooked up with Victoria’s Secret in the late 1990s. You can find this jacket in the VS 1999-2000 and 2000-2001 catalogs. Vintage, eh?

    I could go on and on with the examples. While there are genuine vintage sellers who do the best to accurately date their items, there are tons of sellers who blatently disregard the rules.

    Etsy is starting to look more and more like a glorified garage sale because non-vintage can be flagged and you can send proof, but it never gets removed.

    The rainboots that were on the front page sold. So who’s going to care.

    And as JK said, a lot of buyers rely on the sellers to be honest. And read the post right before this one. A reseller retagged all her cheap mass-produced brooches as vintage since she got caught being a reseller.

    Nothing like skirting the rules.

  9. sarcasmRus March 19, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    Hmm. Now I’m glad Etsy never did actually advertise the site mainstream. There is still a chance their rep is not completely ruined just yet- at least to the general population.

    Too bad instead of fixing what is wrong, they tweak banners and headers and such. Really?

    Where is the new site for handmade? After all these years, I would have hoped at least a couple tech savvy people would see what’s wrong and create a site from the beginning which is juried/excludes resellers(and I don’t mean vintage sellers)? Etsy sellers would flock there. There is money to be made! I know most would pay a little more to have a nice, handmade site to sell on.

  10. L March 19, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    I found this today. Im not 100% sure, but might this be reselling, since these items are so close to each other:

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=42843664&ref=sr_list_18&&ga_search_query=arm+warmers&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_page=15&includes%5B%5D=tags&includes%5B%5D=title

    &

    http://www.etsy.com/view_transaction.php?transaction_id=24651692

    The only one I could find from the second shop was one that had sold, but I saw the leg warmers and immediately thought of that other pair that I had seen a few months ago. Maybe the first one is ripping off or reselling what the second one made? I cant quite figure it out myself…

  11. Life During Wartime March 19, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    Any site that wants to become as large as Etsy — while avoiding Etsy’s problems — needs to make separate subsites for vintage and supplies. There is no way staffers could be competent to evaluate a wide range of vintage items AND handmade art/crafts.

    Vintage right now is a reseller gateway…I mean, consider the number of Etsy handmade shops with ‘vintage’ in the shop name or user ID that don’t sell vintage, use vintage materials, or copy vintage styles. A lot of people shopping on Etsy have no idea what they are buying. How many handmade (or even reseller) items are tagged ‘vintage’ that are nothing of the kind? How many supply or vintage items are tagged ‘handmade’? This is actually a huge problem for sellers and buyers.

  12. ohmeohmy March 19, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    the shop is called sunnybeachjewelry and it’s still there:

    The link says sunnybeach but it’s sunnybeachjewelry

    http://sunnybeachjewelry.etsy.com

  13. jr April 10, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    Now they have a bead/supply shop as well..I’m so exhausted from reporting this crap…one particular shop, whose “necklaces” were just different colors, identical style…imports from china, seller from china..BUT Etsy is reaping HUGE dollars from the 1,000’s of listing fee’s and sale fee’s…I’m convinced it does NO good to report anymore..I give up !!

Leave a Reply

