weddingcollectibles

2 Apr

This came to our inbox:

Hi there,

I’m a little confused…the sexy wedding cake topper featured on the front page today (http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=43788310&ref=fp_feat_1) is from a store that seems to not fit into the handmade movement. They claim to make their wedding toppers & other items inhouse, but have over 500 choices which can’t be customized except for the base color and can be searched by brand. Is that really handmade?

We say:
the “Taking A Gamble” wedding cake topper can be found here: http://www.completemywedding.com/p-1343-taking-a-gamble-wedding-cake-topper.aspx

21 Responses to “weddingcollectibles”

  1. WheelsontheBus April 2, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    Well she certainly isnt selling at a profit, the item is $10.00 more in the other ( non-etsy shop ) or…I can only conclude that further diggin is needed to find the actual manufacturer they are both ordering the topper from.

  2. imwithya April 2, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    At first I thought maybe they were embellishing the base but after seeing their website I doubt it. They have a site full of wedding toppers, stationery, jewelry, apparel, gifts, etc. Most of it is not handmade.

    http://www.weddingcollectibles.com/

  3. Life During Wartime April 2, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    I am sure the actual wholesaler for these items does not make their inventory and price list available to the general public. Weddings are a huge business, and manufacturers, wholesalers and resellers know that there is a limit about how open they can be about their mutual relationships.

    We can’t know if the Etsy shop is making a profit or not without knowing how much the wedding topper costs wholesale. It may cost $10 or even less.

    Here is their actual ecommerce site
    http://www.weddingcollectibles.com/

    They have a FAQ, and I found this interesting:
    “I am a vendor. How do I submit my products for consideration?

    In our quest for unique products we welcome vendor inquiries. Please email us at orders[at]weddingcollectibles.com”

    Here is the same item on their site:
    http://www.weddingcollectibles.com/Funny-Sexy-Las-Vegas-Wedding-Cake-Topper-p-1987.html

    The topper is a mass-produced item, and shame on Etsy for featuring it.

  4. uniquecatvintage April 2, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    That’s total BS. I just feel so bad for brides excited about getting married and being ripped off! I hope that isn’t me in the future!

    Btw, I couldn’t find a way to contact you (maybe I’m stupid) but you may want to check out this:
    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6482643
    http://www.etsy.com/people/sannyssecret/feedback

    It caused a big stink on the forums last night.

  5. MadeByM**** April 2, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

    Etsy doesn’t give a sh*t anymore!

    “Money, get away
    Get a good job with more pay and your O.K.
    Money it’s a gas
    Grab that cash with both hands and make a stash
    New car, caviar, four star daydream,
    Think I’ll buy me a football team
    Money get back
    I’m all right Jack keep your hands off my stack.
    Money it’s a hit
    Don’t give me that do goody good bullsh*t
    I’m in the hi-fidelity first class traveling set
    And I think I need a Lear jet
    Money it’s a crime
    Share it fairly but don’t take a slice of my pie
    Money so they say
    Is the root of all evil today
    But if you ask for a rise it’s no surprise that they’re
    giving none away”

    *Pink Floyd

  6. Life During Wartime April 2, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    WJW, the seller in that thread had two reseller shops going! Some of her sold items actually list the maker in the description, and people bought from her! I don’t think she buys from big box stores; I think she buys from the same wholesaler.

    This is just my personal impression, but it doesn’t look to me like anything much has changed as far as ‘marketplace integrity’ is concerned. A handful of new shops on my reseller list have disappeared completely (not simply had their items removed for a round or two of coaching by admin), but they were honest about the fact that they were online merchants rather than vintage or handmade shops. Other than that, violators are still being featured in the Dorque and in Etsy curated FP collections.

    The shop in the OP above is so obvious. I guess no one on the staff even bothers to read a shop’s announcement, policies or profile before featuring their item. It was so easy to find out more about weddingcollectibles — two of us were googling them almost at the same time, but that’s not possible for the staff? The Pink Floyd song is right on! Etsy just does not care.

  7. Em April 2, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    #4
    I saw that last night, I feel bad for the buyer. I actually had the thread and the shop in a comment on the last post of this but it never got approved. That POS seller needs to be removed pronto.

  8. Em April 2, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    Looks like all her items are gone. Guess that’s one step in the right direction.

  9. JK April 3, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    #4, guess we know what Sanny’s Secret is — shopping at Target! What an awful shop.

  10. JohnCocktoasten April 3, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    WeddingCollectibles is still open…?

  11. hannah April 4, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    sanny’s back…..click on her shop link…..isn’t a gross infraction like hers grounds for banning? i guess i am still naive after all my years of doing art/craft shows. insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result, right? i must be nuts!

  12. debbie April 5, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    Love it!! 🙂

  13. WeddingCollectibles April 5, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    Hi Everyone-
    I just wanted to let you know that I do have a separate website where I do resell other products, but the items that I have posted on ETSY are my own designs and the items I make myself. If you compare my website (www.weddingcollectibles.com) I have thousands of products up, but on my ETSY shop, I have less then 100 items. When I registered with ETSY, they did look into my company, and I was able to prove to them that I make these items myself. Furthermore, you will find my products available on other wedding websites, because as you can see on my shop’s announcement, wholesale business is welcome. If you have any other questions regarding my pieces please feel free to ask. I am disappointed though that people would be so quick to spread rumors online when they don’t have all the facts.

    Thank you for your interest and giving me a chance to defend myself and my products. 🙂

  14. Neda April 5, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    I actually worked with weddingcollectible people last year for my own wedding they design their own products. As a matter of fact they worked with me to design my wedding topper and many of my bridal shower theme designs. I have seen their work, their many designs and so on. Their designs are unique and their own. I searched other sites and companies I could not find the unique design they have.

  15. blood, sweat and tears April 6, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    if all that is true, wedding, why do you suppose the identical photo is on numerous websites. why don’t you take individual photos of your etsy listings? stock photos usually indicate commercial.

  16. etsycallout April 6, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    How are your “own designs” pictured on other wholesale sites?

  17. Katja April 6, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    I love this blog i always check it when buying from ETSY and find it quite helpful (they should really add a discussion blog directly on their website btw, make this all much easier), so here’s my experience with wedding collectibles’ ETSY store.

    I ordered a cake topper from them about a month ago through ETSY, i emailed them to see if they could customize it for me, long story short, they worked with me every step of the way and i received exactly what i wanted. They were really helpful and i got a handmade custom cake topper.

    So, as much as i agree that quite often sellers abuse the word handmade in ETSY i just don’t think that a company should be unable to post their handmade items on ETSY just because they also have mass produced items along with their custom ones featured on other websites, and it’s not like they hide the fact, their website is weddingcollectibles.com so is their ETSY name.

    Anywhoo, this is getting long, just thought i’d let you guys know what my experience was like 🙂

  18. somebody else, not me April 6, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    different item, different picture. if someone were selling prints, that would be one thing, but even hand put together wedding cake toppers are going to slightly differ, aren’t they

  19. Life During Wartime April 6, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Maybe Etsy has to have a more open policy about what kind of businesses are welcome to have a shop on Etsy. The TOU or dos and don’ts really don’t come out and say why some sellers have to make their items, some only have to design them. Or how many employees you can have. Or how items that are made in a factory as a single piece (but not altered in any way by the seller) can be ‘handmade’. Vintage can be a style, a material used in making, or something less than 5 years old now. Really, it seems like anything goes now if it blends with the look and feel of Etsy.

    IfTEtsy was more open about their real intentions and standards, people would understand that if they see a business on Etsy that has employees and even a customer service phone number (something Etsy doesn’t have!) that the shop has been reviewed by Etsy and meets the standards (whatever they really are these days) for a shop.

    There have been a few callouts of shops that make enough items to sell wholesale to many other businesses because the community overall is confused about what Etsy is trying to be at this point.

  20. somebody else, not me April 6, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    it is hard enough to hand make enough to have a full booth if you do shows, or to keep a full etsy shop, or to supply shops on consignment…..

    much less do lots of wholesale….unless you have ‘helpers.’

  21. Ann April 13, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    I am currently working with the owner of weddingcollectibles.com on customizing my wedding cake topper and can assure you that she does design her own stuff. She’s shown me her other customizations for ideas. She was a delight to work with and extremely helpful in catering to my demanding needs (hey, I only get to be a bride once!) and I am sad that there would be accusations about her and the website. Get to know her yourself and actually spend time doing your own research and you’ll see that this woman is amazing!

Leave a Reply

