The All Day Saga..

3 Apr


EDIT TO ADD: TickleMePinkBoutique is claiming that the wholesaler stole from her and other Etsy shops. Yet if some of the art she uses looks familiar it is from Artchix.

One World Imports, USA Products. Cupcake Fairy-
http://www.oneworldimportsusa.com/products/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=67_104&products_id=357

61 Responses to “The All Day Saga..”

  1. Sandra_AndNotTheCrazyRantingOne April 3, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Ok. this just makes me sad. I’ve always admired TickleMePink’s soldered charms and wished that I could make ones that looked that good. *sigh*

  2. Sandra_AndNotTheCrazyRantingOne April 3, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    It may be that TickleMePink is supplying to the wholesale site. I know that the listings show “50 in stock,” but maybe they quickly make up an order once it is received.

  3. Sandra_AndNotTheCrazyRantingOne April 3, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    I just checked out their non-Etsy online shop http://www.artfulwhimsy.com and they do state that they offer wholesale prices on their pendants.

  4. Bootsy April 3, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Don’t you think if they were providing the wholesaler that all the photos the wholesaler had would be unified? Why are some with the blue background and others not?

  5. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    WOW… I’m suprised that everyone is so ready to throw my under the bus! I am Amy from Tickle Me Pink Boutique and this Wholesale place has STOLEN my designs AND my photos somehow! I spend tireless hours creating my own designs AND doing the solder MYSELF. I am beyond sick and sad. 😦

  6. etsycallout April 3, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    Sandra-

    Why would they wholesale to a wholesaler?? That doesn’t make any sense.

  7. Sandra_AndNotTheCrazyRantingOne April 3, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Not “everyone.” Amy. Please note that there are only two commenters here so far (including me), plus the original post, and I’m giving you the benefit of the doubt. I’m the one who just convo’d you to ask about the wholesale site.

  8. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    ONE WORLD IMPORTS has STOLEN graphics…… they are NOT the originators of the pendants. TICKLE ME PINK designs and solders her OWN PENDANTS. They have not only stolen MY PHOTOS and designs… it looks like OTHER designers as well.

    SICKENING

  9. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    OOps, sorry about that…. guess Im just in shock at this point.. Thank you!!

  10. Leslie April 3, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    No need to talk about yourself in the 3rd person.

    Hate to sound snarky, but “LiveInStyle” came on here after her call out and said the exact same thing….that no, the wholesaler stole HER photos.

  11. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    Ok, I guess the best I can do is tell everyone that I am the original creator, and let you be the judge. I also own http://www.artfulwhimsy.com and offer wholesale for my pendants there as well. I am just sick…. if anyone can offer any advice I’d really appreciate it. I’ve worked very hard on perfecting my craft….. and now I just want to cry. If you look at this ‘wholesale’ website place, you can see other etsy sellers own photos as well.

    help?

  12. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    Just found the other etsy seller that they stole photos from….. http://www.artunderglass.etsy.com. Isn’t it pretty coincidental ? and just shows they are the copy cats and not us hard working etsy gals??

  13. etsycallout April 3, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    Amy- Did you sell wholesale lots to those people or are they just making their own version?

  14. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    No…. I didn’t wholesale to them. I’ve looked through my records and don’t see that company name. I am trying to contact them, but finding it very difficult. Anyone have their email address? Thank you for your help…..it’s truly appreciated.

  15. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    Can I also add that I offer ‘custom’ photo pendants? Here’s a link to the custom photo pendants I make…. http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=42269992

    So, hopefully that will show I do indeed create my own pendants.

  16. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    Oh dear….hold the phone ! I may have wholesaled to this website and didn’t realize it….. ugh….. let me do some more digging. Thanks for your patience! 🙂

  17. Life During Wartime April 3, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    Amy, I am guessing they ‘reverse engineered’ your charms –took them apart to duplicate your images — and then had theirs manufactured somewhere. And they have the balls to sell the copies as ‘vintage’.

    Didn’t Etsy have a policy way back when of assisting sellers who are ripped off by mass manufacturers?

  18. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    wow…. if that is true, I’m just sick. Not sure of that policy….but sounds like a good one.

  19. WTFISAPDF April 3, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    I’m confused. A local shop carries these identical pendants and I know from formerly owning a B&M that One World Imports is a large, reputable wholesaler.

    So, is the Etsy seller selling to the wholesaler? Or is this a fake One World Imports website?

    In any event, many of these pendants sell in a shop near me for $16. I know the owner of the shop so I think I’ll take a stroll there and ask where they get them from.

  20. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    I’m still searching my records to see if I’ve sold to them….. but all I’ve found is an Etsy convo from them asking if I wholsale. I told them my terms and never heard back. So I’m wondering if they just took my photos and then will order form me if they sell any? So strange.

  21. jcjohn April 3, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    they are located in Utah, seems.

  22. jcjohn April 3, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    Amy, you might want to create a profile telling others a bit about yourself and your creative process…..that might help with the “reseller” appearance.

  23. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    Thanks…..you’re right , I should create a profile…..just not the best at writing about myself. I like to create more than write! 🙂

  24. Em April 3, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    I don’t want to take sides here, but if your designs really are yours and copyrighted, then just send them a good ol’ cease and desist letter.

  25. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    Already working on that… thanks!

    And for those of you still in doubt….. pleeease take a look at my shop and see that I offer ‘custom photo’ pendants.
    That might make it easier to see that I really do make my own pendants.

  26. Life During Wartime April 3, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    WTFISAPDF, if a shop near you sells the pendants for $16, it doesn’t seem possible that that shop gets them from One World who gets them wholesale from Amy or other artists. That would mean that at $16, the shop near you, One World, and Amy, are all making a profit. After One World and the shop near you pay mailing costs to pass the pendants from seller to seller to seller.

    It only looks profitable to me if One World is copying pendants (or a supplier or manufacturer that sells to One World is copying them) and One World is buying them at a mass produced price…like less than a buck per charm. I am not familiar with One World, but the name suggests their sources are manufacturers in developing nations.

    Amy, if someone purchased several of your charms with the idea of maybe copying them, the purchase was most likely made by an individual. No way would they want you to suspect they were working for an offshore manufacturer.

  27. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    not sure if I can add photos here….but here’s a photo of my (messy) soldering workspace…..click below…..

  28. MadeByM**** April 3, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    I had to prove that I made my stuff to get into a juried craft show and I had to show a photo of my workspace and my products in different stages of work……showing a picture of “your” work area doesn’t prove a whole lot. I can find hundreds of photos of the same thing.

  29. Etsy person April 3, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    Since some of the images look to be artchix
    http://www.artchixstudio.com
    if they copied you, did they buy the images from artchix or did they photocopy yours when they reverse engineered them or ???

  30. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    Update…… I sent cease and desist letter. I also spoke with Talita, owner of Wholesale Imports website, on the phone…. she said she is ‘looking into the matter’ and will get back to me.

    Crossing fingers this will get resolved soon.

  31. Mike Thair April 3, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    Amy, certainly glad to see you here and able to defend yourself.

  32. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Thanks for those of you who are supporting me….. I spoke to Talita and she said she WILL have the photos down within a couple days. Here is her email address if in doubt …talitao@hotmail.com. Or write to her through the website.

    Im in shock I have to defend my work…. I never would have thought. I have worked so hard on my designs. And regarding the few ‘artchix’ pendants…. Those are from collage sheets they sell on their website and I had express permission to use them. All others are my designs.

    Also…. I sell custom photo pendants… still don’t know why anyone would doubt me? This isn’t a hobby …. just trying hard to pay bills like everyone else. This is devestating that people are questioning . 😦

  33. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    Updated photo to those who said I couldve gotten the photo anywhere:

    ??
    Gosh… I thought being able to wholesale to shops was a good thing…. now I’m scared that if someone sees my work in a store, they’re going to question where they originated. 😦

  34. Em April 3, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    Sorry, Amy, I hope you understand it’s easy to misinterpret when there’s wholesalers involved. With all the people on Etsy who are resellers, it’s much more likely that they are getting the pieces from the supplier, and not vice-versa.

  35. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    I do understand that there may be people on Etsy who are less than honest….. but I sure hope not ‘most’ of them are. How sad.

    I thought it would be easy to see that I do actually solder these myself, since I offer custom photo pendants… ?

    I spoke to Talita again (owner of the Wholesale Imports website) …. hoping for a speedy take down of the photos….. she has to wait for her web designer to do it…. You know I’ll be the first to let you know when they’re taken down. 🙂

  36. wahwah April 3, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    If you noticed, at the wholesaler website only some of the items have watermarked pictures, which leads me to believe the pics have been lifted from different sources.

    I believe you Amy.

  37. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    Thank yoooooooou, wahwah! Can’t tell you how good that sounds. 🙂

    I have also spoken to another Etsy seller who she has taken photos from…. http://www.artunderglass.com. She is in the same boat and says her photos were taken without consent as well.

  38. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    OOPS! Wrong website…. http://www.artunderglass.etsy.com

  39. WTFISAPDF April 3, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique Says:
    April 3, 2010 at 10:06 am
    ONE WORLD IMPORTS has STOLEN graphics…… they are NOT the originators of the pendants. TICKLE ME PINK designs and solders her OWN PENDANTS. They have not only stolen MY PHOTOS and designs… it looks like OTHER designers as well.
    ————————–

    First Amy said she designed all her own, then when someone found some of her designs at Artchix, she said she uses them with permission. So, they are not all her designs as first stated.

    The jury is still out for me on this one.

  40. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    I can’t design most of them, and use a few from collage sheets that I like? Sorry…. I don’t know what that is wrong?

  41. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    Obviously there are skeptics….. that’s okay. I know that these are my designs….. the Wholesale imports gal will have my photos take down shortly. And like I say… contact the other etsy sellers that she took from as well. We can all collaborate, so shouldn’t be hard to understand.

  42. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    Gosh … Im confused. Isn’t it okay to use collage sheets? 99% of my pendants are my designs…. and because I found a small few from collage sheets, I shouldn’t use them as well? I like to support other artists…. I thought that was a good thing???

  43. imwithya April 3, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    Amy- make sure to get screen shots of your designs on that website. I think it’s ridiculous that the owner doesn’t know how to remove the items herself… she can’t delete merchandise from her own site?

  44. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    Thank you imwithya!
    Yes… I agree, I don’t know why she can’t do it herself….. but she assures me they will be down within a couple days. I guess all I can do is wait.

  45. Etsy person April 3, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    If she bought the art from Artchix, she is allowed to use it. However, if the other party “copied” her work (such as scanned it or whatever), they didn’t purchase it directly from Artchix and are not allowed to use it under those conditions.

  46. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    Yes… I assure you I purchased them, and emailed the owner to make sure it was ok to use in pendants. I never would have dreamed it would start such a ruckus 😦

  47. JohnCocktoasten April 3, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    Loads of non-vintage and she is accepting bids through convos.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/conformityinfraction

  48. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    WTFISAPDF~~

    This discussion began as ‘who’ is the wholesaler, me or “wholesale imports”…..and whose pictures were whose. That’s what I was commenting on…. regardless if I use my own digital designs or use a few from a collage sheet, they are still ‘my designs’ and my photos that are being used…. (with the blue background). Does that make more sense? That’s what I was commenting on…… i wasn’t being dishonest. I was trying to convey that these originate from me, and that I am the wholesaler.

  49. Elle April 3, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    Here’s another.. http://www.oneworldimportsusa.com/products/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=67_108&products_id=452

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=43830388
    from BlackDawgStudio.etsy.com

    I actually marked this shop earlier today because I had no idea how they could be selling these pendants for so cheap! While making them herself.

    I am reserving judgment on this one.

  50. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

    Only 3 or 4 designs are from artchix…… the other 132 designs are mine…. I don’t think it’s fair to say ‘some’ are…… when VERY little is from artchix.

  51. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    UPDATE!!!!!!!!!!!!

    “Wholesale Imports” has now acknowledged the photos were taken from me…. and has taken them OFF her website. Please take a look….. Is this proof enough I am the original creator?

  52. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    THANK YOU Seriously….. that means ALOT to me. My stomach has been in knots ALL DAY.

    Happy Easter.

  53. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    Elle~

    Because that seller sells them so cheap….. just shows that she makes them herself. No way can she be purchasing from someone else and selling them on Etsy so cheap.

    By the way… Wholesale Imports has taken hers down now as well. 🙂

  54. Leslie April 3, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    Elle~

    Because that seller sells them so cheap….. just shows that she makes them herself. No way can she be purchasing from someone else and selling them on Etsy so cheap.

    *********
    LOL, Never heard that reasoning before. That is exactly why they sell it so cheap because it’s Made in China crap. No self respecting crafter would make a pendant and sell it for $5

  55. Becky April 3, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    Okay, this is the first time I have ever coomented here, but I am the other Etsy seller that Amy was referring to. She contacted me to tell me that this wholesale site stole her images & mine also, so I went & checked it out & sure enough they had quite a few of mine. Now I don’t normally get envolved in this stuff, but bottom line is, I don’t care if the designs are 100% mine or hers, if someone actually steals your PICTURES right off your shop, that is not right, I don’t really care whether some of Amy’s designs were made using digitall collage sheets that she purchased, that has nothing to do with the theft of Images from anothers shop. We are all here just trying to sell our craft & some of us do it for extra money & some to make a living & I am one of the later. I am having the same issue with my “Scrabble Tile” etsy shop along with alot of other “Scrabble Shops” that a lady has gone & stolen alot of our images & claiming that they are hers, it is very frustrating, because I work 10 to 15 hours a day at this & someone can come along & just completely steal your images that you work so hard on. This girls has actually put an announcement saying that she has had to put watermarks on hers, because people are stealing hers. It is crazy because all of us can prove that we were selling the images long before she even started. Etsy will not do anything about it, so that is just something that we have to deal with! I don’t mean to be ranting, but it is crazy that there are people out there that just don’t care what they do to others. I am now redoing my artunderglass shop with new photos, the way I used to instead of pasting them on, that way no none can steal the images. They can still steal the ideas, which is okay with me, just actually have to make them up yourself, that’s all I say. I just went to that wholesaler & the images are not on there anymore, so I applaud Amy for getting it taken care of!!

  56. Paperika April 3, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    I totally agree. I had issues with this blog when I first found out through my GA. I think it’s better to do your homework FIRST, then if it’s needed call them out. I think publishing bashing a hardworking artist is just plain wrong.
    If Amy really didn’t make her own pendants, why would she go through all the trouble of posting her workspace, then going back and actually write on a piece of paper that it’s her workspace. If she had something to hide, she wouldn’t have done that. And yeah, that wholesale’s website was weird.
    Amy I am glad you came here and stood up for yourself. You have a beautiful shop and you should be proud! Good Luck on the rest of your sales.

  57. etsycallout April 3, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    So if this was never posted she would have never known about that wholesaler site. Any sort of small thank you for bringing that to light?! Of course not.

    How does a wholesaler having Amy’s photos on their site mean that I did not do my homework? You mean I should have used my psychic abilities to see that they stole photos?

  58. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    Thank you Becky and thank you Paperika!!! I appreciate that sooooooooo much!!!!! 🙂

    Etsycallout~~~ What they are saying is the nice thing would’ve been to contact me personally instead of on here on public display….. and make me take a whole day away from work and family to fight back….. when I did nothing wrong.

    Thanks everyone! Happy Easter!!

  59. etsycallout April 3, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    Because we all know when people get contacted about maybe reselling that they always tell the truth. Not saying that would be you but you know what, we’ve been doing this for over a year and most people don’t bat an eye lying to Etsy so why would they give us the truth? Plus you had your photos on a wholesaler’s website that is usually cut and dry 99.9% of the time.

  60. Amy @ Tickle Me Pink Boutique April 3, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    THANK YOU for bringing that website to my attention Etsycallout…. just wish you would have contacted me first, that’s all. 🙂

Comments are closed.

