MyMayaMade- Reader Email

6 Apr

Just wanted to run this by you:

I noticed a pair of long cable knit fingerless gloves on the “recently listed” page. I liked the color, so I clicked to this shop: mymayamade.etsy.com.
After a few clicks I noticed that these gloves were priced quite low for what they were (I do crochet, so I know) PLUS they had some very low quality photos, esp. the photo for this item http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=44148843 — it looks like it was pulled off a website.

MyMayaMade only has 3 items and was opened today (4/5/10). No other information, except that the profile states that it’s “Hademade with LOVE!” Uh.

I did some google-ing and found this: MyMayamade.com, which is for dog collars with crochet flowers etc on them (and the website is a bit tacky IMO). But did you know mymayamade has a President? That’s impressive. See this comment on http://74.125.95.132/search?q=cache:tOCTTZ2s_CMJ:www.stormdawg.com/stimulus-october/comment-page-15/+mymaya+pet+collars&cd=9&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us&client=firefox-a#idc-cover, halfway through page 6.

What’s also more impressive is that this president (“Jack Malken”) might also be the owner of Imforex. http://www.linkedin.com/pub/jack-malken/6/944/474. and http://imforex.com/. Both companies are based in Santa Barbara. And hey, Imforex also has a Beijing branch!

And the kicker: the phone # for Imforex and for MyMayaMade.com is THE SAME NUMBER.

So did I do enough research to prove that this is a reseller? It’s hard to tell sometimes. And normally I just sigh and say, wow this Etsy reseller problem is huge. But this time the possible reseller is on my turf. I work hard to crochet high quality items and to see sub-par work being sold at low prices is crossing a line with me.

I’ll also report all this to Etsy and see how it goes.
Thanks for listening, and for supporting ACTUAL handmade.

7 Responses to “MyMayaMade- Reader Email”

  1. L April 6, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    I dunno….this model looks asian to me.

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=vl_other_2&listing_id=44178273

    The second picture.

    I could be wrong, as there isnt much to go off of, but I use to spend a lot of time searching the overseas online fashion catalogs for new stuff 😛 Besides, some of the photos are too fuzzy to be hers. Its one of the easiest ways to spot a reseller (though yes, I know, some valid sellers just don’t size the original photos correctly).

    If I had to put in my two cents, I’d say reseller. Esp with this:

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=vl_other_2&listing_id=44148843

    Again, photo 2. Ugh.

  2. Em April 6, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    Wow… nice detective work! Those pictures definitely raise a red flag for me. If someone had actually paid a photographer or done those him/herself, I imagine they’d make sure they looked decent on the page.

  3. Etsy Person April 7, 2010 at 5:57 am #

    The dog collars look like they bought a bunch of close out collars on closeout at Big Lots then put some sweat shop touches on them. RESELLER!!!!

  4. PussDaddy April 9, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Ya’all be goin’ all Dick Tracy on us and stuff, lol.

  5. Hildegard Koiwai August 4, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    IT IS UTTERLY AMAZING THAT SOME OF YOU ARE SOOOOOO insecure,

  6. Hildegard Koiwai August 4, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    It is utterly amazing that some of you are sooooooo insecure, that the only THOUGHT and emotion you have left is to come up with such a contrived ” she must be a “Re-seller”
    the Lady is Chinese married to an prominent American Businessman – and you better prepare an immediate apology, before you get sued for Slander. She is one of the MOST talented I ‘ve come across in 30 Years in the yarn Business.

  7. Jack Malken August 5, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Regarding MyMayaMade, Yes I do own IMFOREX trading foreign currencies and we do very well, thank you! My wife loves to knit & crochet and has won many awards and contests with her work and does it non-stop. She has soooooo many requests for her items she decided to start MyMayaMade as a business. She started at the “Crafts Fair” in SB which examines everything and has extremely high standards. Her prices ARE NOT LOW, they’re FAIR because we don’t need the money! She also teaches! So if any of you jealous %$#$*&# want to improve your work…. well tough! My wife IS Chinese and works very very hard, if you have a problem with that … I have only two wards “&#$% You!”

Leave a Reply

