Strange Update on “Gwen Dickinson”

8 Apr

If that name does not ring a bell you can catch up here: https://etsycallout.wordpress.com/2010/03/02/e-books-super-shilling/ and read the comments.

This was posted today:
____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Hello everyone from a former “Gwen Dickinson”.

My name is Jennifer and I was hired by a bogus company to fill in for an apparently bogus person and “maintain contact” with her contact list while she was in the hospital being treated for her lupus (which they later referred to as “a type of cancer” not the autoimmune disease that it is).

I was given a list of contacts here on Etsy and told to just talk with them, chit-chat, talk about the weather, ask questions, etc.

While it might seem like a strange request to you guys, I’m a ghostwriter, and “pretending” to be other people is kind of what I do.

I was given only the most rudimentary background on Gwen, so when you guys started asking me about what I was working on next, and other details, I emailed both the company and their “fake” Gwen at another fake email address. They never responded, so I decided to do a Google search and stumbled upon this thread.

While I get into detail about how I handled this in my blog (http://shoestringsolutions.blogspot.com/2010/04/why-you-absolutely-must-google.html), now that I’ve ended my association with the company I wanted to personally apologize to all of you on the behalf of anyone who got rooked into contacting you guys and maintaining this charade.

As far as a I know, Gwen Dickinson has been retired. Her new identity is Gwendale Richards and her new website is http://www.mereinay.com.

If you here from anyone in this capacity, call them out and run!

As far as I know, they haven’t actually done anything illegal (yet, anyhow), but whatever they’re up to, it’s highly unethical and you should guard yourself against it.

For those of you pretending to be Gwen, understand that you’ll never get paid for your efforts. If you get contacted by a John Mitchel or a Rebecca Jameson from ASIB.org, you’ll wish it had never happened!

I wrote under the handle “gwen.dickinson.g@mereiana.com”. If I messaged you, I’m sorry, but I did really enjoy talking with all of you, and Stumbled your items so that you could hopefully get some sales and exposure. I tried to give good advice and inspiration.

If any of you want to continue talking with the real me, the one that LOVES Etsy and it’s artists, follow my blog or send me a message…

Warmest Wishes,

Jennifer Gibbs

36 Responses to “Strange Update on “Gwen Dickinson””

  1. Life During Wartime April 8, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    I’m really not going to laugh at this one because I think the person who wrote the above has problems.

    If I earned money ‘ghost writing’, why would I out myself this way over one transaction that went bad? I’d just put it behind me and keep on doing what I do.

    No one in their right mind would want to be associated with Gwen and her overflowing sock drawer full of ‘customers’.

    Etsy needs to block this person from the site, including the forums. Just my opinion.

  2. ugh April 8, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    Yep.

    Not to mention, one would think a “ghostwriter” would proofread their work, and not mix up the words ” hear” and “here”

    bogus.

  3. wahwah April 8, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Very odd.

  4. JohnCocktoasten April 8, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Say what?

  5. LaurenNik2 April 8, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    Huh?

    I bet the person who posted that is probably “Gwen Dickinson.” Prob just found out what other people said about her and responded as “Jennifer Gibbs.” Now she is trying to get people to go to her blog. Weak attempt at self promoting? Which is which and who is real who know’s. This thread should prob be deleted. Very odd indeed.

  6. LaurenNik2 April 8, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    Yeah I agree with “Life during wartime” someone should ban this “Jennifer Gibbs” cough.. “Gwen Dickinson”

  7. imwithya April 8, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Very strange.

  8. JohnCocktoasten April 8, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    Take your meds, people!

  9. ugh April 8, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    Etsy still accepting gifts? AND tweeting about it!! You think they would’ve learned their lesson with the DXO fiasco a few months ago

    http://www.facebook.com/Etsy

    Etsy says @kellibeans from twitter sent us this great lamp
    BACON BRIGHT bacon floor lamp custom painted bacon by mgenomgeno http://www.etsy.com

    And yep, kellibeans has an etsy shop

  10. Berniejay12 April 8, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    I think I just figured out this whole Gwen dickinson mystery. (guess)
    The above poster which apparently is now ‘Jennifer Gibbs’ was trying to do something and whatever it was didn’t work. If you see her blog she is all about business and making money or so it seems.
    Being called out combined with the guilt (probably) made her post that odd message above. So now she is trying to put the blame on some non profit organization which I doubt has anything to do with her. If you think about
    it why didn’t this alias mention some big shot like triple B, they’re too big so it prob wouldn’t be realistic to use them? Maybe?

    If I’m right then that’s an (dare I say it) impressive strategy for an excuse and this “Jennifer Gibbs”..if it’s a her/him/it’s real name has some serious psychological issues.
    Anyways just a wild guess…

  11. BundtPan April 8, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    If Jennifer’s blog is claiming her former clients are frauds [“www.ASIB.org is a FRAUD! Gwen Dickinson (www.mereiana.com) is a FRAUD! Gwendale Richards (www.mereinay.com) is a FRAUD!”] , how could this be “Gwen” herself? Why would Gwen link to a blog saying Gwen is a fraud? It makes no sense to me.

  12. Etsy Person April 8, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    I hope the new health care plan has really, really good psychiatric care. This shows why.

  13. Oilytan April 8, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    Makes sense to me only because it’s probably not supposed to make sense to people who aren’t crazy lol ^

    But seriously what does this have to do with actual problems going on a etsy today???

  14. Craigmachine April 8, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    Wow suck it up and make use of your next ‘client’ maybe? An attitude like that and you won’t succeed at business, if that’s what you are trying to do. It’s probably why you got exposed. Glad it happened, hopefully we won’t hear of your ‘ways’ again…

  15. MemoryLane April 8, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    Um I watched this whole issue from the beginning and I still need a map.. I’m going to go watch the Etsy forums where people are deceitful to your face

  16. Sherryl3a April 8, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    Well I finished reading..

    Please be sure to see a psychologist.

    Whoever you are I think you are both a racist and a psycho.

  17. detroit April 8, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    HA HA HA!! What???

    This made my evening. Which, isn’t hard.

  18. forum rubbernecker April 8, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    WTF?

  19. pussdaddy April 8, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    ZOMG the drama and the fricking subterfuges and shit.

  20. Trudy April 8, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    <————–Uh Alice the Rabbit Hole is over there

  21. Elle April 9, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    The “answer” just leaves more questions. I wonder if she was “instructed” to do the fake listings and purchases as well?

    This whole case creeps me out.

  22. Ginna April 9, 2010 at 5:00 am #

    Okay, this whole thing is just freaking weird. It is also kind of weird that Jennifer’s blog is relatively new and is not very professional looking at all for someone who is suppose to be a professional writer.

    And, like Ugh said, what professional writer interchanges simple words like “hear” and “here?”

  23. MadeByM**** April 9, 2010 at 5:32 am #

    Where was this letter posted?

  24. Jamiestars April 9, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    The so called “client” doesn’t even have that option or anywhere where it says people can work for them so I think she is pulling that out of her you know what.
    > comment down Ginna – Yes it is rather odd how her blog is very recent. I noticed my post on her blog was deleted wtf? What’s the point of allowing comments if everything is screened out. I wouldn’t be surprised if she is the one responding to herself lol.

    I’m still not sure what to make up of all this but I think she’s probably behind it all. Who knows I just hope that etsy does a better job of screening people in the future!

  25. notvintage April 9, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Etsy? Screen anything? SURELY YOU JEST! If Etsy screened anything they would have to fire everyone who works for them.

  26. Terry-Ann April 9, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    ^ Lol I wish

  27. notvintage April 9, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    I should have put the word “works” in quotes. Think air quotes– Etsy employees tweet their twats off and get paid for it. They are ignorant (meaning they don’t know shit about shit).

  28. PussDaddy April 9, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    Shake the Etsy tree and wait to see what nuts fall out.

  29. Angel April 10, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Okay. Issue closed. Gwen wasn’t actually a person and it was confirmed.

    Move along now, drama queens.

  30. one eyed pete April 11, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    It looks like she does do some writing. Her personal website has expired/

    http://ezinearticles.com/?expert_bio=Jennifer_Gibbs

  31. Em April 11, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    WTF Angel… This is what the blog is for… discussing effed up things going on on Etsy.

  32. Ya betcha April 11, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    She claims to have “worked” for the Ron Paul campaign but in fact she espouses her support of globalism. There’s no way a globalist would be allowed in that campaign. :O

    I’m thinking she’s either lying about this or has the worst discernment in world history.

  33. PussDaddy April 15, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    It was probably a typo and she meant RuPaul.

  34. ThatGirl April 16, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    Wow. I’d never hire this lady as a ghostwriter. In her blog she says she ‘fires a client’. If someone is your client, that means that they are paying YOU.

    She goes on to complain about not being paid. If she signed a contract (like freelance writers with sense do) then there should have been something in the contract about completing the work in order to receive compensation. If there was no contract, then shame on her for working without one. If there was, then she could easily take legal action instead of simply complaining.

    Additionally, as a ghost writer, there should have been something in the contract about keeping herself under wraps. That’s the whole point of ghost writing. Just by outing her assignment here, she is could be voiding any contract she may have had. I hope she moves on to bigger and better things, it looks like there was a lesson in this for her.

  35. laughing lark June 13, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    Yeah, this post is ooooooold, but as a freelance graphic designer, I have also had occasion to “fire” a client. It’s a very common usage of the word. My husband owns a large recycling company and he also refers to “firing” customers.

    Jennifer’s explanation about the NDF was correct. Those “contracts” become null and void legally when you are not paid by the other signing parties, among other things. The contract was not fulfilled by the company hiring her, so…null and void…it becomes a non-contract.

    Both of these issues are common knowledge in the business community.

  36. Zezo March 17, 2016 at 8:14 am #

    amei a postagem muito legal mesmo

Leave a Reply

