Reader Email and niceclothes

21 Apr
Hi there-
I came across this store today on etsy. http://www.etsy.com/shop/Lana0Crystal It has “handmade” right in the banner, so you KNOW it’s good!
First of all, read the profile.  It sounds like a pod person wrote it, trying its best to pass for the “typical” etsy seller.
There are the massive amounts of stock, the dirt cheap prices: offensive, but not a smoking gun of someone misrepresenting herself. Or himself.  What gets me are the stud earrings that she claims are handmade, which are WHITE GOLD PLATED.  Do you think Lana O’Crystal does some gold plating while she’s getting dinner ready for her kids?  If so, she should really keep that voltometer and the arsenic solution well away from the mac n’ cheese.
Sorry for the sarcasm, but this makes me so angry.  Etsy will not do anything about it.  As far as I’m concerned, you are performing a public service.  Thank you.
______________________________________________________________________________

What is this shop announcement about?! Did they just admit they have employees?? Support my employees- when they have things to sew because I got paid for it that is important to me!
I will give you the lowest price, because I need a well-known design. In June, I will resume my price. Hope my dear friend seize this opportunity. You will get beautiful clothes. All my clothes are hand-made employees. I need your support and encouragement. I hope you like our design. Please enjoy, feel free to contact me. Your support will be my motivation.
20 Responses to “Reader Email and niceclothes”

  1. shinshan April 21, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    This shop – lanacrystal – is a direct rip off of another very successful etsy sellers old shop – peachesforme. When she started copying that shop her sales went through the roof…you could tell from the older pages in her shop that her style was much different before she found someone successful to copy!

  2. shinshan April 21, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Well – I just checked and all her older pieces are gone…she even copied the tag line and the announcement, even the names of the jewelry. Peachesforme has since gone on to start a new shop with a slightly different style…

  3. itstinks April 21, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    Niceclothes appears to be gone. Is that the wrong link or did etsy actually delete someone?

  4. MadeByM**** April 21, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    I do think Niceclothes was deleted! Cool!

    Another powerseller that won’t ever go away……a copier AND a reseller!

    Gosh, what am I doing wrong……that’s what I get for following the rules!

  5. Brian April 21, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    LanaOCrystal obviously just buys supplies from etsy sellers such as DangsSupplies or SunBijioux, just like a LOT of other etsy sellers. Nothing really original in her store, but nothing “etsy illegal” that I can see. Lots of sellers buy gold plated birds or branches or whatever and glue posts on them for earrings, or hang a plated branch on a chain, etc. BUT, if you search etsy supplies for “gold plated dandelion” you’ll see these same studs that LanaOCrystal is selling at SunBijioux who is selling them as a supply. They are totally pre-made earrings complete with the posts—not really a supply at all. So Lana just bought these and is selling them as handmade–nothing hand assembled or altered in those earrings.

  6. detroit April 22, 2010 at 5:07 am #

    Off topic, but this popped up in ‘items being listed right now’ on Etsy. I clicked on it, because it screamed reseller:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/45313932/red-cute-check-halter-neck-top-55?ref=fp_recent

    Thought I’d google the name in the picture ‘idomcatsss’, came across their ebay store, with thousands of feedbacks, and then found this – a warning about feedback scams perpetrated by…idomcatsss:

    http://reviews.ebay.com/fake-high-feedback-scores-Beware-Asian-fashion-sellers_W0QQugidZ10000000012902723

    Haven’t researched this further. MAYBE they’re just innocent, hard working crafters. Yeah. Sure.

  7. detroit April 22, 2010 at 5:18 am #

    Well, reported the shop:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/fashionclothing

    Will it get removed today??

  8. luckyshots April 22, 2010 at 5:30 am #

    Look people, like it or not . . . charms on chains are Etsy legal.
    Could we put this line under the title of this blog? There are much worse offenses on Etsy.

  9. BitchenStitchen2 April 22, 2010 at 6:31 am #

    detroit Says:
    April 22, 2010 at 5:18 am
    Well, reported the shop:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/fashionclothing

    Will it get removed today??
    **************************************
    clicked on the link and it’s gone

  10. luckyshots April 22, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    Oh, and for your viewing pleasure:

    http://www.etsy.com/treasury/c485ea1deb4ed04b0d668400/chain-chain-chain

  11. wahwah April 22, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    Ahaha! Nice treasury.

    Did you guys see the lady on the forum whining because she was in too many treasuries and couldn’t handle reading all the convos?

    Pleeze.

  12. wahwah April 22, 2010 at 8:11 am #

    This shop, featured on FP of course, if full of stuff obviously not handmade (by the seller of course).

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/greenduckweed

  13. Life During Wartime April 22, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    Etsy loves shops like greenduckweed. I have given up flagging fantasy items (factory produced stuff made to look like it could be vintage) I find listed in handmade categories and vintage. Even though I added URLs for proof whenever possible, no item I flagged was ever removed. And they sold.

    Etsy, a global flea market.

  14. Life During Wartime April 22, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    Etsy admins (I know you are reading this): it’s a dead give away an item was manufactured in a country that doesn’t use the Roman alphabet when in the phrase DRINK MILK FOR HEALTH, the word DRINK is written PRLNK. Obviously you didn’t take 2 minutes to visit greenduckweed’s shop before you featured them in an Etsy curated front page collection. It sucks that you put a reseller product in there instead of one of the hundreds of thousands of authentic handmade items to choose from on Etsy.

    Your new SCAM (selecting commerical and manufactured) system is working well for handmade marketplace integrity.

  15. L April 23, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    From http://www.etsy.com/people/greenduckweed ‘s profile:

    “I am a IT professional with variety of interests. I like traveling, photography, arts, home improvement, sewing, knitting ……. I love nature and the things made of natural materials.”

    Didn’t you mean “I am an IT professional” ?

    Irony.

  16. L April 23, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    Ugh! And again from their policies page:

    “We are confident that every item is as described. If there is a problem with your purchase, you must email us within 3 days upon receiving the item/s to tell us of the problem. They must be returned in the packaging and box used to ship them. You are responsible for return shipping charges.”

    …..WE? US? … really? I mean, I know some people refer to their business in that form to seem more professional- however, etsy is about individuality and one person’s work. Really getting down home and personal there. How do they get featured with NO announcement, a horrid policies page, grammatical errors, and a shoddy profile?

    *sigh*

  17. etsycopy May 1, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    regarding peachesforme and lana; Etsy is a big copycat land. It’s all a charade. People buy .20 cents supply charm, put it on a chain and sell it for 20 bucks. bullshit

  18. mahlicadesigns May 4, 2010 at 4:53 am #

    idomcatss is back with a new shop.
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/hkclothesfa
    so glad etsy is on top of these frauds.

  19. doodette May 13, 2010 at 12:39 am #

    @etsycopy says “regarding peachesforme and lana; Etsy is a big copycat land. It’s all a charade. People buy .20 cents supply charm, put it on a chain and sell it for 20 bucks.”

    This irks me to no end. I can’t STAND it.. I make jewelry and I MAKE IT.. like…for real. I really really try to make unique and special designs.. yes, I’ve made a few very simple earrings, a bead with an earwire and call it handmade… but for FUCK’S SAKE! A whole shop of nothing original? It makes my eyes bleed.
    I just slaved over a REALLY COOL, multistrand necklace for hours.. it’s the only thing I made today. I will call it HANDMADE.

    I can’t say anything publicly because I have a good friend who has an Etsy shop that basically makes the same thing .. a trig on a chain… a leaf on a chain…. and she’s successful at it. I shrug. Really? I have the same leaves and chains in my supply collection too but I’m going to MAKE SOMETHING out of mine.

    OK.. thanks for the rant.

  20. Or June 4, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

    Not all jewerlers are artisans who make their own parts for the jewelry ,Most of them are designers who work hard to get the right charms and chains and combined them uniquly.
    There are very good artisans on Etsy who supply those items and it is very easier to work with them and try to give your own touch.
    I am making most of my items and also i make gold plating my self at my home studio , But somtimes i do buy ready parts for my work and it takes time and money also for that.
    Hand made is different from industrial work , You make one by one ,you buy very few parts so it cost more. you try your designs ,I think it is legal to do that without copying fro other sellers.

Leave a Reply

