This Week’s Controversy-

19 May

Resellers. Then SEO. Then the Suggested Shops. Then the T East. Now the Mature Fallout-

This poll has been set up to not allow duplicate voting.

59 Responses to “This Week’s Controversy-”

  1. Stephica May 19, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    Having sold one pearl g-string, the reseller ass is back in Suzanne Brown’s treasury. Suzanne Brown, who is an award-winning graphic designer that I certainly wouldn’t hire.

    Suzanne Brown also removed my comments alerting her to the presence of a reseller. So she knows, she just doesn’t give a rat’s ass.

    http://www.etsy.com/treasury/4bf00fc215706d91f706a5c7/what-dad-really-wants-on-june-21st

    http://www.tineye.com/search/03eb68d9db3e2aaaa66a20fda2485da73c6b97dd

    I don’t understand why Etsy is featuring Suzanne Brown’s treasuries if she’s going to break their rules.

    And I wouldn’t be up in arms if this wasn’t a reseller. The adult issue doesn’t bother me, although I would like Etsy to adhere to their own rules. Why is it the only rule they enforce with any consistency is the “calling out” rule?

  2. TreasuredCock May 20, 2010 at 3:11 am #

    I think the mature sellers should get a break on their listing fees if their items are filtered.

  3. WTFISAPDF May 20, 2010 at 4:50 am #

    I think it’s great that Etsy is giving consumers a choice as to whether they wish to view mature content. Those who are interested in buying those items will opt in, and those who opt out weren’t likely to buy anyway.

    The bottom line is that there are sellers violating the TOS by not following the procedure for mature items and the treasury curators, knowing they created a controversy, did nothing to change their treasuries to make sure they complied with the TOS.

    So if they think it’s now censorship and ruined… well, they did this to themselves. Trying to be a smart ass and skirt the TOS … well, what did they expect?

  4. girl May 20, 2010 at 5:54 am #

    I don’t care if mature listings are there and in my search when I’m at home but I don’t need to have any of the non-censored listings poping up when I’m at work or in a public place.

    I don’t want Etsy to be banned at my work where I do most of my online buying.

  5. RocksInMySocks May 20, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    Personally, I have no problem with these items being allowed on Etsy. NONE AT ALL! I do think the sellers of some of these items must be incredibly immature and obviously get a thrill out of trying to offend people. They brought this situation on themselves by pushing it in the buyer’s faces and hiding behind stupid statements like “Etsy is an adult site.”

    An adult site is one that requires you to be 21 to enter. Etsy is a site that anyone can access and abiding by the TOU would have allowed all of this to be avoided. I don’t want potential buyers of my items to be offended and run off the site by the childish antics of those who sell mature items.

  6. MadeByM**** May 20, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    Mature is mature…….regardless if it bothers you or if you don’t mind it. BUT, it should be YOUR choice to view it or not. Take a vegan, for example, who is probably against the slaughtering of animals and when they went to view the Treasuries and there was a treasury with photos depicting slaughterhouses I can bet you they would be totally offended and want the choice to view it or not……not have it there for everyone to see…..same thing goes for mature items. Even though everyone wants their freedoms to do what they want, they forget their freedoms stop where mine start.

  7. MadeByM**** May 20, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    RocksInMySocks……..I totally agree with you!

    I know I’m not a prude but if I’m shopping for a bib for my grandson or an MP3 holder for my daughter or a gift for my mother, I don’t want to come across adult toys unexpectedly. Adult toys and erotic art and “tobacco” pipes are out there and I know it and they don’t offend me for the most part, but I don’t want them to pull up unless I look for them specifically.

    I am glad Etsy is doing something about it! Even they recognize that mature items still need to be restricted……even though they say they are doing it because they are a global site and need to stay “G rated”, I think they also realize that there may be some legal ramifications if they don’t comply with industry standards, such as clicking on a button that says you’re over 18 or 21 before entering the site! Good job, Etsy! (did I really just stay that?)

  8. delete it all May 20, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    personally, I think it should all be gone completely, you dont see that crap on sites that are well respected as shopping sites. Where the average sale is in the triple digits…

    Etsy is getting a really bad reputation between the nasty stuff and the pure garbage.

  9. JOINAA May 20, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    It’s about ENFORCING THE RULES which is Etsy Staff’s fundamental problem. They come up with these half-assed plans, probably while sitting around drinking their Starbucks and sharing a doobie, then vote and go get ‘er done.

    ADHD is fine if used properly. If someone is not suited to making logical decisions, why are they paid to do it????

  10. ArtTales May 20, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    I agree with everyone and at least ECO can leave the drama behind. Bravo

  11. Life During Wartime May 20, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    JOINAA, you are so right! Etsy already has rules in the TOU to deal with mature items, what can be listed and sold, and all the issues addressed by ECO.

    But for some reason, no one at Etsy is enforcing the rules. More and more people out in cyberspace are catching on to the fact that Etsy is becoming the Usenet of online selling communities where anything goes (except pointing out Etsy’s failures to enforce its own rules) and k00ks are welcome to act out, all in the name of online socializing and entertainment.

  12. willowandme May 20, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    I am not a prude and don’t mind if people want to sell “mature” items, but whoever above said that it’s not an adult site and anyone can access it is right. A while back I went to the FP and there was something quite racy on there. I don’t remember what it was, but it was racy enough to really surprise me. I just thought, imagine if someone comes to Etsy for the first time and sees that. They are going to get the idea that that is all Etsy is about, when it obviously isn’t.

  13. RocksInMySocks May 20, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    I do feel horrible that shops who sell mature items and follow the rules are being penalized because of a few asshats who were so eager to rub these violations in everyone’s face.

  14. Stephica May 20, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    I’ve got a comment awaiting moderation, but I just wanted to point out that Suzanne Brown (aeon11) is deliberately using the TOU reseller ass pearl thong image to keep her treasury at the top. She put it up again after it sold and she deletes any comment that is negative at all or refers to the beads specifically, so I think that she might yank the beads around Father’s Day so that it is a FP safe treasury with a lot of comments, views and clicks.

    She’s apparently been a guest treasurer for Etsy, as her treasuries have been on the front page 9 times since she started making them a month ago.

    Should I bother emailing Etsy about this in hopes they won’t feature one of her treasuries again?

  15. Christine May 20, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    Can someone explain the huge outcry in the Etsy forums about censorship? Etsy is doing the right thing by filtering adult content. They are not taking it away. Sellers are still able to list mature content it’s just that it won’t come up if I don’t want it to. Might be fine if I’m at home but as someone else said not if I’m at the office.

  16. Life During Wartime May 20, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Stephica, I see Suzanne deleted all of your references to the pearly arse thong shop being a reseller and using a stolen photo.

    The photo of that item reappeared when the seller relisted the item. I’m guessing she has a box of them bought from the wholesale source.

    It cracks (!) me up when I see that photo still up there…not because it is ‘mature’ but because it is a stolen photo of a reseller item, and Etsy doesn’t care!

  17. Dee May 20, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    EM, look at the sellers location. Take a wild guess. What a crappy picture.

  18. Andrea May 20, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    What’s wrong with the earrings?

  19. WTFISAPDF May 21, 2010 at 3:52 am #

    Nothing wrong with the earrings. The picture just isn’t FP worthy. It’s blurry and not the norm for the FP. But the seller is from Broooklyn.

    I can’t believe that Etsy still hasn’t removed the reseller pearly thong piece of crap. That treasury curator must be damn proud to be the cause of so much uproar. She’s really giving the “in your face” attitude.

  20. MadeByM**** May 21, 2010 at 5:35 am #

    Perfect example of “mature” items pulling up unexpectedly…..yesterday I was searching for “martini” related stuff, like glasses, art, etc. What pops up? The infamous vulva necklaces (VulvaLoveLovely)! WTF! Personally, I think that shop needs to be following the mature TOU’s for many of her items. They had nothing to do with martinis!

  21. JK May 21, 2010 at 7:33 am #

    I’ve had VLL’s stuff come up in some searches that I never thought would end with a fake vag on the screen. Don’t know what her tags are like since I don’t care for her work — I have no need to look at someone else’s, since I have one of my own!

  22. MadeByM**** May 21, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    Yeah, I just don’t get the genital fad that’s going on right now……..all I know is when I’m looking for MARTINI stuff, I don’t want to find her kind of “art” or anyone else’s! Blech!

  23. MadeByM**** May 21, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    It was brought up how other countries ban access to many websites, such as youtube or facebook, because of their belief systems, etc. I just saw this morning on the news about how Iran banned access to youtube.

    Now, that’s what true censorship is………not putting a filter on it! Etsy is NOT censoring mature listings, just filtering and/or restricting the viewing of these items.

    Just like the “freedom of speech” justification for saying whatever you want in the forums…..people really need to pull their heads out and read what freedom of speach and censorship really is!

  24. MadeByM**** May 21, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    Ooops, that should be SPEECH!

  25. socks May 21, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    The blame for the initial uproar can be firmly placed on the treasury curators who started this whole thing. And they, and all the rule breakers they so gleefully featured, deserve what they get. As do any and all sellers who can’t be bothered to follow the damn TOU.

    I noticed today the penis and vagina and tampon or whatever treasuries are off the first page. But of course classy Suzanne Brown’s is still on top – she did delete her bitchy comment that the first three pictures in the treasury were chosen to spite those people who were complaining (including the giant ass, which I always figured was supposed to mean she was mooning everyone? oh, and also showing her support for the fine practice of reselling).

    Oh and DesignedByLucinda is at it again with her famous I’m-being-willfully-obtuse-to-prove-a-point threads where she just ends up looking like a tremendous dumbass. At least in version 2 of her thread (lost track of the first incarnation) Stellaloella steps in on page one and actually relays pertinent, useful, concise, and correct info, quoting the TOUs and explaining specifically why Etsy is not an adults only site, and people are STILL following Lucinda’s example and pretending not to understand. That, or they really are just that stupid.

    Derp, what’s ‘general audience’ mean?
    Um, general? Everyone?
    So like, a 6 year old?
    Yes, everyone.
    Wait, you mean like a grandma?
    ….like everyone.

    Its like people wandering around that store called Everything’s a Dollar and asking for price checks on everything they pick up.

  26. uh-huh May 21, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    The Etsy forums are just insane now. Something/someone makes me annoyed every time I go in there. The same few people screaming and demanding stuff, others repeatedly jumping in yelling ‘TOUs’ and ‘calling out’. Craziness.

  27. Voice May 21, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    I don’t know what sellers are so upset about. If I were a seller of mature items, I’d stop tagging my items “mature” so that my items wouldn’t fall into the “opt-in” filter. Etsy doesn’t bother to enforce tagging anyway. Problem solved.

  28. PussDaddy May 21, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    Lucinda isn’t the only one who if they actually had a brain would be dangerous.

    PussDaddy

  29. MadeByM**** May 21, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    Its like people wandering around that store called Everything’s a Dollar and asking for price checks on everything they pick up.

    ******************************

    That’s hilarious! But that’s the perfect comparison!

  30. MadeByM**** May 21, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Maybe they need to explain it as “G-rated”, you know, just like in them there movies……………not PG, not PG-!3, not R and for sure not X or XXX rated!

    Maybe then some of the will finally get a clue!

  31. Trag May 21, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    I’m actually a little bit worried about this mature filter thing. I sell items that might be called “mature” though they are certainly not genitals or anything. I sell a few subversive cross stitches in my shop and have had a few curse words in them, always censored in the first picture so that no one has to see the words if they don’t want to. Do I need to put those under mature now? I thought I was following the rules how Etsy wanted them to be followed. What about things without curse words but with bad attitudes? How do those get marked? Argh. This is stupid.

  32. JK May 21, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    Trag, it sounds like you’re following the rules completely for that sort of items. I’m sorry other people had to make things harder for you by creating a problem and pretending not to understand why people didn’t like it.

  33. retrobabe May 21, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    If etsy had actually followed their own TOS and either removed the items that weren’t complying OR not let the “mature” treasuries on the FP of TEast to begin with, NONE of this would have happened.

    This is really ALL of etsy’s fault – another sign of etsy not following it’s own rules.

    Just like with resellers.

    If everyone got so pissed off about resellers – can you imagine how quickly the site would go back to “handmade” (vintage and supply too, of course)

  34. WTFISAPDF May 21, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    They don’t want to understand that general audience is the opposite of implied audience, with the later seeming to be what Etsy is trying to avoid.

    Desginedbyluncinda and the others are either so stupid that they can’t figure it out, or they are just looking to keep the fire storm fueled.

  35. Life During Wartime May 21, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    Etsy shoppers have class, real class. Two more sold today!

    http://www.etsy.com/shop_sold.php?user_id=9180468

  36. Kathy May 21, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    Maybe they are hoping if they buy it, it will get the big ass off the list.

  37. WTFISAPDF May 21, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    They have flashing red sucker signs on their foreheads.
    If they searched the web, they could have found them for $25 less.

  38. Stephica May 21, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    If people are using socks to buy those I fully condone it.

  39. Life During Wartime May 21, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    Kathy, that’s a little too pricey for a disinterested altruistic buy. At least I wouldn’t pay $29 for an item I can buy elsewhere for $8.99 or less. The way to make it go away is to call the shop out in the forums as a reseller, and include the link Stephica found with all the sites using the photo AND another webstore that sells this item, like
    http://pearlthongstore.com/main/
    WARNING: LINK IS NSFW

  40. WTFISAPDF May 21, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    Who’d call it out in the forum? I would but I’ve never posted in the forums before and don’t really want to start.

    Sadly, a call out is the only way that shop will get closed down fast.

  41. WTFISAPDF May 21, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    They have no clue what censorship really is. If Etsy were truly censoring, mature items would be banned from the site. Period.

  42. Life During Wartime May 21, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    Since people are buying the pearl arse thongs, it’s possible Etsy will want to keep that shop open even if it was called out in the forums.

    Maybe people should wait until hydrate relists the thong, and make a bunch of all reseller treasuries…each one including the thong arse item. “I can get it 4 U Wholesale”.

  43. JK May 21, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    LDW, that’s a treasury (or several) I’d like to see!

  44. WTFISAPDF May 21, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    Hey everybody!

    About 30 minutes ago, there was a comment under Suzanne Brown’s treasury that said thanks for giving a reseller so much PR and it had a link to a wholesale site for the pearl thong. I just went back to see if Suzanne removed the comment and I can’t find the treasury. Hydrate had three thongs listed for sale and they are gone too.

  45. Life During Wartime May 21, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    Whoa!

    Maybe people would take more care curating their treasuries if commentors called out the resellers in them?

  46. Stephica May 21, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    Kudos to whomever got that treasury pulled, both the Etsy member and staff. I Googled Suzanne Brown to see if she was showing up on here, and I saw this on her blog, freshly posted when the treasury was pulled:

    “It’s been a long freaking time since I blogged.

    Going to rectify that ASAP!

    XO.
    S ”

    Wonder if she’ll be commenting on her supreme douchebaggery?

  47. sick of cupcakes May 21, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    Wow, I picked a bad week to take an Etsy vacation.

  48. WTFISAPDF May 21, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    She made a new treasury called “Everyone happy now?!?!

    you should see all the friggin treasuries she’s made. Five pages of em

  49. PussDaddy May 21, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

    WTFISAPDF Says:
    May 21, 2010 at 10:50 am
    They don’t want to understand that general audience is the opposite of implied audience, with the later seeming to be what Etsy is trying to avoid.

    Desginedbyluncinda and the others are either so stupid that they can’t figure it out, or they are just looking to keep the fire storm fueled.

    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

    Odds seem to favor stupid.

  50. WTFISAPDF May 21, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    Pussdaddy, I think you have good odds!

    Here’s the link to all the treasuries made by Suzanne Brown

    http://www.etsy.com/treasury/people/aeon11

  51. Life During Wartime May 21, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    Here’s a “handmade” item from her The Sexy Librarian treasury:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/40572846/christian-louboutin-classic-black-patent

  52. PussDaddy May 21, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Yeah she’s queen alright WTFISAPDF-Queen Ding Dong.

  53. PussDaddy May 21, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    How much vital info can one be selling if they don’t know what general fucking audience means?

    Hey, Lucinda! It means they all have the clap! Audiences clap-get it?

    Now watch that come out in an E-book near you full of tips about how not to catch the clap generally by not fucking the audience.

  54. sick of cupcakes May 22, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    How many times are they going to put treasuries curated by MySelvagedLife on the FP today? Two on there an hour apart.

  55. uh-huh May 22, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    I noticed that, too…. you’d think there was a Treasury shortage or something. No excuse.

  56. uh-huh May 22, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    Or do all the other ones have asses in them and therefore are not appropriate?
    *snicker*

  57. MadeByM**** May 24, 2010 at 7:30 am #

    Looks like to me that aeon11 is just using Etsy as free promotion for her own sites……..

  58. MadeByM**** May 24, 2010 at 7:35 am #

    Hydrate still has the pearl thong up on their site…….

Leave a Reply

