GourdgeousGourdsPa, sunshinepatterns

21 May

http://www.etsy.com/shop/GourdgeousGourdsPa

Reselling HO railway figures made by Woodland Scenics

Flagged for over a month and references given

Example below

http://www.etsy.com/listing/46140095/miniature-men-playing-a-game-of

These two figures can be seen in this set

http://pinecar.woodlandscenics.com/show/Item/A1880/page/10
____________________________________________________________________________________________
Yet ANOTHER Willow Tree figure in Homemade for $20 (I think that is 5 bucks cheaper than if you just bought it brand new) in sunshinepatterns

http://www.etsy.com/listing/47127373/willow-tree-husband-wife-figurine

The whole shop other than the patterns is a garage sale.

55 Responses to “GourdgeousGourdsPa, sunshinepatterns”

  1. Life During Wartime May 21, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    GourdgeousGourdsPA is also selling newish glass jars/canisters as Supplies. Why is this shop allowed on Etsy? For the handful of maybe vintage flea market items?

    Looking at their sold items, I see they have a stock of the glass jars and factory made minatures, like the ducks and bath tub. And people bought this stuff on Etsy…sigh.

  2. JOINAA May 21, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    Etsy has a lot of really stooopid buyers. It’s their own fault for designing everything so the crappier the better.

  3. Paperika May 21, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    JoinAA, your post makes no sense. How is it Etsy’s fault that people don’t know how to tag correctly or that there are different things on Etsy? The only way I’d admit they are at fault is b/c they aren’t addressing the flags, and if they are, they aren’t doing something about it.

  4. Stephica May 21, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    Vintage Chinese Paper Lanterns that are also tagged as “supplies” on the FP right now. They are brand new yet titles and labeled as vintage.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/47687121/vintage-chinese-paper-lantern-set-of-2?ref=fp_feat_9

  5. kitten May 21, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    Paperika Says:

    JoinAA, your post makes no sense.
    ___________________

    Agreed.

  6. Em May 21, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    LOL
    “Business Letters” Wrote up a shop announcement for Quecraft.. so maybe it’s not only admins who are coaching the resellers and helping them blend in!

    http://www.etsy.com/people/BusinessLetters/feedback

    Needless to say, the reseller shop is still up and running. And thriving.

  7. jcjohn May 22, 2010 at 3:45 am #

    wow, quecraft has a lot of sales!

  8. it stinks May 22, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    Maybe I should list my “vintage” Willow tree figure that I got for my birthday last year. It fell over and the heads broke off but I glued them back on with super glue – so that still counts as perfect condition vintage, right?

  9. Sarah May 22, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    It stinks, if you glued the head back on, then I think now it’s “handmade”!

  10. it stinks May 22, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    Awesome Sarah! Thanks! I forgot that it’s now “altered”.

  11. it stinks May 22, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    Also, I would like to mention the epiphany that I had this week.

    I clicked on etsy earlier this week and of course, they had a beige, no color or imagination treasury pick on the fp. And my first impression of it was that the fp is ugly. Just down right ugly.

    I’m not talking about individual pics or even individual items – alot of which or quite nice. I’m talking about the overall effect of the FP every time I go there. It’s ugly.

    So I started thinking that I was kind of glad that I don’t have any items in my shop that admin would want to include with the other items to make their ugly FP. I have colorful, pretty handmade items in my shop.

    There have been alot of comments on this site about the sellers who are ALWAYS on the FP and it made me fill alittle bad for them – that they feel like they have to make items that will continue to fit into etsy’s FP.
    While I would welcome the sales that would come from constant, continuous FP exposure, I wouldn’t want my items to be on such an ugly FP. Have you ever been in a treasury where you struggled to say something nice about it because it just wasn’t pretty?

    I learned along time ago on the internet and at craft shows, that the way to get people into your shop, booth or whatever is to have lots of color that they can see. People will walk into a booth at a craft show just because of the color – to see what’s going on in there. That’s one reason I use paper lanterns on the outside of my booth – it looks like a party and makes people happy. How many times have you walked into a booth at a craft show just because you can see color?

    And again, I’m not knocking any sellers of etsy or their items. I’m NOT saying that the individual items are ugly. I’m saying that the overall effect is. It’s very sad that etsy admin are playing this game with their sellers. Especially when there are so many really great sellers and handmade items on etsy.

  12. Life During Wartime May 22, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Great comment, it stinks!

    I’ve felt the same way about many of the FPs — the items look drab and boring because there seems to be nothing to look at. Which isn’t true. Etsy curated collections look like movie sets for distopian scifi films from circa 1970, where all the costumes and decor were white, beige or gray.

  13. JOINAA May 22, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    STOOPID BECAUSE:

    A.) customers buy some of the worst dreck
    2.) Etsy set up the tagging system to encourage confusion

  14. Kathy May 22, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    it stinks, you are so right. The front page is just drab and dull. The individual pieces are great, but the overall effect is boring. I love color, and my shop is loaded with color.

  15. PussDaddy May 22, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    The front page is not always beige, I have seen lots of color on it lately. In fact there was one front page that was so shocking purple it hurt my eyeballs.

    PussDaddy

  16. jcjohn May 22, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    True Puss. I’ve actually enjoyed many of the recent FP’s because of the liveliness of color!

  17. jcjohn May 22, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    well, dang, at this very moment it’s all gray…..

  18. sick of cupcakes May 22, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Right now it’s grayer than my hair.

  19. it stinks May 22, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    I guess I’ve missed the color. One Fp that I saw this past week had a small amount of yellow in it. That was the only color I saw.

    I go to the FP several times a day and have never seen the color you guys are talking about.

    The FP right now is very hard and ugly.

  20. Life During Wartime May 22, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    I think I saw the FP PD mentioned. All the items looked like the same pinkish purple, which made the whole page harsh and hard to look at. Why can’t all these arty types come up with a pleasing mixture of colors, light and dark, that really shows the items off?

  21. Paperika May 22, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    JoinAA I have NO idea what you are talking about. What is “dreck” ? If you are going to make comments, will you please explain yourself.

    It certainly is NOT rocket science to tag an item.

  22. Em May 22, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    It’s really sad.. because I enjoy making treasuries (I never attempted until T East came out, but I’ve made a few and it’s really fun!) but since I’m not one of Etsy’s select few, they will probably never see the front page 😦

  23. Etsy Person May 23, 2010 at 6:11 am #

    Main Entry: dreck
    Variant(s): also drek \ˈdrek\
    Function: noun
    Etymology: Yiddish drek & German Dreck, from Middle High German drec; akin to Old English threax rubbish

  24. Paperika May 23, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    EtsyPerson, thanks for the “definition”; I still don’t know what he was talking about!

  25. JOINAA May 23, 2010 at 7:15 am #

    The cheapest shit sells is what I was saying.; Etsy promotes the cheap and the mundane.

    No the tagging instructions aren’t rocket science, good thing because most people are not rocket scientists.

    It says: choose one of the three categories. Then, the drop down gives you everything but the kitchen sink. Sink in?

  26. Christine May 23, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    How about this listing? Yes a 7-11 Big Gulp cup. As seen on Regretsy as well. Wow, really what else can I say?

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/47465481/farmville-big-splash-pool-7-11-big-gulp?ref=sr_gallery_2&ga_search_query=farmville&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_page&includes%5B0%5D=tags&includes%5B1%5D=title

  27. Christine May 23, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    Oh and the listing is not for the cup, it’s for a Farmville (whatever that is) code. Really!

  28. Lizzy May 23, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    JOINAA Says:
    May 22, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    STOOPID BECAUSE:

    A.) customers buy some of the worst dreck
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Just one more reason why I say Customers don’t care. It is always sellers complaining about things and rightly so BUT buyers could care less.

    Buyers don’t care or notice if something is mistagged,etc.. It seems only sellers who also buy are the only ones who care.

  29. it stinks May 23, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    I flagged that farmville code cup thing. I seriously doubt they’ll remove it though.

  30. jenn May 23, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    Lizzy Says:
    Just one more reason why I say Customers don’t care. It is always sellers complaining about things and rightly so BUT buyers could care less.

    Buyers don’t care or notice if something is mistagged,etc.. It seems only sellers who also buy are the only ones who care.
    ——–

    Not so.
    I am a buyer-only who cares very much about mistagging.
    I’ve seen many buyers who don’t have shops say on this and other blogs and the etsy forums that they care as well.

    The ones who don’t care may be first-time buyers who don’t have a clue that etsy isn’t supposed to be just like ebay.
    It’s not like etsy does anything to make a different impression.

    There are also many sellers who have stated in the forums that they don’t care about mistagging. Wouldn’t surprise me if they’ve bought mistagged and dreck-y items on etsy.

  31. Blue Kitty May 23, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    As well as reselling those HO figures have other major miss-tagging issues. Example “scale three quarters inch” which means 3/4″ equals one foot in real life size. HO figures are much smaller but of course if you aren’t making them you probably don’t know anything much about them. Those figures are sold at all the railway model shops I know in the UK. Woodland Scenics are a big company.

    Here is another one in the scale dollhouse miniatures category that I have been flagging for weeks. Selling factory mass-produced miniatures that all the high street stores and online dollhouse sellers offer.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/duckydolls

    A quick glance at the lighting in particular should tell anyone they are factory made – anyone except Admin staff it seems.

  32. PussDaddy May 23, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    You are missing a beautiful mustard yellow front page. Maybe they wait till you aren’t lookin’ and then post colors.

  33. Lizzy May 23, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    jenn Says:
    May 23, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Lizzy Says:
    Just one more reason why I say Customers don’t care. It is always sellers complaining about things and rightly so BUT buyers could care less.

    Buyers don’t care or notice if something is mistagged,etc.. It seems only sellers who also buy are the only ones who care.
    ——–

    Not so.
    I am a buyer-only who cares very much about mistagging.
    I’ve seen many buyers who don’t have shops say on this and other blogs and the etsy forums that they care as well.

    The ones who don’t care may be first-time buyers who don’t have a clue that etsy isn’t supposed to be just like ebay.
    It’s not like etsy does anything to make a different impression.

    There are also many sellers who have stated in the forums that they don’t care about mistagging. Wouldn’t surprise me if they’ve bought mistagged and dreck-y items on etsy.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    I am sure SOME buyers do care such as yourself BUT when I see sellers who either :
    ReSell
    Mistag
    Have Crappy Feedback
    Have Titles or tags 10 miles long

    I wonder if buyers do care. These sellers are selling items daily so from my perspective as a seller and buyer I think that most buyers don’t care. Why would buyers keep buying from that seller?

  34. Life During Wartime May 23, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    I am a buyer-only, and I care about listing violations. You can usually tell if a seller just doesn’t get the rules, or if they understand the TOU but don’t care. If you have a functioning brain, you don’t want to purchase from a shop that is already trying to cheat you by being deceptive in their listings. I think the buyers-only who don’t care haven’t earned their money, and just enjoy a carefree consumer lifestyle — this is the type of customer base that Etsy has been moving toward over the last few years, maybe with a push from its investors.

    Great callout, Blue Kitty! duckydolls is so obviously a reseller. I mean, the Etsy staff can’t see those huge URL watermarks on some of the items? WTF?

  35. RocksInMySocks May 23, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    I’m on moderation apparently so this comment is my second try:

    Here’s a seller who’s selling both handmade and vintage in one shop. The problem is that many of the vintage items aren’t vintage. She even states in a lot of the listings that these are “possible” vintage or “almost” vintage.

    She seems to have a thing for action figures:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/valnorthwoods?section_id=6816588

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/35064965/toy-story-my-first-wonderful-woody

  36. Lizzy May 23, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    It is nice to see that some buyers do care- I wish more did…

  37. PussDaddy May 23, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    I care, but important stuff gets drowned out by those who just have to bitch about anything. After a while you become inured to it and you beging to not even care about the important stuff anymore because all the bitching about petty stuff gets so fucking annoying.

  38. PussDaddy May 23, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    I misspelled begin.

  39. jcjohn May 23, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    Still back on that 7-11 farm code thing….wow…..but over 2000 views.

    Average buyer does not care if etsy things are tagged properly, most don’t even know what that means, especially if they do not shop here often. Most etsy users are not even on the forums.

  40. Lizzy May 23, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    Ahhh PD… I know you care 🙂

    As a seller I will only purchase from people I know are doing it right. I guess I have the seller mentality that I won’t purchase dollar store crap and mistagged stuff. I look to Etsy for unique, handmade items. Anything else I go to Ebay.

    I have had Guest sellers on my own website and I was very picky about who I chose as I was concerned with maintaining my integrity. My site- my rules. Why can’t Etsy do this?

  41. detroit May 23, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    Hm.

    I beg to differ about whether ‘average buyers’ care about mistagging,

    Hypothetical example. I’m Average Buyer Pam. I go to this site I’ve heard about – Etsy dot com.

    I want some handmade gloves. I type ‘gloves’ into the search engine.

    I get: dildos, paintings, reseller tschotchkes. a code for a big gulp cup, etc.

    I am not impressed, and leave….

    I think a lot of buyers, regardless of their ethics about handmade, or their Etsy sophistication, get turned off by mistagging,

    So, on a positive note, I just searched Etsy for gloves, and found mostly gloves – though all fingerless of course – lol. And I found a really hot pair! Wish I had money to waste on fingerless gloves in May!

  42. detroit May 23, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    Can you guys who are good reseller spotters tell me – do you think this store’s for real? I love their stuff!!

    Love this bra:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/30757948/cage-brassiere?ref=v1_other_1

    And the gloves:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/43107548/bow-mittens

    Totally impractical. And hot and smelly and expensive. But I could channel my inner lady gaga…

  43. Lizzy May 23, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    Thanks for your input Detroit- I guess I need to figure out another reason why sellers that piss me off with all their violations are selling!

    I wonder if the average buyer sees some of the listing violations?
    Something like 500 tags for an item- does a casual or first time buyer even notice something like that?

  44. PussDaddy May 23, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Green! Bright green! The front page is green now.

  45. JK May 23, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    I’m not sure which is worse in that pattern shop above, the garage sale crap or the breathtakingly ridiculous pattern prices. $20 for two bog-standard Simplicity patterns? I wonder if they use a vintage pipe for whatever it is they’re smoking.

  46. jenn May 23, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    Lizzy Says:
    It is nice to see that some buyers do care- I wish more did…
    ——

    Me, too, Lizzy.

    But it’s easy to see why they don’t care, isn’t it? I mean, if etsy is putting the resellers and mistaggers and dreck peddlers on the front page, that tells the average buyer (who doesn’t read the forums or etsy-related blogs) that those items are legit and represent the site, so why would they think anything is wrong with those listings?

    The buying of dreck won’t stop until etsy upholds the integrity of their mission and website and cracks down on the resellers, mistaggers, dreck peddlers, etcetc.

    I’m not holding my breath, though…

  47. Paperika May 23, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    JoinAA, that’s not true. It says at the top what can be sold on Etsy. It then says to choose a category. Then it says to pick your tags. Maybe b/c I understand it and have been doing it a while, it makes a lot of sense to me, but I don’t see how people could be confused.

    And yes a lot of cheap stuff is sold, but so what, if it fits the rules. Why did it take me 3 tries to figure out what you were talking about?????

  48. Lizzy May 23, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    Something that bothers me as a seller
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/47923677/filigree-ring-silver-guinivere

    She should know better I think? I just feel like buyers might believe she actually made the ring herself. If she plated or added patina to it herself then I didn’t see it anywhere in her description.

    She is not in my category- I just happened upon it once and recognized it.

    http://stores.channeladvisor.com/accessoriessusan/Items/b651?&caSKU=b651&caTitle=%23B651%20Filigree%20Finger%20Ring%20Oxidized%20Sterling%20Silver%20Plated%20Adjustable%20%281%29

  49. blood, sweat and tears May 23, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

    the farmville code doesn’t seem to be there anymore

  50. MadeByM**** May 24, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    Lizzy Says:
    May 23, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    As a seller I will only purchase from people I know are doing it right. I guess I have the seller mentality that I won’t purchase dollar store crap and mistagged stuff. I look to Etsy for unique, handmade items. Anything else I go to Ebay.

    ***************************************

    I’m the same way……….I am a seller so when I buy from one, they better be in compliance with the TOU’s!

  51. MadeByM**** May 24, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    I think some of the “successful sellers” that aren’t in compliance are found by internet searches and then buyers like what they see and buy it without looking into seeing what Etsy is really about. I think that applies to some of the reseller stuff that gets sold within days of the shop opening, too. When you’re searching the internet to buy something specific, you look for the best deal, etc., not necessarily what venue or website it’s coming from. I’m in no way advocating the non-compliance part of it! I’m pretty sure many of their sales are just from people searching for items and coming across what they want on Etsy.

  52. MadeByM**** May 24, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    Like I’ve said before……….when a high school girl is looking for her prom dress or jewelry for it, she’s not paying attention to if it’s handmade or not……just if she likes it and if it’s in her price range!

  53. JOINAA May 24, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    ” Paperika Says:
    May 23, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    JoinAA, that’s not true. It says at the top what can be sold on Etsy. It then says to choose a category. Then it says to pick your tags. Maybe b/c I understand it and have been doing it a while, it makes a lot of sense to me, but I don’t see how people could be confused. ”

    *******************
    It says to pick the first category, of which there are three. Then, it gives you a drop down menu with a virtual plethora of choices. Why not just the three? This has been “on the radar” for as long as Etsy has existed, so it’s apparent that mistagging and the subsequent search clusterfuck is not a priority.
    That’s why I say that they not only make it confusing to the NORMAL person (and this is an international site, remember), but it’s intentionally misleading. If it was a concern, it would have been cleaned up five years ago.

  54. Life During Wartime May 24, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    JOINAA, I pretty much agree with you.

    I know that Etsy does nothing about vintage items listed in the handmade categories OR handmade items listed as vintage. This suggests to me that the plan is to just have sellers list stuff as jewelry, clothing, housewares…whatever it is…without bothering to have separate categories for handmade and vintage. Or even for resellers because resellers are on Etsy to stay.

    Everything goes into one pot. If you like that flavor, great. If not, tough.

Leave a Reply

