valnorthwoods

25 May

Here’s a seller who’s selling both handmade and vintage in one shop. The problem is that many of the vintage items aren’t vintage. She even states in a lot of the listings that these are “possible” vintage or “almost” vintage.

She seems to have a thing for action figures:

http://www.etsy.com/shop/valnorthwoods?section_id=6816588

http://www.etsy.com/listing/35064965/toy-story-my-first-wonderful-woody

thanks for the links rocksinmysocks.

50 Responses to “valnorthwoods”

  1. ADC May 25, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    The seven of nine doll is from 1999! What a dumbass. I’ve reported it.

  2. sick of cupcakes May 25, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    I went to flag and accidentally added Woody to my cart. I feel all dirty inside.

  3. Sarah May 25, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    Way to go Sick of Cupcakes, now we have to shun you or perform some sort of elaborate cart cleansing ritual. Though I’m pretty sure we can just buy a cleansing ritual on Etsy, I’m pretty sure I saw one on Regretsy once.

  4. Life During Wartime May 25, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    The worst thing about this shop in my opinion is completely acceptable according to the Etsy TOU.

    Everytime I see antique (or near antique) furniture vandalized by the ‘handmade movement’ I don’t know whether to cry or to laugh.

    Cry because the pieces were worth as much — or more — to collectors in their original state.

    Laugh for the same reason.

    Dunno about the pop culture stuff, but most of the other items listed as vintage look fine to me.

  5. MadeByM**** May 25, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Hmmmm, when did the McDonalds teenie beanie babies craze start up? Maybe it’s time to sell them as “vintage” (1997-2000)!

  6. MadeByM**** May 25, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    Oh, darn…………looks like some sellers have already beat me to it!

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/47802749/beanie-baby-lot-cat-and-rooster-free

  7. MadeByM**** May 25, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    1996!

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/46586334/1996-koala-beanie-baby

    Etsy vintage math………. 2010 – 1996 = 14

    Not Etsy vintage for 6 more years!!!! Duh!

  8. sick of cupcakes May 25, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Toy Story came out in 95, so definitely not vintage.

    I was married in 95 and I know damn well my marriage isn’t vintage yet.

  9. JajieBo May 25, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    “My first wonderful woody”? That’s… wonderful.

  10. Lizzy May 25, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    Ugh…. It makes Etsy look like a garage sale

  11. Life During Wartime May 25, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Is Etsy actually doing anything to remove collectibles newer than 1990? It seems from reading Garagetsy blog that there isn’t a lot of attention being paid to vintage TOU standards, but I could be wrong about this.

  12. it stinks May 25, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    She has the sci fi and Woody figures tagged as if they are handmade – she doesn’t have vintage in alot of her destash items either.
    Funny thing is I have some of this stuff. Like the Christmas cookie cutters and the geometric shapes set (which I got at a yard sale for about $2).

    Some of the items in her vintage section may actually be vintage but this other collectible stuff is just resell as far as I’m concerned. It belongs on ebay.

    And I’d be willing to bet that she knows she’s breaking the rules by having all this junk in her shop with her actual vintage and handmade – she just doesn’t care because everyone else is doing it too.

  13. JohnCocktoasten May 25, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    Another winner:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/lridd265

  14. Em May 25, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    From one of Iridd’s listings:

    I’m not sure if this is fake or not..I think it is, However I have had some people tell me it’s real, but when I went online and did some research I found it to be fake. Either way I’m selling it cheap.

    Her shop’s not good for much but a chuckle or two. And of course, a flagging.

  15. RocksInMySocks May 25, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    sick of cupcakes Says:
    May 25, 2010 at 10:13 am
    I went to flag and accidentally added Woody to my cart. I feel all dirty inside.

    Sarah Says:
    May 25, 2010 at 10:14 am
    Way to go Sick of Cupcakes, now we have to shun you or perform some sort of elaborate cart cleansing ritual. Though I’m pretty sure we can just buy a cleansing ritual on Etsy, I’m pretty sure I saw one on Regretsy once.
    _____________________________

    the best laugh I’ve had for a long time!

  16. RocksInMySocks May 25, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    Here’s a couple more from valnorthwoods:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/38908347/rice-bowls-vintage-maybe-but-definitely

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/37721909/perhaps-vintage-yardage-with-sweet-roses

    I love her titles and her item descriptions. She really seems to think she can list anything she finds in her closet.

  17. Etsy Person May 25, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Am I now to understand the word “destash” means “leftover shit”?

  18. Stephica May 25, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    So Etsy put one aeon11’s treasuries on the FP today, even after she deliberately and flagrantly violated Etsy TOU in her treasury and often features resellers:
    http://www.etsy.com/treasury/4bf9f6cfaad88eef626fa21f/a-day-in-my-life-a-treasury-storyboard

    This really pisses me off. She’s probably a hipster friend of one of the Etsy staff. I’ve given up on treasuries: my SO and I tried making some that used Etsy’s marketing crap and submitted them to the bullshit thread they have for that. None of them were featured. It sucks that the same curators and shops get FP exposure constantly.

  19. RocksInMySocks May 26, 2010 at 6:16 am #

    There’s no way in hell that any one group of people could be as pathetically stupid as the admin who choose the FP, finds, etc. Which leads me to the conclusion that this kind of fuckery is totally deliberate. Whatever the rationale, it’s immature and does nothing but compromise Etsy’s reputation.

  20. sick of cupcakes May 26, 2010 at 6:24 am #

    Aeon is nothing but an attention whore.

  21. Em May 26, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Gotta love those resellers on the front page…

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/47839783/new-ez-canvas-bag-in-deep-pink?ref=fp_feat_8

  22. Em May 26, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    I guess I shouldn’t be so quick to judge, but those bags with a dozen pockets inside for less than $50 raise a red flag for me.

  23. JohnCocktoasten May 26, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    I don’t think val understands the meaning of ‘destash’.

  24. Cat Power May 26, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Em, I have to agree with you! Way too cheap for handmade! RESELLER….I’d bet money on it, and I’m a very frugal New Englander!

  25. Sarah May 26, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    I don’t think your judgment is off at all on this one Em. They’ve sold over 1500 items in just over a year on Etsy. At 2 hours per bag (I’m no expert on sewing, but all those pockets and linings look complicated to me), that’s over a year of 8 hour days, no weekends, no vacations, and no reference to this being a collective other than the ambiguous “we” used throughout the shop. I think it’s a fair and valid call out.

  26. MadeByM**** May 26, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    JajieBo Says:
    May 25, 2010 at 12:53 pm
    “My first wonderful woody”? That’s… wonderful.

    ************************************

    I giggled at that, too!

  27. MadeByM**** May 26, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    I’ve never heard of anything referred to as “deep pink” before……..

  28. JohnCocktoasten May 26, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    Deep pink and wonderful woody…

  29. boots May 26, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    wtf
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/turnerk2033

  30. sick of cupcakes May 26, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    Every time I look at bags Kinies dominates the search. If I sold handbags, I’d hate them.

  31. Life During Wartime May 26, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    Item from one of aeon11’s new classy (?) treasuries:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/40877518/pink-zebra-chanel-coco-iphone-case-with?ref=tre-4bfd605447e96d91b4783598-15

  32. boots May 26, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    is Kinies handmade?

  33. RocksInMySocks May 26, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    boots Says:
    May 26, 2010 at 4:21 pm
    wtf
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/turnerk2033

    ___________

    flagged the entire shop. Nothing vintage or handmade. Why doesn’t Etsy just add an “other” tag and put us all out of our misery? Stupid fucks!

  34. PussDaddy May 27, 2010 at 12:20 am #

    I knew this name was familiar. I was her first customer. My magazines were really vintage at least.

  35. JK May 27, 2010 at 6:41 am #

    Speaking of purses and resellers, I’m sorry I missed this beauty: http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6532043

  36. MadeByM**** May 27, 2010 at 6:54 am #

    JohnCocktoasten Says:
    May 26, 2010 at 3:29 pm
    Deep pink and wonderful woody…

    ****************************

    I thought that, too, but I figured this wasn’t Regretsy, so I behaved………

  37. MadeByM**** May 27, 2010 at 7:13 am #

    Gosh………..look at the search I did in Bing……..and all the comments by mad buyer(s)!

    http://www.bing.com/search?q=MetalPetalz&src=IE-SearchBox

  38. PussDaddy May 27, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    Why is everyone rushing to defend that fake purse seller? Bluekitty dipshit even made another thread. I too believe they should make it so an item doesn’t leave a shop till actually paid for so this negging won’t happen but for pity’s sake let’s use a good example when trying to work up some pity and anger over it.

  39. Blue Kitty May 27, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    “dipshit” made it very obvious to anyone with two brain cells to rub together the Ideas thread was about the long standing issue of people “buying” items just to leave retaliatory or malicious feedback, its an old bone of contention on Etsy that seems to have been “on the table” for a long time, seeing that thread reminded me. I happened to have time to hang around more today and monitor a thread I started (I rarely start them) while working on something special with lots of waiting time involved.

    I referenced the original thread so people could see an example of the type of feedback that gets left.

    I said nothing at all (not one sympathetic word) to defend the seller, didn’t even look into the problem only the fact it was again a case of feedback without purchase.

    Having said that I haven’t the least sympathy for the now ex-Etsy seller it still isn’t right to do that to anyone – if it was there are plenty I would do it to. Nobody is a greater supporter of genuine totally handmade items than I am and after flagging obvious resellers for months its very tempting to deal with them myself at times.

  40. PussDaddy May 27, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    Who are you trying to kid bluekitty? Your ass in in the fucking forum almost every fucking day 24/7/365 just like every body else running your fucking mouth and making snide comments while whining about bullying and your pointing out that you aren’t only makes it more noticeable that you are. Your ass has time to monitor a whole helluva lot more than you would ever want to admit to and you know it.

    PussDaddy

  41. Blue Kitty May 28, 2010 at 2:19 am #

    At least I have two reasons to be in the forum and am usually doing something else at the same time so not wasting my time.

    – I am a seller (albeit only as a hobby) and team leader and like to keep up with new developments .

    – I can join in and post in the threads which I and many others enjoy doing.

    I don’t avidly and obsessively monitor everything that happens in the ‘World of Etsy’ in the forum and on all the blogs and Tweets just so I can make bitchy and often ridiculous posts on a blog that every so often I complain about doing and say I don’t really like blogging and want to give it up and that I spend too long on the damn computer since I had it. And I don’t want to buy on Etsy but can’t help myself.

    Other than giving a lot of people a good laugh (me included) what is your purpose?

  42. JOINAA May 28, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    My name is my advice.

  43. Blue Kitty May 28, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    I prefer RAC

  44. PussDaddy May 28, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    I suppose you can see what I am doing while I am on the computer bluekitty? I hope my purpose is to annoy you. And don’t fall in while reading all that stuff I say on my blog. *wink*

  45. JOINAA May 30, 2010 at 5:05 am #

    This blog is degenerating. It’s your fault, PD. If you want to get personal and all trailer-trashy, you have your own blog where you can attack anyone you please for whatever reason you want.
    Them’s your rights.
    If anybody wants to hear your ranty attacks on other people (who you only know from the Etsy forums), that is also their right, but stop advertising your blog here. It’s tacky.

  46. PussDaddy June 2, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Why don’t you kiss my ass as well JOINAA? And call it a love story. Where did I advertise my blog? And do you know I have a link to this blog on my own blog so maybe I am advertising this blog? And speaking of trailer trash you semi-illiterate nitwit, it is “Those are your rights”, and not “Them’s your rights”, ok? When I see your ass in writing here as some sort of admin of this blog then I might pay you some mind and until then you can fuck off.

  47. Iona June 2, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    Sorry PD but you have made yourself look even more of an idiot that usual with your comment above.

    JOINAA is more literate that you could ever know. “Them’s your rights” is what you would say to a drunk in a bar when you don’t want to be confrontational but want to get your point over. It is said in a semi-joking way. Half kidding whole serious.

    JOINAA can at least get her point over (I presume JOINAA is female) without degrading her post with expletives which is more than you ever do.

    Not that it will ever happen of course, all talk, but if you did leave Etsy and stop blogging then many people would miss you but not in the way you think. I presume the majority of people read your blog to laugh at you rather than with you.

    No doubt you will reply to this with a load of swear words and assurances that you don’t care one way or the other what I or anyone else thinks.

    I get the impression that we are going to see more come-backs with you than we ever did with Sinatra.

  48. PussDaddy June 3, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    Who the fuck listens to Sinatra anyway?

  49. PussDaddy June 3, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    However, people do read my blog for whatever reason. Do they read yours?

  50. JOINAA June 3, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    Everybody needs to feel important, I guess. Me, I’d rather have my privacy– I may be crazy but I am not stupid.

    One of the downsides of online selling is being open to people who apparently are both– and don’t feel protective about their personal business. I really don’t understand the motivations of those who put it all ‘out there’ any more than I understand anyone who would be interested in wasting time reading it.
    To each his or her own, thank God.

Leave a Reply

