belcanto

26 May

from a reader-

Speaking of faux wedding jewelry designers–after reading your post about TZTUDIO and JoanMareeOriginals I’ve become much more vigilant about spotting the mass produced jewelry items on Etsy. The newest offender? Belcanto–
http://www.etsy.com/shop/belcanto
who has has 370 sales to date. I’m not sure about the provenance of all of her designs, but I found two items right off the top that are from this site:
http://www.orientaltreasurestrading.com/store/c/4-Bridal.aspx
(a favorite of TZTUDIO as well…)
Compare:
http://www.orientaltreasurestrading.com/store/p/3018-Leafy-Bridal-Earrings.aspx
with hers:
http://www.etsy.com/listing/47667927/star-shine-rhinestone-dangle-earrings
and
http://www.orientaltreasurestrading.com/store/p/1139-Victorian-Style-Chandeliers.aspx
with hers:
http://www.etsy.com/listing/47066813/rhinestone-and-pearl-chandelier-earrings
I’m only scratching the surface here, but it would be wonderful if you could do a post about it and hopefully they will be shut down. As a designer who actually handcrafts all of my own jewelry it is disgusting to have to compete with these dishonest sellers.
ps– last I checked, JoanMareeOriginals is still operating…amazing…

76 Responses to “belcanto”

  1. MsGrr May 26, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    these?
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/47258809/swarovski-rhinestones-necklace-and
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/48081874/swarovski-rhinestones-necklace-and

    just to point out a few?

    Was Portobello closed down by Etsy?

  2. MsGrr May 26, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    Oh, sorry. Different seller, but I cannot see how the ones I posted are handmade.

  3. Cat Power May 26, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    They sure look like the ones on the resourced site. Those are not hand made by the looks of them. Wish one could see the wholesale price without having to sign in to the site.

  4. Life During Wartime May 26, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    I didn’t look at all of them, but the earrings I clicked on under her SOLD items that are supposedly ‘vintage’ from the 1950s have post findings for pierced ears. In the 50s, the findings would have been clips or screwbacks. And the styles are nothing like the 40s, 50s or 60s.

    I have been wondering how the shops on Etsy seem to have an endless supply of ‘vintage’ rhinestone brooches to make wedding hair ornaments and other new assembled jewelry. And in such excellent condition, too, with the silvertone plating intact, and no missing or cloudy stones. Hmmm….

  5. Life During Wartime May 27, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    Here’s a nice display of freshwater pearl wired cuff bracelets, including the one sold by belcanto:

    http://www.google.com/products?hl=en&safe=strict&q=freshwater+pearl+wired+cuff+bracelet&um=1&ie=UTF-8&ei=jDH-S6_MDsP98AbbjsHtDQ&sa=X&oi=product_result_group&ct=image&resnum=1&ved=0CBoQzAMwAA

    It looks like her bracelet is virtually identical to those sold by many other merchants. JoanMaree (mentioned in the call out) sells it, too.

  6. windyR May 27, 2010 at 4:09 am #

    Yikes – look at the range of prices – I would be pretty ticked off if I bought something for over sixty dollars and then saw the same product somewhere else for barely over thirty dollars. However, in all honesty, if I were buying a truly handcrafted bracelet made of sterling silver and freshwater pearls, I would expect to pay more than sixty dollars …

  7. sick of cupcakes May 27, 2010 at 4:49 am #

    If buyers had brains, they would google everything before they buy it and not just assume because it’s on etsy that it’s really handmade/vintage.

    Of course if the jackasses that worked at etsy had brains they wouldn’t have to.

  8. Kathy May 27, 2010 at 5:18 am #

    I don’t agree with someone being able to attack a shop with a sock puppet account, but she was selling FAKE LV bags! Not to mention that they are not handmade or vintage!

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6532043

    http://www.etsy.com/view_transaction.php?transaction_id=27920757

  9. it stinks May 27, 2010 at 6:11 am #

    Belcantro’s shop announcement:

    ~We Specialize in Vintage One of A Kind Pieces ~
    I enjoy working with high end materials so that is what you will find in our collection. Our work is done with Heirloom Rhinestone Pieces and Freshwater Pearl unless otherwise stated.

    Since our work is One-of-a-Kind, Please browse our “Sales”
    for inspiration.

    *************************************

    Yet if you look in the sold items, you see the same pairs of earrings sold over and over and over and over along with the same other stuff sold over and over.

    They are already lying by “claiming” to be handmade. Why do they feel the need to claim to be OOAK when they are so obviously not?

  10. justsayit May 27, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    This is such a shame. Etsy is a great idea with plenty of support, but this reseller business will eventually do them in. They need to get after it.

  11. Etsy Person May 27, 2010 at 6:17 am #

    Anything in the bridal line or facinators pretty much raises suspicion with me.

  12. JK May 27, 2010 at 6:30 am #

    ‘If buyers had brains, they would google everything before they buy it and not just assume because it’s on etsy that it’s really handmade/vintage.’

    The sad thing is, I do exactly this before I buy anything anymore. While the downside is seeing exactly how many liars are succeeding on Etsy, the upside is that I sometimes stumble across some of the absolutely amazing crap they pull to try and cover their tracks! People freaking out over the truth is almost always an entertaining read.

  13. windyR May 27, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    Also look at the descriptions – some are so vague as to be laughable. Handmade with love doesn’t cut it – is it knit or crochet? What are the dimensions? And I really am amazed at how vague some of the materials lists are – I would not purchase something if the vendor wasn’t specific about the materials used – sterling silver versus silver plate versus silver toned metal etc.
    When I see vague or incorrect descriptions and materials it does make me wonder who actually made the item, or wether it was made by hand at all.

  14. JohnCocktoasten May 27, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    My buying has gone way down because I am too suspicious. I want a new bag and would love to buy a handmade one but too many bag resellers have been outed for me to have much confidence. So sad because I’ve steered so many friends to etsy and now I am a little embarassed.

  15. Etsy Person May 27, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    On todays “finds” I see ten items I have seen before in finds or on the front page. How lazy are these people?

  16. uh-huh May 27, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    Really effin lazy.
    Or so high that they can’t remember that they’ve featured the same things over and over.
    Or too busy laughing at each others’ felted mustaches.

  17. sick of cupcakes May 27, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    At least they named it accurately: Join the Clique. You have to be a member of their hipster doofus clique to get in there.

  18. Life During Wartime May 27, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    ArtFire has the same reseller problem as Etsy. One of the wired pearl cuffs on that page is sold by JoanMareeOriginals at Artfire. JoanMaree is even using the stock photo from Mariel.

    The staff libraries at all of the handmade sites should have a Mariel catalog for reference. if they are serious about ‘marketplace integrity’.

  19. it stinks May 27, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    So does Zibbet – LDW. The reseller problem, I mean. One of the resellers called out here was a featured “artist” on Zibbet. The one who claims to be blind and “makes” really detailed jewelry.

  20. it stinks May 27, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Jewelssosweet was the shop name. Here is the link to her Zibbet feature:
    http://www.zibbet.com/blog/2010.02.28/featured-zibbeter-daintiedesigns

  21. Mari May 27, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    This is just a response to this. Someone made me aware of this posting early today. I was quite upset as assumptions were made that were not true. We have another website that we do resell as well as the vintage remade. My husband was layed off from work and has been working on the shops because I am a voice teacher and primary breadwinner at this point. As soon as I was made aware of a few items that shouldn’t have been on, they were removed. It was an honest mistake.
    One of the pairs of earrings we do use as a base but we do soldering of loops and add very nice baroque pearls….so it is used as a component.
    We have spent much time hunting down and restoring 40’s to 60’s vintage jewelry and remaking it into haircombs and jewelry. If you go back a page you will find nothing but vintage from this past January and back 2 years. We started using newer pieces because brides wanted multiples or wanted what a friend had.
    We work hard to have a good quality of workmanship.
    Please start at the beginning and go through our sales.

    I was glad that this was brought to my attention because in no way were we trying to break rules. Our other site is http://www.belcantodesigns.com. Feel free to check that out also

    Thanks,

    Mari

  22. Em May 27, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    When you have wholesale jewelry in your shop as well as other things, it really devalues the rest of what you have.

    And I have a hard time believing you were ‘made aware’ that some of your items do not belong on Etsy. Even if your husband did it, wouldn’t you know what was going on? You seem to be a rather serious businesswoman and have sold quite a bit on Etsy. Has it not yet sunk in that earrings from a wholesale website shouldn’t be sold in a handmade venue?

    I can’t really take the time and really look at everything you make, but I’d have a hard time believing the items mentioned in the OP were modified by you, which like I said, makes me (us) wonder about everything else in your shop.

    And just FYI, the general consensus on the term ‘on of a kind’ means literally that there is only one of the item made and sold. I know it can also mean that the design is original and no one else has it, but it looks really misleading when you say your jewelry is one of a kind but there have been six sold already.

  23. Mari May 27, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Also the older earrings, we replace the clips with posts because almost everyone asked for them to be converted.
    We’ve spend time learning the jewelers skills because we take it seriously

  24. Mari May 27, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    May I please explain why I wouldn’t know?
    I have a voice studio of 40. The month of May is incredibly busy because we have concerts and an end of year recital. I also work with a local bridal boutique doing custom work.
    I have been overwhelmingly busy for the last few months. when dealing with so much it is very easy to confuse. I actually am not a business women. I am a creative person trying to put her kids through college.

    I am not sure why you are so angry with us. I was made aware and responded. I explained our other shop has wholesale as well as the vintage but that is for practical reasons. We had brides wanting multiples that were matching. As for the recurring listings, there we multiple brides wanting something that had sold so we made other. Our new shop is NOT an etsy shop. We did a stand alone site just for this purpose of being able to use wholesale. It is http://www.belcantodesigns.com.
    I am very sorry that this has caused such a problem. I am sick to my stomach trying to straighten this out.

    I hadn’t thought about the opening being misleading. It is meant that the vintage is one of a kind. The vintage inspired we can reproduce. There are multiple wedding accessories shops on etsy that do this.

    Sorry but the comments seem rather mean spirited.
    Many shops on etsy modify or use as components. ….and there are many that just outright resell. I am sorry that you have lumped us in with them. If you were willing to look rather than respond, you might think differently.

  25. Nicole May 27, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    ‘and there are many that just outright resell. I am sorry that you have lumped us in with them. If you were willing to look rather than respond, you might think differently.’

    Your store has been ‘outright reselling’ so it’s clear that if you’re aware of other stores doing this, and this being wrong, that you’ve knowingly been misleading buyers.

  26. JohnCocktoasten May 27, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    Yes, the pearl wired cuff linked to above that you sold also doesn’t help your cause.

  27. uh-huh May 27, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    When something is made by hand or altered/modified by hand, that would be exceptionally vital information to include in the listing for that item.
    If you don’t describe or detail how you put something together it’s pretty easy to assume (esp on Etsy) that it is resale item pure and simple.
    If you don’t want people to assume that, spell it out. But please be truthful.

  28. uh-huh May 27, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Also, I gotta say being too busy to monitor the contents of your shop is rather a flimsy line of reasoning.

  29. Etsy Person May 27, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    One of a kind means there is only one in the entire Universe that looks like that. Vintage is 20 years old or older in Etsy’s time frame. Vintage and one of a kind are not the same thing; they are not even vaguely related to each other.
    Busy this month? Isn’t everyone? Your husband layed off? So are lots of other people – some of us for years. As for being “aware” why are the reseller items still in your Etsy shop? Sick to your stomach? Not as much as we are by your actions and excuses.

  30. sick of cupcakes May 27, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    My husband’s been out of work for months, so that gives me the right re-sell and mistake things as ooak? Cool beans!

  31. sick of cupcakes May 27, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    *miss-tag not mistake

  32. kitten May 27, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    Etsy Person Says:

    On todays “finds” I see ten items I have seen before in finds or on the front page. How lazy are these people?
    __________________________

    They are supposed to be repeats. They were showing us the most hearted and clicked on items from past Etsy Find emails sent in the month of May.

  33. thud May 27, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    front page, trademark infringement ~ VW van drawing….
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/44699112/vw-camper-drawing-limited-edition-print?ref=fp_feat_7

  34. thud May 27, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    and VW does care.

  35. crapitycrap May 27, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    Why the eff is this crap still open?!

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/JessicaBlvd

  36. Life During Wartime May 27, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/46927470/chanel-luv-adjustable-ring?ref=fp_feat_8

    On the FP right now…and I bet Chanel cares, too.

  37. Angel May 27, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    You beat me to it, LDW!

    Chanel will care a great deal…..

  38. it stinks May 27, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    Mari, I find it funny that you took the time to come here to advertise your new website but you didn’t take the time to change your shop announcement or any of your resell listings to indicate that they are the “component” and will be altered.

    And how can vintage be “custom”? If it really is vintage (more than 20 years old) then it’s just that. But if you alter it and change it with new components, it is no longer vintage. It’s an altered piece.

    Also, no where in your sold listings – where you sold the same pair of earrings many times – do you state that they are a component and will be changed.

    The BS is getting pretty deep in here. Better get my boots.

    And if people sound angry and mean on this blog, it’s because we’re pissed at all the resellers taking sells away from us (the people who actually make handmade items) on a HANDMADE site.

    And to all the brides out there reading this, you can get similar earrings down at the mall for $15, so you might want to save your money for other things rather than paying $98 at belcantro for “handmade”.

  39. PussDaddy May 27, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    Well as a buyer I am not googling a bunch of stuff before I buy something and having an inquisition just to make a purchase. If it comes to that my ass will buy elsewhere because if you want the truth Etsy and buying handmade is already a lot more hassle than it is worth sometimes. And I have a fucking brain thank you very fucking much. Don’t put this shit on me as a buyer. My ass is just as happy at fucking Target or Walmart or any other fucking place when it comes to buying something and if I like it I will buy whether it is handmade or not. I do however make an effort on Etsy to buy only handmade, but my ass isn’t hiring a private fucking detective to check it out before I buy. And The stupid ass cupcake dickhead who said this is obviously posting as a fucking cupcake for a reason because you sure as hell don’t win buyers posting shit like buyers are brainless for not spending their time verifying your shit to be handmade. Got it? Good.

    PussDaddy

  40. PussDaddy May 27, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    And remember I post in my real fucking name so bite me.

    PussDaddy

  41. PussDaddy May 27, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    And you stupid assed cupcake tossing puppets with someone’s hand up your ass moving your lips as if you don’t have a thought of your own wonder why you have no fucking buyers. Personally I hope you never sell a fucking thing sick cupcake bitch.

  42. sick of cupcakes May 27, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    Pussdaddy did you wake up on the wrong side of the bed?

    Google is your friend. I use it before I buy anything, anywhere…not just Etsy.

  43. PussDaddy May 27, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    Life During Wartime Says:
    May 27, 2010 at 5:09 pm
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/46927470/chanel-luv-adjustable-ring?ref=fp_feat_8

    On the FP right now…and I bet Chanel cares, too.

    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    We will see as I went to her official site and turned this in. Just like I have turned in dozens of things to official sites before. How many of you take the time to do it? Maybe shit eating cupcake up there spends time doing it. Or maybe she just spends time bitching and looking for someone to blame like buyers. Either way not a lot is ever done about it so why bother. The only results I have ever seemed to have had was a brief run on Taggies items and some stuff using licensed sports names taken down. But at least I tried. How many places have any of you contacted?

  44. PussDaddy May 27, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    I google what is important to me. And things have various degrees of importance to me. And googling a fucking barette, for example, to chase down it’s heritage before I click to buy ain’t of ’em is what I am saying. Googling info on the car I bought or something like that is another story. How is it going to effect my life if a barette or whatever I bought turns out to have been purchased at K-mart and resold vs. someone glueing it together? In all honesty it is not going to effect my life much. How is it going to effect my life if I buy a car with a bunch of problems or recalls? Well that might effect my life, so that is googable and worth spending time on.

  45. factorygirlashli May 27, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    if you’re too busy to run an Etsy shop and maintain its integrity….

    don’t do it.

  46. no biggie May 27, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/PIFS

    ok, whats with this store? It says it is stocked with other artists items, is it a charity store? Doesnt seem to say that anyplace?

  47. Life During Wartime May 27, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    PD, I am not going to rat one silly item out. There are hundreds of items on Etsy using that symbol, but they are not intended to fool anyone into believing they are Chanel.

    Etsy is big enough now that corporations that care should already be checking the site periodically for infringements. What seeing an item like that on FP says to me is: Etsy’s staff has no imagination.

  48. JohnCocktoasten May 28, 2010 at 3:26 am #

    Fair trade silk:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/kohtradsilk

  49. sick of cupcakes May 28, 2010 at 3:35 am #

    LDW, you can’t have an imagination without a brain.

  50. Lexie May 28, 2010 at 5:03 am #

    If Etsy stuck to its own rules then the majority of these arguments wouldn’t arise.

    Etsy is supposed to be a site for selling hand-made items.

    Everyone is up in arms about reselling and Etsy are doing nothing to stop the problem. Is it any wonder things tend to get out of hand sometimes? The frustration genuine sellers must feel is obvious.

    When I want handmade I look to Etsy. When I want just an everyday item that I like I look to high street shops or the internet.

    It’s not fair on the genuine makers that Etsy is so seriously letting them down and there is nowhere else for them to fight their battles to get resellers removed quickly and permanently.

  51. Lexie May 28, 2010 at 5:14 am #

    My apologies. I didn’t include sellers of genuine vintage and supplies but I do include them in what I said above.

  52. MadeByM**** May 28, 2010 at 5:41 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/PIFS

    They can’t even get the upcoming holiday right? Memorial Day is this weekend! Labor Day weekend is in September!

  53. sick of cupcakes May 28, 2010 at 6:24 am #

    That shop is very confusing. Do people send them things to sell? Are those things made by them????

  54. Etsy Person May 28, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    On todays “finds” I see ten items I have seen before in finds or on the front page. How lazy are these people?
    __________________________

    They are supposed to be repeats. They were showing us the most hearted and clicked on items from past Etsy Find emails sent in the month of May.
    ______
    Oh sorry! I didn’t realize Etsy had such a limited supply of items to choose from!

  55. Etsy Person May 28, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    front page, trademark infringement ~ VW van drawing….
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/44699112/vw-camper-drawing-limited-edition-print?ref=fp_feat_7
    __________
    Drawing a picture or making an art photo is not trademark infringement.

  56. Em May 28, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    On todays “finds” I see ten items I have seen before in finds or on the front page. How lazy are these people?
    __________________________

    They are supposed to be repeats. They were showing us the most hearted and clicked on items from past Etsy Find emails sent in the month of May.
    ______
    Oh sorry! I didn’t realize Etsy had such a limited supply of items to choose from!
    ____________
    Sounds like they have a limited supply of themes to choose from.

    “I am completely out of ideas on how to feature these already super-popular sellers.”

    “I’ve got it! Let’s just take the most popular items and feature them AGAIN!”

    “Brilliant! I’ll bring the cupcakes!”

  57. sick of cupcakes May 28, 2010 at 7:07 am #

    LMAO, Em!!!

  58. it stinks May 28, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    In today’s etsy finds, the very first item is a resell item:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/48046959/summery-paper-lantern-collection?utm_source=bronto&utm_medium=email&utm_term=Image&utm_content=etsy_finds_052810&utm_campaign=etsy_finds_052810

    Paper lanterns that you can get at Hobby Lobby for $2 each. And they are not tagged as supplies – plus someone bought them.

  59. sick of cupcakes May 28, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/47473560/cute-red-shirt

    “Made in China. i don’t know when.”

    Probably last month.

  60. kitten May 28, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    it stinks Says:

    In today’s etsy finds, the very first item is a resell item:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/48046959/summery-paper-lantern-collection?utm_source=bronto&utm_medium=email&utm_term=Image&utm_content=etsy_finds_052810&utm_campaign=etsy_finds_052810

    Paper lanterns that you can get at Hobby Lobby for $2 each. And they are not tagged as supplies – plus someone bought them.
    _____________________

    Did they actually think the seller made these???

    sick of cupcakes Says:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/47473560/cute-red-shirt

    “Made in China. i don’t know when.”

    Probably last month.
    _____________________

    Ugh, that’s disgusting.

    That whole shop is a sloppy mess! Looks like they wet the clothes, rolled them in a ball, let them dry and then laid them out. And then there’s that it’s things that should never be on Etsy in the first place.

  61. Life During Wartime May 28, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    Shouldn’t Etsy have some sort of tag line that lists the reseller sources of the items sold on the site? Like Hobby Lobby, Target, Mariell, Dollar General, the various Asian clothing manufacturers, Avon and all the rest? Don’t be shy, Etsy, you know you wanna be a mall!

  62. Christine May 28, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Reseller? This disappointed me as I usually love all things Boston Terrier.

    On Etsy:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/47958085/boston-terrier-dog-lover-mug-cup

    and the shop itself:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/bluewitch

    Blue Witch site:

    http://bluewitchceramics.com/about-us/info_1.html

    And on Ebay:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260532544623

    Same mugs, all different prices. Who is making all of these ceramics? One person, I don’t think so. The Etsy shop ships from Thailand but on the Blue Witch website the contact address is in Chicago.

  63. detroit May 28, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    But, but, you guys! She’s just a creative person trying to put her kids through college! And her husband got laid off!!

    lol- those red herrings are always red flags that confirm to me that the person is indeed, a reseller. If they were actually called out in error, they’d be focused on describing their technique / how their items are genuine.

    Not throwing out some irrelevant sob story.

  64. detroit May 28, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    Off topic – my nemisis – monkeysnmermaids, is still empty. But their shop announcement says:

    “*We are temporary holding off of new orders as we make our Big move to facilitate our Project starting June 15th, 2010. Previous clients along with Current clients who have pending orders can get a hold of us at support [!at] monkeysnmermaids.com.
    Thank you all for making etsy such a wonderful place to work within! 🙂 *”

    I’ve been wondering why, if etsy found them to be the blatant resellers (of thousands of crap items) that they are – why hasn’t their shop been closed, not just emptied??

    The fact that it’s still open leads me to believe they’re working to get rid of the mannequin pix / pix identical to wholesale shops, and reopen.

  65. detroit May 28, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    I just realized I have no idea how to properly use the word ‘nemesis’ – lol.

    I always thought it sorta meant like ‘sworn enemy’. Someone you wanted to take down. Like how I think of monkeysnmermaids – lol.

    Turns out it doesn’t exactly mean that? I’m confused. Do you all know what it means? ‘Nemesis’ – that is?

    As the self appointed grammar and spelling police, I felt a little self reflection and criticism was in order.

  66. detroit May 28, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Oh, I see the site they mention in their shop announcement monkeysnmermaids DOT com, is their new ‘handmade’ shop.

    So, Etsy’s letting their shop stay open to redirect buyers to their BS off-Etsy site? WTH

    And, on the site, they happily proclaim, it’s just like Etsy, but without the fees!

    Gee whiz! You can buy overpriced sweatshop maxidresses! And get slightly less ripped off than you were on Etsy!

  67. sick of cupcakes May 28, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    Nemesis: a formidable rival or opponent

    I think you used the word properly, Detroit. 😉

  68. Life During Wartime May 28, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Nemesis was one of those Greek goddesses that embodied an abstract cultural principal, like Nike (victory). Nemesis was the force of divine retribution visited upon conceited (exhibiting hubris) humans — a destruction one brings upon one’s self by behaving in a manner that is unseemly.. Nowadays, it is used as another word for adversary but that doesn’t really work.

    You could say that resellers are Etsy’s nemesis because they could cause the destruction of the site as it was intended to be…if Etsy is too full of false self-assurance (showing hubris) to deal with them appropriately.

  69. sick of cupcakes May 28, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    What’s with all the typewriters on the fp lately?

  70. Life During Wartime May 28, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    The typewriter fad — just like the vintage camera fad — isn’t about using them. It’s some weird kind of decor statement.

    Been going on for more than a year now. So. Boring.

  71. detroit May 29, 2010 at 3:38 am #

    Oh, I get it now. Thanks! That totally makes sense (about Nemesis). And interesting too!

    And yes – Etsy is very motif-y. Woodland animals, taxidermy, anatomy, steam punk animals, vintage devices…

    I guess there are always trends in the world. It just seems like Etsy (and the internet in general), help to speed up their spread, and then inevitable quick demise once something becomes too popular.

    It’s like these trends are over before they start. You start to see one gaining traction on Etsy, and it makes you start to dislike it. Even if it’s something perfectly fine.

    Etsy’s targeted trending makes them the ultimate trend killers.

    Which I guess they like. Because then it’s, ‘On to the next one.’ You need to buy the newest fad / trendy item to keep up.

    Though I still like my fingerless gloves – lol. They’re useful for wearing indoors in the dead of winter!

  72. Ron UH OH May 29, 2010 at 4:50 am #

    In response to a trademarked item being on the front page this seems common on etsy.

    Im not tech inclined so Im not sure if Im posting right.but these 3 sellers are constantly using the word authentic in listing chanel jewelry made with some type “buttons”they claim are authentic.I think this is a misuse of that word as they claim to have unlimited supplies of chanel buttons and ribbons to make jewelry from.Some of these same sellers are on Ebay with the same items

    Sellers are lynnjulian speedster310 and beadeliousbaby.
    I dont believe its possible to get “authentic chanel buttons unless they come from chanel clothes which would mean the sellers have hundreds of clothes they would have removed identical buttons from

  73. ohmeohmy June 4, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Let me tell you about rhinestone jewelry! I highly doubt anyone on etsy is making any. It has to be wax cast to make a mold, and is a huge process, soldering, glue on rhinestones, etc.. Factories in China are good at making that stuff.

    I make jewelry and I know that crappy bridal store doesn’t make that shit!.

    I also make hairclips and make them 100% by hand, flowers and all. Many of those feather people buy bunches of already sorted feathers and feather pads, a store bought flower and glue it together. Just a bunch of assemblers and give the rest of us bad name.

    Portobello had a shop on dawanda where she tried to sell her 925e.com crap, so I told a dawanda seller to report her. She got the boot. She sells on facebok and artfire (no sales) and a UK site called corinandr (zero sales).

    Now I hope to get some of those “bridal” shops shut down because they are NOT making those trendy pearl and flower necklaces. I doubt they even know how to knot pearls.

    My bridal stuff is heavily documented with where I bought loose supplies, etc, so I never get accused of reselling! I would never even attempt to make rhinestone jewelry. I buy vintage pieces and use them for accents on my hairclips.

    So many bridal shops are suspect and it sucks for those of us making stuff all handmade.

Leave a Reply

