laurenshari13

31 May

http://www.etsy.com/shop/laurenshari13

http://www.etsy.com/listing/47851625/fingerless-leather-and-chain-fringe

to

http://www.kaboodle.com/channel/holiday/post/leather-and-chains-for-the-rocker-chick

and

http://www.etsy.com/listing/43757680/fingerless-leather-and-chain-hand

to

http://www.intimit.com/products/Leather-fingerless-gloves-with-chain-detail-%28L9108%29.html

Did they think they could pull off reselling a pair that Rhianna wore? LOL! Even the photos scream reseller.

They are jacking the prices too.

86 Responses to “laurenshari13”

  1. it stinks May 31, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    Those do not appeal to me in the slightest – I guess I’m not a rocker chick.
    And the photos in the etsy shop are terrible. They should have just stolen the original photos like the other resellers do.

  2. Cat Power May 31, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    That certainly is quite a markup!

    The Kaboodle writeup names her shop….obviously an Etsy buyer who can’t tell handmade from factory produced.

    The wholesale site was quite interesting, and I didn’t go any further than the link you posted! Fear some X rated spam, which I’ll probably get anyway just for clicking on it.

  3. L May 31, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    I click on the link to the kaboodle and it takes me here: http://www.kaboodle.com/reviews/fingerless-chain-glove?refItemId=AAAAAU-CstIAAAAAAbKDQQ&fromStoreDomain=otteny.com and if I click on that it takes me to:
    http://otteny.com/shop-by-category/accessories/gloves/fingerless-chain-glove.html

    That doesnt seem handmade 😛 Even if the listing is gone off that website, still seems fishy…

  4. L May 31, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    Oh! And I dont see her etsy shop mentioned. I see “Lauren Urstadt Fingerless Chain Gloves” on kaboodle, and the etsy shop is named “Lulu and Shash” and the user name is “laurenshari13”

    I think thats just a coincidence. I mean, if you are a pro designer, why not use your well known name?

  5. boots June 1, 2010 at 6:43 am #

    on the FP now

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/46946294/kid-lumberjack-button-down-shirt-extra?ref=fp_feat_2

    excellent 1990’s vintage condition

  6. it stinks June 1, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    Basic editions is a Kmart brand and look, you can get a similar plaid shirt in the boys dept. WITH a t-shirt for $16.99
    http://www.kmart.com/shc/s/p_10151_10104_049B021846520001P?vName=Clothing&cName=Boys&sName=Tops&prdNo=2&blockNo=2&blockType=G2

    That’s cheaper than the boys “vintage” shirt on etsy. WHat a joke. You can get cheap boys shirts like that at Walmart and Target too and for way less.

    Why in the world would a grown person want to wear a too small shirt like that. It looks stupid.

  7. boots June 1, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    lol I thought that was a kmart brand! sick

  8. sick of cupcakes June 1, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    Nothing better than used Kmart clothes!!!!

  9. WTFISAPDF June 1, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    This thread absolutely cracks me up. I’m no fan of admin but here’s one of the most beligerent forum goers starting a suck up thread. WTF?? It’s kiss ass day on Etsy.
    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6528130

  10. it stinks June 1, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    By the way, I have a bunch of my son’s “vintage” clothes that are too small for him listed on ebay right now if anyone wants this great “wear kids clothes that aren’t really vintage and are too small for you so that you look stupid” look that etsy is promoting now.
    They’re vintage from the year 2008-2009.
    🙂

  11. Life During Wartime June 1, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    WTF is a ‘hooker ballerina’?

    A young woman who wears boys’ clothes from K-Mart and a pearl thong?

    I wonder if working at Etsy is like being a character in SHOWGIRLS: we’re all whores, darlin’.

  12. sick of cupcakes June 1, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    Bunch of a-holes. Pass me the cupcakes!

  13. Life During Wartime June 1, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    On the FP right now:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/43791370/vintage-90s-grunge-skort-overalls-dress?ref=fp_feat_5

    More 90s…is there really a market on Etsy for stained, slightly used, denim clothing less than 20 years old?

  14. WTFISAPDF June 1, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    Oh I love 90s “vintage” rompers that romp up my butt. The auto-wedgies were just so “in” during the 90s.

    No cupckaes today. It’s not Feasty day.

  15. MadeByM**** June 1, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    WTFISAPDF Says:
    June 1, 2010 at 9:02 am
    This thread absolutely cracks me up. I’m no fan of admin but here’s one of the most beligerent forum goers starting a suck up thread. WTF?? It’s kiss ass day on Etsy.

    ****************************************

    NO A$$ kissing for me!

  16. crazy cat lady June 1, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    lol it stinks! I was just about to give my sons’ clothing to good will…I didn’t know I was sitting on a goldmine! Or that *I* could wear the clothing my 6yo outgrew (he has good taste – his mom buys all his clothes at Target 🙂

    And some days…I am soclose to opening a “vintage” shop with all the “vintage” clothing I’m about to admit I’ll never get into again from the late ’90’s, before I had kids. Hey, they don’t know the difference between 1990 and 1998, do they? All I have to do is throw a few key-words in there…”grunge””spice girls””fresh prince””friends” and they won’t even look at what I’m selling!

  17. it stinks June 1, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    crazy cat lady, I sell all my son’s old clothes on ebay. They sell like hotcakes. Most are from Target and JcPenney’s, so we aren’t talking about expensive clothing or anything. I even sell his old swim trunks ( I usually buy him 2-3 per season) and they sell really well.
    School uniform clothing sells REALLY well, too. But we’re waiting until July/August to list those.

    So, you ARE sitting on a goldmine! List that stuff on ebay and watch the money roll in – or list it in your etsy shop under vintage 🙂

  18. detroit June 1, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    What the h*ll? Have people never heard of Salvation Army, or Goodwills? I’m sure there’s one in a town near you!! lol.

    Rather than pay $17 for some used, too-small shirt, you can go to Salvation Army, and, if you’re lucky, and it’s a sale day, get a whole bag full of any clothing you pick for like $2.

    And, your money goes towards a good cause, unlike Etsy.

    Also, before anyone acts like a delicate flower, who’s too good to go into an ‘icky’ resale shop (I’ve encountered plenty of people like that), well, hate to break it to you, but that’s where the Etsy store is getting their ‘vintage’ stuff.

    That is quite the markup though, isn’t it? Boys’ shirts at my local resale are usually about $1. That’s what – a 1,700 percent markup?

  19. Life During Wartime June 1, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    There is a load of thrift store slightly used/slightly soiled merchandise on Etsy. Why list it on Ebay when Etsy is so much cheaper? And what other vintage venue would feature stuff like that on its front page?

  20. WTFISAPDF June 1, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Well, they may be contemporary but they are second-hand. Doesn’t that make them Etsy-legal?

    I think with all the garage sale junk on the FP today, someone at Etsy is f*ing with our heads.

  21. Etsy Person June 1, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    You can get plenty of good used clothing at the GW or SA and you even can try it on and not pay postage to get it! I never see nice vintage clothing on Etsy. I see used crap with stains, rips, never a real “classic” style of anything – just pure crap. Particularly irritating are the Justin “roper” style books that keep cropping up that you can still buy.

  22. Etsy Person June 1, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    BOOTS!! BOOTS!! NOT BOOKS!!!! AAAGGGGGHHH!

  23. crazy cat lady June 1, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    it stinks, I’ve tried. I even had a store, years ago (I closed it in 2008 I think). I can *not* sell childrens clothes there for some reason! And I’m talking barely used gymbo. A few months ago I tried to sell a NWT CP denim coat – cute as hell, my mom bought it and forgot about it until my son was too big for it – twice I had it up and it didn’t sell!

    I don’t get ebay sometimes. Yet, I can sell my DH’s empty altiods tins for about 40c a piece. Yes…seriously. Empty freakin’ altoids tins. My authentic Coach sandals that were worn twice until I really figured out I can’t walk in wedges? Retail price – about $128. Ebay – $25. 57 empty tins? $22.

    Head, meet desk!

  24. ugh June 1, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    Speaking of garage sale junk, there’s a stapler on the FP now. oops, I mean a VINTAGE stapler. So, it’s cool.

    I’m going to start rooting through garbage bins for crap to sell.

  25. eaten by a grue June 1, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    Oh ffs. There’s nothing wrong with selling a vintage stapler. Seriously, why don’t you just insult all of the legitimate vintage sellers who are ALLOWED TO SELL THERE by calling their legit items junk, crap, and garbage? What the hell.

    This is the call out blog. You know….for calling out. Of things that aren’t supposed to be sold on Etsy. Not for you to disparage an entire group of sellers.

  26. kitten June 1, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    ugh Says:

    Speaking of garage sale junk, there’s a stapler on the FP now. oops, I mean a VINTAGE stapler. So, it’s cool.
    ______________________

    eaten by a grue Says:

    Oh ffs. There’s nothing wrong with selling a vintage stapler. Seriously, why don’t you just insult all of the legitimate vintage sellers who are ALLOWED TO SELL THERE by calling their legit items junk, crap, and garbage? What the hell.

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I agree with eaten by a grue. There is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING wrong with selling a vintage stapler. I missed it on the front page, went and searched it out and it’s pretty cool looking. So I second that, “What the hell ugh?” Just because you don’t like it doesn’t make it junk, crap or garbage. Obviously you don’t have a good eye for vintage treasures.

  27. Life During Wartime June 2, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    The stapler is great! When I saw it I could hardly believe it made it onto the front page without having been painted neon pink by the seller and having either a tiny bird or tiny cupcake cab glued onto it somewhere. This is an authentic Machine Age item and it rocks!

  28. Laura June 2, 2010 at 2:01 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/elfthewood

    What a mess!

  29. JohnCocktoasten June 2, 2010 at 3:46 am #

    The rants against vintage are uncalled for.

  30. WTFISAPDF June 2, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    I think there’s just so much junk on Etsy that it becomes cloudy as to what’s truly vintage and what’s the latest sale find at Target.

    Etsy has no integrity. They do little to remove violators and they feature them so much that it’s become acceptable to sell anything.

    I call it Getsy now, because it really deserves the “G” for glorified garage sale. That’s all it has become. The true handmade and vintage gets buried under the garbage.

  31. JOINAA June 2, 2010 at 4:28 am #

    I sell vintage on Etsy, and I am not offended. There is so much not-vintage listed (clothes are the worst) and mis-categorizing as handmade that I feel the same damned way about it–
    it lowers the site and legitimate sellers.
    If someone wants the real deal, I have it, and if they don’t, my shop will eventually time out. Throwing good money after bad trying to compete with the crap is not the way to go.

    Because of all the mistagged and “handmade” “vintage” stuff people list, the legitimate and knowledgeable vintage sellers are negatively affected, that’s true. This is why I buy all the clothes I wear at Goodwill (because the quality is there and I am cheap) while never listing any clothing on Etsy unless it fits a narrow category that I specialize in: lingerie. The good stuff is not that easy to find, and those who know will purchase it.

    I don’t see it as flaming people for selling vintage, but for selling bad vintage, badly. If someone is looking for the good stuff, renewing and paying a big Etsy bill at the end of the month is not going to help them find you amid the dreck.

    off topic, I know.

  32. electricbluebird June 2, 2010 at 5:02 am #

    This seller is just one more in a long line of abominations.

  33. MadeByM**** June 2, 2010 at 5:31 am #

    This is featured over at Regretsy right now……talk about used and stained! Yuck! And look at the price!!!! She should just remove the appliques and sell them separately and turn the shirt into a rag to wash the car with!

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/31225373/60s-hippie-handmade-mushroom-and-ladybug

  34. MadeByM**** June 2, 2010 at 5:38 am #

    I like “vintage” stuff myself, but as long as it’s really “vintage”……a 1995 souvenir mug is not vintage….a 1965 souvenir mug is……….there is a big difference!

  35. ugh June 2, 2010 at 7:02 am #

    I’m not saying ALL vintage is bad. I like vintage & many of the sellers who are knowledgeable about it! I would never disparage them. I’m not ranting against it either. The fact that I don’t like some old stapler doesn’t mean I don’t like vintage. Let not overreact anymore to that, ok?

    You were all talking about having junk on the FP & on etsy in general. A stapler is not a treasure, so I disagree with Kittten there – it’s a stapler, even if it is a vintage one. Just because something happens to be old doesn’t make it automatically great. We’ll have to agree to disagree on this item.

    Jonaa makes a lot of sense when she says “I don’t see it as flaming people for selling vintage, but for selling bad vintage, badly.”

  36. JK June 2, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    It makes me sick when Etsy goes out of their way to promote non-vintage, contemporary second-hand goods. Doing so diminishes all the effort and integrity of people who sell genuine vintage while teaching sellers that slapping ‘vintage’ on any piece of modern used crap is the way to go.

  37. JOINAA June 2, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    The kids who work for Etsy have no understanding or knowledge. Period.
    Visualize those kids having to work with somebody like me: They would HATE me because I would make them learn something. Kicking and screaming……..
    Bottom line: They have the job, they get paid for it; the people that hire them and “manage” them are to blame. At the end, nobody is responsible because they don’t have to be.

    My 30 year old son has told me for years that “everyone” his age is either stoned or irresponsible. I used to argue generalization, but

    “All generalizations are false, INCLUDING THIS ONE.”

  38. sick of cupcakes June 2, 2010 at 8:08 am #

    I love looking at vintage, but I will stick to ebay. Vintage on etsy is too hard to wade through.

    BTW I have lots of vintage staplers. Found them in my dad’s house after he passed. 🙂

  39. detroit June 2, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE vintage.

    And some people have a great eye, and knowledge of fashion history, and can find absolute treasures at thrift stores. I most surely think they should be rewarded for their knowledge and experience. And be able to get good prices for items.

    The problem, is, as usual….Etsy. With no standards or enforcement, they make people suspicious of everything in the vintage category.

    Like W.T.F – were those contemporary(!!) topsiders really on the dang front page!

    Used junk NOT!= vintage.

  40. detroit June 2, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Just like ‘factory made’ NOT!= ‘handmade’

    What’s the point any more Etsy?

  41. electricbluebird June 2, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    This seller is fully aware that they are violating the TOU. I say crank up the heat.

  42. Etsy Person June 2, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    I sell vintage on Ebay and Etsy. I have for years. The problem with Etsy’s vintage clothing is that most of it is not real vintage. Its left overs from Target or Kmart or yard sales. I also see a lot of non-clothing “vintage” that is from Big Lots or elsewhere that sellers try to palm off as vintage. And particularly irritating is finding the word “vintage” in tags or descriptions of something that has a “vintage look” such as jewelry that is new.

  43. kitten June 2, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    ugh Says:

    I’m not saying ALL vintage is bad. I like vintage & many of the sellers who are knowledgeable about it! I would never disparage them. I’m not ranting against it either. The fact that I don’t like some old stapler doesn’t mean I don’t like vintage. Let not overreact anymore to that, ok?
    _____________

    Ugh, when you said the following, how is that not disparaging the seller, who did nothing wrong and shouldn’t even of been brought up on this blog. You not thinking that stapler is a treasure doesn’t make it fact. So yes, we will have to disagree.

    ugh Says:
    “Speaking of garage sale junk, there’s a stapler on the FP now. oops, I mean a VINTAGE stapler. So, it’s cool.

    I’m going to start rooting through garbage bins for crap to sell.”

  44. JohnCock June 2, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/chellybellychelly

  45. ugh June 2, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    And again kitten, in my own opinion, calling an old stapler vintage doesn’t make it so. To me, the word “vintage” gets tossed around a lot, because its etsy-trendy and its gotten used around so much so that its losing its value. Semantics, I guess.

    Yes, technically, the stapler is allowed as vintage. So is stuff from 1990, like VHS tapes or New Kids memorabilia. I just don’t see those things, or a metal stapler being special enough to be called vintage. While plastic staplers have been replacing them, metal ones aren’t exactly hard to find in any office building.

  46. Life During Wartime June 2, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    ugh, a 60+ year old stapler designed with Machine Age Streamlined style is vintage…period. Opinion is not a factor here.

    I can’t speak for ECO, but my impression of this blog is that it’s here so we can call out various violations of the Etsy TOU that can’t be discussed in detail in the Etsy Forums. It’s not a blog about authentic vintage or genuine handmade items getting called out simply because they are not what we personally like.

    Now here is a callout-worthy listing from the shop JohnCock just called out:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/48580147/woman-prada-handbag

  47. sick of cupcakes June 2, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    Now there is a shop full of crap.

  48. ugh June 2, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    OK, I’m willing to let it go if you all are; we’ll agree to disagree, except on resellers! And shops like that one above. Blech.

  49. pussdaddy June 2, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    I am so happy that I am closing my account and leaving Etsy.

  50. kitten June 2, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    pussdaddy Says:

    I am so happy that I am closing my account and leaving Etsy.
    __________________

    I really don’t understand why PD. You are smart enough to know what is handmade (or vintage) and you seem to be happy with what you buy.

    I’m not happy about resellers, but I think I am smart enough to tell if something is handmade or vintage, or not. If I have any doubts, I don’t buy.

    There a TON of great things on Etsy that I lust over and hope to purchase eventually.

    I also sell vintage and enjoy doing it here instead of ebay, although I still sell there from time to time.

  51. WTFISAPDF June 2, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    I didn’t see the stapler in question here but I did go through the vintage staplers and most of them aren’t vintage. As someone who has four staplers on my desk at work, I know for a fact that three of them I saw listed as vintage are relatively new.

    The globes are what cracks me up. Some people list them as being from 1967, 1970 or 1980 and when you enlarge them you can clearly see countries that didn’t exist prior to 1997. I feel so sorry for the suckers that buy them.

  52. pussdaddy June 2, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    Well there are a lot more reasons other than people buying stuff at the Dollar Store and trying to sell it to me for $25.

    People are often suprised to find that I am a real person with a real life that has real stuff going on it that might be more important than resellers and who copied who and who is selling moldy lotion and Etsy Bitches. So I do have things happening in my personal life, that though not necessarily bad or ominous or anything still need attention and are more important.

    Plus I buy on Etsy and on Ebay and everywhere else and how much does one person need? Not to mention the bitches suck all the fun out of buying on Etsy running their fucking mouths with their constant whining bitching drone day after day. They were doing it when I got there 3 years ago and will be doing it 3 years after I have gone. That is what they do. They love it.

    Plus my blog really is only a lesson in futility, as this one is too really no matter how much I have or have not enjoyed both. You could blog about this shit and other shit and the stupid asses on Etsy for the next 10 years and not put a fucking dent in it. So why bother?

    PD

  53. JOINAA June 2, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    You bother if it is worth it to you, period. To each his own, with no personal feelings involved (other than outrage and disgust hahahaha)

  54. WTFISAPDF June 2, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    Etsy is a lost cause. For the life of me, I can’t figure out how some of the forum regs can be there day in and day out. I mean, don’t they have lives? Families? Crafts to create? Places to go and people to see?

    Are they people who thrive on controversy? Are they addicted and can’t break free? Are they so lonely that it’s their only company?

    If they put as much energy into their shops as they do the forums, maybe they might have more success. You are right PD, they will be there in 10 years bitching about the same shit.

  55. JOINAA June 2, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    Most artisans work alone. I think that is a factor….

    But who cares about the forums? That is Etsy’s frivolous side: that’s where the propaganda is….. As if there is a ‘community’ has any say about how the site conducts its business.
    It’s all about what looks good and what is easy.

    People feel the need to be connected. If Etsy is concentrating on “social”sites, it looks good with the design of the site and its supposed tagline. It fits the image they want to project. Smoke & mirrors.
    As usual, people who spend their money should do their research. I do, if I am going to let any of my hard-earned funds out of my hands. If it smells like a fish, it probably is……

  56. sick of cupcakes June 2, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    I haven’t been to the forums in weeks and I am much happier for it.

  57. PussDaddy June 2, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    Well I’m a cat who doesn’t give a shit about “fishing” then, or else it isn’t “worth it to me”. Whatever. I don’t get paid to care.
    I do spend my money and I have done my research and I have come to the conclusion that Etsy can do without one more buyer as I don’t have to “fish” lots of other places.

  58. sick of cupcakes June 3, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    OK. Goodbye then.

  59. WTFISAPDF June 3, 2010 at 4:11 am #

    I can’t stand going to Etsy anymore. The homepage is usually filled with reseller crap, last year’s Payless shoes, or Peaseblossom. While this might be all well and good for brand new buyers, seeing the same shit on the FP so often is boring for those who have been there a while.

    Etsy must want it this way because years of complaints about FP favoritism have been ignored. And how hard is it to vet the items featured on the FP, Dorque, and email finds. How far can they stretch the excuse of oversight?

    I been writing back and forth to a friend in another state. She bought something that was said to be handmade for $42 and less than a week later, she saw the identical item in a store for $9.99. She said she wrote to Etsy, never got a response. Wrote to the seller several times- no response, She filed a Paypal claim but had to go purchase the $9.99 item as proof of fraud.

    My friend also filed a complaint with the National Consumer League’s Fraud Center, the Department of Justice, and with the Attorney General in the seller’s state.

    Trying to pass off something on the internet as handmade that isn’t or as vintage that isn’t, is a crime. It’s a shame more ripped off buyers don’t know about all the available resources to help them if they are a victim.

    When my friend called the AGs office, the person she spoke with said, “About 30 percent of our complaints are about Etsy.”

    If enough burned buyers filed complaints with the authorities, then Etsy might do a little more vetting of its content.

  60. JohnCock June 3, 2010 at 5:15 am #

    OK, I find it hard to believe that 30% of complaints to a state attorney general are about etsy….

  61. Call Out Grrl June 3, 2010 at 5:24 am #

    I agree, John. Not enough people even KNOW about Etsy for that to be true.

  62. Call Out Grrl June 3, 2010 at 5:32 am #

    Anyone seen The Pioneer Woman’s fave new owl earrings (on her site now)?

    Seems like those babies might be mass-produced.

    Way to highlight such a crapola Etsy seller, PW.

  63. WTFISAPDF June 3, 2010 at 5:56 am #

    That’s what my friend said she was told. This is in reference to internet retail site complaints. She said the rep told her that Ebay ranks the highest. Thirty percent is not a large number because overall, people aren’t reporting retail internet rip offs. So if they receive 50 complaints in a year, that’s only 15 complaints in regard to Etsy sellers. And she was told the majority of the complaints were in regard to concerns about lead safety and shops not following CPSIA laws. That’s why I said more people should file complaints about rip offs.

    In my state, I know that the CPSIA controversy resulted in many complaints to our AGs office in regard to the lead testing standards and those selling children’s stuff online, including Etsy.

  64. Etsy Person June 3, 2010 at 6:25 am #

    The current front page has at least two non-vintage items. From one shop, check this one out
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/38403955/haute-combat-boots-size-65
    “all hail the 90’s comeback” in the description.

  65. Laura June 3, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    Etsy Person- UGH! What a mess! This dress she has listed is SO not vintage: http://www.etsy.com/listing/28692991/love-with-tier-us-apart-dress?ref=v1_other_1. She labels it flapper? I have one veryu similar to this. It was from a few years ago!

    I love vintage, abd buy a fair amount. I do not buy from anyone that does not state the decade and if the label is not available then I like it when they describe the materials and how they dated it.

  66. Laura June 3, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    Sorry for typos!

  67. WTFISAPDF June 3, 2010 at 7:32 am #

    Joni Blair was founded in 2008. This is real vintage.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/44659692/reserved-thee-floral-summer-dress

  68. WTFISAPDF June 3, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    And WTF is up with the pictures in this shop

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/43905448/sailor-girl-charms-snake-at-the-cabaret?ref=v1_other_1

  69. Em June 3, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    I guess some people don’t like to show their faces… but I’ve seen the cat thing before, and it’s fucking creepy. I don’t get why they don’t just crop their heads out of the picture.

  70. detroit June 3, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    Ha ha – she knows all the right buzzwords. She describes them thusly: “The utilitarian details on these boots remind me of classic Ann Demeulemeester or Rodarte.”

    Um. More like Payless in 1998.

    And “Made out of soft vegan leather”. lol/

    Again – Payless. Late 90’s at the earliest. And there’s no way those suckers cost $44 even when they were new.

    Okay – I love Toronto (this seller’s town). But it is so thick with hipsters that it makes Brooklyn look sparsely populated with them. It’s hilarious.

  71. WTFISAPDF June 3, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    Yeah, “roses are red, violets are blue, this dress is adorable for you.”

    To hell with the fact she’s trying to pass a dress made in 2008 as vintage.

    Vintage is supposed to be 20 years old… not 20 months.

  72. kitten June 3, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    JohnCock Says:

    OK, I find it hard to believe that 30% of complaints to a state attorney general are about etsy….
    ______________________

    Yeah, WTFISAPDF has a ton of dramatic stories about her friends and Etsy gone bad.

  73. WTFISAPDF June 3, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    Sadly, I encouranged a lot of friends and family to join Etsy and several have had very bad experiences that Etsy admin did nothing about. I have 117 referrals listed under my now-abandoned buyer account. (They are located under “My Etsy”, “Promote”, “referrals”) That’s the number of people I referred to Etsy who listed me as the referring person when they signed up.

    I shared the info as a way to spread the word about the importance of reporting fradulent sellers to the authorities, since Etsy doesn’t give a shit.

    So i’m outta here and F*uck you kitten.

  74. Disgruntled potter June 3, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    Etsy seller dbabcock was on the FP THIRTEEN TIMES today, June 3rd. I am not usually a whiner, but jeebuz cripes-does that seem excessive to anyone else?

  75. Disgruntled potter June 3, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Sorry- I am a total idiot and misread the craftcult stats. She was only on 3 times today, 2 times yesterday-which is good for her, but not as ridiculous as 13–please forgive the error.

  76. sick of cupcakes June 3, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    13? I only found 3 times.

    http://www.craftcult.com/vault.php?fm=2&esn=dbabcock&st=2&date=1275591156&userid=5428852

    128 total.

  77. sick of cupcakes June 3, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Oops, forgot to refresh before I posted. 😉 Didn’t see your second post.

  78. Life During Wartime June 3, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Has this shop been called out before? Lotsa ‘handmade’ bags and purses:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/adinelle

    This shop should take about 90 seconds worth of thought and inspection before being closed by admin.

  79. uh-huh June 3, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    3 times a day repeat for one seller is about par for the FP lately, eh? The “FP repeats” threads have died down in the forums….. guess we’ve all come to the realization that there will be no change.

  80. boots June 3, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    i think that etsy just doesn’t have the time to pay attention to who gets on the FP and it is more of treasury creators copying what they see on the FP in hopes to get there

  81. PussDaddy June 3, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    Well WTFISAPDF what do you expect? You are after all “just a buyer”. And for every buyer there are a thousand excuses for why just one seller did not perform.

    PussDaddy

  82. JOINAA June 3, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    What a shame that the one blog I ever check consistently is now being polluted. Oh well, lots of other things to do.
    Etsy is never going to change for the better because there is no incentive for it to do so.
    All these little social startups end up the same: lack of privacy, lots of promises, and a long line of losers the longer it continues.
    (ie: Facebook, MySpace, ad nauseum)

  83. Liz June 3, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    Life During Wartime – I also flagged the adinelle shop selling Chanel handbags. Wonder how long it will take for them to be shut down?

  84. crazy cat lady June 4, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    WTF, was that when etsy was telling us to refer people and they would be keeping track of them and there would be “cash and prizes” for the most referrals? Bwahaha! I wonder what ever happened to that??

Leave a Reply

