krushdesignz

3 Jun

Every so often, The Pioneer Woman will feature some sort of item she loves. She’s featured Etsy shops in the past and those sellers have gotten LOADS of sales from that exposure, so a mention on http://www.thepioneerwoman.com is like gold dust for an Etsy seller.

Looks like The Pioneer Woman has gotten her hands on a pair of owl earrings from Krush Designz http://www.etsy.com/shop/krushdesignz and yep, they’re pretty cute. The only problem is that they’re MASS PRODUCED.

Krush Designz earrings: http://www.etsy.com/view_transaction.php?transaction_id=29829306

The matching necklace from Forever 21: http://www.polyvore.com/rainbow_owl_necklace/thing?id=7689369

Taking a look around Krush Designz shop is like looking through one of those baskets of junk jewelry at a garage sale. Infuriating that The Pioneer Woman has highlighted such a horrible example of an Etsy shop!

At least The Pioneer Woman took a better picture of the earrings than Krush Designz ever could. http://thepioneerwoman.com/homeandgarden/2010/06/owl-earrings-by-krush-designz/#comments

49 Responses to “krushdesignz”

  1. sick of cupcakes June 3, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    Has anyone mentioned this to Pioneer Woman I wonder?

  2. doodette June 3, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/pradman

    What about these guys… just found them on Artfire which bummed me out, too.

  3. Stephica June 3, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    Technically if they took the owls off the necklace and put them onto the earring hooks they didn’t violate any Etsy rules that I know of.

  4. Kirsi June 4, 2010 at 1:40 am #

    Doesn’t look like a reseller to me.

  5. JohnCock June 4, 2010 at 3:48 am #

    Check out this shop:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/SaveThePlanet

    She sold a LV bag (fake) which she described as “repurposed”.

    She has all sorts of non-handmade, non-vintage and a ton of sales.

  6. Ron UH OH June 4, 2010 at 6:17 am #

    About the last shop and fakes on Etsy.Etsy does not take action when you report items The high end brands themselves like Gucci LV Chanel and Coach could very easy shut the fake auctions down but they dont seem to check etsy..If you type in chanel over 1600 items come up most fake and sellers claim they are authentic.Its annoying to keep seeing this and sellers doing quite well.

  7. Em June 4, 2010 at 6:17 am #

    would it be going too far to say her shop just sucks and I really don’t see why she is featured at all? Looks like everything is charm-on-a-chain, I recognize several things from chain craft stores. And the pictures are crap.

  8. elizabeth June 4, 2010 at 6:54 am #

    She is an assembler and is okay according to etsy rules. She buys the owl charms (or necklace from forever21) and puts them on earwires. I don’t see an issue here, it’s all etsy legal. Just because you don’t think it’s ‘handmade enough’ doesn’t make it wrong.

  9. Jajie Bo June 4, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    Does this Pioneer Woman only feature and support handmade goods? If not, why would she care that these are mass-produced?

    There’s a large percentage of shoppers who want “cute”, and they don’t really tend to care about how/where/by whom the items are made.

    Proof of that can be seen daily on Etsy. : (

  10. sick of cupcakes June 4, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    True.

  11. JohnCock June 4, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    Ron, none of those bags are vintage – they are all brand new and not handmade. They are indeed flaggable.

  12. JK June 4, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    A lot of those name-brand bag companies care a lot about their brand integrity, and many of their official sites will have a place to contact them regarding suspicious merchandise.

  13. crazy cat lady June 4, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    FWIW, the Coach bags in that shop are real. They’re from the factory outlets. They’re not vintage though. That one Kate Spade though (the red/black check) is a horrible fake! Ugh.

    The owl earrings look etsy-legit. It’s okay to take charms and put them on earwires. The shop looks like a red hot mess though.

  14. Life During Wartime June 4, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    I agree that buying a couple of owl pendants from a commercial site (or even the original wholesale source) is Etsy legit. Heck, when I find myself in a real department store (one where you don’t push a cart), I always check out the sale counter in Costume Jewelry. There are always bunches of cool beaded strands for like a buck each: czech glass, interesting lucite shapes, funky pendants. Even though I have to pay sales tax at the store, I don’t have to pay shipping. It’s cheaper than buying materials from a bead supplier! I am not copying anyone’s design either because what I buy are simple strands of beads.

    Even though my designs have more elements in them than ‘pendant on a chain’ or ‘dangle on an earwire’, I think where/how you get your supplies isn’t relevant — it’s still handmade.

  15. Bedazzled VONdom June 4, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    Breaking News: KrushDesignz inadvertently admits to being a reseller in her latest shop announcement.

    “Attention!!! MORE COLORFUL OWLS TO COME SOOON! Send me a message and let me know if you want a pair! 🙂 Ok for everyone that messaged me I will send you a personal e-mail as soon as i get them! They should be here this coming thursday! So if anyone else wants a pair please send me an e-mail! :)”

  16. MadeByM**** June 4, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    A single charm on a single chain (or earwire) is still walking that thin line of handmade (assembled) to me. Stringing beads and making it look good is a creative process (colors, textures, patterns, etc.) whereas, grabbing one mass produced charm and sliding it one mass produced chain does not take much creative talent……sorry. But whatever………Etsy allows it.

  17. MadeByM**** June 4, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    I wonder why only 1 feedback to 19 sales?

    No offense to anyone, but I’m going to start selling basic, plain (and a lot of it ugly) jewelry made with plastic beads for $10.00. I way undercharge for my stuff if 2 plastic beads, 4 glass seed beads and base metal findings can go for $10.00!

  18. Christine June 4, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    While the charm on a chain is handmade and ok (and loved) by Etsy I personally don’t think it’s good enough. I have often been tempted to put my extra charms on a chain to sell and I may wear one that I put together but I won’t sell it. Why? Because I know I can do better. I want to do better. I want to be more creative than that. I know I can’t tell other people that they need more integrity but at least I know what I am capable of and I put my best out there.

  19. MadeByM**** June 4, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    And yeah, that would take me a whole 5 minutes to make…..(including “designing” it)!

  20. MadeByM**** June 4, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    But I have never been the type to jump on the bandwagon or go with the trends, so my loss, I guess!

  21. Call Out Grrl June 4, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    I think she had 5 sales before PW promoted her, so she really has 1 feedback for those 5 sales.

    What’s getting me is that people are actually buying the stuff inspite of the fact that some people have posted on PW’s site that they are going to buy two necklaces and make their own earrings for less than Krush Designz is selling them!

    From what I can tell, the earrings used to be part of Forever 21’s line, but they aren’t available anymore, so the girl must be expecting a “shipment” of necklaces next Thursday to get those orders filled!

  22. Life During Wartime June 4, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    It says at Forever21 that the owl pendant necklace is ‘final sale’ so the availability of the earrings may be limited now.

    Gosh, could the faux vintage fad be waning, even a little? Dare I hope? I’d love the see vintage sellers continue to list real vintage and handmade sellers come up with something uniquely their own.

    I am old enough to remember (slightly) the owl fad from the mid 60s, and it was not a style icon for the young and trendy. Owl necklaces were a teachers’ and librarians’ fave, and owl decor was a mature housewife thing. Ugh.

    I was 12 in 1965, and nothing in the junior department had an owl on it. That was for the blue hairs. And Temple University alumni.

  23. detroit June 4, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    I don’t even get the impression that she’s putting charms on earwires. I think they are straight up resales.

    Who knows. Whatever. Etsy sucks. lol.

    Even if she did some minimal assembly, I have to admit – I’m not a big fan of the premade charm on a premade chain thing. I know, I know. It’s ‘legal’. And there are far worse things on Etsy.

    And I’m sure drawing a clear line in the sand between pure handmade, and NOT handmade is impossible. There’s a lot of grey.

    But I get the idea that Etsy’s rules in this area are inconsistent and contradictory. Yet another Etsy fug-up.

  24. sick of cupcakes June 4, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Funny, my comment was removed from pioneer’s blog. I’m surprised she hasn’t removed all of them, LOL.

  25. it stinks June 4, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    LDW, I saw an owl t-shirt for adults just the other day and I almost bought it. Of course, we were at the zoo and it was a “go green, recycle, who gives a hoot” kind of shirt. But still.

    LOL
    It was really cute too. But then I guess I am a middle age housewife – though it’s not 1965 anymore.

  26. crazy cat lady June 4, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    Bedazzled, that doesn’t mean she’s a reseller. That means she hasn’t received the supply (charm) yet.

    While it may not be “good enough” for you all, it’s perfectly etsy-legit to buy a charm at Michaels, put it on a chain, and sell it. And IF that charm-on-a-chain necklace was featured on a blog and you started getting inquires about it it would be PERFECTLY ETSY-LEGIT, NOT RESELLING, to put a note on your shop that you’re going to get more charms. Which is obviously what that note is.

    Wow. You all need to stop looking for what’s not there. You may think charm on a chain is the shitbowl of etsy, but it’s legit and not reselling. Deal.

  27. Stephica June 4, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    That was me being subversive in the blog comments. Hopefully she doesn’t delete it now!

  28. Bedazzled VONdom June 4, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    “Bedazzled, that doesn’t mean she’s a reseller. That means she hasn’t received the supply (charm) yet.”

    Really? So she’s going to email everyone as soon as the charms arrive?

    “I will send you a personal e-mail as soon as i get them!”

    I wonder if she will email as soon as she finds her needle nose pliers? And once again while she is attaching the charms to the wires? And then once again as she attaches them to the business card/earring card?

    Poor girl. She’s going to be too busy emailing to spend all her new found wealth!

    In other words, **** cough cough bullshit cough cough no assembly required****

  29. Bedazzled VONdom June 4, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    “You may think charm on a chain is the shitbowl of etsy, but it’s legit and not reselling.”

    Show me where I have said anything of the kind.

  30. Bedazzled VONdom June 4, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    “On June 2nd, 2010 at 4:55 pm
    Kristen Miller said:
    I got this EXACT same pair of owl earrings at Charming Charlie! Its a chain and they are massed produced.”

    http://thepioneerwoman.com/homeandgarden/2010/06/owl-earrings-by-krush-designz/#comments

  31. kitten June 4, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    MadeByM**** Says:
    June 4, 2010 at 11:52 am
    I wonder why only 1 feedback to 19 sales?
    ____________________
    16 of her sales came 6/2 and after.

    Christine Says:
    June 4, 2010 at 11:53 am
    While the charm on a chain is handmade and ok (and loved) by Etsy I personally don’t think it’s good enough. I have often been tempted to put my extra charms on a chain to sell and I may wear one that I put together but I won’t sell it. Why? Because I know I can do better. I want to do better. I want to be more creative than that. I know I can’t tell other people that they need more integrity but at least I know what I am capable of and I put my best out there.
    __________________________

    Oh you don’t think it’s not good enough? It’s pretty damn arrogant to think that anyone who makes jewelry this way is lacking in integrity. Doesn’t say much for your integrity or lack of.

    This kind of talk makes me very uncomfortable. There are people with varying degrees of talent on Etsy, some are very young, elderly, physically or mentally disabled, etc… and maybe this is all they can do and they are proud of their work. Some just enjoy making this kind of jewelry. Obviously it’s selling, so many people like it. It’s very mean spirited and downright cruel to belittle anyone who makes jewelry in this fashion. They have every right to be on Etsy.

    If Krush Designz is reselling with no assembly required, than shame on her, but it’s really tacky to look down anyone who does “assemble.”

    (((Disclaimer: I do not sell jewelry!)))

  32. kitten June 4, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    Bedazzled VONdom Says:
    “Bedazzled, that doesn’t mean she’s a reseller. That means she hasn’t received the supply (charm) yet.”

    Really? So she’s going to email everyone as soon as the charms arrive?

    “I will send you a personal e-mail as soon as i get them!”
    ___________________________

    I’m sorry I don’t see your point. Is it an impossible task for you to email or convo people who have asked when you may get a certain item back in? It isn’t, I’ve done it.

    You seem to be grasping at straws here.

  33. Bedazzled VONdom June 4, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    “Is it an impossible task for you to email or convo people who have asked when you may get a certain item back in? It isn’t, I’ve done it.”

    You really email or convo people just to let them know that your components have arrived in the mail? Come on. Not buying it. No one is that stupid.

    “You seem to be grasping at straws here.”

    And yet……

    “On June 2nd, 2010 at 4:55 pm
    Kristen Miller said:
    I got this EXACT same pair of owl earrings at Charming Charlie! Its a chain and they are massed produced.”

    http://thepioneerwoman.com/homeandgarden/2010/06/owl-earrings-by-krush-designz/#comments

    (You must have missed it the first time around.)

  34. crazy cat lady June 5, 2010 at 7:13 am #

    Bedazzled, you may not have had to use the words “shitbowl”, but your intent is clear.

    And I don’t know why you can’t believe someone may not email people when a supply has arrived?? I’ve emailed people when a supply of mine has arrived. When a bead I’ve needed to complete something has arrived (or I’ve found it by running to bead stores/craft shops/bead shows) yes, I’ve emailed my customers to let them know the supply has arrived and I’ll be done with the project shortly. No, I don’t email to let them know about my needle nose pliers etc.

    There are legitimate issues at etsy. You look real petty going after etsy legit people.

  35. Bedazzled VONdom June 5, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    “You look real petty going after etsy legit people.”

    Sigh. Once again, for the slow learners:

    “On June 2nd, 2010 at 4:55 pm
    Kristen Miller said:
    I got this EXACT same pair of owl earrings at Charming Charlie! Its a chain and they are massed produced.”

    http://thepioneerwoman.com/homeandgarden/2010/06/owl-earrings-by-krush-designz/#comments

  36. Call Out Grrl June 5, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    I still maintain that this seller isn’t Etsy-legal. The earrings are a separate item to the necklace. I refuse to believe Krush Designz is buying the necklaces and removing the bail and turing the pendant into earrings. That would require more skill than her other “handmade” items display.

  37. Bedazzled VONdom June 5, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    “Bedazzled, you may not have had to use the words “shitbowl”, but your intent is clear.”

    Really? If you can show me where I have even IMPLIED or HINTED that the charm on a chain sellers do not belong on Etsy and I will PayPal you $500 within 24 hours. No strings attached.

    Tick, tick, tick…..

  38. kitten June 5, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Bedazzled VONdom Says:

    You really email or convo people just to let them know that your components have arrived in the mail? Come on. Not buying it. No one is that stupid.
    _______________

    Um, yes I have.

    If the buyers asked if she is going to list more owl earrings, she will convo or email them when she gets the owl charms in. Don’t care if you don’t buy it, it’s perfect logical, except to you. So yes, apparently “someone” is that stupid.

    ________________
    Bedazzled VONdom Says:
    “You seem to be grasping at straws here.”

    And yet……

    “On June 2nd, 2010 at 4:55 pm
    Kristen Miller said:
    I got this EXACT same pair of owl earrings at Charming Charlie! Its a chain and they are massed produced.”

    (You must have missed it the first time around.)
    ___________________________

    Nope, I said…” If Krush Designz is reselling with no assembly required, than shame on her, but it’s really tacky to look down anyone who does “assemble.”

    You must of missed that or didn’t understand it, which is probably the more logical choice here considering your past posts.

  39. kitten June 5, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    Bedazzled VONdom Says:
    “You look real petty going after etsy legit people.”

    Sigh. Once again, for the slow learners:

    “On June 2nd, 2010 at 4:55 pm
    Kristen Miller said:
    I got this EXACT same pair of owl earrings at Charming Charlie! Its a chain and they are massed produced.”

    http://thepioneerwoman.com/homeandgarden/2010/06/owl-earrings-by-krush-designz/#comments
    _______________________

    Slow learners? You get one thing in your head and then lalalala, won’t or can’t read why it may or may not be true.

    Just because someone bought the EXACT earrings means nothing. There is a necklace out there with the same owl charm, the charms come from somewhere. The seller could of bought two necklaces and made earrings or found a source for the charms. It’s earwires attached to the charms, not rocket science. There could be umpteen makers of these earrings and they all would look the exact.

    And again for the slow learning Bedazzled…..

    “If Krush Designz is reselling with no assembly required, than shame on her, but it’s really tacky to look down anyone who does “assemble.”

  40. Rechelle June 5, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    Does it really surprise anyone that PW would promote mass produced crap? It’s either mass produced or a big box store for that girl. Starbucks, Lowes, Kitchen Aid, Restoration Hardware…she does not have an original bone in her body. She has clearly been assembled from store bought spare parts.

  41. Bedazzled VONdom June 5, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    “Just because someone bought the EXACT earrings means nothing.”

    Too funny! You must have been the star of your AP classes.

    Tick, tick, tick, still waiting….

    Imagine all the cheap, MIC crap you could buy to resell on Etsy with that $500.

  42. Sara June 5, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    I agree with Rechelle. Very fitting.

  43. JJ June 5, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    I have seen those owl charms at hobby lobby, so maybe she will buy from there if they are no longer available at forever 21.

  44. JJ June 5, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    Oops! Never mind, I was looking at the wrong owl earrings!

  45. Emm June 5, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    Wow, Pioneer Woman is deleting comments the earrings are not handmade & the shop may be a reseller. I know, because she deleted mine.

    How nice, to know she won’t even foster a reasonable discussion on this matter, and will not even post an update since so many people have brought this to her attention.

    Very disappointed in her.

  46. Bedazzled VONdom June 6, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    She didn’t delete this one, yet:

    “On June 4th, 2010 at 10:19 pm
    Marie said:
    These earrings are not handmade & don’t belong on Etsy to begin with. It would be nice if Pioneer Woman retracted this post. All this shop is doing is reselling this item – buying the items in bulk at a cheap price ( or getting them at Target, Walmart, & actually, Forever 21 has this EXACT necklace) then claiming they are handmade. They lie to buyers and basically bring Etsy down. Reselling is a huge problem on Etsy; with many shops doing this. All true crafters & artisans suffer when Resellers are successful.”

    As for being disappointed, what else would you expect from someone who continuously pimps out her children and her family for money and adulation from complete strangers? The woman has a huge hole in her soul that must be filled with constant positive attention by any means necessary.

    Details (and torpedoes) be damned!

  47. Call Out Grrl June 7, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    Oh dear, looks like Krush Designz has heard about this little thread and has gone to Pioneer Woman’s site to defend herself (albeit under an alias). Here’s what she has to say:

    On June 7th, 2010 at 10:57 am
    Kim said: I love going into Aquarium Oddities in Greenville SC and seeing Krush Designz work. Monica, can usually be found there, putting together her latest creations. You definitely won’t see these as earrings anywhere else, as they are put together by Monica only, for now;) Last time I was in there, she said she was now shipping these all over the world! You go Monica of Krush Designz And ignore the jealous comments

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

    This actually made me giggle out loud! Can you imagine someone actually allowing this person to sit around with their supplies and “put together” jewelry? Notice how “putting together” was used twice in this post.

    High-larious!

  48. JOINAA June 8, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    Put together. Lack of vocabulary, or intentional obfuscation? Probably both. Junk and lackies of junkies is all that is.

  49. Call Out Grrl July 11, 2010 at 5:04 am #

    Well I suppose there’s some justice in the world. Looks like krushdesignz is still stuck with 17 pairs of these “handmade” owl earrings. Ha!

    And strangely, very few of her customers have left feedback! Perhaps they read through the comments (before they were deleted!) on the PW website and decided they didn’t want to out themselves as stupid enough to pay $25 for $5 earrings.

    Good luck pawning those beautiful handmade earrings off on other gullible people, krushdesignz!

Leave a Reply

