daring777

5 Jun

http://www.etsy.com/shop/daring777

“Preowned” shoes listed in handmade- http://www.etsy.com/listing/48034691/black-pikolinos-slides-preowned-size-37

New Never Used Victoria’s Secret luggage- http://www.etsy.com/listing/48034101/new-victorias-secret-luggage-black

25 Responses to “daring777”

  1. Abe June 5, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    How about “Tamraak”:

    The seller is from the USA but the shirt is “designed and handmade in India”.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/42002742/orange-silk-top-zoey

  2. ADC June 5, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

    Hahaha Have you seen what she’s charging for the pop art?! No where near worth $30 or $50! Does she think people who buy handmade are also stupid when it comes to somethings worth?

  3. PussDaddy June 5, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    Will make a great gift for your pre-owned wife!

  4. Blue Kitty June 6, 2010 at 3:34 am #

    Not only a reseller

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/42011795/bangle-free-with-purchase

    Bargain “buy” for someone?

  5. sick of cupcakes June 6, 2010 at 4:40 am #

    I have that Victoria’s Secret bag in the OP. They gave them away as gifts I believe a few years back. What a jackass.

  6. JohnCock June 6, 2010 at 5:06 am #

    Just another day on etsy…

  7. JOINAA June 6, 2010 at 5:52 am #

    Shoes is one of the search terms you just do not want to use in handmade.
    The respectable ones actually do create amazing shoes, but there are not that many. The rest embellish, which is TOU-OK.
    BUT there are so many that are described as ‘vintage’ in the handmade category that it will make you puke. Unless you want to puke, do not search for ‘vintage shoes’ in handmade. It’s a red tide.

  8. it stinks June 6, 2010 at 6:31 am #

    She has this listed under weddings:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/48030806/pop-art-speedlove

    I’m not really sure what this is but it looks like a childs art project – how in the world does it relate to weddings?

    Is this one of those joke shops that are just trying to get on regretsy?

  9. sick of cupcakes June 6, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    “WALL ART OR MAIL IT HANG ANYWHERE”

    This lady is a few fries short of a Happy Meal.

  10. Life During Wartime June 6, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    JOINAA, the used shoe problem in handmade exists to the extent it does because too many Etsy staffers seem to have a thing for preworn footware, no matter how it is listed. Used shoes find their stanky way into nearly every FP collection or Etsy curated feature, many of them listed in handmade categories. This means the staff curators search handmade for so-called vintage used shoes.

    I’m not saying there aren’t true vintage shoes that are collectible because of their specific period style…and maybe wearable depending on condition — they shouldn’t be listed as handmade for sure! But buying used shoes you might wear someday just because you can squeeze them into your closet isn’t collecting vintage. It’s addiction. Yuck.

  11. Blue Kitty June 6, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shoe_fetishism

  12. JOINAA June 6, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    Shoes are the most gross, but do a handmade search for ‘vintage ceramics’ or ‘vintage wedding’ or any other major category and you will see what I mean.
    It’s the idiocy of the tag system, esp the tag guidelines and instructions.
    a.) People don’t read
    2. the drop down contradicts the written instructions.

    Now, that IS Etsy’s staff’s fault. “It’s on our radar” “great idea” “thanks for the tip, I’ll alert BumFuck in the tech dept” or somesuch.
    LAZY is what I call it, and apparently the Kids are still hung up on the concept of anarchy.

  13. sick of cupcakes June 6, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    Nothing better than someone’s stinking old shoes.

  14. Life During Wartime June 6, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    Ha, bluekitty! But the wiki article doesn’t explain why the Etsy admin gals and so many young women shoppers on Etsy want to buy fairly generic style used womens’ shoes. At least, I still don’t get it, other than as a focused shopping addiction. The newish shoes are thrift store finds rather than estate items with real age to them. If the original owner of the shoes had felt extra sexy wearing them, she wouldn’t have dumped them at the thrift.

    Maybe I am being too logical to understand the process, I dunno.

  15. Blue Kitty June 6, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    Leave all logic at the door as you enter Etsy-Land.

  16. JK June 6, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    I’m very amused by the idea of vintage shoes automatically being ‘stinky’ and somehow extra-gross. Like all vintage clothing is sparkly clean and unworn! Almost all the shoes in my collection have come from other collectors; many haven’t been worn in decades and some have never been worn at all, and I can assure you there’s nary a whiff to be had. Of course, I also know how to clean and can make a good shoe (or dress, or coat, or whatever) look even better.

    Some vintage shoe fans don’t care where they come from — I recently bought some shoes at an auction and a lady sitting nearby offered me twice what I paid for a single pair of them. She tried them on at once, and I have to say they looked damn good on her. As to new shoes, I’m pretty sure when I buy a pair in a shop that there’s an excellent chance multiple ladies have tried them on before I have! Wonder if they all have perfectly clean feet that smell of roses and springtime?

  17. Life During Wartime June 6, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    JK, I guess I am spoiled. I wear a very unusual shoe size, and cannot buy shoes in the store. I have to buy online; before the internet I used mail order. I NEVER had to lock up my shoes in the dressing room during gym class. No one in the school could fit into my shoes! Really I am just a jealous hating bitch p.o.ed because she can’t find her size in used shoes on Etsy.

    There’s a lovely pair on the FP right now. I don’t consider them an important vintage style. They look like well worn generic shoes. If seeing them gives someone’s PayPal the female equivalent of a woody, well…enjoy!

    Oh, and this is on the FP as well:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/47612927/vintage-denim-jean-shorts?ref=fp_feat_9

    I don’t know anything about Taiwanese fashions. Are these really 20 years old?

  18. JOINAA June 6, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    If I find a pair of shoes that fit me, and they are a brand that works for my feet and are in great shape— I WEAR THEM, not try to sell them. But, that’s me. Imagine if I were to buy them new– I save more than I would make hawking them.
    (plus a lot of those shoes on etsy are so not vintage.)

  19. detroit June 6, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    LOL – I buy shoes at the thrift store. But I can sorta understand why people might be a little wary. A pair of jeans you can put through the wash before you wear them. A pair of pumps – not so much.

    But, you can tell by a quick look, lots of shoes at thrift stores – the insides are immaculate, the soles bear little to no scuffs – you can tell no one ever really wore them.

    Also – I like ‘fast fashion’ as much as anyone else. A sucka for trends. There are always one or two trends of the season, I want to wear (shoe-wise, and clothing wise). Finding a version at the thrift is a guilt free way of indulging in trends, without the sweatshop / enviro consequences I was yapping about before.

    Also, as a vegetarian, leather kinda skeeves me out. I feel somehow less guilty if someone else already bought and discarded a leather item – like shoes. Like, I’m just keeping it from being wasted. lol.

    Lastly – you can find some amazing true gems. I found a gorgeous pair of (early 80’s??) high end leather pumps, perfect condition, made by a local shoemaker. Back when there used to be local brands, before it all went overseas. I really treasure them.

  20. detroit June 6, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    Uhh, but to these particular shoes and ‘luggage’ called out above ($50 for that bag?? LOL!!)

    Um, I don’t even know what to say anymore.

    Etsy – ya done lost it. The shark has been jumped, Elvis left a long time ago. Nothing left to see here.

    It’s a shame.

  21. sick of cupcakes June 6, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    My first job was as a shoe salesperson, back in the day when you actually put the shoes on the customer’s feet for them. I guess I have seen one too many deformed, diseased feet to ever want a pair of used shoes. Vintage never-been-worn shoes are another story, of course.

    I love vintage Nike’s and I’m always searching online for a certain pair that made my huge feet look small, but alas, they are nowhere to be found.

  22. sick of cupcakes June 6, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    And if that bag sells, I am listing mine. On Ebay where it’s legal.

  23. jcjohn June 7, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    I have a B&M ladies consignment shop. We sell A LOT of shoes. (Many come to us brand new, too!). Our standard, all shoes are wiped with those sanitizing wipes, inside and out. We keep black, navy, and brown shoe polish on hand to polish/buff. Magic eraser is our friend when removing scuffs. And I can’t tell you how may pairs of sneakers I’ve just toted home and washed in my front loading washer and air dried.

    We take our shoes seriously here.

  24. jcjohn June 7, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    If I’m not mistaken, those denim shorts linked to above may be Abercrombie’s.

  25. jcjohn June 7, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Oops, there not on closer inspection.

Leave a Reply

