Copyright/Public Domain Crochet Pattern- charmingcrochet

7 Jun

How can a shop copyright public domain?

charmingcrochet
http://www.etsy.com/listing/48911054/vintage-crochet-pattern-pdf-foot-print?ref=cat2_gallery_18

All PDF patterns Copyright Charming Crochet. All Rights Reserved. Patterns may not be reproduced, sold, or shared in any form except you may print a copy for personal use. Original pattern book/patterns public domain.”

The pattern from Vintage Crochet-

This free pattern originally published by The American Thread Company, Star Rug Book No. 93, in 1952.

http://www.freevintagecrochet.com/rugs/star93-footprint-bath-mat

28 Responses to “Copyright/Public Domain Crochet Pattern- charmingcrochet”

  1. JohnCock June 7, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    She has a listing for a sale too. Lovely.

  2. Life During Wartime June 7, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    O M F G!

    Buying this PDF is like paying $2.99 for a ziplock baggie of air.

    Goes to prove, though, that a lot of girlz shopping on Etsy iz dum. Because charmingcrochet has actually snagged some sales with this ripoff.

    Even though you have the link right there, I wanted to play customer and see how hard it would be to Google the public domain version. First link returned. I’d bang my head on my desk, but I am laughing too hard to do it!

    Even though this is an obvious scam, I think it is Etsy legal, no?

    For a free public domain pattern, girls, who is buried in Grant’s tomb?

  3. MadeByM**** June 7, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    They even use the same photo from the free pattern site…..gosh, it’s hard being good when you see what people get away with!

  4. MadeByM**** June 7, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    If there are any crocheters (is that a word?) reading this, you should crochet this rug and sell it on Etsy and then announce that it is from a free pattern!

  5. sick of cupcakes June 7, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    I crochet but wouldn’t waste my time making something so silly. I believe all of her vintage patterns are available free online, because they all look familiar to me.

  6. sick of cupcakes June 7, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    What really gets my goat is when people use patterns on Ravelry to make stuff, then sell the finished item without the designer’s permission. I have gone back to several pattern designers to tell them when I see something like that.

  7. JK June 7, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    I’m not sure which I dislike more, reselling free patterns or PDFs listed in Vintage. They both annoy me equally, but for different reasons.

  8. Life During Wartime June 7, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    The listing in the callout is in the Crochet category. Should a PDF pattern be listed in Supplies?

  9. sick of cupcakes June 7, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    Well actually, if you go to the crochet category there is a subcat for supplies/patterns.

    There is someone on the forums who gets mad that yarn is listed in knitting, but knitting also has a subcategory for supplies/yarn.

  10. JOINAA June 7, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    I was always told that the answer to this question: “Who is buried in Grant’s tomb?” is YO MAMMA!
    Actually it’s the answer to almost everything.

  11. sick of cupcakes June 7, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    YO MOMMA is my kids’ answer to just about anything!

  12. JohnCock June 7, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Another trainwreck…fake handbags, <20 year old vintage, fake dust bags (in sold items).

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/robin1473

  13. boots June 7, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    ew! this is so messed up! how can people be so tacky?

  14. woody June 7, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    This probably doesn’t belong here but I have not
    been able to say much about it anywhere else and it sort of fits.
    This is a listing for a kit , unique, original design. It is also listed on Ravelry as a pattern.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/37044745/something-sheepy-hat-kit-in-pumpkin-sh

    Compare it to this and see how unique and original it is.
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/48961039/pattern-sheep-and-lambs-flap-hat

    A member of her knitting guild phoned me to apologise for allowing her to photocopy the pattern. I’ll give Bitsy credit for tweaking. I took it up with Ravelry, who never responded to my emails. I asked her to take it down and she said no, she has every right to publish it due to her changes.
    I considered taking it up with Etsy but decided it was better for my ulcers to let it go. She makes a bit of money off of my creativity, oh well. Worse things have happened to me in my life.

  15. woody June 7, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    A comment on the OP. Original knit and crochet designers are currently struggling. Pattern sales have dropped to an almost non-existent level, dominantly because of the number of free patterns that are available on-line, both public domain and original. Many designers are no longer doing new work as the return for the effort is poor. This situation is creating a dearth of exciting direction in the knitting and crochet world.
    I am sure that this has happened in other sectors as well. It certainly can be seen in the lack of originality on sites such as Etsy.
    Thanks EtsyCallout for a forum to rant.

  16. Gigi June 8, 2010 at 4:24 am #

    The following is chock full of fail but mildly entertaining:

    Recently, Closed Threads posted this thread-

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6541585

    It basically contained an attempt at complaining about a purchased item which was from China and “probably” mass produced. The seller, LiliesOValley http://www.etsy.com/shop/LiliesOValley, posted that the item was purchased through her husband’s shop, so there wasn’t a “call out”.

    Being the snoop that I am (and having too much free time at work), I checked out her profile and immediately found her husband’s Etsy site link, http://www.etsy.com/shop/ezhilin. I checked out the feedback and noticed the garment in question was “probably” from the (re)seller, Idea2lifestyle. I believe they’ve been called out on ECO before.

    You might think that the story would end at this point, but something else piqued my interest. If you look closely at the feedback for ezhilin, it looks like his dear-reseller-calling-out wife was kind enough to “purchase” from him on several occasions and leave positive feedback. LiliesOvalley was also kind enough to receive positive feedback from the items her husband purchased from her.

    I have to say, I’m thinking this is probably a case of shilling. I’m also utterly shocked that anyone on Etsy would ever play pot-kettle-black so well.

  17. Etsy Person June 8, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    I double dog dare someone to send the seller the link to the original/original pic and say OMG SOMEONE HAS COPIED YOU!!!

  18. jcjoh June 8, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    lol, etsyperson!

  19. not a copier June 8, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    I’ve come across so many patterns for sales that I’ve seen elsewhere for free. Once I was online doing a search for vintage edging patterns and found the exact same group on e-bay for sale and at another site for free, same edgings, same pics, etc… I was floored, (that was a few years ago), now I don’t get so floored.

  20. sick of cupcakes June 8, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    That sucks Woody. I’ll be sure to put her on my DNB list so I never buy from her. >(

  21. steamedpunk June 8, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    The only thing more pitiful than this is when someone will use copyrighted images (Harry Potter, Spongebob, Disney, etc.), and then make stickers or whatever, then put THEIR watermark on them like THEY originated the designs; some even go so far as to state that “their designs” are “Their copyright.”
    What horseshit.
    Who cares?

  22. ram March 10, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Just for the record, if someone takes the time to put these patterns up for sale and then someone pays for them that is their choice. Have you ever noticed how many people pay for books that are free in the library??

  23. Iris December 25, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    Ram,

    I totally agree with you! If someone would rather pay for something vs. spend the time to search for it, that’s their prerogative. There are a lot of people who would rather pay $3.00 for a pattern vs. spend all day looking for it. It all boils down to how you value your time and how YOU choose to spend your money.

    The person providing the service should not be crucified because they are not holding a gun to anyone’s head forcing them to buy the pattern. The library analogy is right on-point as a wonderful example that really puts all this into perspective.

    Merry Christmas and Happy crocheting!

  24. buy garden decorations May 4, 2014 at 10:37 am #

    Hi, just wanted to say, I loved this blog post. It was practical.
    Keep on posting!

  25. Hello everyone, it’s my first visit at this website, and piece of writing is really fruitful designed for me, keep up posting such
    posts.

  26. Pat Bowman July 26, 2014 at 8:31 am #

    There are many websites explaining copyright laws regarding patterns for crafts. If a seller is too lazy or dishonest to make sure she is not breaking the law, she should be sued by the original copyright holder. I sent these links to crooked ebay sellers.

    http://www.craftsandcopyrights.com/faq.html#8

    http://www.tabberone.com/Trademarks/CopyrightLaw/Patterns.shtml

  27. Ilona Bergen March 3, 2015 at 1:46 pm #

    Here is a good read for everyone. http://www.tabberone.com/Trademarks/CopyrightLaw/Patterns.shtml

  28. Tess Sittig October 22, 2016 at 8:56 am #

    I for one am willing to pay a couple bucks for a pattern instead of searching for it ; especially if it’s a vintage pattern .
    I’m thankful for those who post these to Etsy !
    Tess

Leave a comment