newyorkcouture

9 Jun

What do you guys think about this shop?

http://www.etsy.com/shop/newyorkcouture

forum thread:

http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?page=1&thread_id=6542797

FEEDBACK FROM CUSTOMER:
So..First if you read this, check out MY feedback to see that I am an excellent member of etsy with over 600 transactions under my belt, almost all of them as a buyer, which means-I am a good buyer. Now, about this seller: first, she has absolutely no clue what etsy is all about, she solves her problems by ignoring her buyers, I have been unhappy with the poor quality of this necklace and contacted her only to be ignored about 4 times!!!!! Without a doubt, the worst customer service on Etsy that I have ever seen (and again, I have been here for a while, and I shop a lot).

This necklace has been returned to this seller and all I asked for was a refund, not even one that included shipping, I paid the shipping both ways. She keeps ignoring me until right now! SHE HAS BOTH THE NECKLACE AND MY MONEY, which is basically stealing. This is the worse transaction I ever had on Etsy, all for a necklace that is way over priced for it’s poor quality(and I have bought this kind of jewelery before). Both paypal and etsy have been informed and I will keep warning people about this seller in all of my online activities(blogs, etc). If you want over priced poor quality jewelery and to be ignored if you have a problem with the transaction and be made to feel like YOU ARE NOT A HUMAN BEING, THIS IS THE GIRL FOR YOU!
So sweety…you might have won this one, good for you! $25 more in your paypal account, but you will never make it as a business women with your horrid attitude, not to mention as a member of an honest and caring community that is Etsy.

FEEDBACK GIVEN BACK:
“BEWARE!! Might be the craziest person on the internet!! Makes false accusations and lies!!! So beware!!!!”
_________________________________________
FEEDBACK FROM CUSTOMER:
“Sent incorrect item/No exchange received”

FEEDBACK GIVEN BACK: (not to mention one of them was a cancelled transaction)
“Seller beware of this buyer! Leaves negative feedback saying never received item for auctions she didn’t pay for.” (AUCTIONS?! They’ve been on Etsy since ’05?!)
_________________________________________
I know we will always get the people that will want to say that is “not that bad” but we feel that sellers that give crap customer service and then leave negatives and try to cancel transactions give Etsy a bad name so they get a buyer beware.

47 Responses to “newyorkcouture”

  1. um no June 9, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    This could all have been avoided had they had better taste in jewelry…

  2. anon June 9, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    I feel for the buyer, I really do. That said, I’m not sure what she was expecting because from the photo it looks like they bought a $.20 paint it yourself plastic suncatcher that most craft stores sell for 6 yr olds to make. I don’t know how it could be worse then that.

    No excuse for horrible customer service though.

  3. GlitzGlitter June 9, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    they have a link in their announcement to their website where you can buy the same stuff.

  4. Cosmic Yuk June 9, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    I’ve seen this shop before, can’t remember what the issue was, but back then and still now I can’t help feeling the whole edgy attitude is contrived. But I get it, it’s a gimmick to get their target market’s attention.

    This is ‘in the moment’ “clothing and accessories”, not items made with care or attention to detail, they are meant to be disposable.

    To be honest, I wouldn’t expect a quality item from this seller, the title, descriptions and tags are all about hype, and no material tags are filled out. I think expecting quality is rather risky, but again, they aren’t selling quality and don’t appear to claim they are selling anything but the experience. Kind of like Etsy, they sell a feeling, a dream, but it only lasts until the reality kicks in.

    Then you can add this little tidbit from their policies page:

    “MPORTANT!!!! Because there are CRAZY people on Etsy (about 2% of you…lol…the following is important for you to know):

    If you are sending us a message on Etsy…please realize:
    1) it is not instant….which means just because you sent it doesn’t mean we can reply right then. If your message is URGENT (not to say hi, you like something, added something to a treasury, ect) please email info [!at] newyorkcouture.net
    We receive HUNDREDS of emails, so please be PATIENT!!!

    2) this is a business, and we are open M-F, except for orders that need to be shipped on weekends…so if, for example, you are emailing on friday at 4:30pm, and then again saturday and then again sunday…please breath, take a break to calm down (because NOTHING is that serious) and we will get back to you as soon as we can

    sorry again to you NORMAL Etsy shoppers, but the crazy people are being let loose and we need them to know the above info”

    Ummm…ok then.

  5. JohnCock June 9, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    Moustaches and owls but no cupcakes or cowls….sigh.

  6. Life During Wartime June 9, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    JohnCock, you have to check the sold items to see cupcakes.

  7. JohnCock June 9, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Ah, so I see….surprise, surprise, surprise.

    Cosmic, you are spot on.

  8. sick of cupcakes June 9, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    There is a lovely cupcake available.

  9. Cosmic Yuk June 9, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I should add that this does not excuse poor customer service, they *should* treat their customers with respect and remember that in addition to all that edginess, they are still a business and some aspects of that business require a more serious attitude.

    I’d point out that much about their shop is off-putting, but they’d probably just think that I am not their target market anyway so it’s no big deal. Maybe so. You still have your target audience who will buy your stuff regardless. But it is wise to keep in mind that even though *I* may not be your target market, I probably know someone who is, are you really in a position to turn away potential business?

    Being respectful of your customers cannot hurt you in any way. You don’t have to *care* about them, but you should care about how your business is perceived by anyone who may happen across it.

  10. Etsy Person June 9, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    I think this shop has the ugliest banner I have ever seen.

  11. boots June 9, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    they sound like a bunch of 17 year olds… i hope they are! hopefully owls and unicorns will run their course sooner than later

  12. JOINAA June 9, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    My opinion of the shop: What crap! IMHO to laugh at.
    My opinion of the shop owner’s performance: what you see is what you get. Sounds immature for sure, at least unprofessional.

  13. Life During Wartime June 9, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    Well said, Cosmic Yuk!

    IMO a business should aim its products and advertising at a target market, but business policies boilerplate AND practices should be pretty much standard. Reaching out to one or more specific demographic groups is not the same as offending everyone but those demographic groups. There is a world of difference between thinking young/targeting young and showing the world you are immature.

    I hate hate hate those nonsensical threads in the forums like “guess how old the seller is by their shop”. Who cares how old the seller is? You only buy from your peers, no matter how dowdy they might be? You won’t buy an amazing handmade dress in your 00 size designed by a seller who wears size 18 either, I bet. Your loss. And my number two immature seller hate is the inevitable derailing of every thread about enforcing the Etsy TOU age standards for Vintage with tittering comments about how the thought of anything from 20+ years ago makes them feel old. Oh, and not all the immature sellers on Etsy are young!

  14. Etsy Person June 9, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    Also interesting is the idea of their listing their Paypal email in the body of the listing. Trying to keep Etsy from collecting a sales fee?

  15. Cosmic Yuk June 9, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    Etsy Person, at first thought the same thing crossed my mind, but if they click to buy the item, then the fees would be charged. I’m not sure why someone would put their paypal address in the listing. It’s a lot more work to copy and paste the info into paypal, and then, you have no idea if the item is even still available. What if 10 people did that on the same item? It just makes more sense to purchase the listing. Maybe it’s for those who are confused with checkout?

    What bothers me more is the link to the website. Which I just checked out……………and I have to confess I do not know anyone who would wear this stuff. I don’t think I even know someone who might know someone……….

  16. Cosmic Yuk June 9, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    Life During Wartime says: “I hate hate hate those nonsensical threads in the forums like “guess how old the seller is by their shop”.
    ________________________________________________________

    Honestly? I flag these sorts of promo games. Sometimes they get moved, sometimes they don’t.

  17. Life During Wartime June 9, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    Cosmic Yuk, I think I saw one yesterday in Etc. Don’t know where in the Forums it started out. I didn’t click on it to read the posts.

    I do see where a topic about “what is the target market for this shop” might be helpful to sellers, but the buying public doesn’t need to know how old a seller is, what their favorite color is, or if they have any babies/cats/dogs/whatever at home…unless that’s somehow related to what they sell.

  18. Staticcling June 9, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    Why not just say, “Give me your money, drop dead, and don’t let the door hit you on your way out. Owly mustachitude!”

  19. JohnCock June 9, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

    I will see your owly moustachitude and raise you a cowlcake.

  20. sick of cupcakes June 9, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    I’ll take your cowlcake but only if it is monochromatic ecru.

  21. detroit June 9, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    I frikken hate viral trends. Cuz- if you think about it, there’s really nothing wrong with owls (cute) or cowls (warm) or cupcakes (mmmmm) or mustaches (I actually like my man with one – but he refuses).

    But, now since all these trends have been drilled into us, through us, and into the damn ground – it makes me hate these formerly innocuous things.

    I hate it when something I like starts getting trendy (which occurs randomly – not because I’m fashionable, or an early adopter). Because then I know it will have to go thu the inevitable period of being horribly annoying and uncool when the trend gets worn out.

    When people, like this store, who are three years behind the times finally catch on to something, you know it’s time to put it back in the closet for a good five years.

    Although, because of the internet, the speed which with trends are cycling these days, owl / cowls will be ‘retro-aughtsy cool’ again in a few months. lol.

    Like, omg – remember the crazy fashions of 2008? I can’t believe how OLD I’m getting. Hee hee hee.

  22. PussDaddy June 9, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    The UppityMinions prove they are as stupid as the Etsy Bitches. Here UppityMinion Alterdelenda defends this non-delivering, non-refunding, retaliatory feedback leaving seller.

    http://www.fashionmefabulous.com/2010/06/etsy-shop-of-week-new-york-couture.html

    Alterdelenda said…
    LOVE this shop. They’ve been in my favorites for a long time now! Great feature.
    June 8, 2010 7:18 PM

    PussDaddy

  23. ADC June 9, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    Well they must be doing well to afford to have Audrey Kitching Model for them, I’ve love to have her model my stuff!

  24. MadeByM**** June 10, 2010 at 6:06 am #

    ECO showed up in the forums again……

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6539869&page=1

  25. Staticcling June 10, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    …And was quickly locked down by the smiling censor. Because honest discourse is unhealthy.

  26. MadeByM**** June 10, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    Of course, there are the few replies about how ECO has too much time on their hands and how does it help to call out……either they are guilty or they are naïve!

  27. ugh June 10, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    this shop with 1741 sales and a 99% feedback rating was featured in the etsy finds today.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/cocoricooo

    yikes!

    but after checking pretty legitimate feedback left for her (long shipping times, improper fit) i checked the feedback she left for others. talk about retaliatory feedback. she even goes so far as to accuse one buyer of complaining to get free stuff.

    http://www.etsy.com/people/cocoricooo/feedback?type=for_others

    yuck!!

  28. jenn June 10, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    Etsy won’t do a damn thing about that shop. After all, it’s in NY and it sells mustaches.

    No one at etsy cares if the shop follows the rules or not, and reading through their shop I have strong doubts that it is indeed etsy legit, but hey what do I know.

    They sell the etsy trends and therefore etsy won’t do a stinkin’ thing about it, because they suck.

    Sorry to be all negative and crappy, I’m just sick of etsy’s lack of professionalism.

  29. Bedazzled Condom June 10, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    “I’m not sure why someone would put their paypal address in the listing.”

    This (like the seller’s use of the word “auctions” on Etsy) appears to be an eBay thing. You used to see it there a LOT. Not so much anymore but I suppose old habits are hard to break for some.

  30. Life During Wartime June 10, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    Ebay sellers used to put their PayPal address in listings because Ebay’s interface with PayPal was glitchy sometimes and didn’t pass the information about items won/purchased to PayPal. So the buyer would have to copy and paste the sellers PayPal email address at PayPal, along with all the transaction numbers if you wanted to get discounted shipping, for example. Ugh. I remember PayPal’s security software timing me out before I could copy like 20 of those huge transaction numbers for vintage bead lot auctions. I am so glad they fixed that.

  31. MadeByM**** June 10, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    Actually, they have 3519 sales! You quoted their rating! They aren’t going anywhere…..they are a “power seller” and a big money maker for Etsy!

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/cocoricooo

  32. PussDaddy June 10, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    I wouldn’t wear half this crap and I don’t know anyone who would.

  33. PussDaddy June 10, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    You know, screw what people say. This blog isn’t always perfect but neither is mine. People are always quick to bash you if you do anything better than they do, even blog. So screw them. Maybe they should do some of this stuff instead of sitting on their asses in ETC and yapping about their nasty snatches and crotch rot and how their STD infected asses can’t get any sales, ya think?

    PussDaddy

  34. sick of cupcakes June 11, 2010 at 6:00 am #

    That ECO thread on the forums make me want to vomit. Why is it anytime Bomobob posts those horny women just line up to agree with whatever he says. Are they so starved for male attention???

    “bomobob is my new hero. A success story! “

  35. Mandi June 11, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    I saw this and was pretty sad about it…until I checked their Etsy page. They posted about the feedback. I personally truly enjoy this shop and if i had the $$$$ i would just go crazy and buy everything! ❤ Glad to see they are not as bad as you are making them out to be!!

    Here's what they posted:
    In response to our 2 negative feedback…since there's been talk over it. I know…2 is a lot!!
    Buyer w/ the long revenge-ful rant decided to file several false claims against us…all claims were dismissed because they were false. In which point she was obviously pretty angry and left her feedback.
    Second negative purchased a purple necklace; sent her a purple necklace. Problem was…she wanted a pink necklace…lol. As stated in our policies: all sales final no exchanges/refunds. We were super nice & made an exception, told her to mail back the purple necklace & when it arrives we will send out the pink. She then ordered the pink necklace. We waited on the necklace to arrive, in which time she accused us of getting the purple necklace & not sending her anything in return. We explained it had not arrived yet. She then left negative feedback for the purple necklace, saying it was not received…which obviously it was & filed claims with paypal/etsy… both dismissed. Still no purple necklace sent back to us. Now negative feedback left for the pink necklace she didn't pay for (notice you cannot click on that item as a link because Etsy canceled that order due to non-payment). Purple necklace arrives; we ship the pink necklace to her. Feel free to check.

  36. PussDaddy June 11, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    One would have to take your word for the long feedback and this buyer/seller appeared to be on the up and up to me. I guess we’ll have to take your word for #2. Now how about #3 where the buyer didn’t receive their item and was ignored. Why would a seller not communicate with their buyer?

  37. PussDaddy June 11, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    Not to mention a seller can cancel a sale for just about any reason they pull out of their ass so that the sale was cancelled doesn’t mean much to me.

    Why the hell would I want to buy from someone where all sales are final? What if it is your fault, say the item fell apart, or wasn’t sewn right? I don’t know why anyone would buy from all sales final sellers. When I see that it tells me they have had problems before and this is their way of dealing with it-by not dealing with it.

  38. crazy cat lady June 11, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    Mandi, their etsy page makes them sound even MORE unprofessional than their shop and retaliatory feedbacks (I didn’t think that was possible). YES, 2 NEG feedbacks out of 240ish sales and 130ish feedbacks IS A LOT. In my combined etsy shops I have 450 sales and NO neg feedbacks…on ebay I have 665 positive feedbacks as a seller.

    It sounds as if the last neg they got could have been avoided pretty easily. I don’t know about the first – I got bored of reading their convoluted “excuse” half way through. They shouldn’t put their dirty laundry out like that – it smells worse than their models.

  39. crazy cat lady June 11, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    For once I agree with PD – NO SALE IS FINAL until the customer has it in her hands and is happy with it. And I say this as a seller. It’s my JOB, as a seller, to make sure that my customers are thrilled with their purchases. If they’re not, for whatever reason – even if the colour of blue in the turquoise doesn’t match their eyes quite right – they can return the merchandise (as long as it’s unworn, of course). I do repairs on my work, even years later.

    Why would you buy from someone who treats you like shit? First, NYC lies to you by telling you that everything in her shop is RARE!! ZOMG!!! GET IT NOW!!!1111!!ELEVENTY!111!!1 When anyone with two working brain cells can see she’s got a zillion of those owl/mustache/unicorn/glittercrap necklaces for sale and have been sold. How can something both be RARE!!111!1!!!!!! and have been sold 40 times over? Then she says ALL SALES FINAL so you know that if you wear something once and it falls apart your SOL. THEN, she writes about the “crazy people on Etsy, but she’s not talking about YOU…but if you message her don’t expect an answer right away but YOU wouldn’t do that, just the CRAZY ones…”. Yeah, like that friend you have who always makes those derogatory comments about Jewish folks (vegetarians/blondes/republicans/etc.) and then says, “but I don’t mean YOU…YOU’RE not like that….

  40. sick of cupcakes June 11, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    If a buyer is going to run a scam, it certainly won’t be on a seller with crappy junk like this seller has.

  41. zizzybob June 11, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    Doesn’t all this fuss about bad Etsy shops just get them all alot of free advertising?

  42. PussDaddy June 11, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    I guess if you consider being talked about for non-communication with your buyers, sending out the wrong item and refusing to refund, leaving retaliatory feedback, and being fucking idiots with childish sounding shop policies and crap “free advertising then I guess so.

  43. PussDaddy June 11, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    And I agree, if I was going to scam someone it sure as hell would’t be for a plastic fucking mustache and a dress that makes me look like a bird.

  44. jcjohn June 11, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    lol zizzybob

  45. etsycallout June 11, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    Doesn’t all this fuss about bad Etsy shops just get them all alot of free advertising?
    __________________________________________________________
    who would read about them here and go buy? Pretty slim chances.

  46. 1come1n9eace June 14, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    Where can I post my own nasty feedback/ creative infringement issue?

  47. 1come1n9eace June 14, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    Ummm let me clarify. I meant feedback RECEIVED (not given)
    I wish I had know about etsy callout before Etsy admin (7days later) removed the scathing, nasty, horrible feedback!

Leave a Reply

