Shilling- RingRingRing

14 Jun

If you are going to shill, make sure that you don’t name the account in your profile as your other shop. 🙂

http://www.etsy.com/people/RingRingRing

I’m an artist and silver smith in San Francisco. I have two etsy shops. One is for paintings and drawings ArtAnd.etsy.com, and another is for jewelry RingRingRing.etsy.com

ArtAnd decided to buy & leave feedback for 3 items…

56 Responses to “Shilling- RingRingRing”

  1. jenn June 14, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    While I appreciate knowing who the shillers are, I doubt that it will matter with etsy.
    They’ll take the 3 feedbacks off like it never happened and no one will be the wiser that the shop is a cheat.

    *sigh*

    Integrity. It’s so hard to find there.

  2. GlitzGlitter June 14, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    Is it possible they just didn’t understand how it is supposed to work? Maybe?

  3. detroit June 14, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    GlitzGlitter Says:
    June 14, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Is it possible they just didn’t understand how it is supposed to work? Maybe?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    lol. How often do you sell things to yourself? And then compliment yourself for the great product and wonderful service.

    Gee! I’m really hungry right now. I made some bread the other day. I sure would love some about now. But I don’t have any cash on me to pay myself. Sigh…..

  4. Penny June 14, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    Is it possible they just didn’t understand how it is supposed to work? Maybe?
    _____________________________________________________
    Yeah, she set up a second shop at Etsy but still couldn’t quite figure out that you buy from shops other than yourself. Really? Do drunk drivers just not “figure out” that they are impaired after they drink? Sometimes you just can’t justify actions of others by ignorance because it’s so damn obvious.

  5. boots June 14, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    lol ya, if i want one of my products i just take it… i don’t buy it from myself

  6. Life During Wartime June 14, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Shilling isn’t something a seller does by accident. It’s possible they didn’t know shilling was against the rules on Etsy, but I doubt that.

  7. 42things June 14, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    brilliant. totally brilliant.

  8. JOINAA June 14, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    HAHAHAHAHA!

  9. GlitzGlitter June 14, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    You guys are right, it was just a really pitiful attempt and I was hoping it was a mistake? Really couldn’t be, though.

  10. uh-huh June 14, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    I get so pissed when I don’t convo myself immediately to let me know I’ve shipped my package.

  11. Laura June 14, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    uh-huh Says:
    June 14, 2010 at 11:39 am
    I get so pissed when I don’t convo myself immediately to let me know I’ve shipped my package.

    LOL!

  12. Kathy June 14, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    This one does not look right to me.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/DesignerKay

  13. sick of cupcakes June 14, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Ahaha!

  14. detroit June 14, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    This one does not look right to me.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/DesignerKay
    __________________________________________

    I would not shop there based on the horribly annoying, caps screaming, title stuffing verbiage. Makes my eyes bleed.

    Gliztglitter – I’m sure you just try to assume people have good intentions. It’s a better point of view than going through life as a bitter, jaded, cynical crab.

    Sometimes I do think some of the resellers – particularly those for whom English is not a first language – really don’t know Etsy isn’t Ebay. I don’t think some of them are intentionally being dishonest. (Though many are). Etsy sure LOOKS a lot like Ebay, so I can understand the confusion.

    Best to give people the benefit of the doubt. Until it’s obvious they’re jerks.

  15. stinkypants June 14, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/tianyouitem?section_id=6896503

    yarks

  16. Life During Wartime June 14, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    Whoa, stinkypants! A completely finished faux leather purse is a supply? A supply used to make….what?

  17. PussDaddy June 14, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    Why not shill? Etsy will just remove the feedback like they did for LilliesofValley/ezhillin. Their rules pertaining to shilling seem to be a bit contradictory
    concerning shilling

    http://www.etsy.com/dosdonts.php#feedback

    Multiple accounts held by one person
    You may not use an alternate account to purchase items from yourself. This is called “shilling

    Feedback
    Members may ask Etsy to review feedback for removal. Contact Support to request a feedback review. Etsy does not investigate the validity of opinions or statements made in feedback or mediate feedback disputes. At Etsy’s discretion and without notice to both parties involved, feedback may be removed or altered by Etsy in the following circumstances:
    Shilling is evident (fraudulent inflation of feedback rating by use of an alternate account).

  18. PussDaddy June 14, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    Kathy Says:
    June 14, 2010 at 12:07 pm
    This one does not look right to me.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/DesignerKay

    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

    How did you ever get past that massive monstrosity of a shop announcement to even view her stuff?

  19. stinkypants June 14, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    Maybe it is a charm for a necklace for a very large trollseller.

  20. Life During Wartime June 14, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    You’re right, stinkypants. You should apply for a job on Etsy because you are on the same page with the staff. JK The staff would probably want to move them to Vintage.

  21. stinkypants June 14, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    Beat those coin purses with a chain to give them a weathered/vintage look. ” Yup, I pulled this owl change holder thingy off a Hells Angel, back in ’63 “.

  22. ohmeohmy June 14, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    hilariously stoopid!

  23. stinkypants June 14, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    Lordy, lordy. I reported that shop and it now shows that I marked it as a favorite shop?

    Wacky.

  24. detroit June 14, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    AH AH AH! At TianYou you can get an EB Hardy wallet. Who the heck is Eb Hardy?

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/43310347/printing-wallet-with-button-h4a-2?ref=v1_other_2

    LOL

  25. detroit June 14, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    Hee hee. They have tons of items by this person Ebward Hardy:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/43310280/printing-wallet-with-button-h3a-4?ref=v1_other_2

    I think something is dackwarbs….

    Though, if you asked me to make some faux Chinese brand name items, I’m sure my logos would be even more nonsensical…lol.

  26. sick of cupcakes June 14, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    I am Team Ebward.

  27. JohnCock June 14, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    I flagged that tian shop just after it opened. Nice job Etsy! 30 people scammed.

  28. Etsy Person June 14, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    This one does not look right to me.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/DesignerKay
    ______________
    Glad you can still see. My eyeballs are bleeding from the caps, garbage, verbage, words etc. that are screaming all over the page.

  29. sick of cupcakes June 14, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    SHE’S THE QUEEN~~~~OF STEAMPUNK!!!!

  30. ArtTales June 14, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    This one does not look right to me.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/DesignerKay
    ______________
    I’m sure there are words in there somewhere but I’m finding it hard to focus.

  31. itsybitsy June 14, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    OMG that Kay lady’s profile is worse than her shop announcement.

    Im interested to know if she actually owns all the tm’s to those phrases, I understood its about $350 per tm phrase isnt it?

  32. ohmeohmy June 14, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    That’s funny as hell about Eb Hardy–hahahahaha, all misstamped

  33. willowandme June 15, 2010 at 3:11 am #

    And I notice that RingRing whatever left feedback for ArtAnd, too. hmmm….

  34. sick of cupcakes June 15, 2010 at 3:15 am #

    Kay sure loves to talk about herself.

  35. Dee June 15, 2010 at 4:36 am #

    You are right, shilling is against the rules. A few shilling feedback on a new shop doesn’t bother me that bad as the dam resellers. I can easily forgive someone for shilling a few feedback. At least they are not taking someones money and pretending to send them something handmade.

  36. detroit June 15, 2010 at 4:46 am #

    Is Kay hanging out with herself in her shop banner and avatar? Or is that her and her evil twin May?

  37. sick of cupcakes June 15, 2010 at 5:35 am #

    Dee, IMO dishonesty is dishonesty. I wouldn’t buy from a liar knowingly. And a dumb one at that.

  38. Em June 15, 2010 at 6:53 am #

    I’ve seen this cake stand on the FP twice already today, and many times before. The seller was also featured a while back.

    Let me be clear: I think this is a really cute item, but is it REALLY the only thing Etsy can promote?

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/45156030/small-cake-stand-azure-lace-cake-plate?ref=fp_feat_12

  39. Etsy Person June 15, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    I’ve seen this cake stand on the FP twice already today, and many times before. The seller was also featured a while back.

    Let me be clear: I think this is a really cute item, but is it REALLY the only thing Etsy can promote?

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/45156030/small-cake-stand-azure-lace-cake-plate?ref=fp_feat_12
    _______
    Looks very Martha Stewart in style and color.

  40. it stinks June 15, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    That Kay is very chatty. And she has a layaway plan.

    Don’t people reread what they type? I mean, really? What kind of person would type that, look at it, and then think it’s easy to read? THAT is what scares me.

    It’s freaky.

  41. detroit June 15, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    Em Says:
    June 15, 2010 at 6:53 am

    I’ve seen this cake stand on the FP twice already today, and many times before. The seller was also featured a while back.

    Let me be clear: I think this is a really cute item, but is it REALLY the only thing Etsy can promote?
    _______________________________________

    I was going to make a sarcastic comment about them being in desperate need for cupcake display space. But then I clicked thru, and sure enough, they use a cupcake as a prop in the pictures.

    LOL.

    Maked me wonder if you could get a lot of FP exposure for making items ancillary to other Etsy mega trends.

    A plush shaving kit for your faux mustache?

    A cowl rack – to hang all your cowls?

    A necklace / jewelry tree, in the shape of an actual tree, for all your owl jewelry?

  42. bellacruz June 15, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    detroit, you might be on to something…..

    dang, if only I had more time.

  43. sick of cupcakes June 15, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Don’t forget something to display all of your bees and/or honeycombs.

  44. sparkalicious June 15, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    Oh noooo, DesignerKay has her own website, Facebook page, newsletter, etc. Why does this not surprise me?

    http://www.pizazzbeads.com/xcart/Designer-Kay-Jewelry/

  45. sick of cupcakes June 15, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

    We can buy her dvd’s too so we can hear her talk about herself.

  46. Cosmic Yuk June 15, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    sparkalicious Says:
    June 15, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Oh noooo, DesignerKay has her own website, Facebook page, newsletter, etc. Why does this not surprise me?

    http://www.pizazzbeads.com/xcart/Designer-Kay-Jewelry/
    ____________________________________________________________

    Kay and John Jacobs are the current (former?) owners of PIzazzworks Beads, I’ve bought from them for years and got their newsletters. Her husband just happens to be John Jacobs the founder of Artfire……………………

  47. PussDaddy June 16, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    So basically the founder of Artfire’s wife has a shop on Etsy? Too funny.

  48. wheelsonthebus June 16, 2010 at 6:23 am #

    If you want to spend a fun afternoon chasing a mountain of
    shilling?

    Check out RDG and her “friends”!

  49. sick of cupcakes June 16, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    RDG?

  50. blood, sweat and tears June 16, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    wjw—-i couldn’t get past the spaghetti to even look at her stuff, hard to believe it would be tasteful after that mess….

    sparkalicious Says:
    June 15, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Oh noooo, DesignerKay has her own website, Facebook page, newsletter, etc. Why does this not surprise me?

    http://www.pizazzbeads.com/xcart/Designer-Kay-Jewelry/
    ____________________________________________________________

    Kay and John Jacobs are the current (former?) owners of PIzazzworks Beads, I’ve bought from them for years and got their newsletters. Her husband just happens to be John Jacobs the founder of Artfire……………………

  51. Bedazzled VONdom June 17, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    People who slap their own faces all over their business websites give me the creeps.

    I assume people visit her site because they are looking for jewelry, not pasty, middle-aged women. If she were selling make-up, and knew how to apply said make-up, perhaps four photos of herself on the first page of her website would be appropriate but as it stands now, it just looks like she is unnaturally self-absorbed and for no good reason.

  52. wheelsonthebus June 18, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    She’s no Rare Flower

  53. wahwah June 20, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    Bedazzled, that’s FIVE pictures of herself, not four.

  54. RocksInMySocks June 20, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    Check out RDG and her “friends”!

    ————

    hmmm . . . raredaisygems?

    trying to decipher this.

  55. kitten June 23, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Ah, I thought that shop name sounded familiar! In the forum now…

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6556205

  56. Pinks June 24, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    really ticks me off. I wrote to etsy yesterday and explained about these two shops/single seller SHILLING and lo and behold, last night I see that she has changed her profile and removed the reference to her other shop artand.etsy….so obviously, etsy notified her (ringringring). she has now added that she has another shop (more jewelry?) and I forget the name, but she has removed the *shilling issue* I wrote that because artand / ringringring are bound by the TOU of etsy regarding disclosure…evidently, just because something is in the terms of use, we don’t have to abide by it? Or this is a case of “all animals are equal, some are more equal than others” (paraphrasing here)

Leave a Reply

