Reader Comments

8 Jul

From reader comments:

for your consideration:

http://www.etsy.com/shop/NYLightMetals – sounds like someone from Etsy wrote her profile. I have doubts about these items being handmade. Opinions, please.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/designeraddicted – another hilarious example of the shit people can get away with here. These items are undoubtedly factory made and the listings state that they’re not even FOR SALE. WTF!?

________________________

what you thing about this shop?
http://www.etsy.com/shop/elohar

I did a google search and found this page and an ebay shop
http://stores.ebay.com/ELOHAR-INTERNATIONAL-CORP
http://www.eloharjewelry.com/
+1000 sales and a member since ’08 :/

and also this one
http://www.etsy.com/shop/melitere
http://stores.ebay.com/melitere

I’m a new seller on etsy, I didn’t know this things happened…Glad I found this blog!

______________________________

Umm… is this a reseller?

http://www.etsy.com/shop/kolonclothes
http://www.etsy.com/shop/kolonbeanie
http://www.etsy.com/shop/KolonBoutique
http://www.etsy.com/shop/kolon

Young sister shop

http://www.etsy.com/shop/jeabmade

136 Responses to “Reader Comments”

  1. JOINAA July 8, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    It’s just OVER.

  2. Cat Power July 8, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    The first one says she is in “Dumbo NY”… that is the building that Etsy moved to in Brooklyn…maybe an unidentified admin?
    (Perfect name for Etsy location, don’t you think?)

    The Kolon “group” sure smacks of reseller to me. Think I’ve seen the baby hats on alibaba, or one of those wholesale sites.

  3. Freckleyredhead July 8, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    NYLightmetals is a reseller. That’s not handmade jewelry.

  4. wahwah July 8, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Dumbo NY

    lmao!

  5. Life During Wartime July 8, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    Can someone explain the multiple shop thingie that I see here, and elsewhere on Etsy, where all the shopswith the same owner have similar merchandise?

    Like the kolon group of shops, three sell baby hats?

    And the jewelry in NYLightMetals shops is very much the same.

    Why bother if all your shops have the same vibe? How does it help your brand to dilute it with duplicate shops? Or is that what you need to do for better visibility on Etsy? I’m confused.

  6. Disgusted July 8, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    Light Metals is reseller crap. None of the stuff is handmade and how do you sell the same vintage item over and over?
    Kolon is pretty funny – reseller and does not disclose the other shops. Plus the pictures look stolen from other places because they are different in style etc.
    The other two are resellers.
    WHEN IS ETSY GOING TO FIX THIS PROBLEM?

  7. Fed UP July 8, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    I’m pretty sure NYlightmetals is legit. A google for Regina Pierallini finds a lot of articles discussing her work. I think it looks a little suspicious (none of it looks handmade to me) but maybe she’s assembling it with store bought parts? Not my kind of thing, but it looks like she’s real.

  8. Fed UP July 8, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    http://www.reginapierallini.com/

  9. meggylowe July 8, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    NYLightmetals may be legitimate, but some of their stuff is knock-offs. The clover necklaces are almost identical to the ones made by Van Cleef & Arpels. There is also a jewelry designer, Sergio Gutierrez, that makes those ball chain mesh bracelets. I will say her prices are better though:/

  10. Cosmic Yuk July 8, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    DUMBO is a neighborhood, not a single building.

    When I see this kind of jewelry it makes me wonder why I spent my investment on raw materials, wire, beads,gemstones, torch, sheet metal, saws, dremel, cutting wheels, drill bits, different styles of pliers, learned soldering, stone setting, wire wrapping when I should have just bought prefab chains, commercial charms, pendants and connectors and a pair of pliers and then just copied the stuff target, anthropologie and j.crew sells.

  11. imwithya July 8, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    Etsy your place to sell all things.

    What do you think about this seller’s jewelry? She says she is originally from India but I find it hard to believe she has such a wide variety of jewelry making skills. Many of the photos look stolen. She’s careful with her descriptions and claims some are from her grandmothers/mothers/aunts and are listed under vintage (even though they look like typical cheap Indian fashion jewelry). I think these are just random pieces she finds on her trips home to India that she resells on Etsy.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/taneesijewelry?ref=seller_info

  12. Life During Wartime July 8, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    ^^^^send the romper to Garagetsy!

  13. JK July 8, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Cosmic Yuk, I wonder the same thing. Why bother making something from scratch when charm-on-a-chain mimicking the latest from Anthropologie does so well and gets so much publicity on Etsy?

  14. Cat Power July 8, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    This from the same shop as the romper…says right in the description, purchased in Berlin…duh…
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/47546119/grunge-inspired-jeans

  15. Cat Power July 8, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    And the tanazi (or whatever the name is) looks like street bazaar items. However, never having been to India, I can’t say for certain, but it looks like a variety of creators made up the collection.

  16. Cosmic Yuk July 8, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Well. after a little sleuthing, it appears that this seller: http://www.etsy.com/shop/taneesijewelry?ref=seller_info

    Is none other than http://www.etsy.com/shop/jenjewelry aka
    http://www.etsy.com/people/octaviabloom

    It appears that having 3 shops (one of which is undisclosed and most likely reselling) can lead to some confusing tags since in her taneesi shop she tagged this item with octavia bloom: http://www.etsy.com/listing/51070868/red-and-white-glass-chandelier-earrings?ref=sr_list_1&ga_search_query=octavia_bloom&ga_search_type=all&ga_page=&order=&includes%5B%5D=tags

    And since the name octavia bloom, according to her profile is a made up name from a street in San Francisco and the word ‘bloom’, it’s just a little too coincidental, don’t you think?

    oh, and I got screenshots just in case she tries to destroy the evidence.

    So, one would think since she discloses her handmade shops, why wouldn’t she want to disclose the 3rd shop unless she was doing something she didn’t want to be associated with?

    And just for good measure, her jenjewelry shop location is
    Bay Area California & Bozeman, Montana, Octavia bloom is montana and taneesijewelry is california.

  17. wahwah July 8, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    I’m sure these people have probably been discussed here before….

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TribalStyle?ref=seller_info

  18. PussDaddy July 8, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    I wanted some of the thread earrings but I refused to buy them on Etsy. I see them in Payless and Walmart and places and can get them there.

  19. uh-huh July 8, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/49424413/red-and-green-bridal-crystal-bangle

    I bought a set of these in a street market over there, just the same but the stones are rainbow colors. We paid like $5.

  20. Cosmic Yuk July 8, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

    Grrr…..I wish someone would moderate my comment #17 already! I just discovered something with some interesting links!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  21. Fed UP July 8, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Cosmic Yuk – I don’t know how they are connected (that tagging is weird) but there really is a Manjari Agochiya – http://www.facebook.com/manjari.agochiya who runs Taneesi – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Taneesi-Designer-jewelry-by-Manjari-Agochiya/380263421664

    I don’t know if they are handmade though – she doesn’t disclose the metals she works with which is a red flag to me.

  22. wahwah July 8, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    Taneesi’s website is registered to a Manjar Agochiya. I don’t think it’s the same girl really.

  23. JOINAA July 8, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    It will NEVER be addressed or fixed. The site is inundated, so are the others and this is just the way it is going to be.
    More people should be buying at the dollar stores if they want cheap! I don’t compete with that stuff; don’t want it there; it outrages me, but the whole vision is OVER. DONE. GONE. The market is flooded and I don’t compete with it.
    Glad to have this site, though, so there is at least a little bit of leverage. At least we can show it off, and google will pick up those shop names and keywords here.

  24. Disgusted July 8, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    Taneesi’s website is registered to a Manjar Agochiya. I don’t think it’s the same girl really.
    _____
    She has a FB and a Linkedin profile mentioning her Etsy site. However, the profile info of her only being here a short time doesn’t mesh well with many of her descriptions.

  25. linda July 8, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    Are nail decals considered hand made? Would it be supplies? Is that legit?

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/50862537/gothic-vampy-nail-decal-set-of-36-bran

  26. detroit July 8, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    FYI:

    DUMBO = Down Under Manhattan Bridge Overpass = Hipster Nightmare Neighborhood

    and, while I’m at it,

    Soho = South of Houston,

    NoLita = North if Little Italy,

    TriBeCa (where Madonna and friends have lofts) = Triangle Below Canal

  27. anon July 8, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    linda,

    I think the decals are legit but the use of Harry Potter, Resident Evil, Twilight etc might be a wee bit of a problem. That said, I think I want that Twilight bumper sticker. LOL.

    Twilight Fact #72(?)

    Edward can’t hear Bella’s thoughts.
    (because she doesn’t have any!)

    LOL! Oh that would piss off some of my friends.

  28. JOINAA July 8, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    yeah, that’s an antique beer stein from 1991. BOO!

  29. Cosmic Yuk July 8, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Well, I did a little more sleuthing while I was waiting for my post to be moderated. I found this interesting tidbit from 2009:

    “”Apparently Manjari designed what the necklace would look like, but had it created by underprivileged women in India who would get the proceeds.”

    From this site: http://blog.thefind.com/2009/07/sizzling-summer-sparkle-jewelry-collection-by-taneesi/

    Also, at that time, the link went to this shop, which is empty, but it has sales and feedback http://www.etsy.com/shop/taneesi

    I noticed a few other odd things but too many links holds up my post. I saw the linkdin profile and the link to feedback

    Regardless of whether she exists as a real person or someone’s alter ego it’s obvious she does not make the jewelry herself, and something just doesn’t sit right with me.

    That random tag……..if she isn’t jenjewelry, why would she use that tag? She appears to be famous enough not to have to piggyback on the back of another seller for exposure.

    Like I said, something isn’t right.

  30. Amused July 8, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    This is disgusting!! Multiple flags over 2 days and then emptied (not closed down) but made a sale. Etsy is despicable.

  31. Amused July 8, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    Oops, referring to this…

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/fenglai1988

  32. PussDaddy July 9, 2010 at 3:42 am #

    That really sucks about #17 because I have been tweeting for a long time now that I want to buy that style of earring and I just assumed they were all handmade.

  33. wahwah July 9, 2010 at 5:06 am #

    Handmade gemstones.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/jewelsexports

    I love the name of this shop.

  34. Adelina Cavanagh July 9, 2010 at 5:32 am #

    Re; Taneesi- Looks legit, but CosmicYuk may have a point- further sleuthing on her profile page (she gives loads o’ links) reveals an article that has the following quote:

    “I had my eye on the most stunning silver bib necklace, with amber and periwinkle agate stones. I needed that necklace, the designer Manjari Agochiya, was asking for $30, a very reasonable price for something so extraordinary. Once I heard the story of how the necklace came to be, I was sold. Apparently Manjari designed what the necklace would look like, but had it created by underprivileged women in India who would get the proceeds. Beautiful and for a good cause, I was all over this collection!”

    I think that clears up the question about how she can have so many styles/techniques.

  35. Adelina Cavanagh July 9, 2010 at 5:33 am #

    Sorry- here;s the original blog post article re Taneesi:

    http://blog.thefind.com/2009/07/sizzling-summer-sparkle-jewelry-collection-by-taneesi/

  36. Adelina Cavanagh July 9, 2010 at 5:42 am #

    Cosmic Yuk- I think the reason Taneesi tagged the item with “Octavia Bloom” is b/c the earrings are similar to what the Octavia Bloom shop sells. I don’t think they are the same person, but you never know…..

  37. uh-huh July 9, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    I’ve seen threads in the forums with sellers griping that others in their same category are using the their shop name in the tags, coattail-riding, so I guess it’s a possibility….

  38. it stinks July 9, 2010 at 7:20 am #

    This is alittle off topic but I don’t get why an already established store – jenjewelry – would open up another identical store – octaviabloom. I understand why someone would open another store to sell a different style of jewelry or even completely different stuff, but the exact same stuff?

    What’s the purpose of that? I just don’t get it. It’s like splitting yourself in two.

  39. Cosmic Yuk July 9, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    Well, screw it, my post #30 is still awaiting moderation, this is ridiculous.

    I already posted links to that blog and quoted about who makes the jewelry (not her).

    No more links from me, you’ll have to find the information on your own. But I have serious doubts about her claim that underprivileged women make jewelry that she designs, I also doubt that the jewelry she claims is vintage really is. She already re-listed one sold set of ‘vintage’ bangles, I guess we’ll have to see just how many duplicates granny had in her old jewelry box,

  40. etsycallout July 9, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    Relax Cosmic- we don’t LIVE here…Having your comment wait a couple of hours is not going to stop the conversation. I would much rather have people wait on links then get a bunch of spam that is published right away 😦

  41. Cosmic Yuk July 9, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Sorry eco, didn’t mean to get snippy, but I posted that last night. No matter, I’m just impatient and my left eyeball is tearing and it hurts like something is in it and no one can see anything in it and it’s driving me crazy.

    Anyway, one more interesting tidbit. I googled jenjewelry and came up with a dot com website for stamped jewelry. On the about page shows a picture of a gal I know I’ve seen before, but I can’t place her. Except her name is Jen cook.

    Then I googled octavia bloom again, did a little more digging and found an article about a place called Studio 7 recently bought by a Dirk Christiansen. Octavia Bloom’s bio says she made up the name because her name was so boring (or however she phrased it) Jennifer Christiansen. Near as I can tell they are husband and wife, although there is no mention of her in the article, oddly enough there is mention of Dirk Christiansen’s daughter ‘OCTAVIA BLOOM’ as one of the artists’ whose work is displayed in the gallery. Along with a picture of said jewelry.

    I will link to the article in my next post just in case it gets moderated.

    Now, there is certainly nothing wrong with any of this, and maybe Octavia Bloom is a nom de plume to protect her, but it is interesting that there is no mention of jenjewelry as an artist in that studio, especially when clearly it’s the same artist in both Etsy shops.

    I don’t buy the ‘using someone else’ tag to gain exposure’ thing, as soon as I saw it I was immediately thinking ‘oops’.

    I like ferreting out stuff like this, it just seems odd to me.

  42. Cosmic Yuk July 9, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    And here is the link to the article if you haven’t already googled it yourself: I am linking to the article, hopefully this will go through: http://cityfanclub.com/2010/06/24/studio-7-fine-arts-has-new-owner-offers-pastel-painting-workshop/

  43. Cosmic Yuk July 9, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    Oh and ECO, at the rate the resellers are invading Etsy and all the other crap, you SHOULD be living here. (joking)

  44. wahwah July 9, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    I live here because honestly, I have no life.

  45. RocksInMySocks July 9, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    cosmic yuk, you should change your name to inspector sherlock 🙂

  46. uh-huh July 9, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    now the Octavia Bloom name stuff is reminding me of the Echo June shenanigans, some of you may remember the nutmegclick fiasco.
    ok, sorry, carry on.

  47. Inspector Yuk July 9, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    Yeah, I made the bad move of making Etsy my life, how stupid was I?

    It just pisses me off that people have no problem lying to make a buck. (talking about resellers trying to pass off their crap as either handmade or vintage).

    It pisses me off that Etsy got me on board because of the ‘handmade’ aspect and then switched horses mid-race.

    I’m pissed off because vintage and supply sellers cried so much about the goddamn tagline not including them that the tagline was removed and now there is no indication that Etsy is anything about handmade unless you go in and read the rules. I don’t know about you all, but I don’t go and read a website’s rules about what can and cant be sold when I go to buy something. It either has what I’m looking for or it doesn’t.

    The only indication that Etsy is anything about handmade is what handmade sellers tell people, there is no obvious verbiage that it’s a site for handmade.

  48. Inspector Yuk July 9, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    uh-huh Says:
    July 9, 2010 at 11:13 am

    now the Octavia Bloom name stuff is reminding me of the Echo June shenanigans, some of you may remember the nutmegclick fiasco.
    ok, sorry, carry on.
    _________________________________________________

    I thought about that too.

  49. Life During Wartime July 9, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Thanks for that comment ^^^ Cosmic Yuk! I thought I was pretty much alone in my feeling that Etsy had let us down!

    At first I thought Etsy was offering a much needed venue for handmade. If they wanted to host vintage as well, they should have made a sister site for that. And another for commercial supplies.

    Personally, I feel that Etsy would have been better off not having vintage at all UNLESS it was altered, embellished, or used as material for a newly handmade item (recycled). And supplies should have been limited to ‘destash’. Etsy would have been a smaller site, less of a moneymaker for investors. But easier to monitor for integrity and easier to present as a unique shopping destination to the public. Without those goofy front pages, 80+% of which have the same ‘shaking the hay out of my hair’ vibe. Boring, and obviously chosen by people who have no idea what hay bales or stacks smell like on a 99 degree summer day.

  50. JohnCock July 9, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    Sing it, Sista Yuk. I feel the same way. And not only is there no verbage, all the TOU violation crap dilutes the awesome handmade/vintage. And its so much more frustrating because Etsy will not listen to its sellers or enforce the TOU against the resellers/vaguevintage sellers. We are always in the dark.

  51. Life During Wartime July 9, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    “vaguevintage” — I love this term!

    The problem got worse when Etsy decided it wanted to be the web’s largest catalog site, instead of a multi-shop venue offering stuff from a huge variety of artists and crafters, many with their own unique vision. Who better fits in with a catalog site than a bunch of mass-merchants who exploit cheap labor from the developing world to keep churning out on-trend items by the hundreds of thousands? And have professional catalog photographers to present the goods in the style Etsy wants right now? And the “vaguevintage” items are almost new mass-produced items…same deal.

  52. anon July 9, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    They may have been better off, but as someone who found Etsy just a few months after it opened and have seen screen shots just mere weeks after Etsy started. Supplies and Vintage were a part of Etsy all along. If Etsy was ever just handmade it only lasted a week or two at most so while it may have been nice for handmade sellers it was never what Etsy was about. They are just now starting to acknowledge what they have always been.

    Though honestly, having Vintage and Supplies isn’t the reason that resellers found Etsy and even if they had never been a part of Etsy you’d find Etsy to be in the same state it is today. The only difference would be a few less beads and ribbon.

  53. imwithya July 9, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    I don’t see how they will ever be able to control what is sold on Etsy without it being juried. The site is getting bigger by the day. Just open it up to anything and everything and be done with it already so we can get on with our lives.

    I honestly used to think that Rob/Etsy was working on some big secret plan/site restructuring that would turn Etsy around, into an awesome handmade venue like it was originally intended to be. Obviously there is no such plan. I’m not even sure they have a plan for the future at all. I’m such a dope.

  54. detroit July 9, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    Is Etsy still talking about going public? If so, that’d likely be the final nail in the coffin. All most publicly owned companies care about are the numbers for the next quarter.

    Are some board of directors and thousands of shareholders going to give a rats ass about artists collectives versus small factories. Real vintage or thrifted retro styles from Target 05?

    I’m sure they’ve got some sorta ebay / amazon type ambitions.

  55. detroit July 9, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    Etsy – Your place to buy and sell any ole damn thing!

  56. marn July 9, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    count me in with those who feel let down by Etsy. although I’ve been a member since 2007, it’s only within the last 6 weeks that I’ve really been aware of the reseller/faux-vintage problems, as well as all the forum drama. usually, when I’m shopping, I’m searching for a specific handmade item, and really hadn’t noticed the other stuff.

  57. Inspector Yuk July 9, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    Handcrafted used to be the focus, now it’s a side note. Certainly you can get handmade there, you can even get handmade by the seller if you look long enough. That’s if the seller is smart enough to play up the fact that they actually make the things they sell. And they aren’t lying.

    Initially, I felt like you do Life, wishing that vintage and commercial supplies had their own site, I even wished they’d never been allowed at all. I didn’t see how vintage tied into handmade, although time on Etsy has shown me that the two can coexist and even help each other out. I’m not entirely sure the two markets mutually exclude each other as in one who buys vintage isn’t interested in handmade or vice versa. I can live with it because I believe that separating the two might diminish the traffic to both.

    Now, commercial supplies, on the other hand is a totally different animal, in my mind. It’s reselling mass produced items and if you allow reselling in one fashion, it isn’t a really a surprise that reselling of other products are going to creep in.

    It pissed me off when all the little babies started crying that they wanted the convenience of buying on Etsy and supporting other Etsians. Bullshit. Commercial supply sellers make it way too easy for all the copying that goes on. How hard is it to see what’s selling, get the supplies from your wholesaler and list them on Etsy? Built in supplies for your competition. And now, the hong kong wholesalers are setting up shops and able to sell at better prices because they were the source for the Etsy sellers.

    Tell me, how many people making jewelry for any kind of profit are going to buy from the small Etsy seller whose prices are higher than the wholesaler they bought from who has their own Etsy shop?

    And commercial supply shops are not regulated by the same standards that handmade shops are. It doesn’t matter if you have 10 employees or 10,000.

    And I’m not dissing any nationalities. I have a couple of wholesalers I buy from in China. Their prices are just too good. And I’m noticing a trend where the Wholesalers with Etsy shops are adapting to the smaller consumer with per bead prices for those who can’t buy from the wholesale site because of minimums.

    And now I’m so far off topic and all ranty. Curse you ECO!! I was much happier when I was ignorant.

  58. Inspector Yuk July 9, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    When I use the term ‘allowed’ as in allowing vintage and commercial supplies, I am meaning AT ALL, from the drawing board. I am well aware they have been here since the beginning, however there was a light at the end of the tunnel when they brought about the ill-fated constitution and nearly eliminated vintage and commercial supplies.

  59. Life During Wartime July 9, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    I just want to add that in no way do I think the vintage SHOP OWNERS on Etsy have anything to do with the reseller or vaguevintage problems.

    Etsy has a different standard for what can be sold as vintage, compared to other online vintage venues. Didn’t they — haven’t they — done any research about how other vintage venues do business?

    On all other venues, new collectibles are okay! On most of them, resold mass-produced giftware, jewelry, undisclosed reproductions, newish stuff from Cracker Barrel you found at a garage sale — all are fine to list in your shop! That is the de facto way vintage is sold online today; other venues have TOU that may, for example, prohibit undisclosed repros (ie, fakes), but no one gets busted for violating that. Sites usually have a rule that sellers have to accept returns to cover the rare situations when someone unknowingly buys a fake, mistaking it for an old piece.

    On other vintage venues, selling vintage and being a reseller in the same shop is not unusual, or seen as a bad thing. This is often viewed as a savvy business move.

    And when you check out bricks-and-mortar antiques malls (at least where I live) most have less than 50% of items that are 20+ years old.

    Building a venue that included vintage was opening the door for resellers, not just because of any short-comings at Etsy but because this is the current industry standard, sad to say.

  60. Disgusted July 9, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

    I sell vintage on Etsy and have been on Ebay for nearly 12 years. I was sort of shocked when I saw that Etsy allows anything at least 20 years old as “vintage”. I see lots and lots of crap and the funny thing is that the ones who list “vintage” items that are 1991 (or something) tend to call themselves out. I think they should put the vintage ID for clothing back to at least 1960 or something. There is too much recent Target stuff on Etsy being sold as vintage.

  61. uh-huh July 9, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    Most of admin were probably around 5 in 1990 and everything seems ‘vintage’ to them.

  62. HowNow July 9, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    Can anyone explain to me the pashmina scarves for sale on Etsy for twenty bucks?

  63. HowNow July 9, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    (or less?)

  64. wahwah July 9, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    Yay looks like etsy finally imploded.

  65. detroit July 9, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    Nope. I checked. It’s still there.

  66. wahwah July 10, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    Damn.

  67. Disgusted July 10, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    Its not really Etsy. Its Zombie Etsy the little brother of Ebay.

  68. Christine July 10, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    Once again:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/shayisa?ref=seller_info

    Handmade? Really?

  69. jenn July 10, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    This shop screams reseller to me, especially this listing (which I flagged):

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/43189515/boho-poshbeaded-beautifully-handcrafted

    Title says ‘beautifully handcrafted – imported – new with tags’
    WTF?

    Any bets on how long it will stay listed? I’m thinking it’ll sell in a week…

  70. imwithya July 10, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Sure they’re handmade Christine… in Indonesia or somewhere. As are most of the bone/horn/wood tribal style and stretcher earrings sold on Etsy.

    And look! Shayisa has a pair of earrings that look VERY similar to our old friend Sanfranblissco.

    Shayisa: http://www.etsy.com/listing/50051847/lovely-rose-wood-stick-earrings-oraganic

    Sanfranblissco: http://www.etsy.com/listing/51092943/flowing-love-earringspendant-wood

  71. Life During Wartime July 10, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    jenn, the seller identifies the bag’s manufacturer right in the listing description.

    I don’t see anything ‘handmade’ about this shop. A jewelry pendant can pass as supplies. The rest?

    Check out her sold items, with the ‘retired’ dolls she listed as Supplies because she knows the rules for Vintage on Etsy wouldn’t allow them.

    This is the kind of seller who would be welcome on some of the largest well-established antiques and collectibles venues on the web, where items like hers could be considered ‘collectibles’. Except that there she would have to pay a lot more per month to keep her shop open.

  72. jenn July 10, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    Very true, Life, but I don’t trust etsy to see what we see and remove the shop.

    I have a feeling that bag listing will be coached and rephrased to meet the TOU and references to the manufacturer will disappear and our ‘friend’ will sell it in a week or so.

    I would LOVE to be proven wrong, however 😉

  73. Inspector Yuk July 10, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    I say we shoot the fuckers.

    And now Alchemy is pissing me off………….again. Can we call out alchemy requests on ECO?

    AAAAAAAAAaand, on another note, can I sell fine jewelry with missing stones as supplies? I just went through my jewelry drawer and dug out a bunch of sterling bracelets and gold rings that are missing a stone, surely a jeweler could replace the missing stones and then sell them as handmade?

  74. Life During Wartime July 10, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    jenn, this shop has made sales, so I doubt Etsy will close it. And the bag could easily wind up featured and then sell. Etsy has a blank canvas for coaching because the seller has no Profile, Policies, or Announcement in the shop…and yet people bought from that flea market.

    Inspector, I actually think you could sell jewelry needing repair as a supply because it can’t be worn as is and needs a skilled crafter to replace the stones nicely. Or even better they could be listed as jewelry for scrap, a supply for artists who work with precious metals. Not joking, either. Way more legit than a ‘retired’ Shakira doll!

  75. Amused July 10, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    What is up with this shop???

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/CarmensQuilts

  76. Life During Wartime July 10, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    Ummm, Carmen is a drop-shipping reseller?

  77. Life During Wartime July 10, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Admin welcomes a reseller to Etsy in the forums:

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6570863

    Holy Carp!

  78. Cat Power July 10, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    Now why does that not surprise me in the slightest…geesh…

  79. Inspector Yuk July 10, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    Oh, hahahahahaha!!!! I found the website where all carmen’s jewelry comes from…….. but I didn’t know if they were located in the same place, so I did a google search on the phone number, OMG, look at how many domains they own, and apparently they are located in Florida, not Arizona like the seller, so……….

    lookeee here: http://www.google.com/search?q=%28800%29+472-1260&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

  80. Life During Wartime July 10, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    Inspector, maybe the drop-shipper is in Florida?

    Since Carmen has her mailing charge included in the item prices AND charges a restocking fee, I thought I detected a whiff of eau de dropshipper.

  81. Inspector Yuk July 10, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    Life During Wartime Says:
    July 10, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Admin welcomes a reseller to Etsy in the forums:

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6570863

    Holy Carp!
    ___________________________________________________________

    You know, to be honest, I really get uncomfortable when resellers post in the forums and once it’s discovered everyone gets so rude. I think anee (admin) was very gracious in welcoming a newcomer along with a link to the rules as to what can be sold.

    I suppose I sound a little hypocritical, since I post here, but I’m more interested in outing them with proof than being rude to them in the forums.

    I suppose some of that rudeness is because of the inconsistency in shutting down resellers, you never know if someone is going to get the boot or get coached into ‘compliance’. It would be a lot easier to be gracious to them in the forums if we knew that flagging worked more consistently.

    Still, in all, there isn’t really any justification for rudeness.

  82. Inspector Yuk July 10, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    Could definitely be drop shipping, LDW, but I’m just satisfied with being able to prove that they aren’t handmade. I sent a flag with a half dozen links to the same exact items so we’ll see.

    Thing is, they have some really pretty rings, but at least now I know where to get them for a better price! lolol

  83. Inspector Yuk July 10, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    Not that she can’t still be a drop shipper, but that policies page is old, she only started listing those items in June, aand that page was last updated in January, and if you look at the items, there is a shipping charge added the purchase price.

  84. stinkypants July 10, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    From LisaJune, on the forums –

    To make more distinct marketplaces for the many different kinds of items on Etsy could be a really good idea!

    Since this is more of an idea for the site and less of a question as to how to use the site, I’m going to move this to Ideas.

    That said, does anyone have any other good suggestions for sites that sell exclusively handmade goods? This is an interesting question, understanding the different venues you can be selling in is always good business sense.
    ——————————————————
    Now, who said the folks at Etsy don’t care about their sellers who are not resellers, garage sale enthusiasts and the like!

    * eyeroll *

  85. Life During Wartime July 10, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    I agree with you, Inspector, up to a point. I do think no one should be rude in the Forums. I mean, what does that accomplish? There is no justification for Forum rudeness.

    My concern is that the Admin/Mod will probably make no note of the shop, which was already in obvious violation, having nicely dropped things on the Etsy community to ‘educate’ the newbie and/or flag her shop. Forum posters are either gonna start up with the TW behavior, or turn a blind eye and start cooing over the sweatshop goodies. (Actually, people are ignoring the topic entirely.) How should a non-admin community member explain to the seller in a public setting that her shop shouldn’t be on Etsy at all? Without sounding mean, and a bunch of people getting upset?

    If I thought the admin who moved the topic to Critiques intended to contact someone who works with resellers landing on Etsy over the weekends, or at least leave that person a note to follow-up on Monday, I’d say she did the right thing. But I won’t be surprised if that shop is still open a week from today, with all the reseller goods for sale.

  86. wahwah July 10, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    I think I see my diamond ring in Carmen’s shop. Now that really depresses me. At least mine has real diamonds.

  87. detroit July 10, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    Totally off topic, but I’m about to pee my pants, and it’s not even dark out yet.

    Note to self: DO NOT watch horror movies when you’re alone and hubby’s out of town, and it’s just you and some useless cats in an old victorian with lots of funny noises.

    Session 9 is SCARY!

    Okay, carry on. I just needed to look at something boring and normal. Etsy will remind you how mundane and predictable the world really is.

  88. detroit July 10, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    And my like one friend and Mom are out of town too!

    Okay, off to resume the psychological torture, I’m only like 1/2 way thru.

    And I don’t get Lisajune’s comment??? What?

  89. stinkypants July 10, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    Oh, I guess you wanted a link, or something more than what I gave you? 😛

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6566144

    The OP is pissed off, and Etsy comes in to tell them, ” sure, pumpkins, you just go find yourselves a place for your handmade things “.

  90. Life During Wartime July 10, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    WTF was LisaJune talking about? What are ‘the many kinds of items on Etsy’? The suggestion of sub or sister sites for Supplies and Vintage was angrily shot down.

    Maybe she means for-pay subsites for items deemed best fitting with the Etsy trends, with better features for promotion and search? Brand Etsy with curated suppliers?

    …And Etsy said, “At last I am a real catalog site!” THE END

  91. Amused July 10, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    Janine King posted down in her call out today.

  92. Inspector Yuk July 10, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    Detroit, is that a rental or is it playing on tv? I can’t remember if I saw that movie or not.

    And we should have sleepovers, my hubs is away for the week, he left yesterday, my daughter, although she lives here, between work and her bf she’s never really here.

    That leaves me with the dog, who barks at flea farts, one timid indoor cat and one indoor/outdoor cat (longhaired) that was so badly matted my daughter got out the clippers and shaved his back because that’s all she could manage without being ripped to shreds. He looks like someone after chemo. And he likes to creep up to the front window and start yawling at us inside, he’s black so when it’s dark you can’t see him and it is rather startling.

    But I don’t scare easily, I live for scary movies.

  93. Inspector Yuk July 10, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    From LisaJune, on the forums –

    That said, does anyone have any other good suggestions for sites that sell exclusively handmade goods? This is an interesting question, understanding the different venues you can be selling in is always good business sense.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    *as soon as LisaJune posted that she was saying to us in her mind:

    “:no? you can’t name one other site that sells exclusively handmade goods? I thought so. Bite me you pissy little wankers cuz there’s no place else for you to go. Etsy has you by the short hairs you foolish little twats. We can smack you and you’ll just turn around and say ‘thanks, may I have another?’ We can do anything we damn well please and you can complain until your fingers fall off and your head is a pile of pulp on your desk from constantly ‘head-desking’, because there is no place else to go……………………….” *laughs maniacally and twirls her mustache*

  94. detroit July 10, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    Inspector Yuk Says:
    July 10, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    Detroit, is that a rental or is it playing on tv? I can’t remember if I saw that movie or not.
    ________________________________

    I just streamed it on netflix on my computer. I was just reading the reviews after finishing it. It’s totally one of those LOVED IT, or HATED IT type of movies.

    If you only like typical slasher fare / monster jumping out at you films, you might not like it.

    It’s more a building suspense to an unbearable level, super creepy mood, and….. well, I won’t ruin the ending.

    Also, it has David Caruso in it, it’s not exactly Shakespeare in the park – lol.

    I was terrified!

    Also, it takes place in Danver State Mental Hospital. Did any of you have one of the Gothic behemoth insane asylums near you? I did growing up, and it scared the CRAP out of us kids.

    They’re restoring the one near where I grew up, but the one in the movie has been demolished. So, it’s interesting to see the super creepy architecture and interiors! Eeek. I think if I was committed to a place like that, I’d have lost my marbles too.

    Sorry, long movie review!

    I’m off to read the LisaJune thread. Yuk, we’ll have to try not to let the stupid pets scare us too much. I hate it when they look like they hear something. lol.

    If I’m still here posting at 2:30, you’ll know I’ve been traumatized! lol.

  95. detroit July 10, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    Yeah – I’m not sure I understand phonetically what LJune was talking about. On the surface it doesn’t really make sense.

    But I also took the ‘real’ meaning to be a passive aggressive ‘FU’, and ‘ha ha ha!’

  96. Inspector Yuk July 10, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    Oooh, I like all kinds, horror, thrillers, mysteries, suspense. I saw that Paranormal Activity, it was pretty good. I wasn’t crazy about the way it was filmed, but it was a good story. I see there is a sequel coming out………

    I just looked up session 9 and it doesn’t look familiar. But I might watch Wolfman on pay per view tonight, there isn’t really anything good on TV.

    And I kind of like David Caruso, in a corny sorta way. I watch CSI Miami when there isn’t anything better on and I get a kick out of his one-liners. Especially after I saw this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_sarYH0z948

  97. wahwah July 10, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    I want to see that movie!

  98. Fed UP July 10, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    I don’t believe either of these is handmade.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/MajoReyStore
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/brasslady

  99. Fed UP July 10, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    Another not handmade shop – the norm on Etsy.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/thehappyshoppe

  100. Fed UP July 10, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    Oh looky here.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/Leginayba

  101. Bedazzled VONdom July 10, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    “Janine King posted down in her call out today.”

    Yes, she posted a link to her big, bad, scary LAWYER LETTER.

    Y’all should go read it. Especially if you are in need of a good giggle.

  102. Disgusted July 10, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    Interesting that Carmen’s banner is an advertisement for the banner designer. Check out the verbage near the bottom of it.

  103. detroit July 10, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    Amused Says:
    July 10, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Janine King posted down in her call out today.
    __________________________________________________

    You all have been WARNED! lol. And when the police come a’knocking, I don’t know any of you. And I always loved and respected JKDesigns. Meanies!

    How dare you be so cruel as to point out she lied and posted false feedback on her own site! You all are sick. And jealous!

  104. detroit July 10, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    And HA HA! My husband always used to bitch about David Caruso on CSI. and I was always embarrassed to admit I sorta enjoyed watching him!

    Alright, nighty nite. I’m gonna go lay in my bed with the lights on, jumping at shadows and creaks for about 8 hours.

  105. insaneinthebrain July 11, 2010 at 4:53 am #

    This elohar shop makes me sick. I flagged it so many times and in the end they just added “all items are handmade by me blah blah..” in the description. so i guess this makes it ok for Etsy..

  106. wahwah July 11, 2010 at 5:15 am #

    And how exactly are Carmen’s rings “shabby chic”???

  107. uh-huh July 11, 2010 at 6:25 am #

    Fed UP, I reported that shop a couple days ago and included links to same items in their ebay shop (where their location is ‘Netherlands’ and the prices are double but stilll cheap) – on etsy they’re from ‘Jakarta’.
    Will be interesting to see if anything happens.

  108. uh-huh July 11, 2010 at 6:28 am #

    Years ago I listed an item on ebay with ‘shabby chic’ in title and description (it was something handmade and white), didn’t take long for the Rachel Ashwell people to get ebay to take my listing down for using their trademark term, but nowadays I see it everywhere so I guess they gave up….?

  109. Life During Wartime July 11, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I think Ashwell’s company realizes that the whole ‘shabby chic’ thing as a trend is a relic of the 90s.

    Many areas of the US tend to adopt trends that were hot in the mainstream 15 years before. Draw a wonky inverted T over a map of the US that stops on one end at the California line and just covers the upper bit of Florida at the other, and you’ll see a pretty good outline of the current ‘shabby chic’ zone. Arizona is in there.

  110. Blight July 11, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    Once upon a time there was this person who had nothing to do except Blog about others.
    This person invited everyone who was like-minded to join them on their blog to do the same. The only problem was that they all talked about others in a very cynical and negative way. They did this to a point where they feed each other a great deal of self-righteousness and indignation and they believed themselves to be upright and very smart.

    They went to great lengths to humiliate, take advantage and consume the people they talked about. They poisoned and construed every little parcel and morsel that they feed on to make sure it appeared as vile as they themselves actually were. But, they had to do so, because how else could they digest their self-indulgence in hating and provoking hate and notorious allegations about those they talked about.

    However, little did they know, that some not so like-minded people where made aware of their little tyrannical tea time parties and they decided to take suit …lawsuits… against those who participate in harmful gossip and destructive lashing out towards others. There are no greater offences than that of hate and open self-righteous willingness to grant and encourage others to do the same.

    History has seen your kind, time and time again! This time we are there. We have been keeping a close watch on you since you opened your Blog and we just want to let you know that you are not the only one watching offensive acts of conduct. We are also watching you and the likes of you.
    _______________________________________________________________________________
    **************THE IP ADDRESS OF THIS POST IS THE SAME AS WHEN IMAGINESTUDIO POSTED. IMAGINE THAT 🙂 -ECO

  111. detroit July 11, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    History has seen your kind, time and time again!
    ____________________________

    What ‘kind’ is that? The kind of people who ‘call out’ against STEALING, LYING and CHEATING? Right?

    If that’s the ‘kind’ of people you think we are. then I’d be proud to be part of that group.

    You see, we don’t like Etsy shoppers to be cheated of their hard earned money, lied to, or harmed in any other way. Nor do we like other bystanders (artists) to be harmed, or STOLEN FROM.

    If a proven artwork thief (you) is bothered by this site, then, again, I’m proud to be part of it! : )

  112. Blight July 11, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    detroit ,

    Do not de fooled by ECO…We have nothing to do with Imaginestudio. Our story holds true……

    Once upon a time there was this person who had nothing to do except Blog about others.
    This person invited everyone who was like-minded to join them on their blog to do the same. The only problem was that they all talked about others in a very cynical and negative way. They did this to a point where they feed each other a great deal of self-righteousness and indignation and they believed themselves to be upright and very smart.

    They went to great lengths to humiliate, take advantage and consume the people they talked about. They poisoned and construed every little parcel and morsel that they feed on to make sure it appeared as vile as they themselves actually were. But, they had to do so, because how else could they digest their self-indulgence in hating and provoking hate and notorious allegations about those they talked about.

    However, little did they know, that some not so like-minded people where made aware of their little tyrannical tea time parties and they decided to take suit …lawsuits… against those who participate in harmful gossip and destructive lashing out towards others. There are no greater offences than that of hate and open self-righteous willingness to grant and encourage others to do the same.

    History has seen your kind, time and time again! This time we are there. We have been keeping a close watch on you since you opened your Blog and we just want to let you know that you are not the only one watching offensive acts of conduct. We are also watching you and the likes of you.

  113. Life During Wartime July 11, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    Blight, if you have the same IP addy, you are either her sock puppet or the person who pays her cosmetic surgeon. Which one are you?

  114. Blight July 11, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

    we are neither of these two options. We am simply interested that those who appear on this Blog be treated fairly and with dignity.

  115. howwunnerful July 11, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    LOL @s the use of the royal “we”.

  116. detroit July 11, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    Blight Says:
    July 11, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    we
    __________________

    lol. I hear these missives (yeah, we heard you the first time), I hear them in my head in the voice of HAL.

    Well. all of the people called out in the subject blog posts are resellers, copyright thieves, or shillers.

    So, I’m glad you and your like minded imaginary buddies are just doing your civic duty and standing up for cheats and liars.

    Have you formed a secret handshake club with the Twilight imagery thieves, the third world factory goods resellers, and the ‘take people’s money and run’ artists? Good for you! Take pride in your kind of people!

    PS – you may want to brush up on slander / libel law. And the constitution. You’re going to have to get some changes made to an amendment or two in order to silence this blog. LOL.

    I suppose you’d also like to silence the ‘meanies’ who criticize BP abuses, past presidential administrations, human rights violations too?

    Good thing you and your cheating, thieving buddies don’t have the law (or morality) on your side.

    Good day coo-coo nut!

  117. detroit July 11, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

    And why are you repeating that horribly written, grammatically incompetent piece of blather?

    It was bad enough the first time. You’re embarrassing yourself! lol

  118. howwunnerful July 11, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    I am full of a “great deal of self-righteousness and indignation and I believe myself to be upright and very smart” when thinking of someone who blatantly steals another artist’s ART, decorates it minimally, then calls it HER art.

    I can absolutely be full of self-righteousness in that I do my own work, I do not take credit for someone else’s creativity, nor could I even “IMAGINE” (*ahem cough*) that someone else would do so. IMAGINE my shock and disgust.

    I am also self-righteous when someone calls someone else’s work as their own. The sweat and creativity of poor people in other countries working for pennies so someone in this country can lie and say that they themselves make it. I’m speaking of that cheap jewelry being sold not only on Etsy, but elsewhere on the web including ebay.

    For the record, I firmly believe that Janine King and her family make those bags.

  119. detroit July 11, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    I’d like to hear the meeting with the imaginary lawyer:

    IS: “Um, yeah. I’ve been stealing artwork from many contemporary artists. Doodling on it in photoshop, and passing it off as my own. My customers have totally been fooled – ha ha!

    Anyway, this mean blog keeps talking about me, and my shadiness. How can I sue their pants off?”

  120. detroit July 11, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    For the record, I firmly believe that Janine King and her family make those bags.

    _______________________

    Me too. She just shills. lol.

  121. howwunnerful July 11, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    shilling: too right! Totally unnecessary for her to be shilling and what a can of worms that particular thread opened for her 😦

  122. etsycallout July 11, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    we are neither of these two options. We am simply interested that those who appear on this Blog be treated fairly and with dignity.

    Um okay. So this IP address is listed as Longueuil which is right next to Montreal Quebec Canada. The exact city ImagineStudio is from. And the last time you posted you had her avatar. Yeah, NO relation. Yep.

    https://etsycallout.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/memoirs-of-a-geisha-imaginestudio/#comment-13272

  123. wahwah July 11, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Busted!

    LMAO!!!! Durrrrrrr.

  124. thasri July 11, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    another IS giveaway is the reference to “history has seen your kind” – same as her previous post mentioning kkk –

  125. JohnCock July 12, 2010 at 4:17 am #

    ROFLMAO!

  126. wahwah July 12, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    Yet another ignoramus trying to sound educated.

  127. Bedazzled VONdom July 12, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    “For the record, I firmly believe that Janine King and her family make those bags.”

    They do make the bags.

    They also employ several non-family members during busy periods and JK has admitted this freely in the past.

    Watch. Now the whackjob will threaten to sue ME for reading the truth (in her own words) on the internet.

  128. detroit July 12, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    And – to the person who isn’t ImagineStudio, but who’s from the same town:

    If you ever see ImagineStudio around town, tell her that she should have learned a good lesson here.

    People seemed to genuinely like her prints. Maybe she should pick herself up, dust herself off, and do like she said she did in the first place – namely use images that ARE in the public domain, or, better yet, use her own, or her friends’ photography (WITH permission -lol), as a basis for her collages.

    And you can thank us later, when your business is doing well, and is LEGAL, for pointing out your ‘issues’ now, before you got more exposure, and some artist you stole from did decide to sue you.

    Lesson learned, right? Now, don’t let this blog ‘win’. Get back out there and make some new, legal pictures, and fill up your shop again.

    You’re welcome!

  129. master&margarita August 8, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    NYLightMetals is reseller. I know her source also her mark up insane, she charge about 500%. Jewelery made in China.

  130. Rebecca October 29, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Thought I would share my horrible experience with Regina Pierallini Jewelry as found through the Etsy website and I agree with what the general content her is….this is not hand made and is in fact of very poor quality. I bought 2 of the same necklaces with matching earrings in different colors. After having these for about 11 days and having worn them maybe 4 times, on one of them the chain changed color. When I contacted Regina Pierallini Jewelry I was given a lengthy response that boils down essentially to No exchange No refund. I have made several attempts to explain that clearly there is a defect in the one necklace and I am fearful of the other having the same problem and would gladly accept a replacement or store credit should the product be out of stock. Evidently there policy is to TAKE YOUR MONEY AND RUN. Be VERY VERY careful with what you select to buy from Regina Pierallini Jewelry, they clearly do not stand behind their products in regards to quality.

  131. Leila November 15, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    Funny, I had the opposite experience (all great) working with NYLightMetals this month. They were super sweet and agreed to make several unique gifts for my bridesmaids for a February wedding in Aruba. Having just received my two adorable custom length necklaces, one with double the clovers on a 32″ chain, the second has alternating hearts and flowers on a 49″ chain. The work is stunning and no way is this pre-fabricated. Try emailing them with a special request, they do custom stuff and are very professional.

  132. WELLDONE March 24, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY THIS RESELLER:

    Tribalstyle
    IS STILL ON ETSY AFTER BEING FLAGGED BY MANY PEOPLE COUNTLESS TIMES???! ARE THEY MAKING TOO MUCH MONEY FOR ETSY???

  133. Kali Wurm May 12, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    I’m trying to post this anywhere possible…

    2-3 months ago, I purchased two pairs of earrings from the artist LEGINAYBA through Etsy for $15. When they hadnt come after 6 weeks, I asked them about the status. over a week later, they emailed me back saying that even though I had already paid for the earrings, they gave them to someone else. After contacting them multiple more times, they finally said I could choose replacement pairs from the site (again, since I had already paid 15 dollars and received nothing). After choosing the two new pairs costing under $15, a week later I receive an email saying:

    “we just sent a full refund of us$14.96 back to your paypal account

    your request is totally impossible
    how are going to get 2 pairs of earrings for that price
    you can even get 1/4 of earrings specially for such high quality like ours

    so good luck in finding jewelry like that specially for that 0.99 cents items somewhere else”

    First of all…RUDE! Secondly, they said this last statament because one of the original pairs I purchased and didnt get, THEY had on sale for 99 cents, which of course was the basis of its appeal.

    so, in the end, they wouldnt even send me replacement products for the ones they failed to send me.

    I advise anyone and everyone: DO NOT BUY FROM LEGINAYBA!!!!

Leave a Reply

