highstreetmarket

21 Jul

since we’re on the subject of some sellers who manage to have a seemingly endless supply of the same vintage item….

How many pair of brass owls can HighStreetMarket possibly find?? Not to mention brass horse head coat hooks. Or these brass coca-cola bottle openers:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/51617475/vintage-coca-cola-brass-wall-mounted

Which are new here for about 1/5th of the price::
http://www.dlawlesshardware.com/o12-b3102-sb.html

If this hardware store prices them so low, I’d love to know how much that Indian brass costs from the wholesaler.

Ever notice how NONE of her brass is identified? It all looks like new Indian brass to me.

The original wall-mounts were made of cast iron, by the way.

Goodness knows I wish vintage sellers were able to find “multiples” of the genuine stuff I’m looking for….never seems to happen…..

Another example:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/51792147/vintage-cast-iron-dachshund-door-stop

It’s a new item and listed as “antique style” at the online retailer, ivgStores.

http://www.ivgstores.com/IVG2/Y/ProductID-37634-Boot-Scraper-Dachshund-Cast-Iron-Antique.htm

58 Responses to “highstreetmarket”

  1. groove is in da heart July 21, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    I counted this 3 times in the sold section, probably more.
    http://www.etsy.com/transaction/30737650

  2. sick of cupcakes July 21, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    But etsy says there are no resellers! I don’t understand.

    /hate etsy

  3. Life During Wartime July 21, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    I see the seller is in Philly. Just to the west, there are a bunch of import wholesalers who specialize in ‘antique reproductions’ (that is, FAKES) to service all the antiques shops, malls and flea markets in the area. You have to have a business license to tour the warehouse storefronts.

    There’s a problem/advantage with selling items which are traditional and generic — it’s hard to date them. Some of the items might be as old as the 80s, but then you might find identical pieces right now at jewelry stores, gift stores, department stores, or Asian import stores.

    Faux prepsterism for the nouveau riche. Barf….

  4. Life During Wartime July 21, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    Here’s a set of the brass shell bookends on Ebay, still in their wrappings.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Solid-Brass-Sea-Shell-Bookends-Set-Heavy-/130411408454

    Compare the prices!

    Highstreet isn’t the only one selling them on Etsy, either.

    I dunno how highstreet can be in Philly and not know the difference between a clam and a scallop?

  5. designer July 21, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    This post is spot-on….there’s no denying the items are new brass, probably cast in India, and sold for $2 each wholesale… It’s definitely something I had not really considered, that the vintage section of Etsy was also being cluttered with faux vintage replicas sold as authentic….It will be an interesting issue that Etsy will have to address, along with their many other ones…

  6. Blue Kitty July 21, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    IMO the vintage section is more abused than the handmade categories.

    With counting only 20 years as vintage which often means items are still in production together with the quantity of reproductions of older items on the market its an easy place to pass things off. Very difficult to identify the repros from real from photos at times.

  7. freckleyredhead July 21, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    Is anything in Highstreet’s store actually vintage? Doesn’t look like it to me.

  8. Life During Wartime July 21, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    I looked at the thumbnails of all their items for sale, and I only found 10 that I was sure of as vintage. I don’t know anything about milk glass (there is cool Art Deco milk glass, but the Fenton etc is too dowdy for me), so I can’t say how old those pieces are. The Etsy trend items, like antler mounts and stuff, I am clueless about them.

  9. Lizzy July 21, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    I am really tempted to start one of those annoying threads
    “3+ years and 6,000 sales- what I have learned”

    RESELLERS ARE HERE TO STAY- carry on as that is all I have learned.

  10. Inspector Yuk July 21, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Ugh, I am so fricking disgusted between the reseller thread in the forums and the shit I find out on this b log. Highstreetmarket may very well have authentic vintage products, but how could you tell? Nothing has marks, no clue as to *why* something is vintage, we’re just supposed to either be experts or take the seller at their word.

    And I also googled those scallop shell bookends and saw how overpriced Highstreet has them.

    You know, except for one seller, I don’t really see vintage peeps getting too upset by this. Oh sure, they all crawl out of the woodwork when someone questions why vintage is on Etsy but you don’t see too many vintage sellers actually complaining about the non-vintage stuff. At least I don’t see it.

    And I don’t get the logic behind one admin saying the TOU are basically unenforceable when it comes to mature, but then another couple of admin talk about hiring more people to enforce the TOU with regard to re-sellers, on a case by case basis no less. Manually. Which is, to my way of thinking, an incredibly harder task what with all the conversatin’ back and forth and proof and gray areas (see HeyMichelle’s lengthy list of reasons why sellers aren’t shut down for reselling) than it would be to check a flag for a mature item and decide whether or not it violates the TOU.

    And I don’t get it, what was the point of that thread anyway? are resellers a problem or aren’t they? In one instance they appear to want our feedback and tell us they want to streamline the process and make it more effective, but in another instance it appears that nothing is going to help the situation if there are too many reasons they can’t or won’t shut an ‘alleged’ reseller down.

    And if they are so damned conscientious and aware of the impact of shutting a shop down affecting someone’s livelihood, then why the hell did they shut down a couple of shops for allegedly having links to other sites where they sell the same thing? Where was the back and forth conversation and asking for clarification in that instance?

  11. Life During Wartime July 21, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    I typed and deleted a bunch of times when I read the comments about not risking a reseller’s livelihood.

    That answers the question, for me anyway, about the coaching of resellers. I had wondered why shops, like indiepixie, had their items disappear and then return…with the reseller items now having seller shot photos instead of the catalog ones. The only answer I had come up with was that Etsy was concerned about the investment the reseller shops had in their merchandise, and didn’t want them to lose out on the premium prices they could get on Etsy. Higher than an Ebay auction. I was not wrong, it seems, but I wish I had been wrong!

    Doesn’t Etsy realize that allowing shops like indiepixie to sell Korean dresses hurts the livelihood of the shops selling handmade clothing? Or that shops selling fake vintage hurt the shops with authentic vintage? Huh? What?

  12. Inspector Yuk July 21, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    You know what, though LDW, I understand that thinking, to a point. Some long term resellers are established, and have invested a lot of money in inventory. But, Etsy could very well give them notice. 30 days to sell off what they can and be aware that any future investment in inventory will not be able to be sold on Etsy. It gives them time to sell off what they can, establish themselves elsewhere and not invest in inventory they aren’t going to be able to sell.

    I realize it puts Etsy in an awkward position to have allowed someone and then have to disallow them years later, but it is no more awkward than trying to continually justify the presence and protection of resellers to the handmade/vintage community. Not to mention unwary customers who think they are buying truly handmade or vintage products.

  13. JK July 21, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    Awww, so Etsy is allowing resellers out of the kindness of their faux-bois little hearts! And here I was thinking it had to do with the easy income from trendy, easy-to-promote factory goods that could be constantly relisted, bringing in even more cash for Etsy to make new employee playrooms.

  14. kitten July 21, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    HighStreetMarket’s whole shop is filled with this new brass crap! And how could she look at that daschund door stop and think it’s vintage – I can tell it’s new from the picture! Oh right, she knows it’s new too, I forgot.

    I am so disappointed in HighStreetMarket. This should be made into a weekly series, “Good Seller Gone Bad” and highlight a different fraudulent seller every week.

    I sell vintage and I could NEVER do this to a customer. Am I odd because I have ethics?

  15. ebchimney July 21, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    If you look at her descriptions, you can tell which ones are likely genuine vintage b/c they are the only ones that she does show the markings for or that she dates! Which is just a small fraction of her items.

    I say “likely” b/c I just don’t have confidence in buying anything from that store. Well, I also wouldn’t buy on moral grounds – makes me want to scream….I audibly mutter everytime I come across “new” stuff in B&M antique stores…at least loud enough for any nearby customers to hear.

  16. detroit July 21, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    Maybe Etsy bought their brass cojones from her.

  17. Dee July 21, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    zing! Way to nail it in this thread!

  18. iblameetsy July 21, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    I fully blame etsy for creating their definition of “vintage” as being only 20 years. The items that fraud (and others) are selling may actually be circa 1990.

    whatthafuck? 1990 is VINTAGE?

    Her profile boasts one-of-a-kind.

    She’s a professional interior designer? Did I read that correctly? If I had hired her to do my home and saw what she considered appropriate as vintage pieces, I would file charges of fraud. If her conscience is clear in what she is selling here, then I wonder what in the world she considers as “antiques”.

    Aaaand, if her house has these items as she advertises, it must be like living in TJ Maxx or in a picture from an import catalog.

    But, really. Etsy is to blame for defining what they consider vintage.

    She “promises” items to be at least 20 years. She doesn’t guarantee because that’s a legally actionable term.

    Oh, she’s taking a page from “vintage”sellers everywhere, slap a coat of paint on it and hike the price to several times the value.

    Ahhh, the magic of marketing – the gullibility of some buyers.

    Did I mention that I blame Etsy for this?

  19. ebchimney July 21, 2010 at 5:42 pm #

    and all of HighStreetMarket’s “vintage” brass (and her “vintage” silverplate) is perfectly shiny. No traces of patina at all…always a perfect finish with no pitting.

    you can’t say that about similar vintage items, no matter how much you polish them. How fortunate that she happens to come across multiples of her “vintage” items that happen to still have perfect, unblemished plating….

  20. KR July 21, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    Since we’re talking about the Big Deal vintage sellers, what about “bluebellbazaar.” She sells tons of those glove molds. It’s hard to tell but after magnifying + the photo are the molds stamped March 14 1992? http://www.etsy.com/listing/51563392/porcelain-glove-mold

    All those brass knickknacks. Also 2 or 3 photos and one brief sentence in her descriptions.

    I dunno. After these last few posts about my (former) favorite vintage sellers I’m suspicious of everyone now.

  21. sick of cupcakes July 21, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    Yup, 1992. What’s the deal with the “Modern” vintage bunnies. Isn’t that an oxymoron?

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/51469411/modern-porcelain-figurines

  22. Disgusted July 21, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    Since we’re talking about the Big Deal vintage sellers, what about “bluebellbazaar.” She sells tons of those glove molds. It’s hard to tell but after magnifying + the photo are the molds stamped March 14 1992? http://www.etsy.com/listing/51563392/porcelain-glove-mold

    All those brass knickknacks. Also 2 or 3 photos and one brief sentence in her descriptions.
    ___
    These are marked as supplies. I suppose for a jewelry vendor who needed a display, they could be.

  23. WhatThe? July 21, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    They sell those hands at Hobby Lobby to this very day. I saw them there today for $15 (or $7.50, actually because they were 50% off) . The exact same white ones I see listed on Etsy as “vintage glove molds” for $30+

  24. KR July 21, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    Oh, sorry, I forgot to look at her tags. Okay, then if she marks them as supplies I guess it is legit.

    I really think a seller can put any price she wants to on her junk. We don’t have to pay it, but she’s free to do what she wants with her prices I guess.

  25. ebchimney July 21, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    Yep, it says 1992.

  26. Laura July 22, 2010 at 1:42 am #

    I googled highends owner’s name. It states that she is the the director of this interior design place:http://burnhamdesign.com/instant_space_information.htm

  27. Disgusted July 22, 2010 at 5:28 am #

    After reading her profile, it is impossible to think that she might accidently have thought the brass items are vintage. She manages to mention where she is from, where she went to school and where she lives now. The only reason I can see the mention of these things in the design company’s profile is that she wants to impress. And we are! But not in a positive manner.

  28. JK July 22, 2010 at 6:05 am #

    I really don’t think that the 20 year rule on Etsy is the reason they fail to enforce their own TOU. If they stuck to 25 years (or even 30 years), 1990 would still be vintage at some point — would that continue to be an excuse for things from 1998 to pop up?

  29. ebchimney July 22, 2010 at 7:15 am #

    Hey, she has removed the listing for her “vintage” coca cola bottle opener. I just got the Uh oh page.

    But the weiner dog is still there.

  30. iblameetsy July 22, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    TOU, true, there are some unethical business people like this one who will continue to deliberately lie and cheat in order to get sales.

    I think like the idea on that id website about off-site interior design, but I don’t think she’s the one to do it.

    I wonder if her “recommendations” will include telling people to shop on her e shop o’ non-vintage TJ Maxx stuff.

  31. ebchimney July 22, 2010 at 7:30 am #

    and these dogs:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/51640973/pair-of-porcelain-dogs-made-in-portugal

    ….are NOT what is known as “flatbacks” (see the photos) – so she shouldn’t imply in her description that they are the genuine (and pricey) ones from the 19th century.

    **isses me off when antique sellers do this. (Antique Japanese Imari – which I collect – is another seriously abused category by dealers in general…..even at very high-end antique fairs across the country.)

  32. ebchimney July 22, 2010 at 7:33 am #

    let me qualify – she doesn’t use the term “flatback”…she just implies they were made in the 19th century.

    But that was the period of flatbacks – they sat against a wall, so there was no need for the makers to do anything with the back…just left as flat, with no decoration or anything else.

  33. not a copier July 22, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    There’s an antiques dealer in my area but he openly calls the shop I refer to as his “junk” shop. He told me once that people in this area don’t really want to pay the price for good antiques so he ships all that stuff to markets in Conn. and such and sells all of the worthless junk here at his shop, (this is his hometown). I like to shop there because I am one of those people who doesn’t want to pay the price since I don’t really care about something antiquity, (I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with it, it’s just not important to me). Anyway, the junk that I see here that is deemed “real” still reminds me of the junk that he has in his shop. I should start shopping there to open a vintage store at etsy.

  34. Inspector Yuk July 22, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    not a copier, that’s all well and good. I understand wanting the look without paying the price. What I don’t like is the deception of sellers trying to pass off non-vintage as vintage. Say it’s vintage style, or vintage reproduction or modern casting using a vintage mold. Don’t call something ‘brass’ when it’s really a recycled aluminum casting with a brass finish (american eagle plaques???????)

    If
    Etsy is going to allow this stuff and flaunt it on the front page, then have a reproduction category. Allow the faux vintage there, because it obviously has it’s market and let people choose whether they want true vintage or just something that looks like it’s vintage.

    I know that probably won’t work either, it would just become flooded with even more junk, and people would still lie just to cover both markets.

    Then again, it might just work out to a buyer’s advantage. Because then all the foreign companies that make this stuff would open up shops and undercut the sellers who think they’ve cornered the market and drive down prices to where they should be for this kind of crap. Just like the foreign supply sellers have done to commercial supplies. I haven’t b ought a single commercial supply from a non-foreign shop in a long time now.

    Couldn’t do that to the real vintage sellers because their stuff is authentic and not in unlimited supply.

    Too bad the idea would probably be shot down in a heartbeat by vintage sellers before they really had the chance to think about it.

  35. Inspector Yuk July 22, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Or just require all vintage on Etsy to be dated with information to support it. Yeah, right…when pigs fly……..

  36. Life During Wartime July 22, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    Inspector, I’ve been selling vintage for 15+ years. A large percentage of my items have no marks, tags, signatures, stickers. I ID some by the shape of handles, the decoration, the color, or the some combination of the above. Many times I will never know the maker, only the decade or so range when something was made.

    Online documentation is incomplete, to put it nicely. Print documentation is better, especially if it is older (the best pieces have pretty much vanished from the market, so if you want to try to ID the oddball piece you need a decades old reference).

    Sure, I make mistakes, as every dealer makes mistakes. But I know I didn’t order my inventory from a specialty reproduction importer.

  37. Sara July 22, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    I accidentally featured that dachshund in a treasury once I think. I know nothing about vintage or antiques and used to take sellers at their word, sigh.

  38. boots July 22, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    this post annoys me (more like the responses)

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6581608

  39. Life During Wartime July 22, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    In today’s Etsy finds:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/41415845/brick-style-design-contemporary-leather

    Does anyone think the shop owner makes these rugs himself? That is the claim in the profile.

    There are no resellers on Etsy, so I guess this shop has employees?

  40. not a copier July 22, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    Inspector Yuk, I totally agree with you that these people should just be given an appropriate part of the community as long as they have their own categories. It’s understandable that it’s easy and big money for etsy, but now that I’m typing this I can’t help but wonder if they did get their own “reproduction” and/or “mass-produced” categories would they do so much business. After all most of their customers probably think they’re getting great deals on “vintage” and “hand made”. Hmmm, maybe etsy will never change the status quo. Anyway my first comment was really just a poor attempt at humor.

  41. Inspector Yuk July 22, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    LDW, I understand that not everything is definitive when dating vintage. And I don’t know if you have a shop or sell online, but I would assume that your descriptions of items that are difficult to date, might include some clues as to why you think something is vintage.

    For example, I see a lot of pressed glass plates, candle holders and dishes for sale as vintage on Etsy, but I also see very similar stuff in the dollar store. Maybe not the same exact, but similar enough to make me suspicious. Now if a seller were to say that item X is believed to be vintage because a particular design or color was popular in the 70’s and current reproductions can’t duplicate it, that lends some credibility and at least gives the appearance that the seller has some idea of what they’re selling.

    Vintage, like handmade has the opportunity to educate consumers, and knowledgeable sellers in either category should use their descriptions to impart information relevant to the item they’re selling to instill confidence in both seasoned and experienced buyers of a craft and newcomers to not only educate, but give them something to use as a kind of litmus test when shopping for vintage or handmade elsewhere.

    And I’m probably beating a dead horse here, but I still can’t get over the fact that hindvisk sold those 3rd arms for that outrageous price and people bought them.

  42. Freckleyredhead July 22, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    LDW, here’s a match to the leather rug:

    http://www.sunlandhomedecor.com/32305.html

    I’m still looking for the wholesaler.

  43. Life During Wartime July 22, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    Wow, great sleuthing, Freckley! The product info for the rug you found says it will be made to order in South America. I found a bunch with slightly different designs and similar inventory numbers on Ebay, Shine Rugs. None of them are made in the USA.

    ….but there are no resellers on Etsy!

    Inspector, I do sell online, and I share all of the reasoning behind my dating and guesses at possible makers in listings for unmarked items. Sometimes people who buy the items can ID them for me, and even email me photos of their collections where some of the items have stickers still attached!

  44. Inspector Yuk July 22, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    Not a copier, I get the humor. But it really made me think about it. It’s true, many don’t want to pay the price tag for real vintage or antiquities, but do want the look. There is nothing wrong with that, so sell it for what it is.

    But really, as much as we blame Etsy for this, it’s really the sellers who should bear the responsibility. They are the ones perpetuating the deception. Yes, Etsy should act on reports with irrefutable proof, but how often can you provide that?

    I just happened to be perusing the vintage jewelry category and went to rings and lo and behold I came across the same exact ring I have. My husband found it a few months ago when he was metal detecting in a school soccer field. It wasn’t deep in the ground so it was recently dropped.

    I went online to research it since it had a brand stamp in it and found it to be just a piece of imported sterling and cz jewelry you could purchase today. And that’s just the stuff we could find by having the same thing ourselves,. I could get rid of a ton of ‘old’ jewelry on Etsy and call it vintage and no one would be the wiser because it’s either artisan jewelry or old enough to be outdated and hard to research, but it’s not 20 years old.

    And I have jewelry that I know is vintage just by virtue of it belonging to my mother in her youth and another older lady (now deceased) who gave me a few trinkets from her jewelry box at least 15 years ago and they were old then. B ut I have no way of verifying their worth so I won’t sell them. It would be just my luck to list something valuable for pennies on the dollar, lol.

    I guess I need antiques roadshow to come to my town.

  45. Inspector Yuk July 22, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    LDW, see? I knew my assumptions about you were correct! You wouldn;’t happen to know of any online resources for unmarked vintage jewelry would you? I have a bunch of stuff that I know for certain is old, but it has no mark, like a set of bangles that are either stone or maybe bakelite, a set of wood and brass bangles, rhinestone necklaces and earrings an old rhinestone or glass brooch and a necklace with a coral rose (plastic?) focal.

  46. Life During Wartime July 22, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    Inspector, I am not a jewelry specialist. I mostly bought vintage beaded jewelry rather than rhinestones.

    Bakelite and stone are easy to tell apart. Stones are always cool to the the touch, even if they have been dyed or heat treated to enhance or change their color. Bakelite can sometimes be positively identified by a hot water test — run it under your hot tap water and it gives off a distinctive smell. Works best with well water, though. Bakelite can also be IDed with simichrome polish (it will leave a yellow residue on your polishing cloth), but not a guaranteed test. Oh, and stone will always be heavier than plastic! Unfortunately, bakelite jewelry is still being made in ‘vintage style’.

    Wood and brass jewelry and beads are traditional, so they are hard to date. Could be new, or vintage — one of those situations you talked about in your comment.

    Any rhinestone jewelry that is base metal is likely to show some signs of age if it really is vintage. Newer rhinestone jewelry often is set in metal that has more of a gunmetal than bright silver finish (for that faux vintage look, except it doesn’t look vintage). Newer pieces are lighter in weight, too.

    Plastic coral roses are being made today…again, part of the vintage style fad.

    Dating is harder today than it was 15 years ago due to the explosion of vintage reproductions…jewelry, kitchenware, decor, lamps, everything.

    There is a vintage jewelry guild (is it Jewel Collect?) and they may have some kind of forum to help you date your pieces if you have photos. It’s not Etsy-related, so I would trust them!

  47. Inspector Yuk July 22, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    LDW, thank you so much, the items I mentioned I know for a fact are older than 20 years old. I was going to remark that the finish on them, the silver and the gold are much heavier and more durable than the plated stuff you can buy today.

    I dug a couple of things out to examine them again, the bangles are definitely a very hard plastic of some sort, and the colors are odd, 2 shades of green and orange. The other bangles aren’t wood, I believe they are horn and brass. Again, stuff made of the same materials today, but I know these are old. The plastic coral focal on the necklace isn’t like those 3 dimensional coral cabs I see, this is flat and molded, 2 dimensional set in a gold metal that reminds me of lead soldering. Again, I know it’s older than 25 years I just don’t know how to determine the materials or date it accurately.

    Again, thanks for the info, it gives me a little more to go on and I’ll see if I can find the site you mentioned.

  48. detroit July 23, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    Okay – here’s my research on the leather rugs:

    Etsy listing for “Artistic Leather Hide Rug Modern Decor Designer Style LR-415”:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/41345219/artistic-leather-hide-rug-modern-decor

    Amazon listing for “Artistic Leather Hide Rug Modern Decor Designer Style LR-415” *note the exact same name / number:

    http://www.amazon.com/Artistic-Leather-Modern-Designer-LR-415/dp/B003UDLAEO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1279882481&sr=1-1

    The Amazon owner is ‘Asel Exotics’. If you google “ASEL EXOTICS”, you get a link to the following NY based store (with the exact same pictures):

    http://www.exoticfloors.com/index.php?cPath=22

    On their ‘about us’ page, they state:

    “We, ASEL International, are designers and manufacturers of Exotic Floors. Product selection include Mosaic Hardwood Floors and Exotic Leather&Hide themed Home Decors and Furnishings. ”

    I’m not sure what all this means, but I’m thinking they are not Etsy appropriate.

    But, that doesn’t seem to matter anymore. So….oh fucking well.

  49. detroit July 23, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    I made a post with the links, but it’s awaiting moderation above.

    If you go to exoticfloors DOT com, you’ll see all the same pictures as leather rug guy. They have a store in NY, and do not look Etsy legal.

  50. ebchimney July 23, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    So the rug is available on at least 2 other websites: 1 of them located in NY, and the other located in Tucson, AZ.

    And exoticfloors says they work with designers in Europe.

    So not Etsy legal, IMO.

  51. Life During Wartime July 23, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    Wow, more great sleuthing! I would define the leather rug shop as a reseller. But…Etsy may allow them if they contact the factories/workshops overseas with orders for each item to be made.

  52. Andrea July 24, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    This is sad, I love vintage. Now I have to worry about fakes here too??

  53. ebchimney July 24, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    For goodness sakes! Is there ANYTHING in highstreetmarket’s shop that actually is vintage??!!

    She sold this rooster head hook today & called it porcelain (and for $24):
    http://www.etsy.com/transaction/31937147

    This eBay seller has a set of 2 of them for $14.99….says they’re ceramic & made by WBI in China!

    http://compare.ebay.com/like/140372370191?ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&rvr_id=&crlp=1_263602_263632&UA=WXI7&GUID=ffdcf1bd1280a0e2033050e0fe00bfb4&itemid=140372370191&ff4=263602_263632

    I’m just disgusted since she is such a top seller (and lister) that is cluttering up the real vintage search results with fakes!

  54. Life During Wartime July 24, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Andrea, a shopper has to watch out for faux vintage and fake antiques everywhere, on the net and in bricks-and-mortar.

  55. ebchimney July 24, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Sorry, mea culpa on the rooster wall hook. Had a visceral reaction and jumped the gun when I first looked at the photos.

    I’m just more frustrated than I’ve ever been with vintage right now on Etsy…especially with the Hindsvik call out, too.

    Etsy just doesn’t seem to police the category (or handmade) at all…..and I’m tired of doing so much investigative work on my own when I search Etsy to buy things. Too much effort. Tired of asking so many sellers 10 million questions since they don’t say anything in their listings about anything. And then most give you attitude when you do ask. A bit defensive…..wonder why….

    If Etsy actually DID anything about it, that’s one thing….at least a reason to keep shopping. But if they don’t and won’t do squat, why in the he** bother.

  56. ebchimney July 24, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    LDW, you’re so right about that. At least in B&M’s I can see and feel it for myself to judge for myself. (And some antique/vintage malls crack the whip on their vendors….other ones allow a certain percentage (like 20%) of “new” reproductions or vintage-style…but require the vendor to call it new.

    At least at the ones I stick to. But I also love the much greater variety of finding things online…esp. when it comes to those sellers underprice b/c they don’t know what they’re selling.

    But I’m willing to pay the price if it’s priced what it’s worth….I just am frustrated with sellers who try to fake me out. And the online sites who do nothing about it.

    Etsy claims to not allow repros – but doesn’t do anything about them when they pop up there a thousand times.

    I just don’t trust Etsy the way I trust RubyLane. Or most of RubyLane. I came to Etsy assuming I could b/c of what the site claims.

    Maybe I just need to stick to bona fide auction houses online to get the variety of the genuine article. At least they are willing to stand behind what they auction.

  57. EyesWideOpen July 25, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    Keep in mind: Etsy is a company, not a person. Even the Supreme Court of the US is confused about the difference: a person has a soul, personal ethics (unless he is a sociopath), and a personal opinion. A company or corp doesn’t. It’s there to make money ONLY, and only for themselves ad their shareholders.

    Some of us can reach a ripe old age without losing our dignity and sense of purpose; some can’t. The people who make decisions about the Etsy Co., especially Kalin, aren’t even making it into their thirties without prostituting themselves.

    Etsy is a site I use as a link. I have no respect for the site or any of the people who make the decisions or the people who “work” for them. I will get what I can out of them, keep my integrity intact, and never look back.
    My customers are not many, but they are loyal and can’t be fooled by fake junk. I am renting space in an online mall that has never reached its potential, next door to all the dregs of society, but am not so desperate as to fall in with the liars, resellers, and fakers.
    There are ways to be successful without getting sucked into the propaganda, sucking up in the forums, or competing with garbage. It’s up to us to find those ways that work for us, and use Etsy as long as it’s productive for each of us as individuals.

    Remember the phrase back when Nixon was being impeached? “Lick Dick Before Dick Licks You.” That’s how I see this whole thing with the way things have been going for at least 2 years.

  58. eyefortineye July 26, 2010 at 6:55 am #

    What? Nobody selling “vintage” douche bags on Etsy? I could actually see somebody doing that, though.

Leave a Reply

