blueseptemberdesigns

2 Aug

blueseptemberdesigns.etsy.com

Today’s hot mess of a shop. Love the first line in the shop announcement that says “Welcome to DESIGNS by SEPTEMBER BLUE where everything is made special just for you.” Yet every listing I looked at was in the homemade category yet had the brand name stated right in the listing. For example, those wacky shoes- http://www.etsy.com/listing/52397389/shoesaccessoriesclothingwomenwesley-and

The titles are so long and fragmented they break Etsy 🙂

40 Responses to “blueseptemberdesigns”

  1. gottalovegoogle August 2, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    On the bright side: good for a laugh to imagine the couple who owned and wore those items. Ow, my mind’s eye!

  2. Life During Wartime August 2, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    This person has 6 shops full of flea market stuff. 6 shops? WTF?

    There are a few actual vintage items here and there. Dunno if there is anything handmade by her. The rest look like thrift store finds or drop ship merchandise.

    The real face of Etsy OMFG 6 shops!

  3. GucciBooty August 2, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    The shop owner needs a kind email explaining categories. I can’t do it, though, learned my lesson long ago but wish I could.

  4. Life During Wartime August 2, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    I’m not sure that’s what she needs, GucciBooty.

    What category is appropriate for most of the stuff in her shops? The newish, mass-produced, thrift store items?

  5. groove is in da heart August 2, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Welcome to DESIGNS by SEPTEMBER BLUE where everything is made special just for you. But not by me…..by the companies that own the factories where this crap was mass-produced.

  6. Inspector Yuk August 2, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    Ugh, another closet cleaner outer. Somebody just shoot me now because this has gone beyond ridiculous.

    I am so pissed.

  7. Disgusted August 2, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    Holy bleeding kluster fk!!!! I didn’t know yard sales had multilevel marketing!!! Another case of let’s conveniently ignore the categories of “handmade”, “supplies” or “vintage” for tags and just jump into TRASH!!!

  8. GucciBooty August 2, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    “Life During Wartime Says:
    August 2, 2010 at 10:31 am

    I’m not sure that’s what she needs, GucciBooty.

    What category is appropriate for most of the stuff in her shops? The newish, mass-produced, thrift store items?”

    YOU ARE RIGHT as usual! It’s getting pretty desperate out there.

  9. Life During Wartime August 2, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    It is getting desperate!

    What amazes me is that this flea market spread over 6 shops has views, hearts, and sales. Is the well-educated, upper middle class, professional, crowd looking for WAL-MART quality used goods?

    Whoops, blueseptemberdesigns has had its items disappeared for a coaching session. Here’s a link to her Etsy flea market network since the one above now goes nowhere:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/blueseptemberdesigns

  10. Life During Wartime August 2, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    Etsy also emptied out manateebythesea, another ‘gift shop’.

    They left the ‘vintage’ alone. I mean, it is so cool to be selling a generic push-button phone as an ‘antique’. Etsy really knows, loves, and supports, vintage. Gotta luv ’em for it.

  11. gottalovegoogle August 2, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    oh, so hate to bum out some sellers, but I heart shops that I find ridiculously funny or have reported and want to check periodically. Occasionally I will heart a shop I actually like. Another reason for us to be able to make notes on, organize or categorize our hearts.

  12. EtsyBurnout August 2, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    Go after these two handbag shops. The first one I found the wholesale site and reported it to etsy. The second has cheap Brighton knock off bags.
    I have reported both to no avail.
    There is no way these are handmade by the seller at the low prices!

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/miyabags
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/JustSayBagIt

  13. ResellersBGone August 2, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    I can just imagine what her house looks like. Probably needs a hoarders intervention. And probably has 8 or more cats.

  14. Life During Wartime August 2, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    I resemble that ^^^ remark! Only have 2 cats, though. Seriously, if you sell larger vintage items, there are bound to be lots of boxes stacked up in corners. Unless you live in a big house with spare rooms.

  15. it stinks August 2, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    There is a store in our town that sells shoes like that new. It’s an old store on the town square. They have shoes like that in every color along with men’s suits in EVERY color – and I mean every. It looks like a pimp’s paradise. All you need is a big hat with a giant feather.

  16. gottalovegoogle August 2, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    *snickering* pimp’s paradise

  17. detroit August 2, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    What amazes me is that this flea market spread over 6 shops has views, hearts, and sales.
    __________________________________________

    Yep. I’m always amazed at the number of sales by the resellers / faux vintage shops. Seems like they get more sales than the legit, hard working shops.

    Dumbass shoppers really want Walmart items, at Walmart prices…but on frikken Etsy!

    -Like that fracking cufflink shop that has 10’s and 20’s of sales every damn day!

    Those resellers must be rolling in their yuan! They make so much, they probably wipe their asses with Etsy-earned bills.

    OT – I have three cats in an apartment! : 0

    All collected from the dirty streets of NY and Detroit. I’ve also collected others, and foisted them on family and friends.

    What can I say, I’m a sucker for a cute, hungry furry face. A sucker who’s constantly cleaning up cat hair, strewn litter, hairball pukes, mislaid turds from the geriatric cat….

    Now they’re demanding dinner. Gotta run before they start to gang up on me!

  18. Dee August 2, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    I know it is pointless to whine, but the FP 4 times in one day, really? http://www.craftcult.com/vault.php?fm=2&esn=raceytay&st=2&date=1280793515&userid=

    Shame on you etsy admin!

  19. sick of cupcakes August 2, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    I’d rather buy you cat puke detroit, than anything on etsy.

    I have plenty of my though. Stepped on some this morning, LOL.

  20. detroit August 2, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    Oof! The cold squish of cat puke between your toes when you’re sleepy and headed for the bathroom at 4:00 am. I know the feeling well – lol.

    And 4 TIMES IN ONE DAY on the FP!!! WTF??? Out of their hundreds of thousands of shops? Really? That’s all they can find to feature?

    Well, probably the rest is resellers……

  21. Inspector Yuk August 2, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    What I find interesting is that if you put the curators names in that search box, they come up with 20 pages of fp features, I mean I did about a dozen random curator names and they’ve all had many, many FP features. so essentially they have some sort of thing going putting each other in treasuries so they all get a chance of being on the fp 2-3-4 times a days for days in a row. And they’re all the same names over and over again.

    What a racket. they must have some sort of deal worked out with Etsy, else how could they get on the FP so much? so some group essentially has a monopoly on the front page. So, do you have to pay to get into one of these monopolies? What’s the going rate?

  22. PussDaddy August 2, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    I think those are the ugliest shoes I have ever seen.

  23. amused August 3, 2010 at 12:05 am #

    It’s bullshit for sure. Oh, does that make me a jealous hater? FP is so boring and repetitive and has been for so long. One doesn’t even need to look up the names of the regulars anymore as they are imprinted on the brain from over-viewing.

  24. sick of cupcakes August 3, 2010 at 5:12 am #

    It’s the FP Mafia.

  25. JK August 3, 2010 at 6:51 am #

    The spouse and I were watching the news last night and there was a story about our state’s attempt to collect taxes from online sales. I glanced up and caught a glimpse of one of the e-commerce sites they were showing. ‘What’s that one? It looks like an even more boring version of the Etsy FP!’ I said.

    The spouse, who had been watching the whole thing, replied ‘. . .that is the Etsy FP.’

    Ouch.

  26. Inspector Yuk August 3, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    FP Mafia? Is there really such a thing? I mean, I have heard rumors that there are organized groups (other than teams) that feature one another, but Etsy would have to be in cahoots with them in order for them to constantly make the FP.

    Not that I don’t already believe that Etsy plays favorites, I know they do, but honestly, could anyone start this kind of group and get the same kind of exposure? I’d think not. It’s just too coincidental that the same group of curators/sellers continually make the front page.

    Incidentally, I got a warning about contacting customers of alleged resellers, hehe. Though the people who replied to me were grateful and understanding, I know one was a bit upset because although she left a positive feedback, she wasn’t happy with what she got. I think she inadvertantly used my information as proof of reselling and the seller reported me.

    I also heard back from the company who makes the ice cream bucket, by the time they clicked on the link the item had been removed, but they were very appreciative of my informing them.

    I also found the thread where Sherrytruitt reveals that her magazine placement was pulled due to an editor buying a ‘handmade’ handbag and finding out it was factory made. Such a sad, sad commentary on the direction Etsy is heading.

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6574015&page=1

  27. Life During Wartime August 3, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    Now all of the items have been removed from 5 out of 6 flea market shops. Except for this one:

    http://www.shabbypinkflamingo.etsy.com

    There is reseller merchandise in this shop, too, but I’m not sure the Etsy admins can tell which items aren’t old.

    So, if you are considering opening a shop on Etsy for SMC or other new junque, go to a yard sale with someone who knows a little about vintage. Grab a dozen or so items that are 20+ years old (the more commonly found and the cheaper the better), and mix them in with your new items. I’ve never seen Etsy actually close down a reseller shop that had even 1 vintage item for sale. They will leave all the items up for sale if any vintage is present.

  28. RocksInMySocks August 3, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Life During Wartime Says:
    August 3, 2010 at 11:04 am
    Now all of the items have been removed from 5 out of 6 flea market shops. Except for this one:

    http://www.shabbypinkflamingo.etsy.com

    ———–

    Looks like a lot of her items are from Tuesday Morning, Marshall’s and TJ Maxx. What kind of piece of shit do you have to be to try and rip off customers like this?

  29. Life During Wartime August 3, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    I doubt her potential customers would believe the new items are vintage or have anything to do with Paris.

    Local antiques malls are full of this stuff where I live. Having a shop with this mixture of goods would be allowed on several major online venues for antiques and vintage.

    While I am not excusing the seller for breaking the Etsy rules for what can be listed, the fault here is partly Etsy’s. If you are setting up a online venue for vintage, you have to do your research to see how other venues (which have been doing this for more than a decade) handle these issues. That way, you know the kind of misunderstandings that will occur if you have rules that differ from those of most other venues. Etsy’s way of handling reseller stuff in vintage shops is to pretend it’s not there. What this seller is doing is really no different than hindsvik. The only real difference is the style they use to present their items.

    This is my favorite listing in her shop:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/52616963/shabby-chicparis-aptfrench-flea

    She calls it a vase.

  30. sick of cupcakes August 3, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    I can’t look at those pics, most aren’t focused on the item. That makes me insane.

  31. Life During Wartime August 3, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    The photos are too small for Etsy, so the Etsy software is distorting them by forcing them into its standard size square. The thumbnails look much better. Most other venues don’t force photos into a certain shape like Etsy.

  32. detroit August 3, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    And wouldn’t you think that having 5 shops full of items that violate the TOU would merit the closing of your last remaining shop – regardless of whether the items are legit (which they aren’t anyway)?

    Like the legit seller who was punished with the closing of all her shops for having one old, undisclosed account?

    It’s like Etsy is a country that allows rape and homicide, and helplessly shrugs – wanting to respect the ‘rights’ of the rapists and murderers. But then chops off hands for eating grapes in the grocery store, or cuts off tongues for telling someone the white lie that their haircut really DOES look cute….

  33. OhNo August 3, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    I am so sick of this crap! I’m throwing in the towel.Everything in my shop is 50% off and whatever expires is not being relisted. When the last item expires on November 29th,hasta la vista baby.I’m getting out before Etsy implodes. How can we compete when there is not a level playing field?

    Pussdaddy, can I be invited to read your blog? I miss it..you speak the truth and crack me up!

  34. Life During Wartime August 3, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    I think Etsy is an awesome comeback to the loads of sexist political correctness about how a world dominated by wombmoons, wimmins, or whatever would be more just, more fair, more embracing of diversity, more nuturing, yadda yadda yadda.

    Reading the Etsy forums is like watching Wild Kingdom or any of those shows that feature animals killing and eating each other.

  35. detroit August 3, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Funny LDW – I was just thinking kinda the opposite. Once there was craftster – primarily a site about mostly women freely sharing and helping and critiquing about crafts….

    Then, a group of guys come along and decide to try to monetize the whole thing. They (Kalin et al) become e-superstars. Most of the Etsy higher-ups / site builders are still men – while the womenfolk, who actually do all the work, and make near all the crafts that make the site run, squabble about their chickenfeed. Meanwhile the farmer (Kalin) is burning down the fracking barn.

    Not that I’m an essentialist who think – all women are like ‘x’, and all men are like ‘y’. BUT, people do tend to hew to the roles they were socialized for.

  36. Life During Wartime August 3, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    Good point, Detroit. I was actually thinking about Mr. Coral Hue Nail Polish even as I was typing it, and wondering how he fit it.

    Not that I am letting Rob off the hook here, but I think the investors and the trend guru (males) are the ones that actually lit the match.

  37. detroit August 4, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    Yeah – I guess it just shows anyone can f*ck stuff up. The guys who started it seem incompetent and ineffective. And then there are the legions of starry eyed cupcake girls who don’t realize they can knit 24/7 til their fingers are bleeding, and they ain’t never gonna QYDJ.

    Etsy’s selling a dream akin to those – ‘make 1,000 dollars a week from home stuffing envelopes!’

  38. Inspector Yuk August 4, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    Lol @ LDW’s Wild Kingdom reference. It sure is like that. In one moment they peacefully coexist beside each other while drinking from the water hole, the next they are locked in a fierce battle to the death. AND….we even have the roving band of hyenas to pick over the carcasses!

  39. PussDaddy August 4, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    Oh no, you have to email me your blogger email address so I can invite you. You can find my email address on the contact me link on my blogger profile.

    I don’t know if there is a FP mafia or not. Sometimes tho I don’t always think it is the seller’s fault that Etsy has picked them to favor tho so I balk somewhat at taking it out on the sellers and blaming them for it all.

  40. PussDaddy August 4, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    The only thing I remember reading close to any FP mafia stuff is people wanting to start “clans” over on Etsy Bitch a long time back.

Leave a comment