shanickerskids

3 Aug

This has been mailed, flagged, etc to no avail – though it has made the frontpage. All of the items appear to be from Two’s Company or their brand Cupcakes & Cartwheels.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/shanickerskids

http://www.etsy.com/listing/52193612/set-of-5-safari-little-nesting
http://www.amazon.com/Twos-Company-Anti-Mates-Nesting-Animal/dp/B00296FBX4

http://www.etsy.com/listing/31511153/animal-party-wall-hooks-set-of-3
http://alipoli.myshopify.com/products/animal-wall-hook-set

http://www.etsy.com/listing/39498366/plushy-handstitched-butterfly-pillow (note last image)
http://madisonavegifts.com/index.php?page=shop/flypage&product_id=11818

http://www.etsy.com/listing/50379046/set-of-9-animal-fact-prints
http://www.kaboodle.com/reviews/ani-mates-animal-prints–set-of-9

36 Responses to “shanickerskids”

  1. sick of cupcakes August 3, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    So has she been featured on the Storque yet?

  2. Life During Wartime August 3, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    Wasn’t this seller called out before? Maybe it was something in the forums.

    I doubt Etsy will do anything about the reseller items. As long as a few of your listings are handmade or vintage, the admins will convo you…Voulez-vous COACHer avec moi, ce soir? Voulez-vous COACHer avec moi? (fractured rustic paris apt celebrity tie-in french Etsy trend)

  3. sick of cupcakes August 3, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    *http://www.homegardenheaven.com/product/38645

    Her mobile is here.

  4. losinghope August 3, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    Here’s another 90’s item on the FP. http://www.etsy.com/listing/44583230/high-waist-90s-jean-skirt-with-triangle?ref=fp_feat_1
    I’m sure etsy looked at this and just let it go. WTF…I’m getting tired of etsy rewarding tou violations with a berth on the FP.

  5. Sarah August 3, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/50566270/sissy-corset-for-your-everyday-wicca

    Anyone have $19 for someone’s cast off, tacky lace corset (not to be confused with gorgeous, quality corsets), with only a little shot elastic and a missing a garter clasp, that’s vintage because…well, I guess because she says so, ’cause I don’t see photos of tags or anything.

  6. GucciBooty August 3, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    the corset. I see those at Goodwill shops sometimes, but they are not old. They sell in comparatively CHEAP lingerie / sex toy stores

  7. EtsyBurnout August 3, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    Check out these two handbag shops. The first one I found the wholesale site and reported it to etsy. The second has cheap Brighton knock off bags.
    I have reported both to no avail.
    There is no way these are handmade by the seller at the low prices!

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/miyabags
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/JustSayBagIt

  8. boots August 3, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    OT

    but what is up with the fox themes?

  9. ebilly August 3, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    how many of these are etsy pets?
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20100803/ts_alt_afp/uscrimecounterfeitpiracyluxurychina

  10. not a copier August 3, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    I wish I had the courage to convo the customers of theirs who gave neutral feedback on the items with the links to where they could have purchased their items for less.

  11. Fed Up August 3, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    Um, yeah – NOT handmade by her.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/SunnyCrystals

  12. Sarah August 3, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    Ugh, issues of handmade or not aside, I’d like to report SunnyCrystals for abuse of the word “stunning.” I am phenomenally unstunned.

  13. Sara August 4, 2010 at 1:29 am #

    Here to vent.

    I just searched the clothing category, no search terms, to see what pictures drew me so I could imitate the styling one way or another.

    Everything was either:
    made in Thailand
    made in Hong Kong
    made by an Asian collective (clearly from models and prices, etc.) but with no location given
    vintage that belonged in the vintage category
    not-vintage that didn’t even belong on Etsy
    screenprinted t-shirts
    things that belonged on Regretsy

    Maybe 15% of the category is legitimate handmade clothing (sorry t-shirt screenprinters, and I’m not talking hand screen-printed either).

    Good thing about this: hopefully I won’t have trouble standing out from the crowd of badness.

    Bad thing about this: when I joined Etsy I thought all of those things were handmade by an individual seamstress. Buyers probably think the same still.

    Bah.

  14. losinghope August 4, 2010 at 3:18 am #

    I don’t get the fox stuff either. Not very appealing. Just another one of etsy “in crowd” themes.

  15. Disgusted August 4, 2010 at 5:42 am #

    How about this one? Wonder if she has ever heard about copyright laws?
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/AnnesFabulousBooks

  16. sick of cupcakes August 4, 2010 at 7:45 am #

    Foxes are the new mustaches.

  17. detroit August 4, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    ebilly Says:
    August 3, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    how many of these are etsy pets?
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20100803/ts_alt_afp/uscrimecounterfeitpiracyluxurychina
    ******************************************

    Etsy is the perfect venue for these faux luxury goods sellers. Ebay has cracked down. And from the article it appears that having a B&M store leaves you vulnerable to a raid…..

    So, to Etsy it is! Lord knows they don’t do anything!

    You’d think Etsy’d have some sort of automated filter for a list of about 100 commonly knocked off brand names – that would send the items immediately to an employee for review.

    I do realize there are instances when someone could legitimately be using the term ‘Gucci’ in their listing. But, lets be real – probably less than 5% of the time.

    ETSY – that shit makes the site REALLY tacky!

    Also, I hardly feel bad for the companies that are knocked off. The working / lower middle class people buying that tacky crap wouldn’t otherwise be buying the real thing.

    BUT, I do worry about the shady factories these things come from. I have heard of buyers taking their ‘luxury’ handbag out of the plastic wrap (?), and horrible chemical fumes were emitted.

    The Chinese pet food fiasco proved there are people out there who don’t care if their shortcuts poison people.

    They often use horrible chemicals (long banned in most countries), and heavy, toxic metals in the production of this knock off crap.

    Buyer beware!

  18. Disappointed August 4, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    This is why I’m leaving Etsy and switching to Cargoh.

  19. detroit August 4, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    QYES – Quit Your Etsy Store

  20. Life During Wartime August 4, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    How is Cargoh going to keep vintage off the site? If a site seriously wants to be unique and indie, they have to keep mass-produced stuff off of there. New or old (vintage).

    500 quatloos sez Cargoh goes shabby chic/rustic/faux designer by Christmas.

  21. NotAgain August 4, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Count me in on that bet.

  22. PussDaddy August 4, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    Jesus, the name of this shop sounds like a hershey squirt skid mark you would find in your underwear, doesn’t it?

  23. PussDaddy August 4, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    I have actually been scoping out this site

    http://efreeme.com/

    and bought an ACEO off of it yesterday, my first buy there.

  24. PussDaddy August 4, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    I have to admit that I really don’t mind the trends or whatever you want to call them. They do them in retail stores as well. I think they are inevitable everywhere maybe. Some I have liked, like the squirrels, and hedgehogs, and some others. I can live without mustaches and a couple of others though.

  25. bellacruz August 5, 2010 at 3:42 am #

    I read the article linked to above about the counterfeit handbags. I think it’s good to go after these people who blithely steal and profit from another company’s hard work and creativity. What’s surprising is the number of comments, (most that I read on the first 5/6 pages) think it’s no big deal, or o.k., just because there are other problems in the U.S. What does one have to do with the other? A crime is a crime. Sure, there are more important crimes that need attention, but the problem of counterfeit should not be ignored. If it is ignored, then what protections does the small business handcrafter have by the precedent set? Then it’s o.k. to steal their images or work and sell as your own. I wonder how many of the commenters ever made anything with their own two hands.

  26. Freckleyredhead August 5, 2010 at 6:03 am #

    Shanicker’s kids – Shop is empty!!!!

  27. JK August 5, 2010 at 6:32 am #

    Damn it, Etsy! Don’t you dare ruin foxes for me.

  28. sick of cupcakes August 5, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    I still see crap in Scamicker’s shop.

  29. Disgusted August 6, 2010 at 6:05 am #

    An extended tour of a very good thrift store yesterday netted some info on designer handbags (as a sample). The “good stuff” is locked up behind glass and its too pricey to resell on Etsy or Ebay. Other things such as a real Coach (cig burn on side), many DB’s – greasy, stained, ripped, damaged and many REPLICA!!! (counterfeit) Guccis/Pradas and others (about a dozen) were also found with the regular stuff. A lot of the fakes look good but when touched, they lack quality. Particularly telling was the inside which was flimsy and minimally constructed.
    Personally, I carry a very nice leather Fossil brand purse that once sold for about $200 new. I got it a thrift for about $8.

  30. young August 6, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    I still see crap in Scamicker’s shop.

    oh

  31. Inspector Yuk August 6, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    Scamlicker is still reselling. I found the butterfly mobiles in several discount shops and her memo board here: http://www.valuebuy.net/dryeraseboard.html

  32. Thud August 6, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

    Re. screenprinters.
    We have a shop that produces a line of printed tees (Direct to garment, not screened). Each tee is designed by me~ generally a couple hours of work, or more. Printed in our small family print shop. Now I know not every screenprinted is putting in that effort, but go easy on us, some of us are very much ‘handmade’ as much as the dyed shirt, the printed greeting card,the graphic design banners or the strung together beads…
    Just had to say 🙂

  33. PussDaddy August 7, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    *farted but shanickerskidded instead*

  34. eyefortineye August 11, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    omg actually laughed out loud at PD #33!!!!!!!!

  35. miyabags August 12, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    HI there,
    How a lovely morning! And I find someone talk about me here. I don’t know if it is a good or bad new. It’s good because there is someone focus on my shop. It’s not good because you guys said I’m a reseller.
    • I think I can’t keep silence. I must tell you, I am not a reseller!!!You guys can’t judge a reseller by wholesale item. I can also sell my bags by wholesale. Have you found that my bags’ price is much lower than the wholesale’s. Do you think I can earn anything if I buy from wholesale? Actually, I don’t know who is that guy sells my bags in wholesale, because I never refuse anyone want to buy a lot from me. That is also the reason I don’t want to use the photo without Logo. I’m afraid someone would stole my photo. You guys are compelling me to use the original photo.
    I found this is a very nice place because you guys are safeguarding the Etsy rules.
    However, please don’t judge anyone at random. I am not a reseller!
    By Miya

  36. eyefortineye August 16, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    lol @ the nesting animals sold on amazon.com

Leave a Reply

