SkinandWood

4 Aug

http://www.etsy.com/shop/SkinandWood

The seller even lists the designers that she carried – naming a few that are current designers (i.e. Kooba, Donald J Pliner and Michael Kors). Nice items BUT they don’t belong on Etsy and esp. not in Vintage.

http://www.etsy.com/listing/52945777/frye-vintage-black-leather-platform-mary
http://www.etsy.com/listing/51822998/sz-85-vintage-bondage-wedge-black
http://www.etsy.com/listing/46142323/sz-75-michael-kors-vintage-brown
http://www.etsy.com/listing/43290340/sz-75-donald-j-pliner-vintage-snake
http://www.etsy.com/listing/43354207/sz-7-donald-j-pliner-vintage-snake
http://www.etsy.com/listing/52950248/sz-885-rare-transmuters-black-gothic
http://www.etsy.com/listing/44403688/fendi-vintage-monogram-cosmetic-designer
http://www.etsy.com/listing/43358706/sz-75-coach-vintage-designer-open-back
http://www.etsy.com/listing/46207830/designer-vintage-italian-maxima-textured
http://www.etsy.com/listing/43351853/sz-8-prada-vintage-platform-heels

85% of the goods in this shop you could probably still find at Nordstrom Rack.

30 Responses to “SkinandWood”

  1. Life During Wartime August 4, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    This shop made the FP a bunch of times when Etsy was still curating them. I’m not sure if I ever flagged them or not, but the name seems familiar. More faux vintage.

    And another ‘interior designer’ boutique just announced itself in the formums here:
    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6592450

    They have some vintage things. But they are also selling mass produced jewelry as handmade (calling one item ‘Victorian” which casts some doubt on everything in the their shop). And a bunch of pillows. Who knows if they make those?

  2. boots August 4, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    hmmm I’ve never heard of a city called Downtown Recycle, what state is it in?

  3. Inspector Yuk August 4, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Wow. I know nothing about vintage bags or shoes, especially the designer stuff. I can’t even imagine how one would manage to acquire such a collection, unless it was all stuff one purchased for themselves.

    I had an older friend, many years ago who was from a wealthy family. She owned Coach and D&B bags and wallets and bought her clothes from Banana Republic. She always teased me because I was raised on KMart. I didn’t come from wealth, but my family was well off, they just weren’t into designer labels. She actually gave me a couple of her ‘old’ bags which I probably hung on to for another 15 or 20 years simply because they were ‘designer’, but they weren’t my taste so I never used them. I think they eventually went out to the garbage or possibly to Goodwill.

    While I digressed a bit, it made me wonder why vintage designer articles are worth so much less than what they went for when new. Ok, damaged or worn I could see, but wouldn’t you pay top dollar for it anyway because it’s no longer being produced and should be rare?

    My ex-MIL collected Hummel figurines. Every holiday we bought her one. I recently checked the value of some of those I could remember we purchased her 20 years ago or more, and they are worth many more times than what we paid for them. Whoever inherits her collection is going to have a goldmine worth many times what it was worth back when it was new. Too bad I know it won’t be me 🙂

    So what determines when old is valuable and when it’s not?

    I mean, ok, so I can’t afford to purchase a current coach or D&B bag. But I want to own a designer bag so I look at this shop (assuming hers are genuine) and buy one for 1/5th be price tag of a current version. This tells me that it really isn’t as valuable, even brand new, as one is led to think. If it’s value doesn’t increase as it gets older, why would you ever buy it brand new?

    I know I’m missing something. I know they are quality bags, but I can purchase a high quality handmade leather bag and pay just as much as a designer bag, if not more in some cases. What am I missing?

  4. NotAgain August 4, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    The description even gives a dollar amount of value. IMHO, selling designer stuff like this is risky. Makes it look like someone is shoplifting or something. I never buy anything brand new, so have no idea if this stuff is “vintage” or not and would not want to bother finding out. “You pays your money and you takes your chances”

  5. Inspector Yuk August 4, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Lol! should I send them an email and tell them that this is not opal? http://www.etsy.com/listing/52546840/silver-ring-for-man-and-woman-opal-stone but dyed blue agate?

    It’s helpful to know what it is you are selling. And while those chandeliers are amazing, there is no way I would purchase them online and with so little information. Not to mention they’d be totally out of my price range and decor.

  6. Inspector Yuk August 4, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    NotAgain Says:
    August 4, 2010 at 10:52 am

    The description even gives a dollar amount of value. IMHO, selling designer stuff like this is risky. Makes it look like someone is shoplifting or something. I never buy anything brand new, so have no idea if this stuff is “vintage” or not and would not want to bother finding out. “You pays your money and you takes your chances”
    ______________________________________________________

    See, this is what I was thinking. I can see having a few designer pieces in a vintage shop, I’m sure there are people like me who 20 years ago didn’t really understand designer labels and probably gave stuff away to be found in thrift shops and garage sales. But a shop full of designer labels is just suspicious to me.

  7. Disgusted August 4, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    Downtown Recycle looks to be in the San Diego area per the map. I think that she could technically find these items at thrift stores but she would have to spend most of her life doing so. Most of this could also be counterfeit or REPLICA!!! stuff. And most of it is not vintage.

  8. NotAgain August 4, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    Inspector Yuk Says:
    August 4, 2010 at 11:01 am

    “Lol! should I send them an email and tell them that this is not opal? http://www.etsy.com/listing/52546840/silver-ring-for-man-and-woman-opal-stone but dyed blue agate?

    It’s helpful to know what it is you are selling. And while those chandeliers are amazing, there is no way I would purchase them online and with so little information. Not to mention they’d be totally out of my price range and decor.”

    DON’T DO IT!! LET THEM STEW.

  9. detroit August 4, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Inspector Yuk Says:
    August 4, 2010 at 10:45 am

    While I digressed a bit, it made me wonder why vintage designer articles are worth so much less than what they went for when new. Ok, damaged or worn I could see, but wouldn’t you pay top dollar for it anyway because it’s no longer being produced and should be rare?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    Yuk – I don’t know a lot about vintage accessories either. But I’m pretty sure the reason so many ‘vintage’ bags are so cheap is that they’re 1) no vintage, and 2) fake.

    There are SO many fakes – handbags in particular out there.

    And, a lot of the real brands still produce their ‘classic’ items – like Hermes Birkin and Kelly bags. So even if it’s genuine Hermes, it’s likely not the original.

    OTOH – Real collectors who actually date and verify the authenticity of these things are willing to pay 10’s of thousands for the real deal.

    Original Vuiton and Hermes luggage and bags go for 1,000’s of dollars. So, if a ‘vintage ‘ Kelly bag is priced cheap – it’s fake. Even if it’s priced high – it’s more likely fake than not.

    And, there are some good fakes out there. I’d never know how to tell the real deal. But, the experts know all about every detail of the construction, the stitching, hardware, serial numbers etc.

    The fake handbag issue is a real problem. I’d venture to guess there are exponentially more impostor Gucci bags sold each year than the real item.

    That’s why I’d never buy one of those expensive status bags. You pay thousands, and most people are going to assume it’s a fake anyway. I can understand why these companies get so PO’d. It really devalues their real items in the eyes of the public. Like how the classic Burberry plaid looks so tacky now.

  10. detroit August 4, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    Wow – that was long. LOL. I won’t blame any of you for a TL;DR! LOL!

  11. Life During Wartime August 4, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    I doubt there are many authentic designer bags on Etsy. I’m not into that kind of vintage, but it seems to me that a dealer in authentic old designer items wouldn’t list them on a cheap venue known to offer fakes. Like Etsy. Reputation is everything, especially when you sell online where shoppers cannot use their own expertise to examine the item in person.

    Most authentic items would be found in major metros, and I think most sales for these items take place in person rather than online.

  12. Inspector Yuk August 4, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    That’s why I’d never buy one of those expensive status bags. You pay thousands, and most people are going to assume it’s a fake anyway. I can understand why these companies get so PO’d. It really devalues their real items in the eyes of the public. Like how the classic Burberry plaid looks so tacky now.
    ___________________________________________________

    Detroit, that is exactly it. I might buy a designer ‘look-alike’ if it were a style I really loved, but I’d never buy a fake designer knock off. I would feel like such a poser. I bought an east-west barrel bag. It has a designer look to it, I don’t know designers, so I have no clue which one it was inspired by. But it has no fake labels or design elements to lead anyone to think it was a real designer bag or even a knock off of one.

    Of course, I used it twice, found it totally impractical and doesn’t suit anything in my wardrobe, not to mention my personal style, which is definitely NOT designer inspired. I have no idea what I was thinking buying a dusty mauve, pink, fuchsia bag with tiny handles and no shoulder strap. I own nothing in pink in any shade. Thank God it was only 19.99.

    I come by it honestly though, I come from a long line of people whose taste is all in their mouth.

  13. Brian August 4, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    Right now on Etsy’s FP is a “pashmina” scarf from seller ClassyWedding, which is not handmade of course. You can find these scarves on Amazon for $5.99 in all colors of the rainbow, just like her shop. And if you look at her shop, she’s got assorted factory-made earrings and brooches, etc. She has over 300 items and nothing there is handmade. (I think they were called out here before, too.)

  14. detroit August 4, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    Speaking of fakes – from Wikipedia on PASHMINA:

    “A pashmina shawl can range in cost from as little as about $50US for a pure pashmina scarf or up to thousands of $US for a super high-quality pure pashmina shawl. They are known for their softness and warmth. A craze for pashminas in the mid-1990s resulted in high demand for pashminas, so demand exceeded supply.

    When pashmina shawls rose into fashion prominence during the mid-’90s, they were marketed dubiously. Cashmere used for pashmina shawls was claimed to be of a superior quality, which was really due to the enhanced sheen and softness that the fabric (cashmere blended with silk) had. In the consuming markets, pashmina shawls were redefined as a shawl/wrap with cashmere and silk, notwithstanding the actual meaning of pashmina. Some shawls marketed as pashmina shawls contain wool,[1] while other unscrupulous companies marketed the man-made fabric viscose as “pashmina” with deceptive marketing statements such as “authentic viscose pashmina”

    FAKE FAKE FAKE!

    TACKY Etsy! Shame – preying on brides.

    Those ‘wedding’ shawls have nothing to do with authentic pashmina wool. And the seller most certainly did not make them.

    Add them to the heap of people trying to rip off brides! Barf!

  15. detroit August 4, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    So, basically, you cannot buy a genuine pashmina for $18 (like this seller is offering). And, they don’t even list the fabric content. Probably there’s not even any wool at all in them, much less real pashmina.

    Oh yeah, and to repeat – THEY DID NOT MAKE THEM ETSY! It’s not what the seller represents it to be. And it is not handmade by ‘classywedding’ (LOL – great name!) either.

    Again, how cheap and tacky can you get? On the FP??? How much lower can Etsy sink? : (

  16. NotAgain August 4, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    Fake pashmina shit is everywhere. Purchase at your own risk. ClassyWedding is a gagger of a shop I have seen before, and called out some time back I think….

  17. Life During Wartime August 4, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    If you put a word like ‘classy’ in your shop name, chances are you ain’t.

    When I see names like that, I am reminded of one of my childhood heroes, character actress Barbara Nichols. A great line of hers: I got kul-ass, real kul-ass!

  18. Inspector Yuk August 4, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    And this is on the FP right now: http://www.etsy.com/listing/48505931/virginia-sandals?ref=fp_feat_11

    Apparently designed by the shop owner, but not made by her. Judging by the number of shops she’s in, I’d say she has a pretty sizable factory producing her footwear.

    I wish, if they’re going to allow this stuff it wasn’t mixed in with designed and handmade by the artist stuff.

  19. PussDaddy August 4, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    boots Says:
    August 4, 2010 at 10:38 am
    hmmm I’ve never heard of a city called Downtown Recycle, what state is it in?

    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

    Here they call it the city dump I think.

  20. crazy cat lady August 4, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    I have…quite a few designer handbags. It’s my one indulgence. The rest of my clothes can be from thrifts and 10 years old, I don’t care…but I do have a good, expensive, quality handbag. A handbag is one thing that will “fit” no matter what the rest of your body feels like doing, lol.

    The way I see it, I can spend $20 10X a year for a cheap bag that falls apart, or spend the money for a good bag that will last for years. I have a few bags and sometimes “shop from my closet” when I get bored of the one I’m carrying. When I get real bored of one I sell it on Ebay.

    If you do want a real, vintage handbag, you can get a good one on Ebay (I used to sell many designer bags on Ebay; and yes I scowered the thrifts but mostly I shopped outlets and super sales like mad!) but you have to know what you’re looking for. I can spot a fake Coach from a million miles away, for example. If you don’t know what you’re looking for, or you’re unsure, go to the purse forum on the Ebay boards. The ladies there are wonderful and love to help people (they hate fakes like we hate resellers!) get an authentic handbag.

  21. whoreforcolor August 4, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    Here’s a shop full of copyright infringement; invitations using copyrighted characters:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/jenniferbier

  22. not a copier August 5, 2010 at 3:57 am #

    The only brand I”m familiar with enough to make a judgment call is Coach and I’m really skeptical of the $47 pricetag. She gives a serial number but not a good enough photo of the inside of the bag, and no tag?

  23. RocksInMySocks August 5, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6593136
    ————————-
    And here she is again! What can I do to get the sales rolling in for my mistagged, non-handmade illegal crap?

  24. sick of cupcakes August 5, 2010 at 5:12 am #

    She’s in Brooklyn? She’s as safe as a baby on etsy.

  25. NotAgain August 5, 2010 at 5:22 am #


    antiqueboutiquestore’s Shop Announcement

    We trying to get whatever come to your dreams. So stay in touch :)If you have any requirements – let us know, we will work hard to get your dream comes true. Prices in the real shop are negotiable, so in ETSY shop. So smile, we always can do something for you. If you wish to see our shop in real or pick-up item, we are located in Brooklyn NY. If you are from our area, you always are welcome to visit us.

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I want them to get whatever come to MY dreams, too!!

  26. NotAgain August 5, 2010 at 5:24 am #

    “antiqueboutiquestore says:
    I’m trying to find out if its worth it to join, is kind of pricey if you want to have descent portfolio of staff you are selling. Is anybody there and have some benefits already.? ”

    She’s got a DESCENT portfolio: right down the f-ing tubes! This is too funny, really.

  27. Life During Wartime August 5, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    I love that thread started by antiqueboutique. Haven’t read all the pages, but it’s so weird that an obvious rule-breaker gets stroked and praised out there by the Wild Etsy watering hole. I especially loved the brain trust who told her to move ALL her items to vintage.

  28. Life During Wartime August 5, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    antiqueboutique, from the linked thread “Thank you all of you guys. I will work to improve it. Yes part of my jewelry is mine, my design, pillows are mine as well but made of antique fabric so handmade? or vintage. How to change my listings if they are all apear as handmade?. Yes I will include back of jewelry pics too. Lighting I will do a measurement as well. Chandeliers- I’m used to customers visit in my store, so they can see touch see the lighting them. Pics on banner is my store wall is looking too high end??? I dont sell gold filled jewelry, only gold, silver and only antique, vintage, and this what I made. But most likely you guys are more experienced, so more pics. My store is really small in size so I’m trying put as much as I can, and do diversification of style and kind. Thank you so much, for your help, nothing is better like good talk with friends”

    She makes generic Asian factory handmade silver pendants and rings with processed/mislabeled stones? At the same time she is sewing pillows made from vintage textiles. Is she one of those godforms with 6 arms, maybe?

  29. detroit August 5, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Jeepers – I thought the criticisms of her(?) ‘banner’ in her thread were funny. Headache / nausea inducing indeed!

    How could someone put something like that up – and think it looks acceptable? Makes me question their judgment, and number of brain cells – and therefore their understanding of what Etsy is supposedly about.

    Any New Yorkers here? I always remember – when approaching the heart of Chinatown from the North you’d start to see a lot of chandelier stores and acetate bridal goods stores – basically bright shiny / sparkly things imported from China.

    Reminds me of this shop.

    Think one of such shop owners (or their cousin) has gotten wind of Etsy in this instance? Seems like it’s well known these days by Chinese factories / importers – and those circles. Word travels fast. Especially in the age of the internet.

    Well, now that Walmart, etc. isn’t doing so well, all of the Chinese imports have to spill over somewhere – right? They’re getting desperate, and doing direct marketing now. In venues like Etsy.

    ETSY – how does it feel to know you’re a venue for Walmart overstock?

    Awesome! Really supports the handmade, anti-industrial, hippy-dippy, buy local movement, huh?

  30. detroit August 5, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    Oh – just to beat a dead horse – I am in no way criticizing China / Chinese people. They are like any nation – filled with brilliant people and idiots.

    My criticism is with Etsy. And it’s willingness to allow the flood of cheap factory imports just to make a few cents.

    As I’ve said a million times – I actually think Etsy is doing a great disservice to the artisans of East Asia. Since, because of all of the junque that’s allowed from that region – many people see a store is located there – and move on.

    It’s a form of racism if you ask me. Etsy is exploiting China (Thailand, Malaysia, etc), ruining their reputation, just for a buck.

    Sickening!

Leave a Reply

