teaspoonvintageshop

8 Aug

The etsy shop is http://www.etsy.com/shop/teaspoonvintageshop

“Vintage” folding dessert tray:
http://www.etsy.com/listing/52967865/vintage-3-tier-folding-lace-dessert-tray
Same dessert tray from Tender Heart (a company that mass produces these pieces in China):
http://www.tenderheart.com/ibeCCtpItmDspRte.jsp?section=47073&item=5921

The “Vintage” buffet markers:
http://www.etsy.com/listing/51134163/vintage-ivory-lace-buffet-markers
Not available to the public on Tender Heart’s website, but they sell these wholesale so they are available from these re-selling sites and many others:
http://www.treschicboutiqueonline.com/boutique/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=5&products_id=412
http://cgi.cafr.ebay.ca/4-Wedding-Place-card-Holders-Victorian-Buffet-Markers-/310217895542?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item483a6d6e76
http://www.everythingchristmas.com.au/prod1466.htm

Then we have all of this obviously mass produced stuff listed under handmade…
http://www.etsy.com/listing/48577089/dotty-lace-mug
http://www.etsy.com/listing/48577327/dotty-romantic-rose-mug?ref=v1_other_1
http://www.etsy.com/listing/52589478/milk-bottle

I could go on & on…but you get the idea, all of that shop’s vintage & handmade is really mass produced and made in China, which doesn’t seem to bother Etsy in the least.

And not to sound cynical, but I highly doubt Singapore “antique” shops have shabby chic items. That is not quite the aesthetic over there- esp. from 50-100 years ago.

51 Responses to “teaspoonvintageshop”

  1. Inspector Yuk August 8, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    What? you mean we didn’t export all our shabby chic knick knackery to China 50 years ago?

  2. sick of cupcakes August 8, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    They DO have the perfect etsy look, so they are quite safe.

  3. Life During Wartime August 8, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    This reseller has been on the front page 3 times in the last 2 months.

    Yup, she’s safe. I expect to see her carp in Etsy Finds, coming soon!

  4. Inspector Yuk August 8, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    I wonder how those who purchased that folding tray would like a link to the place they could have bought it for $20 instead of $50?

    Soooooooooooooooooo tempting……………..

  5. Abby August 8, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    Do these buyers ever even ask how a seller can have multiples of the same “vintage” item.

  6. Eh August 8, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    Another bogus vintage shop. Surprise.

  7. Life During Wartime August 8, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    Someone who collects, uses, or knows, vintage would be well aware of the typical ‘market price’ for an authentically old item. One look at a gallery of teaspoon’s wares, and it’s obvious they are new, cheap, decor items from a factory.

    The shop in the OP is on Etsy to prey on the clueless. Her customers will not be grateful if you tell them they overpaid…because the prices in teaspoon help them validate their “good taste” in decor.

  8. Inspector Yuk August 8, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    And they’re in 83 treasuries.

  9. imwithya August 8, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    83 treasuries?? Good god. I’m going to go around my house right now and pick out a bunch of crap to photograph all faded, and shabby like, out of focus and out of frame. Who cares about handmade or vintage anymore. I’m switching over the faux vintage dark side so I can make some extra $$$. Of course I’ll have to start a new shop not connected to my handmade or supply shops… don’t want to scare away my regular customers.

  10. Disgusted August 8, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    Yes but its vintage STYLE!! Isnt that VINTAGE!!!???? It LOOKS old.
    Just shoot me now…….

  11. Life During Wartime August 8, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    It makes more sense to notify the curators of all those treasuries that they are promoting a reseller, rather than convo customers.

    I wonder how many of the curators are reselling (or breaking other rules in th TOU) as well? Etsy reseller shops often support each other.

  12. losinghope August 8, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    I have that exact tray. Bought it in Blue Ridge, GA at a little gift shop. It was NEW not vintage. Only $18. Someone please help us all. We need an etsy intervention. There has to be one person in admin who is worried about all these bogus vintage, reseller, copyright infringers, etc that are in the process of taking the whole site into crapdom.

  13. PussDaddy August 8, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    I could have sworn I have seen that milk bottle somwhere else.

  14. PussDaddy August 8, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    Abby Says:
    August 8, 2010 at 12:09 pm
    Do these buyers ever even ask how a seller can have multiples of the same “vintage” item.

    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

    Yes, people have asked it often about the seller with the wizard of oz name who also sells handbags.

  15. Disgusted August 8, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

    Abby Says:
    August 8, 2010 at 12:09 pm
    Do these buyers ever even ask how a seller can have multiples of the same “vintage” item.

    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

    Yes, people have asked it often about the seller with the wizard of oz name who also sells handbags.

    ____
    Interesting. I just looked at both of her shops and I am not seeing any duplication. Why would they suggest that?

  16. PussDaddy August 8, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    Someone said to look thru her sold items. I’m not saying it is true, just that I have seen people ask it over on Closed Threads in the comment section, maybe in the comment section of Etsy Bitch too.

  17. Life During Wartime August 8, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    PD, the milkbottles have been on the front page recently, twice! They may have been in one or more Storque features as well. You don’t have to be an expert on vintage (country collectibles or French vintage) to know those bottles are new! The seller listed them as handmade, fercryinoutloud! And the description and tags spell it out for those too stoopid to guess from the photo alone that it’s brand new.

    No one working for Etsy cares about vintage. Goodness knows I’ve flagged my share of items that don’t belong on Etsy at all that were listed as Vintage. The stuff stays exactly where the seller listed it until someone buys it or the listing expires.

    Even if this shop gets a few hundred flags this week, all that will happen is coaching. Once a seller has made the front page — as well as become a treasury favorite of the “shabby chicks” curators — they are safe.

  18. PussDaddy August 8, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    I rarely look at the front page tho as I don’t have an Etsy account. I could have sworn I saw them in another shop or something tho a long time ago. Maybe I am wrong tho and I could be. Could have been different bottles.

  19. PussDaddy August 8, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    Also, Disgusted the handbags are obviously handmade so checking there would be a waste of time. Like I said someone asked if anyone questions this stuff and I answered yes they do because I have read it on the places I mentioned in reference to her. I am not saying it is fact one way or the other, only that is has been questioned.

  20. detroit August 8, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    Life During Wartime Says:
    August 8, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    It makes more sense to notify the curators of all those treasuries that they are promoting a reseller, rather than convo customers.
    _____________________________________________________

    Do it.

    Hope they’ll feel a bit more responsibility than Etsy for being idiots….

  21. um no August 8, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    This sh!t makes me sick.

  22. eyefortineye August 8, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    That tin folding tidbit tray: I got mine for 5.99 at a craft show held at the local Elks in Monrovia in 2005! You’ve got to be kidding me!!

    Sorry, but I’m so sick of this off-shore crap – I have no problem saying Boycott China

  23. Amy August 9, 2010 at 5:18 am #

    this is a disgrace of a shop.

    But I do have to add one thing. Boycotting China won’t do you much good on this one. Singapore is not China!

  24. eyefortineye August 9, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    LOL, looon day yesterday – brain hurt! *blushing* didn’t notice Singapore. The pierced tin tidbit trays are made in China. I like the item for $5.99 and am outraged that people are paying $50! On the other hand, people, if you’re buying on the internet you have the access to the same information that all of us do, and you should research what you’re buying. No excuse to be unaware of pretty much anything these days.

    Ah, maybe I’m just envious that sellers like this have (I will NOT say uninformed) s-t-u-p-i-d buyers that are willing to pay several times the market price for something.

    That particular seller is somewhat smart by listing only one item of a kind at a time, so unless buyers are smart and check a seller’s sold items, they can continue to be stupid and buy, buy, buy.

  25. electricbluebird August 9, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    Another crap trap:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/chaya07?ref=seller_info

  26. sick of cupcakes August 9, 2010 at 8:08 am #

    Honestly I am losing patience with buyers here. If they aren’t smart enough to spot a fake then they deserve to lose their money. Obviously etsy won’t protect them against themselves.

  27. etsycallout August 9, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    Yes Singapore is not China but the items are probably all made in China so eyefortineye is still accurate with the statement “Boycott China”

  28. Life During Wartime August 9, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    Don’t be outraged that stoopid Etsy shoppers want to overpay for cheap factory goods. If you are shopping on the net, you have the tools to comparison shop. But no one can force you to shop intelligently.

  29. Inspector Yuk August 9, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    I think a certain amount of outrage is allowed. Though one can certainly look on the web and do a little research into what they are buying, it doesn’t excuse liars and cheats or the venue that protects and promotes them.

    It isn’t readily apparent anymore what the site is actually selling, so I would imagine a large percentage of buyers just come to the site, see what’s here with no expectations and buy what they like. If you look at the categories, you really have no clue that everything with the exception of the vintage and supply category is supposed to be handmade.

    The only ones carrying the handmade flag are sellers and buyers who were here the first couple of years and signed up under the original mission. Or the ones that ‘heard’ about Etsy being the place for handmade.

  30. Laura August 9, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    PussDaddy Says:
    August 8, 2010 at 6:26 pm
    Here is one

    https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=6412789769189368661&postID=5845814851447530672

    Here is another

    https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=6412789769189368661&postID=5180443124395558071

    WOW! That surprises me for some reason!

  31. JohnCock August 9, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    Yuk, I agree 100% with your second paragraph. It ISN’T apparent what etsy is selling and I think 98% of new buyers just assume its a hipster mall.

  32. Life During Wartime August 9, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    Hipster mall is a good one. Or maybe simply online mall, hipsterism optional.

    I, too, agree with the Inspector. There is no way a newcomer to Etsy would have any idea what the founders of Etsy SAID they intended the site to be. Etsy = Ebay – auctions.

  33. Disgusted August 9, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Also, Disgusted the handbags are obviously handmade so checking there would be a waste of time. Like I said someone asked if anyone questions this stuff and I answered yes they do because I have read it on the places I mentioned in reference to her. I am not saying it is fact one way or the other, only that is has been questioned.
    _________
    A check of the ephemera she sells seems to say specifically that they are not downloads or scanned copies OR there is some mention of the condition of the page as to age, condition, yellowing etc. As a vintage seller myself, its easy to find multiple copies of schoolbooks, encylopedias or other reference books that would allow the sales of multiple copies of things.
    Thanks for the links.

  34. PussDaddy August 9, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    Well you are simply a dumb ass sick of cupcakes, which is why you feel that way. But anyway I know that as a buyer I am tired of it, and I have already said that by next Sept, not this Sept, but next Sept I am going to seperate msyelf completely from the handmade movement. No more buying, tweeting, blogging, or even giving a shit about it. Not only am I sick of shit like what is discussed on this blog, but then you have dumb ass sellers like on this thread

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6581932&page=1

    Who want to bitch that people like Jimmy Buffet defend their copyrights, and then you have other dumbasses showing up in surpport of the OP. As if any one of these people would not trip all over themselves to make a “Someone is copying me” forum thread if some one copied their work. I know there are good sellers who don’t do stuff like is discussed on this blog and who don’t think it is ok to copyright infringe, but unfortunately when you support the handmade movement you enable the bad sellers and support them to do what they do as well. I liken it to how people are demonized for shopping at Walmart-shit tends to roll downhill wherever there is shit and a hill.

  35. PussDaddy August 9, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    And then I think maybe people, especially buyers who have experience with the handmade movement should make blogs sick of cupcakes, pointing all this stuff out that goes on, copyright infringement, the fighting between sellers, stalking the competition, and all the drama the handmace movement entails, just saturate the internet with it and tell it like it is, and then no one will have to worry about dumb ass buyers.

  36. PussDaddy August 9, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    Oh, I forgot to mention that next Sept. will be 4 years for me of supporting the handmade movement. I figure that is 3 years too long probably. I may not make it to next Sept. actually and that is why I said “by next Sept”. There are a couple of sick people I follow who I would like to see get better before I go, but at the very least I don’t just want to pull the plug and disapear literally overnight as if I never really cared about them to begin with. By Sept. of next year though I am sure I can find time to let those I know who I really care about that I am going.

  37. sick of cupcakes August 10, 2010 at 4:32 am #

    Why are you picking on ME Puss?

  38. sick of cupcakes August 10, 2010 at 4:35 am #

    Buyers DO have to protest themselves, that has been true way before the internet.

  39. sick of cupcakes August 10, 2010 at 4:35 am #

    *protect not protest

  40. Eh August 10, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    Goodbye, PussDaddy

  41. Blue Kitty August 10, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    sick of cupcakes Says:
    August 10, 2010 at 4:35 am
    Buyers DO have to protest themselves, that has been true way before the internet.

    ……………………………………………………

    So very true – caveat emptor

  42. snortsalot August 11, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    jeez, just realizing that 3-tiered “vintage” fold-up tray thang. Somebody paid $78.00 ($28 shipping!?!) for that. shaking head…

  43. PussDaddy August 11, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    Unbelievable let they let this person reopen

    http://www.etsy.com/people/poetsummer/feedback

  44. PussDaddy August 11, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    Oddly, the majority of people who are over here making thiis blog happen and complaining about this stuff is sellers, not buyers. There are a few buyers, but mostly it is sellers complaining about it and closing their shops over it and things like that. I am sure you as I wonder why that is.

  45. sad newcomer August 11, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    reading all of this makes me want my 20 cents back! sniff sniff

  46. sad newcomer August 11, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    No, really I want my 20 cents.

  47. eyefortineye August 15, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    shop empty.

  48. PussDaddy August 23, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Here, I asked SurrenderDorothy on twitter. She expects everyone to answer to her so she should have no problem answering herself. There may be a perfectly innocent explanation for why she has so many copies of the same vintage paper items for sale and answering can put these rumors to rest once and for all. Read from the bottom up

    @SurrendrDorothy ask questions. Whatever. Some questions get answered without ever a word being uttered IMHO.

    @SurrendrDorothy and popcorn and candy you toss about. Maybe no one wants all those with your lp prints on their ass turning on them if they

    @SurrendrDorothy for some strange reason hesisitate to ask you this. Maybe it is all the ass kissing you do on the forum, or all the liquor

    @SurrendrDorothy died and you inherited 3.5 or 7 copies of the same page out of 3,5, or 7 diffent copies of the same book? Many people for

    @SurrendrDorothy The simple question is: how do U find so many copies of the same item to sell over & over? Dogged hunting? Luck? Someone

    @SurrendrDorothy I mean U do expect people 2 answer to you, so when R you going to answer to these? An explanation would put rumors to rest.

    @SurrendrDorothy surely this comment isn’t true too? http://bit.ly/9QHLAQ

    @SurrendrDorothy as pointed in comments here https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=6412789769189368661&postID=5180443124395558071

    @SurrendrDorothy Since you are Etsy’s self appointed vintage moral compass, maybe U can answer how U sell the same vintage item over and

    .

  49. PussDaddy August 23, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Also read from the bottom up

    @SurrendrDorothy over myself to explain to the lay people how this shit is done and why my shit is all above board. But that’s just me.

    @SurrendrDorothy and I was so demanding that everyone do everything right when selling in my area of expertise then I would just trip all

    @SurrendrDorothy don’t blame you if you don’t want to give away any trade secrets or anythin gand create competition. However if it were me

    @SurrendrDorothy illustrations of the same thing? I’m being serious here, maybe I might want to go into the vintage paper business, But I

    @SurrendrDorothy and that means 20 books just for that amount right there, not counting the ones not counted. How does one find 8 books, or

    @SurrendrDorothy vintage expert, but this tells me that on those items alone you would need 5, 7, and 8 books or whatever to sell that many

    @SurrendrDorothy I mean at the time those comments wer made, just the items named has sold 5, 7, even 8 copies. Now I admit I am not a

    @SurrendrDorothy And sorry for the misspellings, it has been a long day.

  50. PussDaddy August 30, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Not a peep so far, not that I am surprised.

Leave a Reply

