clubgem

18 Aug

Is this seller for real? When they list a retail value and their cost, it makes me pause. This is their Etsy site and ring their “collective” made: http://www.etsy.com/listing/49398022/glistening-star-marcasite-pearl-ring?ref=v1_other_2

Here is their website and the same ring:
http://www.jegem.com/1/SingleProduct.aspx?SKU=AJR266243&r=google_us&BAL-google-1

11 Responses to “clubgem”

  1. detroit August 18, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    FIRST! Jut kidding -I’m a dork!

    Read their profile – it reads like profile coaching 101. I suspect they are oversea Chinese living in California with ready access to “legendary Tibetan jewelry” (which, when bought in China – costs pennies…)

  2. detroit August 18, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    And another thing! If you can’t make an avatar that doesn’t look like a cheap, pixelated hot mess (and you’re supposed to be ‘artisans’ in a collective that sells high-end jewelry all over the globe???), then you will not get my money!

  3. Brian August 18, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    JeGem.com has been around online since 2002. (Website registered to a Nova Scotia, Canada address, by the way.) So a quick google search revealed reviews on epinions, and this one was my favorite:

    “One thing I don’t like about the website is that it leads people to believe that the products are from USA. However, when it arrived at my house, it was stated from the package that it was sent from Bangkok, Thailand. This is not mentioned at all in the website. Since the products are from Thailand and I’ve been to Thailand, I feel that the prices labelled on the website are too expensive. Most asians would not have bought anything from websites if they had known that the products are from Thailand since Thailand goods are very VERY cheap. Maybe thats why the target customers for the website are westerners?”

    And their whole “5 friends” profile is hilariously phony.

  4. Sydney August 18, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    I don’t know where to post this, but anyways.. I was doing a search for “Volcom” on etsy, well, just to see what came up, because I have a ton of volcom items, because I’m a lil particular to the brand..

    Anyways, I found this:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/52627366/volcom-pink-tshirt

    Okay, so I got three of these SAME shirts at Ross a few months ago, a white one, a blue one, and a green one.. for $6.99 each! I’ve never seen these shirts anywhere else, not Zumiez or Pacsun, not even the Volcom outlet store.. So I’m wondering if its a Ross exclusive.. I didn’t know my PJs are now worth 10 bucks, plus shipping, on Etsy!

    Like I said, I don’t know where else to post this..

  5. Inspector Yuk August 18, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    i’M ALWAYS suspicious when supposedly artisan made rings are sold in a specific size with no verbiage telling you that if it isn’t your size it can be resized or custom made. It reminds me of a couple of ebay sellers I’ve bought rings from who likely import a variety of rings in a variety of sizes and what you see is what you get. Each week you keep checking back to see if the ring you want is finally available in your size. And usually it becomes available.

    I hate thinking that people like this are just faking the whole handmade thing, when you know others are actually sourcing stones and fabricating settings and open to resizing if necessary,

  6. JohnCock August 19, 2010 at 3:08 am #

    Same shit different day on etsy.

  7. ScrapMetal August 19, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    If they think they are fooling us, guess again. But then again, the sheeple that get fooled EVERY DAY on Etsy astounds me. And that includes the admins and others who put reseller or not-remotely-vintage crap on the FP or in the Storque. Geez Louise!

  8. detroit August 19, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Brian Says:
    August 18, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    And their whole “5 friends” profile is hilariously phony.
    _________________________________________________________

    I just picture a 37 year old Chinese guy rolling his eyes and puffing on his cigarette as he fills out the profile “I’m whimsical Emily, the dreamer of the group, and I’m inspired by ocean breezes, the light after a spring rain, and I love dancing in nature with the leprechauns and fairies!’

    They’re probably laughing hysterically (all the way to the bank), while the Etsy admin ‘sheeple’ (I like that), eat up all the flowery language about whimsy and autumn leaves, fail to actually look at the listing to see it’s obviously reseller garbage, and feature it on the front page.

    Barf!

  9. Disgusted August 19, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    I left Artfire awhile back because nothing was happening on it. I now am back and I have to say that site is better than Etsy as far as professionalism, ease of use, discussion of copyrights etc. There is a flag that pops up on your pictures stating they are copyrighted. Easier to promote your items to other place than Etsy.
    Etsy is letter resellers and people cleaning out their kids closets to ruin it. Plus all the infighting of all the blithering idiots in the forums.

  10. seller99 August 20, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    I’m new here. How do I post a link or call out a seller? Thanks!

  11. RocksInMySocks August 20, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    Sydney Says:
    August 18, 2010 at 4:09 pm
    I don’t know where to post this, but anyways.. I was doing a search for “Volcom” on etsy, well, just to see what came up, because I have a ton of volcom items, because I’m a lil particular to the brand..

    Anyways, I found this:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/52627366/volcom-pink-tshirt

    Okay, so I got three of these SAME shirts at Ross a few months ago, a white one, a blue one, and a green one.. for $6.99 each! I’ve never seen these shirts anywhere else, not Zumiez or Pacsun, not even the Volcom outlet store.. So I’m wondering if its a Ross exclusive.. I didn’t know my PJs are now worth 10 bucks, plus shipping, on Etsy!

    Like I said, I don’t know where else to post this..
    —————
    GoodLord! Half of this woman’s shop is used rejects from her teenage daughter’s closet! She doesn’t try to hide it and even mentions it in her shop announcement. She actually sells real vintage, too. Does anyone even skim the rules before they set up their shit shops?

Leave a Reply

