Chuanshuo

26 Aug

This seller, Chuanshuo, is reselling items from the Chinese website taobao.com.

Here is their Etsy Store:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/ChuanShuo

How do you know it’s not just a Chinese designer who sells on Taobao and on Etsy separately? Because they sell items from 3 distinct taobao stores, in far away cities.

Also, this seller puts their own name on the photos they copy, cropping out the name originally there. If they were the same store, there would be no need for that.

Take a look at the listings I’ve prepared below. The first listing is the one on Etsy, and the second listing is the one on taobao. I chose listings from three separate stores as I mentioned above.

Please help me tag if you’re not a fan of resellers!

Etsy listing #1:
http://www.etsy.com/listing/47290494/coffee-in-my-heart
Taobao listing 1:
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5015618711

Etsy listing #2:
http://www.etsy.com/listing/54732866/random-chalazae-pants
Taobao listing #2:
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=3052732905

Etsy listing #3:
http://www.etsy.com/listing/52743193/love-the-vernal-footsteps-pointed-collar
Taobao listing #3:
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=4990598362

Those were just a couple of examples…

69 Responses to “Chuanshuo”

  1. ScrapMetal August 26, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    Are they handmade or factory made? Look factory made to me.

  2. Bedazzled VONdom August 26, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    I LOATHE all that happy Chinese hipster crap clothing. LOATHE IT.

    (Ten bucks says some whiny, marginally intelligent, cupcake brood sow will now scream “that’s racist!” Ask me if I give a rat’s ass!)

    Oh, and on what planet are these supplies?

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/MrRogersSupplyShop#

  3. Life During Wartime August 26, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    The suitcases are supplies for their companion shop here:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/IMarriedMrRogers/sold

    The shop’s on vacay, so I liked to their sold items. Notice the handmade wonder of attaching a bow or a flower to the suitcases. And perfectly fine by Etsy standards.

    Aren’t you sorry you asked? (JK)

  4. Life During Wartime August 26, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    What is up with ChuanShuo’s shop announcement?

    “Hi,we just affirm our information on ETSY.and we sustain ETSY work.now we will add new design on my shop.thank you.hope you like it.”

    Are they saying they were vetted by Etsy, and accepted as a collective factory or factory collective or non-existent reseller?

  5. mosquitoebites August 26, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    There was an article about Tom Cruise on this website, it is pretty funny translated. Or maybe I am easily amused?

    “Tom Cruise “overstating” has increased 10-cm technique Tips”
    (About how short men can look taller)

    http://tianxia.taobao.com/?action-viewnews-itemid-1802

  6. NotAgain August 26, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    Yep, again. It’s easier to find knockoffs than it is to find the real thing. My bet is that this shop, along with all the others who sell mfgr’d “handmade”, will be around for a long time no matter how many times they are flagged.
    I’d like to think otherwise, but I am no fool.

  7. Amy August 26, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    love the fact that one of the feedbacks reads ‘Mistake in buying, as it wasn’t available. It was so beautiful though, and I still love it.’
    I’m guessing iIt wasn’t available coz it isn’t handmade!

  8. detroit August 26, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Shades of Ideas2lifestyle. Seems like they’ve gotten the Chinese reseller handbook.

    ______________________________________________________________________
    Bedazzled VONdom Says:
    August 26, 2010 at 9:06 am

    I LOATHE all that happy Chinese hipster crap clothing. LOATHE IT.
    ______________________________________________________________________

    LOL – they definitely have a ‘look’, that I can see being eminently hateable.

    I have to admit I like it. Since mountains of that stuff is bursting out of the zillion factories there – the young people are dressed amazingly wild and hipster-y (of course, the quality is rather variable).

    I had this older Chinese friend, and she told me that because of the Communist revolution, and the Cultural Revolution, when everyone – male and female alike was forced to wear drab blue of green Mao suits – lest they be sent to re-education camps for being bourgeois and ostentatious….people today, now that they have the freedom, LOVE to be able to dress like psychedelic peacocks – lol.

  9. detroit August 26, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    LOL – their profile is worth reading for a chuckle.

    “Our team is composed of five individuals.Hilda,Jayson,Kelly,Peter and Vinson.”

    Suuuuure it is.

    And I’m sure they designed their banner too – featuring traditional Chinese windmills and tulips. lol. errrr????

  10. detroit August 26, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    These pants:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/54732866/random-chalazae-pants

    Are $52 in their listing, but $15 wholesale in Taobao. That’s quite the markup!!!

    I don’t know anything about typical retail markup – but, IT SHOULDN”T MATTER – b/c you can retail factory wholesale items on Etsy!!

    Well, you CAN, obviously, but, according to their own TOU that they ignore, you SHOULDN’T!

  11. detroit August 26, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    detroit Says:
    August 26, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    I don’t know anything about typical retail markup – but, IT SHOULDN”T MATTER – b/c you **can’T** retail factory wholesale items on Etsy!!
    *******************************************************************

    LOL – I meant CAN’T resell. Oopsie- Freudian slip, since we all know the truth of the matter.

  12. Life During Wartime August 26, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Americans are still wearing their re-education camp uniforms, sadly. Everywhere you go, it’s a sea of denim clad legs.

  13. it stinks August 26, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    The little poems that they’ve included in their listing make no sense. What does this mean:
    the great walks with the
    small without fear.
    the middling keeps aloof.

    I know I’m old and I don’t keep up with in the minute fashion but most of this stuff is just aweful.
    Those chalazae pants – what is that? Those aren’t flattering on the scrawny model and they aren’t going to be flattering on anyone else either.
    They’re god aweful ugly.

  14. NotAgain August 26, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    Stealing photos of the stuff you drop ship, so KLASSY

  15. uh-huh August 26, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

    Somewhere in the world, I bet Nutmegclick is wearing those pants.

  16. JK August 26, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    I don’t know that denim is all that bad, LDW — there’s something amusing to me about how a garment that was created for working men doing difficult labour can now be found graced with the highest of designer labels and costing as much a pair as the people who wore it in the beginning might have earned in a year.

  17. Bedazzled VONdom August 26, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    “The shop’s on vacay, so I liked to their sold items. Notice the handmade wonder of attaching a bow or a flower to the suitcases. And perfectly fine by Etsy standards.

    Aren’t you sorry you asked? (JK)”

    The suitcases were not being marketed as packaging. That would have actually made some sense.

    They were actually tagged as “storage.”

    I’m off to list my big blue RUBBERMAID TUBS on Etsy!

  18. Disgusted August 26, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    Yes I noticed the “Hilda,Jayson,Kelly,Peter and vinson.we are kinsfolk and friend!” But the part I really liked is “we live in Xanadu”. Guess they must have read “Kubla Khan; or, A Vision in a Dream: A Fragment” by Samuel Taylor Coleridge.

  19. Inspector Yuk August 26, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    Hilda,Jayson,Kelly,Peter and vinson.we are kinsfolk and friend!

    Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah
    hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
    hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

  20. tippy August 26, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    Where did Chuan get the other pictures of those chalazae pants? There must be another wholesaler with the same pictures out there somewhere. Disturbing.

  21. tippy August 26, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    wait, I got it. Nevermind, the page took forever to load the pics at the bottom.

  22. Life During Wartime August 27, 2010 at 2:29 am #

    Bedazzled, if I find some rubbermaid tubs listed on Etsy, I’ll remember to heart them! Just put a couple of stickers on each tub and tag them ‘steampunk’.

    Seriously, what is this hipster thing about using scruffy old suitcases as storage? That’s why the resellers are tagging new cases that way.

  23. detroit August 27, 2010 at 2:40 am #

    it stinks Says:
    August 26, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    The little poems that they’ve included in their listing make no sense. What does this mean:
    the great walks with the
    small without fear.
    the middling keeps aloof.
    ________________________________

    Duh. You don’t know? It’s from the classic Hindu text “Stray Birds” by Tagore that every American schoolkid has read!

    jk – I googled it, and that’s what I got. Where the resellers got it – I have no idea.

    Off to read more reseller poetry!

  24. Life During Wartime August 27, 2010 at 2:41 am #

    I actually like the chalazae pants, but I am weird. They remind me of the odd pant shapes during the late 70s. If I saw them in a store, I would try them on!

  25. detroit August 27, 2010 at 2:45 am #

    Yep – I googled a few more poems. They seem to all be from the online English translation of the same affirmational Hindu text.

    Weird. Must be in the dog eared copy of the Chinese reseller handbook. lol

  26. Laura August 27, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    I don’t even bother to flag anymore b/c no way will Etsy take this crap down. You know, just take down the handmade tag line already. It’s a joke and will probably end up in a lawsuit for them. They have destroyed their rep, and I’ve gone back to the malls! At least i’m buying items that I know are mass produced, instead of from resellers that lie.

  27. JK August 27, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    http://techcrunch.com/2010/08/26/etsy-300-million-valuation/

    ‘Etsy started turning a profit at the end of last year, just when Kalin took over as CEO again. Kalin projects revenues this year to be between $30 million and $50 million and expects the company to continue to be profitable. The company has 125 employees. He expects the total gross value of goods traded on the site to double this year to $400 million, and hopes to hit $1 billion next year.’

    And thanks to his welcoming of factory-fresh reseller goods, no doubt sale will hit his mark! Also, I love that someone on the Etsy board has the surname of Fake.

  28. sick of cupcakes August 27, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    Burn in hell Kalin.

  29. Disgusted August 27, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Hmmm. If a site advertised itself as “handmade’ and sold factory goods in CA, they would be in hot water with the AG. Anyone know what the NY AG might think about this?

  30. NotAgain August 27, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Haha– Fake, I saw that too and chuckled.

  31. Cat Power August 27, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    That’s almost as good as the corporate offices being in the DUMBO area of Brooklyn!….Right JK?

  32. Cat Power August 27, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    Referring to the surname of Fake …in above post

  33. JohnCock August 27, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    DUMBO = down under manhattan overpass – actually area in NYC like tribeca.

  34. Kimberly August 27, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    I appreciate the purpose that this blog serves. However, I would like to point out that the suitcases used in my shop are packaging for the things INSIDE the suitcase which are completely handmade by myself. They are meant to be gifts to take to a baby shower or for other special occasions for babies and toddlers. They include things that take me hours to make like HANDMADE bonnets, bloomers and onesies.

    Of course a bow and ribbon ar attached to the outside because who gives a gift at these kind of events without such items. To say that I simply slapped those on just to make a few bucks selling a suitcase is disheartening.

    I could see a legit arguement to the selling of suitcases a la carte, however, they are a spill over of supplies from my shop where my husband was planning to also sell ribbons, clips and other things that I use as supplies, but hey, we have three kids and sometimes it takes us a while to get around to things and they hadn’t been listed in the store yet. I’ve seen other people fill the suitcases with handmade felt food to give as gifts so I don’t see them being sold as supplies as that ridiculous. Also, I do store shop stuff in them in my work space and it is not such a far stretch to think that other shop owners would do as well.

    Sorry, I’m really not trying to stir things up and like I said I really appreciate you guys calling sellers out on mass produced Asian products and the like. Please understand that I’ve spent the last year of my life creating handmade goods for my etsy shop, buying handmade goods from etsy and promoting etsy and exploiting etsy is something that I have no intention of doing.

  35. Kimberly August 27, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    Oh, I also just have to add the suitcases are not from Asia but made in Europe and almost everything else used in my shop is made in America like the American Apparel onesies that I garnish, felt, and paper luggage tags.

  36. Bedazzled VONdom August 27, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    “Also, I do store shop stuff in them in my work space and it is not such a far stretch to think that other shop owners would do as well.”

    I agree, which is why I believe my big, blue RUBBERMAID tubs will sell very well on Etsy.

    In a pinch they can also be used as packaging for homemade felt food!

  37. Bedazzled VONdom August 27, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    P.S. Europe? I don’t think so.

    Unless China has been moved and nobody told me?

    http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/328089077/mini_suitcases.html

    Liar, liar, cheap “mass produced Asian products and the like” on fire!

  38. Kimberly August 27, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    Why would you continue to ridicule when you haven’t even taken the time to gather the proper information? Someone else made a comment on the suitcases being “scruffy old suitcases” but the largest one is only 12 inches long and a couple inches deep. To insist on the “big, blue RUBBERMAID” (although if it was not aimed at my shop I would find more amusing) just shows that you are not critically looking at what is being used in the listing.

    The blogger does a good job of providing specific examples and supports their claim well on this original posting but it would be more credible if the comment claims were equally backed up. Capitalism is a flawed economic system and it counts on whistleblowing and I’m glad that there are blogs like this that do that, assuming the reports are credible, which this original posting most definitely appears to be.

  39. Bedazzled VONdom August 27, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    “Why would you continue to ridicule when you haven’t even taken the time to gather the proper information?”

    Oh I took the time. I gathered. I googled. I know the suitcases are made in China. I know you said they were made in Europe. I know you lied. That makes you a liar. Liars can’t be trusted.

    My comment with the link to the factory that makes your crappy suitcases hasn’t been moderated yet but it will shop up eventually.

    In the meantime you may goggle “Hangzhou Xiaoshan Tengrui Craft Products Factory.”

  40. Bedazzled VONdom August 27, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

    shop up = show up

  41. Bedazzled VONdom August 27, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    (Ten bucks says her excuse for confusing China with Europe has something to do with being a busy, busy, busy mommy!)

  42. Kimberly August 28, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    Wow, those are serious accusations! This is where I get them from Resource International. http://www.r-i-inc.com/resource_corporate/product_cat.php?subid=152145&start=0&end=15

    Fruit Slices – 4376500
    Pinkberry – 8943900
    Sky Blue – 8943500
    Purple – 8944100

    That probably isn’t enough proof for you. Your link hasn’t popped up yet so I can’t check it out but you will notice that mine are the exact same colors as what I put in my shop…although I don’t think I ever sold any purples in the shop.

    The company is called Resource International Inc. in Tenafly, NJ and the suitcase are made in the Czech Republic. I took a picture of the barcode tag with company name and country of origin and sent it to the moderator of the blog already, although then you might just accuse me of photoshopping the photo.

    I suppose I will stop my comment now because whatever proof I give or evidence I provide will probably still be misconstrued as part of my evil and lying ways as well! And yes, I am a busy, busy mommy who enjoys sewing and would love to bring in some income from my etsy shop but I’m going to bed now so that I can get up in the morning and spend my Saturday at professional development seminar. I also happen to be an evil history teacher who spends time not getting paid but still going to history institutes so that I can be better at what the government pays me to do eventhough I get the same amount of pay no matter what kind of job I do. Just to give you more piece of ammunition I’m not going to proofread this and let my run-on sentences stay because I’m just straight up tired!

  43. Sydney August 28, 2010 at 12:21 am #

    http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/230768873/mini_paper_suitcase.html

    Found these on Alibaba.. Following what Bedazzled said to google. o.0

  44. Sydney August 28, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    Not to be a Debbie Downer, but I’m not too sure how many people consider suitcases as supplies.. beads, ribbows, bows – things to make other things are supplies, but personally, I’m not too sure about suitcases.

  45. bellacruz August 28, 2010 at 4:12 am #

    At least she presented her point of view and defense respectfully. Perhaps she is mistaken in how she views the suitcases, but for the sake of educating and good dialogue, we should remain respectful. That goes a long way in getting our point across about reselling, mis-tagging and counterfeit and well as the other multitude of problems w/etsy.

    JMHO, though.

  46. Disgusted August 28, 2010 at 6:32 am #

    Oh, I also just have to add the suitcases are not from Asia but made in Europe and almost everything else used in my shop is made in America like the American Apparel onesies that I garnish, felt, and paper luggage tags.
    ____
    American Apparel is just barely made in the US and really shouldn’t count as such. They just made that sweatshop fire most of its workers here in LA because they were illegal aliens and had no right to work in the US. IF you don’t follow the news their attorney is now bitching and whining about how “unfair” that all was. I am sure there are quite a few real American citizens who would love to have those jobs no matter what they pay.

  47. Bedazzled VONdom August 28, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Ah, so it’s the Czech Republic that has moved to China, not the whole of Europe.

    Gotcha!

    “At least she presented her point of view and defense respectfully.”

    She flat out lied. Perhaps that’s considered respectful in your little world. Not mine.

  48. Bedazzled VONdom August 28, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    “And yes, I am a busy, busy mommy who enjoys sewing and would love to bring in some income from my etsy shop but I’m going to bed now so that I can get up in the morning and spend my Saturday at professional development seminar. I also happen to be an evil history teacher who spends time not getting paid but still going to history institutes so that I can be better at what the government pays me to do eventhough I get the same amount of pay no matter what kind of job I do. Just to give you more piece of ammunition I’m not going to proofread this and let my run-on sentences stay because I’m just straight up tired!”

    On the Etsy sob story scale I give this one a 4.

  49. Em August 28, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    For the record, the suitcases shouldn’t count as a supply. I’m constantly saying this here and in the forums, but some people just haven’t comprehended what they read in the TOUs (if they read them at all in the first place). The suitcases are readily usable by themselves, so NOT A SUPPLY. Just because you personally use them as a supply, does not make them suitable to be sold individually on Etsy. End of rant.

  50. Sydney August 28, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    So, are you reselling the suitcases? o.O

  51. eyefortineye August 28, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    In one listing, the suitcase is the main picture and of course, that implies that it is what’s being sold.

    I wouldn’t mind buying some of thosechipboard suitcases blank so I could do my own decoration paint and decoupage…but I don’t need 5,000

  52. Abby August 28, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    Its quite obvious that Resource International gets their items from China and then claims they are made somewhere else. And why would anyone share where they get their items anyway?

    Point of the matter is that they are not handmade, they are not vintage, they are definitely not a “supply” or “storage” and do not belong on Etsy. Like it or not, those are the facts.

  53. eyefortineye August 28, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    OH, not sure whether to laugh or cry that Etsy is advertising Fair Trade Conference considering the number of resellers we have there 😦 Are there different meanings or grades of Fair Trade that I haven’t heard of? Something along the lines of “all resellers are equal, but some are granted Fair Trade protection”?

    http://community.etsy.com/selling/events-for-sellers/fair-trade-futures-conference-boston-september-10-12

  54. eyefortineye August 28, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    Agrees with Abby!

  55. Life During Wartime August 28, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    It doesn’t matter if a reseller item is made in Europe or Asia. A suitcase cannot be ‘supplies’.

  56. Bedazzled VONdom August 28, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    “Its quite obvious that Resource International gets their items from China and then claims they are made somewhere else.”

    Why is this obvious? Perhaps I need a second pair of eyes but I’ve been all over that website and I see no mention of the Czech Republic anywhere. Of course they are not obliged to offer specific details but it seems to me that if one wishes to rise above the ocean of cheap, MIC crap, one would be shouting “Made in the Czech Republic! Not China!” from the rooftops.

    Funny that the seller in question doesn’t mention it in her listings either. Not the sold listings nor the numerous listings that disappeared almost immediately after I called her out.

    “I took a picture of the barcode tag with company name and country of origin and sent it to the moderator of the blog already, although then you might just accuse me of photoshopping the photo.”

    No, photoshop would be too obvious. I’d do it with online clip art and my printer. Give me 20 minutes and I’ll make you 500 “Made in Anywhere by Anyone” with a bar code tags. Just don’t expect the bar code to actually be related to the product.

  57. detroit August 28, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    Do gotta give the subject lady her propers for not coming here and screaming “YOU ALL ARE BLACKHEARTED JEALOUS BITCHES WITH NO LIFE!!”

    That being said – suitcases as supplies (that’s the issue – right? to lazy to click on links.)……Well, sigh, I have target shirts I use as old rags for paintbrushes. And cut up swatches for other sewing / quilting projects.

    So, 3 y.o. target t-shirts are supplies?

  58. Blue Kitty August 28, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    Its perfectly possible that the company that sells the suitcases has factories in the Czech Republic and in China. They are both low cost places to base manufacturing.

    The issue is purely that they are not actually “craft supplies” even if, like almost anything else you can think of, they can be used for craft work.

  59. Bedazzled VONdom August 28, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    “Its perfectly possible that the company that sells the suitcases has factories in the Czech Republic and in China. They are both low cost places to base manufacturing.”

    No, it’s not possible. The company in question has one factory in Xiaoshan, Hangzhou, Zhejiang.

    And to some people, myself included, country of origin IS a concern and it must be important to the seller or she wouldn’t have brought it up FIRST.

  60. Kimberly August 28, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    In good conscience I can say that those specific suitcases were purchased because they are made from recycled materials and that they were made in Europe and not China because that was important to me. They could be from China but the barcode label that is packaged with them says “Made in Czech Republic”. If you had a wholesale account with Resource International you could also find this information with the product as well as the price but you cannot see either of these things without that access. In good faith I believe that they are made where the company says they are made.

    Etsy has just changed the “supplies” category to “craft supplies” and I am fully in agreement that the suitcases would not fall under the category of “craft supplies” and therefore should not be sold on Etsy.

    Originally, our POV was that shops could use the suitcases as “supplies” to package their own gifts aimed at kids. My idea of HANDMADE clothing packaged in suitcases as gifts makes sense. I had a whole other plethora of ideas based on how my kids have used the suitcases in their playtime, i.e. packaging HANDMADE games like a felt set of tic-tac-toe or making an apron and oven mitt with a felt pizza or cookies. I’m sure other people could come up with even better ways to use them and sell to another audience other than children. If you do a search there are several other shops that also use them for various kits. That was our rationale for other shop owners to use or even non-shop owners who simply make gifts for family and friends, hence “supplies.” As I mentioned before the largest suitcase is only 12 inches so I use them in my sewing room as “storage” to help me keep where I run my shop looking somewhat decent since it is a well used room in our house.

    This was the dialogue that my husband and I had over deciding on tags and descriptions for our shops. We are not villainous people who are trying to deceive anyone or misuse etsy, nor do we spend our free time plotting how we can mistag items, and we trust that if someone claims an item is eco-friendly then we assume it really is.

    I’m not spending anymore time on this issue. The only reason I did even initially comment was because it was insulting to be grouped into other stores that have been mentioned on this blog where sellers really are intentionally misusing Etsy.

    I appreciate people’s comments that validate that there are two sides to this argument and both sides have legitimate points.

  61. bellacruz August 28, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    Kimberly, I for one have appreciated your respectful tone in your posts. You have not made retaliatory personal comments, thank you. That said, in this case, why not email etsy and see what they say themselves about your suitcases.

    All the best.

  62. uh-huh August 28, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    Kimberly Says: ‘Etsy has just changed the “supplies” category to “craft supplies” ‘

    —– huh? where is this info?

  63. jayme August 28, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    Have to say that Kimberly has been incredibly polite and fair in her dialog- Props to her for that.
    I think the problem here is that Etsy needs to take a close look at what they allow to be sold as “supplies” – in some ways I wish etsy would divide itself up into three different etsy sites. Etsy Vintage – Etsy Supplies and ETSY All thing Handmade.
    God that would make so much more sense. Right now there is no CLEAR distinction of categories when shopping on the site and it drives me nuts.

  64. detroit August 28, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    bellacruz Says:
    August 28, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Kimberly, I for one have appreciated your respectful tone in your posts. You have not made retaliatory personal comments, thank you. That said, in this case, why not email etsy and see what they say themselves about your suitcases.

    All the best.
    __________________________________

    Wait. Are you suggesting this be resolved reasonably? That, that makes too much sense! lol. This is Etsy, for god’s sake! Disorganized fuckery rules the day!

    Good luck Kimberly. I’m sure you’ll figure this out!

  65. Inspector Yuk August 28, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    Actually, the rule regarding craft supplies is nearly a year old. The distinction was made and the wording changed when the dos and don’ts were redone last year to clarify some rules. Finished items that can be used ‘as is’ are no longer allowed as craft supplies *unless they are handmade. This is why all the brouhaha about finished chains as a supply was raised. While finished chains, blank clothing and other items ‘can’ be used in crafting, they don’t have to be, they can be used as is. A bead or skein of yarn or a tube of paint or fabric yardage can’t be used without doing something to it.

    While I appreciate Etsy making the distinction, this rule along with all the others is poorly enforced even when they are made aware.

    And, as a side note, listing them in the handmade category even as part of a handmade ‘set’ is not allowed. It can be included, but it is not supposed to be in the first picture, and cannot be listed in the title or tags.

    I think the suitcases are cute, and would be useful to package the handmade items in, but because it is in a handmade category, it must be considered an extra and not the focus of the listing because it’s not handmade. If you made some significant change to them, say you personalized them with name and birthdate, then it would fit in the handmade category and could be put in the titles and tags.

  66. Bedazzled VONdom August 29, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    “They could be from China but the barcode label that is packaged with them says “Made in Czech Republic”. If you had a wholesale account with Resource International you could also find this information with the product as well as the price but you cannot see either of these things without that access.”

    Ah, but see, you don’t need a wholesale account to ask questions via email.

    They even answer emails on the weekends.

    ;-}

    You’re a prime example of why it pay to be polite and calm while lying through your teeth. It works! Look how many people bought your bullshit simply because you didn’t PULL A VONLADY, SO TO SPEAK.

    Insulted? Pshaw, you’re right where you belong.

  67. tineyeferart August 29, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    oops, wizpilot post supposed to be in this thread.
    http://www.etsy.com/people/MrRogersSupplyShop/feedback

  68. PussDaddy August 30, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    I like the suitcases. If they were on Ebay or something I might buy one. Not sure they should be on Etsy.

  69. TooDumb August 31, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    Unenforced rules, or rules enforced arbitrarily, are worse than no rules at all.
    But then again, when you are in your twenties anarchy is romantic.

Leave a Reply

