Cqqc

10 Sep

We have had a post about a China shop selling sockmonkeys before: https://etsycallout.wordpress.com/?s=Supersockmonkeys which is still alive and well.

Here is another shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/cqqc

Their items are very similar to those sold by Supersockmonkeys. Not the same but very similar, esp. in the photo style.
What really pisses me off (other than reselling) is the listings with buttons saying “Excellent For Great Gifts for Newborn”. Really?!?!? Not to mention who knows the environment/chemicals it has come from to be sold for $2.50
Shameful.
http://www.etsy.com/listing/44109341/new-handmade-rabbit-soft-stuffed-toys

36 Responses to “Cqqc”

  1. Negligent September 10, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Derivative, cheap and every other negative adjective I can think of. Puke factor.

  2. Ick September 10, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Dollar Tree with blood on it.

  3. Disgusted September 10, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    yeah! newborns like to chew on buttons and tiny beads!@!!!

  4. SockCritterBreeder September 10, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    About the first shop. Not only do they have their own site where they sell wholesale as mentioned in the earlier post. They are on AF too under the name sockdoll.

    Here is a link to their COMPANY profile on Tradekey…
    http://www.tradekey.com/profile_view/uid/2683192/Hangzhou-Sock-Talk-Art-Craft-Co-Ltd.htm

    Given that they only have 10-15 employees, maybe Etsy considers them a collective.

    Both shops truly get under my skin though. I know that sock dolls/animals are not a huge part of the Etsy categories but, that is what category my items fall under. It really irks me when I see one of my items in a treasury or in someones shop favorites right next to one of theirs. Ick!

  5. ugh September 10, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    off the topic, but i found this while browsing today.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/19687772/vintage-inspired-blue-willow-custom

    custom keds made just for you by her for a small price of $114.00. or you can design your own here for what looks like $60.00

    http://www.kedscollective.com/design-your-own/women?kwid=G_Keds_Studio

    too bad too. i kinda like a few pieces in her shop.

  6. ugh September 10, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    my comment is awaiting moderation so it will only make sense after it gets posted, but looking on the website, it seems that you can upload your own image to create a design.

    etsy legal? is this a “charm on a chain” type deal?

    sorry it doesn’t make sense yet.

  7. PussDaddy September 10, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

    I bought a really cute little sock monkey on Etsy and I did not find out until way later, after I had left feedback for it that the seller hadn’t actually made the monkey, she had only made the dress. The monkey was still cute, but I admit I felt a little disappointed, and yes cheated too, lol.

  8. PussDaddy September 10, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    It just never dawned on me that the dress on the monkey was the only thing that was handmade, lol. I never thought to ask if the monkey itself was handmade.

  9. it stinks September 10, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Reseller?? http://www.etsy.com/shop/LadyTA?ref=seller_info
    Items look really cheap to me.

  10. Cat Power September 10, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Find the nearest Taiwan wholesale site and I’ll bet they are all listed there,
    it stinks….not too hard to guess, since the prices are really loooow!

  11. Sara September 11, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/ChuanShuo?ref=seller_info
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/ramies?ref=seller_info
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/thesimpson?ref=seller_info
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/NewExtrave?ref=seller_info

    The above could easily NOT be resellers/fake “collectives” – but there are so many shops like that on Etsy, I just avoid them all.

    The one below I think is not real, or at least not describing things accurately.
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/etaletc?ref=seller_info
    She says she patterns each item to a remnant of cloth – but everything is so different (which doesn’t make sense) and this sold item:
    http://www.etsy.com/transaction/29376490
    is a knit! how do you find a vintage knit with perfect ribbing, etc etc.

  12. eyefortineye September 11, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    I do like a lot of those china dresses, always have. But,

    the poetry annoys
    greatly me
    wtf i ask
    bounce shop
    out

    OTOH those last two (three if you count the vntg she LEARNED from) try too hard to be clever with their pictures. Funny how so many people fall for gimmicky crap that has nothing to do with what one is selling. Ooh, let’s be trendy!!

  13. Life During Wartime September 11, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    How do you find a vintage knit with an Etsy shop’s label sewn into it?

    I see her shop name on a label sewn into that yellow sweater. Strange kind of vintage where the seller replaces the manufacturer’s label with one of their own.

  14. Disgusted September 12, 2010 at 5:30 am #

    There is more than one yellow sweater. One sold and one reserved. Certainly not made from “scraps”. I nominate that shop for the worst-photos-ever. I will also suggest we use eyefortineye’s poetry – cut and past it into all reports to etsy for reseller shops.

  15. Disgusted September 12, 2010 at 5:39 am #

    WTF is this on the shop page?

    NewExtrave Fashion Studio – Be a Fashion Victim!

  16. JK September 12, 2010 at 5:43 am #

    That one deserves worst photography and worst titles — I do hate the paragraph-of-unrelated-buzzwords titles, but there is such a thing as too little information, too!

  17. girl in the corner September 12, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    I don’t get that Keds blue willow shoes listing….is she simply taking orders and then contacting Keds to make the shoes?? I must be missing something.

  18. BonyAss September 12, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    LOVE “become a fashion victim.” Yay! An opportunity to be a victim! Should become quite popular, with all the rest of the anst-ridden trends.

  19. ugh September 12, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    it looks like she is uploading a picture to the keds website, then the shoes are made by keds. i’m sure she has them mailed to her home, then sends them out to her customer.

    i can’t imagine why anyone would go through a 3rd party, plus an pay an upcharge for those shoes, rather than placing your order directly through keds themselves.

    again, i can’t imagine this listing is etsy legal.

  20. Life During Wartime September 12, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    cqqc is in 32 Treasuries.

    etaletc is in 66 Treasuries.

    chuanshuo is in 43 Treasuries.

    ramies is in 19 Treasuries.

    thesimpson is in 162 Treasuries.

    newextrave is in 204 Treasuries.

    There are hundreds of legit shops that have decent pics but aren’t chosen as often.

    For anyone who has an Etsy shop: how do you feel about being chosen for a Treasury with one or more resellers in the collection? How about being chosen for a Treasury curated by a reseller (some do make Treasuries)? Is it a case of any publicity is good, you don’t care, or?

  21. amused September 12, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    It would bother me very much; I even felt icky when I was in a treasury where the curator featured her own items 4 times as well. When I discovered that, I withdrew my nice comment and counted the hours until the treasury expired (back in the good old days).

    There are so many resellers now that it truly is overwhelming,esp. in my category, jewelry. I just found this one in one second on the front page scroll. http://www.etsy.com/shop/thecooljewerlystore?ref=seller_info

  22. BonyAss September 12, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    Just another pashmina reseller; this stuff makes me sick.
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/56072655/pashmina-and-silk-dark-plum-ethnic-shawl

  23. Jools September 12, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    That cooljewelry store reminds me how glad I am not to be a jeweler / artisan, because you cannot compete with this shit.

  24. Sara September 12, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    LDW, etaletc claims to have made (sewn) the knit sweater herself from a vintage remnant.

    Now, I am just not sure what the hell that can possibly mean. the sweater is machine-made, obviously – but then how can she have sewn it from whole vintage cloth? It’s a sweater!

  25. Blue Kitty September 12, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    I have to vent somewhere.

    Three blatent listings selling raffle tickets to win a prize that I have flagged twice over several weeks are still there.

    Should we take it from that we are allowed to run lotteries (games of chance) on Etsy?

    A search for raffle or lottery finds such listings quite easiy.

    Roll up roll up – take a gamble on Etsy.

    I suppose you do anyway with so many resellers and tat passing as vintage.

  26. PussDaddy September 12, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    That shop with the Y’s and Z’s and stuff is really weird. However I had one of my Mom’s sweaters she wore in the 60’s similar to that yellow one, looks just like it but mine was gray, and it was perfect in any way. I was going to keep it to see just how long it would still look good but I got too fat for it. 😦

    I’m not saying her’s is vintage, I’m just sayin’ it’s possible to have one with perfect ribbing and stuff because I had one myself.

  27. PussDaddy September 12, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    But I did not see she was claiming to have made it from remnant cloth either when I posted what I just did.

  28. Sarah (with an H) September 12, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    LDW, it really bugs me when I’m in a treasury with a reseller (found myself in one with a seller whom I think was called out here in the last week or so). I try to be careful now about promoting a treasury I’m featured in, after I realized that some I’d cheerfully tweeted and facebooked had some blatant TOU violators. I’ll admit, I’ve been to chicken to contact the curators though. I assume I’m just as, if not more, likely to end up on their blacklist than the reseller.

  29. Nobody Understands My Pain Either September 12, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    SuperSockMonkeys handmade’ listing:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/54257395/handmade-sock-pirate-stuffed-animal-doll

    Listing on ecrater, same dolls, same description, same typo…but whoops! They left a company logo on the picture:
    http://www.ecrater.com/p/4066654/handmade-sock-monkey-pirate-stuffed

    Same doll on “Sock Talk”:
    http://www.sockdoll.net/15-sock-pirate

    Big surprise, they wholesale.

    Owned by:

    Bill Wang
    3zu socks shop 407 south hushu road
    hangzhou, N/A 31006
    CN
    http://www.b2btrade.biz/leads_144154/

  30. eyefortineye September 13, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    There should also be an option for Etsy members to blacklist Sellers and in some cases Buyers (wiapilot).

    Etsy could make not that certain sellers or buyers are getting tremendous numbers of members blocking their business. Not sure if I worded that correctly, but I know you guys understand what I’m trying to say.

  31. eyefortineye September 13, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    note… etsy could take notE

  32. Life During Wartime September 13, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    Etsy would take note of repeatedly blocked shops or buyers about as much as they take note of massive flagging of resellers, faux vintage, and other TOU no-nos. The only way for Etsy to change is for someone to buy it, and fire all the current policy makers. Maybe I should start playing the Power Ball!

  33. sara September 13, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    wouldn’t that be awesome, ldw.

    I’d keep HeyMichelle. I think she means well.

  34. noCigar September 13, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    “It’s just a fact of life
    That no one cares to mention
    She wasn’t good
    But she had good intentions”

    — Lyle Lovett

  35. tippy September 13, 2010 at 11:43 pm #

    the kicker about the whole Ked’s thing besides the fact that she’s marking up each pair of shoes on etsy but she also makes money (I think it’s $10) from Ked’s if a pair that she has decorated sells.

  36. Karen October 10, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    I own a sweater from et ale tc and the pieces have been joined with a serger. If you read her notes carefully, it is written that some of the remnants come from sweaters that she will cut up and restitch for a more modern fit. You people are so incredibly rude to these sellers, and the work that she makes is incredibly thoughtful and a value compared to other handmade clothing on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

